Image of Lagoa Azul Resort Hotel

Lagoa Azul Resort Hotel

2 of 5 hotels in Arpora

4 out of 5 from 20 reviews
Little Baga,Arpora, Bardez, Goa 403518, India

20 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
First holiday here and would consider returning.
6 years 3 months ago
This was our first time at this hotel. Very clean complex and staff were very friendly.

Breakfast was Indian or choice of eggs, poached, fried etc ,corn flakes and toast, which all were very nice. The hotel is a little out of the way but if you go to top of lane turn left through a little wooded lane you arrive on the road which the md hotel is on. You can get the free bus outside the hotel to beach.

I cannot comment on hotel entertainment as we were always out but there are lots of good eating places nearby. Overall a good clean and pleasant place to stay and would go back to this hotel if the price was right.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Bill
Fantastic Hotel and location
6 years 4 months ago
Just back after two weeks at the Lagoa Azul, a fairly short review here.

Room excellent, large and really clean. Hot water and power supply reliability somewhat variable but this is India, no big problem.

Food - good quality and a decent menu.

Staff attentive, all very helpful and friendly.

There are two decent sized swimming pools, and the atmosphere is quiet rather than lively.

The most important big plus factor for me about this hotel is its location. It's at the end of a really quiet country road in Arpora, far away from the giant rubbish tips, noisy, beach crowds and hassle, thousands of crazy tourists riding motorbikes dangerously, and all the other horrible things usually associated with North Goa.

The hotel runs a regular (free of charge) shuttle to the coast if you want it, and there are half a dozen good restaurants within just about five minutes walk from the hotel. (Including Spice Oven - an excellent place!)

It's wonderful on a hot sunny afternoon to sit on the hotel raised public terrace, near one of the pools (and bar), looking out over the local lake and seeing the birdlife of Arpora.

A great holiday - I got home and tried to immediately book again for winter 2012/2013. I was really disappointed to find that Thomson, First Choice, Thomas Cook, and Cosmos no longer offer this hotel!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
9 years 4 months ago
This was our third time at the Lagoa Azul and our first under the new management.
The change is noticeable in the whole attitude to the guests, nothing is too much trouble.
We had an exceptionally large room, which was cleaned and changed daily.
The pool and gardens are top quality, and the breakfasts,buffet style, with as much as you can eat.
First Timers may find the location a bit daunting as it is a good 10 minute walk to the local bars and restaurants, but once you get to know it the quiet location more than makes up for it.
Lokking forward to our next stay at Lagoa, planning it already.
The only fault in the place, don't relay on an early morning call as it doesn't happen - take your own alarm clock
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Elena Kurikova
9 years 5 months ago
I reached the hotel on December, 15th 2008. And i need to express thast my stay was absolutely delightful. The food was good and the hotel room was clean and quite spacious. Cant afford to forget the hospitality of the staff. The prices were very affordable and were absolute value for the money.

I truly and dearly want to go back to Lagoa Azul to reminisce the amazing and unforgettable experience...
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Tez tours

Recommended
Bod And Family
10 years 3 months ago
The room was small, but with a lovely view, the pool was nice but shallow the staff where very good and nice wth plenty of other children it was also only a short walk from spice oven which has cheap, but delightful food and pleasant staff.I did enjoy my holiday i will vconsider coming again.
laura aged 13.
p.s say hi to mario and asim for me please.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: mytravel

Recommended
Steve And Partner
10 years 4 months ago
We stayed for 1 week on our second night we had a RAT in the room at night so we changed to another room which you could't swing a cat or rat even. So we changed to another room which had a lovely view of the road and the taxi drivers.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Lynn Mcdavitt
10 years 6 months ago
We stayed at the Lago Azul in Arpora, it was relly good we had suite room on 3 floor's, it was always cleaned and fresh towels every day. The staff were very plesant and helpfull with any requests. The location is away from all the hustle of the resort so you can get a good nights sleep. Never went to any of the entertainment at hotel but there was something on most nights.
I have already booked again for March and Nov 08.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
11 years 1 month ago
Just returned from 2 wks at the Lagoa Azul. It was our first time to Goa, been to North India previously so arrived with open mind.

Allocated very poor first room, bottom floor on corner facing taxi's, we were supposed to be a suite but moved to a lesser standard of room beside pool until our normal suite would be ready, 4 days?!!? Also made not asked to sign a disclaimer by manager.

Had frequent power cuts in rooms, not in hotel area they have a backup generator so that tells you what the management thinks of their guests.

Poolside area very dirty unsafe with cracked tiles, parasols laughable as were the sunbeds. Glasses lay for days untouched.

Manager refused to see us and indeed offered no compensation regarding room and lack of facilities as advertised. The poolside bar never open.

Staff generally pleasant although not keen to 'work'. Maid was initially lazy and tried to get home by 10am or you wont get your room cleaned...............mmmm
Shower area grubby, bed comfy, quiet at nights for good sleep.

Overall we loved Goa and will certainly be back, hotel is if you ignore the above was OK but let down the other parts of the hotel.

The breakfast was very poor , other meals fine.
Beware of non advertised TAX by the management, they seem to ask 20% for alcohol, 8% for service and another 14% for food. Even though they advertise 8% only. On query we were told 'it must be correct since the accountant uses an excel spread sheet'. What a load of................................... He also refused to speak about the issue.

Oh well. Security staff very nice, taxi's outside hotel will try to rip you off big time, get rubbish like 'its hotel prices and its after dark'. Tell them to get a life and walk by , they soon run after you........

Food joints, all spice absolutely fab with service to match, shore bar anjuna simply sublime. sebastian's bakery beside hotel good and friendly, say hi to Elvis the signer.
Markets great no real hassle except for one rude little Muslim man who thinks woman are worthless - he learned the hard way I am afraid.

Goan's generally the best of the best, just go with the flow, we are still floating and that's nothing to do with any illegal substances.
Hope the above helps.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Michele
11 years 2 months ago
Unfortunately we were very disappointed in the LaGoa Azul. The first room we were allocated we found to be totally unacceptable, mould on the walls and an excessive water leak in the bathroom. We were informed that the only option available was for us to upgrade to one to the Suites, at an extra cost to ourselves.

Our initial impression of the suite was much better, however we were only to discover that the cleanliness really wasn't up to standard at all, and for the first time in 6 visits to Goa found that we had to complain.

Our impression of the LaGoa Azul is that this is a hotel which is rapidly going downhill in terms of upkeep. Many areas are in bad need of general maintenance.

On a more positive note we could not fault the staff in the bar/restaurant and they were certainly the saving grace for this hotel.

If you are due to arrive at the hotel early in the morning, be warned that no refreshment is available until the restaurant is open, not even a glass of water, so make sure you carry your own.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Gary & Sue
11 years 2 months ago
We have been returning to Goa for the last seven years and this is our first time to Lagoa Azul. The hotel is at excellent location with two huge swimming pools and one phase overlooking the lagoon. The rooms were well cleaned daily and the hotel staff in general are very polite and helpfull. I have read some comments about the cleanliness but found no such faults. An excellent hotel overall and had a lovely holiday. Have decided to return in Jan 2008.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
Popular hotels in Arpora