Image of Marinha Dourada Resort Hotel

Marinha Dourada Resort Hotel

4 of 5 hotels in Arpora

3 out of 5 from 49 reviews
3 stars
200 Tambudki Road, Arpora Baga, Goa, 403518, India

49 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    18
  • Good
    11
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    9

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Family Banks
Superb location
7 years 6 months ago
The location of the hotel is superb, quiet and tranquil. Bird watchers paradise, great to escape the noise of Baga and the beach resorts. Remember, you are in India, the hotel has Indian standards and time frames.

The breakfast was not to our tastes but served the purpose. You really can't beat sitting on the balcony observing this beautiful country from an excellent 3 star hotel with good clean pools.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Needs updating
7 years 8 months ago
This was our third visit to the Marinha, and although we enjoyed it just as much as other years, it could do with a bit of updating in parts, especially the bathrooms. We had a room in the annexe block, which was lovely and quiet, great to wake up to the sound of the birds and relax in the evening with a drink before going out.

The breakfast has really gone downhill this year. The first morning we arrived at 0730 so decided to have something to eat before having a sleep. The hot food was only warm then, so other mornings it was cold by 0900am. Eggs were the only saving grace, as they were cooked to order, but there are only so many eggs you can eat in 2 weeks!

Hotel has a free bus service between 9 and 6pm, but it would have been nice to have one down and back at 7pm for watching the sunset. However taxis are only 100Rs to/from Baga beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 6 months ago
this hotel is like an old folks home,the rooms are dark and very dated,the main pool had fungus growing on the bottom and dispite informing the hotel and rep it was not cleaned ,the tvs are having boxes fitted so you will have to pay to view,rooms in the annexe are to be classed as premium rooms and will cost extra,the breakfast is awful served in a birdcage,with one toaster for the 400 guests to share,the hotel also charge sales tax 12% service tax 10% this is on everything the waiters do not get any of this ,the greedy owners take it all.the only plus is the outside space.the taxi drivers attached to the hotel try to rip you of, and as the hotel is so remote you have to get a taxi every where you go,while there several people had ther bags snatched outside the hotel the hotel staff did not seem to care,
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompsons

8 years 6 months ago
This was our second visit to the Marinha Dourada, the staff were as friendly as on our last visit, and the views from the rooms just as stunning, apart from the fact that we had a palm tree right in front of our terrace! The rooms are looking a bit dated and are a little dark ( not good for trying to do make-up!), however the beds were comfortable (they use mattress toppers). The bathroom was functional, I understood they had been updated, but all I could see was a new shower attachment. The water was very HOT, so take care.

Breakfast, served in what most people call the
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Jules
8 years 6 months ago
in desperate need of an update rooms dark our room in the annexe had a big board over the back window so you were unable to see all building work at the back of the hotel,boxes were being fitted to the tvs so you will now have to pay extra to watch the tv the rooms on the higher floors are to be classed as premier rooms and charged extra because less people are going to this hotel the owners are trying to get more money from the return guests the pool did have mould on the bottom during our stay the hotel also charge sales tax and service charge on everything which makes it twice the price as outside,the lakes also seemed full of rubbish,and we also heard of people have there bags snatched outside the hotel and things going missing from there rooms
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Yvonne Leeds
8 years 7 months ago
First time in Goa and stayed at Marinha Dorada which was an excellent choice. All the staff were so friendly and would do anything for you - the tourists were also very friendly and many had visiting the MH many times. The location was excellent as long as you don't want clubbing on the doorstep. We stayed in a lakeside room in the annex which although basic was extemely clean and adequate. The view from our verandha was fabulous overlooking one of the two lakes - plenty of fish for the fishermen. The gardens were immaculate. Just wish I had taken a kettle and mugs as there were no tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast was adequate with juice (no choice) tea/coffee, cornflakes, porridge,toast, various forms of eggs freshly cooked, baked beans and an Indian dish. I had no problem with the breakfast area and in fact felt that the cage kept out birds and allowed the breeze through. Only had one meal in the hotel as the choice outside is fantastic and all very good. The meal we had was good but compared to outside, expensive.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
8 years 7 months ago
This was our third stay at the M.D,and once again it delivered on most counts,the rooms are large spotlessly clean really comfortable beds and i think very well equipped,they are a little dark and a bit dated,but i literally slept in there and showered,all rooms have a balcony which i tend to spend a lot of time on as the views are stunning, we have stayed in various parts of the hotel but i love the annexe however i don`t think you can come unstuck in any part of this hotel.the grounds are truely stunning and beautifully kept,there are 2 good size pools which are tended to every day,towels are provided and there are ample beds,not mad about the food at the hotel but no problem as there are countless great restaurants both locally and a short taxi ride away.the hotel has 2 bars both outside,the staff are all friendly and helpfull,this is overall a great hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Woodle
8 years 7 months ago
i also noticed the fungus in the pool which was not cleaned they were putting the tv boxes in when we were there and the tv was off most of the time there was very little hot water for a shower we also heard of thefts from the rooms and people having bags snatched as they walked outside the hotel.the hotel needs a good refurbishment the breakfast is not worth getting up for with one toaster and eggs,rooms in annexe are to be charged at a supplement making this hotel even more expensive with taxes already on everything and you need taxis everywhere which try to rip you off
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Red 333
8 years 7 months ago
we were put in a room over the bridge at the far end it takes about 5 minutes to walk there from reception then you have to go back for breafast, safety deposit box, restaurant etc. If you forget anything it a long old walk luckily still fairly fit not so keen after a night out though. We asked to be moved overlooking the pool told it would be
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

8 years 10 months ago
The fact we returned 12 months after our first visit says it all.
This hotel is unpretentious but very comfortable and friendly.We have yet to witness any anti social behaviour from any of the guests too !!!!
Based just outside Arpora it's perfect for dipping in and out of the more frenetic Baga and Calangute ( There's a free bus on the hour up to 6.00pm) but there are more than sufficient eating places locally which are within walking distance.
Don't forget to try the hotel food too which we enjoyed a couple of times. The lakeside BBQ is highly recommended !
Book with confidence if you want a superb peaceful holiday, maybe think twice if you are into partying and clubbing and look for somewhere in Baga or Calangute
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
Popular hotels in Arpora