Image of Ronil Beach Resort

Ronil Beach Resort

8 of 11 hotels in Baga

3 out of 5 from 13 reviews
3 stars
The Ronil Beach Resort is an attractive hotel with a homely atmosphere and exceptionally friendly staff. There are plenty of good facilities on site including the Golden Net Speciality Seafood Restaurant, renowned for serving delicious cuisine.

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Never say never.
5 years 5 months ago
We stayed here a few years ago and didn't like it, but when looking for a break in Goa this season it came up at a good package price, so we e-mailed the Hotel to ask for a better room than last time.
On booking in, they had the e-mail details and had allocated a room in the rear of the hotel overlooking the smaller pool. This was what we had requested.

We were still a little surprised that the rooms had not been improved upon, but apparently they have just been taken over by 'Keys' hotel chain and refurbishing the rooms is on the agenda and will include tea/coffee making equipment.
The room was still lacking decent storage space and was very dark inside even during the day. The shower wasn't too good either and the whole room became very wet and slippery very quickly. Quite dangerous really. The air-conditioning was excellent though.

Overall, this holiday was good value for money and our stay this time was much improved, mainly because of the room location and the Thompson Rep (Nicky) was excellent.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet was adequate, the evening meals were very good. You are given vouchers to use three times each week. These are to the value of RS/-850 each, so although the food was more expensive than most other places, you only had to add a couple of hundred rupees and a tip each time for a meal for two.

The new manager (Dennis) was very courteous and helpful, especially when we voiced our concerns about the number of poorly kittens and cats there were living in the gardens. He agreed for Animal Rescue to come and collect them, and kept us informed.

If you are not staying at the front of the hotel, where traffic noise would be an issue, then this hotel is a nicer one than many in this area. Baga itself though is still manic, particularly at weekends when it fills up with domestic tourists.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Steve And Lin
8 years 5 months ago
This hotel was recommended to us by an English friend who lives in Baga. It truly is an oasis in the mad world that is India. We stayed in a deluxe room which is a little extra cost but well worth it. The hotel has two pools and offers treatments like massage and beauty parlour.

We found the hotel to be extremely clean and staff very helpful. Rooms cleaned and changed daily. The buildings and grounds of the hotel remind you of a bygone era when it was a Portugese colony.

Did not leave any rating for Entertainment as we did not stay at the hotel in the evenings.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: n/a

Recommended
10 years 4 months ago
Arrived at Ronil second time we had been there from entering hotel was like coming home.

rooms cleaned daily fresh sheets daily, now most rooms have a fridge.

Food excellent and staff and friendly you get voucher worth 750 rupess for 2 and unless u have lobster tiger prawns you cant spend it,you get a free bottle of wine with it too.

location i love it in middle of baga and quick walk to bar rat for a gin and tonic watch world go by.

Staff from room boys pool lads management were superb had a bug needed doctors at 1 in morning he arrived in 10 mins and got fresh fruit in room next day didnt ruin my holiday was so well looked after thanks to everyone.

Entertainment was varied polly on a sunday night is class also does more raunchy performance on a friday night at molly malones in calangute.

The Ronils home now our friends got married on beach at big banna shack when they got back champagne flowers ballons in room, they stayed their wedding night in a 5 star hotel who did nothing for them.

As hotels go its an oasis in a world of chaos that is baga.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
10 years 6 months ago
The Ronil Hotel is on the busy main road where there is now to much traffic.

The hotel breakfast area was very dirty, the floor was covered in spillages of food and drinks and not once scrubbed down. This is a 3* hotel and we expected the standards to be a bit better.

The pools were not filtered so were like still water covered in a layer of dirt and sun oil, we therefore never once used them.

The room was cramped with no room either side of the bed for a small table or drawers. The half-wardrobe was small and with little storage or drawer space. We have been to 2* hotles ib Goa with better faccilities. The balcony was tiny with two fixed seats in either corner but no room for a table in between. No chance to enjoy sitting outside with a drink early evening.

The only redeeming feature was the food and service at the evening meals, with some fairly good entertainment. The sting in the tail though is that two taxes and a service charge are added to your bill. We still tipped the waiters as this didn't go to them.

The room cleaners were a pain, always hanging around waiting for you to appear each morning. We asked that our room was left a few times with only towels being changed, and on one such day returned mid-morning to find the male cleaner in our room watching TV!! We tipped three different male cleaners, but didn't feel comfortable with any of them in our rooms.

We have been going to Goa for many years but wouldn't stay in Baga ever again or reccomend this hotel.

Not pleased at all with this hotel or the busy main road it was located on. Rooms were tiny and dark, with little storeage space or shelves or worktops to put toiletries etc.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

M&J
11 years 2 months ago
We were there for 3 weeks and the majority of the time had to ask for tea or coffee in the morning with breakfast. Breakfast staff and bar staff not all that friendly and as stated in a previous review, watch your bar bill.
Location is good with shops, eating places and beach on doorstep.
The food tasted good and the voucher system is easy to use, however my husband ended up with very bad stomach ache the day before we flew home, was it food at the hotel? we don't know, but he did have a seafood dish.
The entertainment was good and bad. The mime artist is funny but as for the rest of the entertainment we saw it wasn't all that brilliant.
Would we visit Goa again, most definitley but not Ronil Beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Stacey And Mick
11 years 6 months ago
We stayed for two weeks at ths hotel.

It was clean but basic, the only thing missing in the room was a fridge! airr con was free and a nice relief
Staff were ok not over friendly, but the week we arrived it was fairly quiet and we met some interesting and friendly couples.

Watch your bar bill as a few times we we presented with a bill that showed drinks we never had!

This happened about four times! and we even got some broken glass in a glass of tomato juice!! is that what they call extras? Vouchers are given for food that you could use for lunch or evening meal, which was great but the resturant manager was cross when we presented it after we had asked for the bill!! It seemed that when you give in the voucher the meals are smaller!! Not a real problem though as appetites are not great in that heat!!

There are limited sunbeds and they really could do with buying some new ones! But if you slip the pool attentant 30 rupees he will save you your favourite beds!!!

The Jewel in the Crown rep was not around as much as other reps like first choice which was probably as well as my other half was so angry with him after a trip we did!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: jewel in the crown

Recommended
12 years 3 months ago
This was our third visit in four years. There are new rooms since last year, however, these come at a premium rate now, much to our surprise. Feel that the hotel is begining to rely on its past performance too much now, the original rooms need some investment to bring them on a par with the new blocks now if they want people to return.

Breakfast choice still excellent, don't need to eat much after this during the day. The voucher system for the meals is flexible as it means you can use these for snacks or an evening meal - and get a small bottle of wine too!

The location is right amongst it, a short stroll to the beach. There is some development of shops going on across the road, not that it needs it, it's fine as it is. A couple of small bars around, with the tibetan market stalls just over the road.

The staff never seem to change, the boys who clean the rooms are especially helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. Also the reception staff - some appear grumpy but you have to get to know them. The hotel manager mingles about with the guests, and has been know to cook a meal for some people.

There is local entertainment every night around the pool which serves as the restaurant area, it's very relaxing, variety of groups.

Although we have had really good holidays at the Ronil we now feel we need to have a change, and will be trying out somewhere in Arpora next.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Eclipse

13 years 1 month ago
Great hotel in a perfect location.

Rooms are basic but that's all you need as don't spend a lot of time there. Cleaned every day and fresh towels.

Food was excellent especially the sea food.

Staff were okay not overly friendly but I think they had just had enough as we went last two weeks of the season. Louis hotel manager was great though and couldn't do enough for you.

They had entertainment on most nights not really our cup of tea as in our early 30's more the club singer variety probably more suited to the older clientele.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again, couldn't get a better location everything on your doorstep.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Ruth
13 years 1 month ago
We had a good room overlooking the Pool, but unfortunately the pool was not very clean with twigs and flies in it. The staff were ok, not too friendly.
The food was nothing special either.
I have been to India 3 times, and I am going again soon, I would not stay there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Ken Lupton
13 years 6 months ago
We've stayed several times at The Ronil Beach. The staff are amazingly helpful and polite. Service is first class.

The food is also very good but the bar prices can be a bit steep by Indian standards.

Rooms are adequate but basic, the ones around the front pool are best. Linen and towels are changed daily and although standards of cleanliness are not up to European standards, they are acceptable.

The Ronil gets a very high level of repeat business so I guess that says something!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum