Image of Sun Village Hotel

Sun Village Hotel

3 of 5 hotels in Arpora

4 out of 5 from 12 reviews
4 stars
Baga Arpora, Goa 403518, India

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Joan Sandilands
NOT FOR THE FAINT HEARTED
3 years 11 months ago
There was stairs stairs and more stairs to rooms to various dinning areas which they change daily in the hotel It was like the Marie Celeste ...most guests leave the Hotel to eat elsewhere or to go for entertainment ...no afternoon snacks , very restrictive with food snacks ( for eg one biscuit with a drink) ! no atmosphere ...a singer was on couple of nights a weeks ...no guests ...no atmosphere ...very poor for a holiday venue ..Oh and NO playing in the pool with lilos or balls etc ...such a misery of a place
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Hotel tip: Stairs stairs and more stairs ...NO LIFTS

Gavin & Debbie
10 years 10 months ago
this is our second visit to the sun village,first time being 2004 and it is quite the same.this hotel is very clean but the bathrooms and the toilet by the lower pool could do with an upgrade other than that we cant fault the cleanliness.the food in the hotel was great and plentiful but can be a bit spicey,the a la carte was wonderful.if you have mobility problems or young children and buggys beware because there are steps every where,from the reception to the top lawn/pool not far off 100 steps i would say.location abit out off the way but plenty taxis outside which cost next to nothing (why walk in that heat).the hotel staff are very nice and nothing is to much trouble to them at all,what i will say is i thought the indian guest's at the hotel were very rude and lack basic manners to all the waiters and staff,they also dont wait in line for a drink,they eat there food while deciding what to put on there plate next with their fingers droping bits on the floor as the go...shame on you all..the entertainment was very hit and miss,the african dance troupe were great,the girl/boy duo on the same night were....well my advise to the girl...loose the boy he is swear...but so funny when he sang..now if you need to change money or use the phone go to see sammi who is located just down the bank from the reception,he will give you a better rate than the hotel and the phone calls are cheaper too.Since the last time we saw sammi he has got married to a lovley young lady called Sneha, they are a nice couple and we wish them good luck for the future..ps sammi's birthday is the 28th march...same as me..so if you are there on that date wish him well.next door to sammi is Raj jewellers who will help you choose all kinds of jewellery,we had a gold and diamond ring from him and other gold as well,we are very pleased with our items,we have spoke to many other people who have bought from raj and they too speak very highly of him and there items are worth more than double of what the payed,so pay him a visit i dont think you will be disapointed..if any one is going can you print out this page for sammi and raj please.ps if any one goes diy speak to sammi,he has a large flat for rent.we would visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: firstchoice

Recommended
Gavin & Debbie
10 years 10 months ago
Sorry forgot to mention in my previous report about the firstchoice/mytravel rep who goes by the name of Debbie...well we thought she was great, not pushy like some reps, she was very nice to talk to and nothing was to much trouble at all...please say hello from us.

If you do decide to venture out for a meal try east meets west in Baga...superb food which you can see being cooked...spotless toilets and a fantastic setting.

Thanks for reading and have a good time where ever you go.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: firstchoice

Recommended
Julie
11 years 8 months ago
First time to Goa and didn't know what to expect. I found the hotel to be clean and the staff very helpful and friendly.

The food was good but if you don't like too much spice then you may have a problem.

The hotel is a good 30 min. walk from Baga Beach but taxis are cheap.

The entertainment was mixed, but even the bad was funny. The good was excellent.

This hotel is no good for people with mobility problems or children in buggies as there are steep steps everywhere and no lifts. You will be fitter after 2 weeks though.

Poolside can be a problem sometimes, use the upper pool, smaller but quieter.

Will definitely return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
11 years 10 months ago
Just back from Fantastic holiday, first time in Goa, The hotel was wonderful.

Staff couldnt have been any more helpfull especially reception staff (which is open 24hrs a day). Rooms cleaned daily, and each day we had a new animal made from the towels (crocodile, elephant,swan,dolphin).

Food was lovely, but could be repetitive, but its that cheap to eat out so we didnt mind. The village lawns bbq was excellent including the entertainment. We went all inclusive and would do again mainly due to convenience (plus it wasnt much price difference).

The hotel has two pools, we preferred the top pool because it was nice and quiet, surrounded by palm trees and some days there was maybe only the two of us there for most of the day.

Hotel probably not good for people who have mobility problems as there is a lot of stairs in the complex.

Would definetly return to this hotel, already pricing next years holiday!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Cath
12 years 6 months ago
Couldn't fault this hotel at all during my stay in March this year. I went with a female friend and as two females alone had no concerns with the location, locals, travelling around etc. There's taxis right outside the entrance of the hotel.

We found the staff very helpful and friendly. There was a wide choice of food every evening and nothing was too much trouble for the staff....ask for the garlic naan bread and they'll go and make it specially!

We enjoyed it so much, we are thining about going back again next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
Chris & Steve Cook
12 years 8 months ago
Excellent location, Hotel/staff/food Excellent, everything about the holiday was great. especially the waiters nothing was too much trouble
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Paul Lovell
12 years 8 months ago
We went gold to this hotel which was a bit of a waste for my family as we dont drink alcohol but we tipped the room boy to this so we were topped up with soft drinks everyday, so no trouble.

The rooms were cleaned everyday, even putting are stuff away.

Food in the hotel was very good,good variety not too much trouble if you didnt like the food they would do you a pizza or burger and chips.

This hotel is a bit out of the way but we didnt mind this as we saw the real Goa.

The staff in this hotel cant do enough for you just ask, we didnt like the smell of the kettle so we asked at reception could we have a flask of coffee sent to our room the obliged.

Didnt like the entertainment but we dont like cabaret, but this is not a complaint to each there own we just watched tele at night you can even watch the football back home if you so wish or some of the latest films.

There isnt much for kids to do exept play in the pool so be warned but it is very adult friendly,the stairs can be a bit of a nightmare especially when the gala night is on, mondays-fridays.

You can get the bus up but you still have quite a few stairs to get up also I would advise to get yourself a torch as there are a lot of power cuts and you dont want to get caught out up on the lawns at gala night in the dark you could come a cropper on the way down.

I for one would love to visit this hotel again and we all cant wait to go back. Goa is beautiful and should not be missed !
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
Tomo
12 years 9 months ago
What a disappointment! On arriving we were informed of being on the silver package for all inclusive, our intention was not to use the AI package, however on asking reception what it entailed they said all inclusive silver!!! No explanation of how things work and what you were entitled to or where you could get meals etc.

The rooms were painted the most awful colour which was depressing, although spacious in desperate need of modernisation both the bedrooms and bathroom. You also had to pay by the hour if you wanted to use an iron and board and/or a hairdryer.

Breakfast was limited and tea and coffee was such an effort and was always only lukewarm. The staff were pleasant but seemed to depend if you were a regular or not as to the speed of service.

We decided to have an a la carte meal on our last night which was awful, the food, the service and the entertainment, again service speed and attentiveness depended on whether you were a regular or not.

Pool was always packed and all the sunbeds were reserved by about 7.30am although not a soul was to be seen. Hence the reason we spent very little time there.

Would't go back here it's alright if you want to while your time away making use of the AI alcohol which is what most people were doing not by bag though.

Couldn't fault the cleanliness and finally despite reserving a wake up call in order to catch our flight it didn't materialse. So set your moblie phone alarm.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

13 years 6 months ago
This is a nice hotel if you a first time visitor to Goa like we were. The people there were really friendly and would do anything to help. As already mentioned the hotel is a little bit out of the way but taxis are cheap enough out there that we didn't find this a problem.

All rooms are air-conditioned with 2 ceiling fans and cleaned daily and are really quite spacious. Our bed was quite hard, it felt like it was a bit of foam on a hard wood base, this was really the only complaint I could have about the room.

There a lot of steps to contend with, especially if you are going to the upper pool or the lawn area (which is where they have their dinners twice a week). There are 2 levels of all-inclusive at this hotel - gold and silver - amongst other things the silver level does not include diet coke so be warned.

All in all we would go back to this hotel again if we went all-inc but things are so cheap out there that we would probably go B&B next time and save the money. That being said it is a fab hotel for the first time visitor who is finding their feet in Goa.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: MyTravel

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
Popular hotels in Arpora