Image of Renton Manor

Renton Manor

10 of 11 hotels in Baga

3 out of 5 from 18 reviews
2 stars
The Renton Manor has established itself as a firm favourite with British visitors. This is a quiet area with a few other hotels close-by, backed by paddy fields and the beach is a short ride away. The hotel provides a daily shuttle bus at 10am to Baga Beach.

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
10 years 3 months ago
With Renton Manor, you get what it says on the packet, which is a one/two star hotel.
The hotel is a concrete edifice which looks better because it is painted in bright colours and attractively lit at night.
The rooms however are basic basic, with a bed, a fridge and a wardrobe and two plastic garden chairs.
Although fairly clean the decoration is very tired and falling to bits.
Breakfast is fuit juice and toast which you have to do yourself, but plenty of restaurants nearby offer english and indian breakfasts at a reasonable price.
Staff are friendly, but not particularly fast and soon forget things unless constantly reminded.
So much for the good part, now the rest.
70% of the guests are Russian, and 80% of the guests are between 18 -30. There is a Disco in the hotel that goes on until 3 o'clock in the morning and then the "vodka" louts spend the next two hours causing uproar around the pool.
If your in the right age bracket then you will probably enjoy the experience, but if your looking for a relaxing family hotel - forget it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Jane And Gerry
10 years 4 months ago
When we arrived at Renton Manor it looked good. We then went to our room which we was not happy with, the bathroom was dirty and the bed had bottom sheet and a bedspread.

We saw our Rep Rebecca who was excellant and got it sorted. After that everything was brilliant.

The food was nice and taste and the entertainment was on 3-4 times a week.

The hotel was situated just right for bars. Hotel staff are very friendly and nothing was to much trouble.

We also had Tandoori nite and BBQ night.

We had a relaxing watch the world go by holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
This is the 2nd time I have stayed at the Renton manor. I can
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Jan And Ron Rowland
11 years 6 months ago
Renton Manor Hotel was decorated on the outside but they forgot about the inside. Very shabby not clean properly in the bathroom, had to clean before use. Shower hanging off the wall showing electrics not safe at all.

Hotel staff polite at times. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Where the hotel is in Apora is a small village a few nice restaurants and bars in all the goan people are very nice, baga beach great. The zanzibar shack is one of the best.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Jane
12 years 2 months ago
I must have had bad luck with my room at Renton manor when I read this rewives! This was the worst I have seen, and i have been to many places around the world.

The room was very dirty, I would never take my shoes off and walk on the floor. The beds looked like some one allready had been sleeping there without changing. I was offered to look at 2 other rooms, they where a little better but far away from good!

I absolutly understand that this hotel is only rated 2. That means simple, and thets what you pay for. But if its simple, it doesn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Ving

Mr & Mrs Gunn
12 years 2 months ago
When we arrived the place looked glorious with it`s newly painted exterior, pity they didn`t get round to doing the rooms. Rooms very basic but we didn`t expect much from a 2 star, saying that the room was cleaned and fresh towels came every day.

Breakfast was basic cup of coffee and a few slices of toast, good enough to wake you up in a morning. We had a meal there one night which i got to say wasn`t all that good to be honest.

The staff were excellent and a credit to the Hotel, nothing was too much trouble and they were always polite and smiling.

Entertainment was pretty poor and whoever thought of the idea of a mini night bazaar outside my room door wants a good talking to. The location in Arpora is a bit off the beaten track with little in the way of entertainment outside.

At a push I would stay here again but it would need to be a very big push.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunset

Recommended
A McGreevy
12 years 3 months ago
My friend and I used the reviews on this site to help make a decision on our holiday and we were not disappointed by our choice in Renton Manor.

The decor was slightly shabby and the wardrobe reeked too much of moth balls to put your clothes in but the rooms were cleaned by friendly staff every day and nothing was too much trouble for the waiting staff including breakfast or dinner brought to your room (for a tip).
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jewel in the Crown

Recommended
Kevin And Jayne
12 years 4 months ago
The hotel was good very basic, the staff were very helpful, espsically Joe the waiter.
The rooms were clean, we had nice display of towels every day on the bed. Drink were cheap and the food was nice.
Entertaiment was good, even had a english 8 piece jazz band.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel care

Recommended
Maria
12 years 4 months ago
I was really anxious about the hotel, as I had read some bad reviews, ie. paint peeling off, ants everywhere etc. However, when I got to the hotel, had a really nice room, which was clean, had a balcony, spacious. Was so surprised.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were cleaned daily.

The hotel was basic but, you get what you pay for.

I didn't eat in the hotel, as was most of the time and at in Panjam city. There's a brilliant Indian restaurant called Sher Punjab. Serves excellent Indian dishes for very reasonable prices.

Hire a motorbike for about 200 rupees a day, and you can get around easily without hassle of taxis everyday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jewel in the Crown

Recommended
Annie And James
12 years 5 months ago
We got this holiday as a last minute deal so we weren't expecting luxury considering as it was rated 2*. When we got off the plane we were taken aback by the hustle and bustle and people trying to grab your bag to help you carry it for a tip which is great if you like that sort of thing.

The bus did break down on the way, but they managed to fix it in about ten mins, which we thought was pretty impressive although there were lots of disgruntled passengers.

We were so tired from the plane journey when we got there but the staff there were really friendly and welcoming so we were put to ease, and when we were shown to our room, we couldn't believe how nice it was.

Really spacious and clean with bathroom and balcony which looked out onto the pool and restaurant. There were fairy lights hanging down from the top of the building and as it was dark when we arrived, it looked so beautiful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympia

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum