Image of Barbie Studios & Apartments

Barbie Studios & Apartments

2 of 5 hotels in Trianda

4 out of 5 from 13 reviews
Mykinon, Rhodes-Ialyssos, Greece, Лалисос 85100, Greece

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Brian
10 years 1 month ago
We had 2 weeks holiday in August 2008, some things are good some things are not. I read all reviews before we went but dont understand why there has been no new reviews since August 2007 to date, none!

On arrival at reception in 38 degrees, you are told that air-con costs 40 euros per week for a single apartment, 50 euros per week for a twin (as we had)The safe in the room also costs, this is a must, this payment is non-refundable. We never expected this!

The original Barbie Apartments with its pool must have been good, now with the 'across the street' extension giving double the rooms, the pool is crowded, in August there are not enough sunbeds, until after 5pm.

Prices are reasonable, this must be due to the people who live around the pool all day and then again in the evening.

The apartments are situated in a very narrow dark lane, a torch is useful to make cars and motorbikes aware that you are there. General rubbish collection is poor and a real issue, rats can be observed on a daily basis near the bins, this is worse at night.

We used the apartment to 'sleep in', it was cleaned, but the bathroom needed a good scrub. The oven/cooker was heavily corroded and we could not consider using it. 2 plastic balcony chairs were broken, the other 2 were cracked, we used the wooden kitchen chairs.

We kept only water and drinks in the fridge, as the temporary hinge did not seal the door correctly.

Evening entertainment is Greek Night on Wednesday and Kareoke on Saturday, not to good for the kids.

This was a medium to cheap holiday and clearly you do get what you pay for.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Ashell
10 years 1 month ago
We stayed at the Barbie apartments in August 2008. We didn't know what to expect so were relived that they were very clean and welcoming when we got there. We did'nt get to the apartments till early hours of the morning, but vangelis was still up to give us our keys. Vangelis and Barbie are the owners of these apartments and are really friendly and helpfull. The drinks in the bar are the cheapest we came across and the food is nice aswell, But you must try the curry on the curry night it is homemade and absolutly georgous. The greek night is a real good laugh to, so make sure you go. There is a suprise at the end of the night. If anybody is looking for a nice family run apartments which are very clean and you are well looked after then these are the one's for you. I hope my review has been helpfull for you. I would just to add if you are short of a cork screw or maybe a nice wine glass if you go and ask politly then I am sure Vangelis will loan these to you as he did for us.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
George Alexander
11 years 1 month ago
The Barbie is a nice hotel, centrally located, small but nice swimming pool. The owners are pleasant and hard working They do an excellent English breafast
The bar prices are the cheapest in the area
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Kubanpete
11 years 2 months ago
just got back from 1 week at the Barbie Apts. Apts were clean as was the pool area. The resort was on the quiet side which we prefer, good mixture of restaurants and a few bars. We found that Kostas restuarant was the best for food and value. just a few minor complaints which would stop us from going back.

1. the pool area is far too small for the number of holiday makers that stay at the Barbie, If you did not get up in the early hours to put the towels down you had no chance of getting a sunbed.

2. The Dutch seem to be favoured as they get to stop in the apts that overlook the pool area, which means that they get the sunbeds. All the UK visitors seem to be put over the road, which is ok as it is quieter, the balconies in this block look over scrub land and our furry friends (RATS) scurry around all night.

3. The lane which has to be walked down to reach any of the bars etc is infested with RATS, they run across the lane from one open sewer to the other especially at twilight around 9pm ish. The bins outside the Barbie also have our furry friends in. (in fact there was that much rubbish next to the bins that they brought a tractor in one day to remove the lot as people must have complained about the scurrying feet that could be heard and the smell)

4. The beach is ok (very stoney)the sea is ok to swim in as it is quite sandy once you get over the pebble section, but we found that if you went to the Osiris hotel (think thats how it is spelt) you can use the pool for free, just buy a couple of drinks at the bar and you can stop there all day, much better than the barbie's pool area. Turn right out of the barbie, walk to the top of Rat Alley, turn left past some supermarkets and shops, go past a blue and white restuarant (a couple told us that the rats were on the table tops in this one, in fact one was staring the lady out from between the bread rolls Nice !!!) and then the osiris is on your left it has green astroturf all around the pool.

5. Dont get mugged by the time share people, you know the one's "are you english mate" then proceed to give you all a scratch card and what a great surprise when one of you gets 3 Palm tree's. Dont be fooled these wasters even try to tempt the kids with a "free tshirt" or "free-ride on the little train" just tell them your russian or something and walk on by.

I would recommend going into rhodes town (old town), we spent a couple of days just wandering round and stopping off at rooftop bars catching some rays whilst sipping cold beers, the restaurants are really good there as well, plus you can get a taxi straight back to the door of the barbie thus avoiding another walk down rat alley (taxi costs 9 euro). Despite the minor probs i have listed we really did enjoy our 1 week in rhodes weather was fantastic, food was great, the beers were ice cold and the people are friendly...what more could you ask for!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: direct holidays

11 years 2 months ago
Can only reiterate what others have said, very clean, good pool area although could do with a few extra sun beds, though this I believe is planned for next year.

Bar and food prices were very reasonable, food was plentiful and good quality.

Greek night is a must, lots of excellent food, shame it was on our last night but still managed to have a good night, especially with the friends we met.

Highly recommended.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Michelle/steve And Kids
11 years 2 months ago
Well what can i say ! We spent 2 weeks at the barbie last week in june 1st week july and enjoyed it thoroughly. The rooms were immaculate cleanest iv ever stayed in ! The food all freshly made by barbara was really nice no complaints at all ! also very cheap ! Barbara and vangelis are really hospitable and nothing is to much trouble at all !! Pool area is a little on the small side especially if you have children though i think there are plans to extend. Was not to keen on our location though as we was across the road and balcony looking on to shrub land.
Felt a little out of it really at nights being used to overlooking pool. The location is not to far from the centre really only a few minutes stroll ! I would definatly say you need to purchase the air con as gets really humid in appartments..we also hired fans.
The greek night is a must and worth paying the fee as we had the best night ever. kareoke night was a bit of a let down though as not many people went which is a shame ! Barbara and vangelis really try hard to make your stay at the barbie a good one.Just wish it was a little larger complex. I would definatley go again but without the young ones and maybe just for a week as kids got a little board after 9 days.More sunbeds needed but pool area nice and clean ! Met some lovely people there and many go back year after year becoming good friend of barbie and vangelis. If its good hospitality you want then head for the barbie
you will not go wrong.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

Recommended
11 years 4 months ago
Well what can I say !! Just arrived back home this afternoon. These apartments are one one the cleanest places I have stayed in a long time.

Food was lovely, Barbie and Vangelis are hard working and always very friendly and happy to help. My only negative is the little lane where these apartments are, I found a bit treacherous especially during the night. Apart from that I spent a lovely pleasant week at the Barbie.

I will be looking to go back !!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
Helen,Graeme,Elisha And Kallie
11 years 4 months ago
These apartments were really clean, sheets and towels changed all the time,just off the main street so it was nice and quiet, lovely large balcony leading out from the lounge and bedroom.

The food in the pool area was very nice and cheap as well, the English breakfast was huge.

Kids loved the pool.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Manos

Recommended
Anthony, Amanda & Jessica
11 years 4 months ago
We stayed at the Barbie for 2 weeks in May 2007 and thought it was fantastic. The rooms were very clean and were cleaned on most days, Barbie and Vangelis the owners could not do enough for you.
The pool is a little small but we loved it especially my daughter aged 3, who made some great friends, especially Kallie and her family.
Would recommend the greek night, it was well worth the charge, just a shame it was on the last night. There is also a very good range of restuarants to visit and we went to quite a few different ones, although our favorite was Kostas, he is the nicest man you could meet, it's hard enough dinning with a youngster but he always made a fuss of her. She even made him a thank you card on our last night.
Would recommend both the apartments and the resort, looking at going back next year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
12 years 1 month ago
We booked the Barbie apartments on a last minute deal from the internet, and not paying much for the holiday we were not expecting much, but were pleasntly surprised.

The apartments are clean and spacious all that you need for a self catering holiday. The only drawback is if you want the airconditioning this will cost you extra, but it is worth paying for just for your own comfort really.

There are two apartment blocks either side of a small road that isn't busy, a few cars and scooters now and again. The apartments are well located just a short two minute stroll to the resort centre. The main block is where the bar, pool and snack bar is.

The meals are reasonably priced and so is the lager, 2euros, one of the cheapest in the resort I think.

There is not much entertainment at the Barbie but I think if you get in with a good crowd of people you can make your own entertainment. The Barbie does have a Greek night, with a BBQ and traditional Greek dancers who get all the guests to join in this was a great night and I think everybody enjoyed it.

We had such a great time at the Barbie we didn't want to leave, we have already booked to go again in May 07.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: holiday direct

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
Popular hotels in Trianda