Image of Riverside Hotel

Riverside Hotel

3 of 11 hotels in Baga

4 out of 5 from 12 reviews
Umta Waddo Calangute, Bardez Calangute - North, Calangute, 403515, India
On the banks of Baga River, situated in a tranquil and picturesque location.

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ian Hull
9 years 4 months ago
this is the second time my girlfriend and i have stayed at this hotel.one of the main reasons we like this hotel is the view we get from our room.we asked for the same room we had last year,as this overlooked the river at the front.see the sun come up bout 7,by 8 its blazing into your room.the staff are really friendly,as are all the goan people.rooms were cleaned every day,by a smiley kid called august.left him some of my clothes when we left,he was made up.the waiters are nice guys,had a good banter with them,mostly because they are man united fans,im liverpool.booked again for jan 2010 here.3wks again. 7th time in goa in a row.beautiful part of india. something to look forward to after another dodgy english summer.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: jewel in the crown

Recommended
The Hunters
9 years 5 months ago
avoid this hotel at all costs. the bathrooms are filthy, towels and bedding stained and threadbare. beds rock hard. some staff very rude. this hotel is not fit for humans.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

10 years 4 months ago
The hotel was in a great location, quiet but only 5 minutes from Baga or the beach. Room was very basic no fridge or tv. Toilet was falling off the wall when we arrived and took 4 days before falling off we then waited 2 days to get it fixed before asking to be moved which we was after much complaining and showing my blue band. The second room was a bit cleaner. we were in block b and moved to block c
pool was small but adequate.
The worst part was every morning about 2 or 3 o' clock packs of dogs were barking for about 2 hours so we were woken every time. everyone we spoke to complained about them but what can you do. This really spoiled the holiday and for this reason alone would not stop there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: my travel

Jack Rigby
10 years 4 months ago
Hotel was very clean, bed linen and towels changed every day.
Hotel food excellent.
Location 5 minutes from beach also there is a good taxi service outside the hotel.
The staff at the hotel are very warm and friendly and nothing is to much trouble.
The room boys are second to none.
We could not find one single fault with the hotel at all.
Highly recomended!!!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Hannah Calvert
10 years 4 months ago
Having just returned from a two week stay at the Riverside Regency (not the Riverside) in Baga, Goa, I am happy top submit this unbiased review.
Location....The RR is located in Baga, just north of the Baga River and about 50m upstream of the new Baga Bridge.
Rating....with most agents, 1 star.
Layout....The RR has been developed into a 4-block resort. spread around a small swimming pool. There are a few air-conditioned rooms attatched the the reception block near the front of the resort. Behind this is the pool and to either side of the pool are blocks B and C which are 3 storey high and have balconies facing it. Set further back is the new block D which is 4 storey. The room we stayed in was on the third floor of block D but from what I could see, the rooms are very similar in all blocks.
Rooms....Each room has twin beds pushed together to make a double. The matresses are typical Goan - thin but comfortable. Also in the room is a low bench for a suitcase, two bedside cabinets, a low wardrobe with shelves and hanging space, a table with mirror behind, ample electrical sockets, ceiling fan, 2 bedside wall lights, door to small balcony with 2 chairs and the door passage has, off to one side, the toilet/wetroom with basin mirrored above (cold water only) low level wc and shower with h and c mixer. Unlike some higher rated hotels, the decor is clean and bright, the lamps are shaded and the rooms overall very cosy and comfortable. Linen / towels were changed daily or every other day. They had to be reminded about loo roll once or twice.
The water is solar heated and from about 10am until 10pm there is ample hot water. Prior to 10am, the water can be cool.
Outside....the pool is small but warm and clear. It is tiled and there is a small kids pool attatched. It is open from 8am - 6pm.There is room for about 20 sunbeds at one end. At the other end and to one side is a small bar and covered restaurant area where they serve good low-priced meals in a pleasant atmosphere. For those on a B and B basis, there is the standard toast and tea/coffee fare at breakfast time but for a small sum, the breakfast menu is full and well-cooked. There is music and a small cable TV on the end of the bar. Bar prices are good and the staff polite and efficient. There is no organised entertainment / karaoke - thank goodness!
In the reception area are secure lockers at 40rp / day but they are only accessible between 8am and 6pm so requires some forward planning to ensure availability of passports, travellers cheques cameras etc. Reception will change small amounts of foreign currency on an ad hoc basis but there is not a full forex facility. There is a small gift shop next door which is open 10am - 7.30pm which gives a fair exchange rate. This shop also sells postcards, stamps, tobacco etc. and is run by a nice lady who will also post your letters home. Reception also has a small library of paperbacks to borrow. At night, on one occasion at least, dogs nearby kept us awake with their barking but it was not a major problem.
nearby....are several bars and restaurants within walking distance. Taxis are always available outside. Scooters can be hired at between 200 and 250rps / day by the taxi drivers. Despite its proximity to the river, mosquitos are no more of a problem here than anywhere else.
In summary, the RR is a budget hotel with very high standards and probably deserves a higher star rating than the 1 it has. The staff are friendly and accomodating and the standards of service, food etc. are high. Do not be put off by its budget price, its an excellent little hotel.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: going places

Recommended
Bren48
10 years 5 months ago
While I agree about the noise at the bagga bridge
did not ruin our holiday dec 2006-jan 2007 after a month it did become a bit tedious especially after a hard days sun bathing chilling with a few beers.

We like to get back to the hotel and down a few gin and tonics to prepare ourselves for a hard night out eating and drinking once more arrgh! What a hard life.

Joking aside can anybody tell me if the bridge at baga
is definitley finished yet because for all our moaning
and it was bad at times guys and girls truely lots of people moved out we stayed, we are tough ha them kanga
Jack hammers or whatever they are called did not beat us. But please if anyone can put our minds at rest we are there this year 15 dec 2007 to 15 jan 2008 is the bridge at baga finished?????
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: my travel

Recommended
Ken Burrows
10 years 5 months ago
The hotel is in a great location only a few minutes to the beach (and I am bad at walking)the rooms as in most hotels here are basic to say the least.

Towels and sheets changed every other day, the staff are realy good and friendly. Always a smile for you, I think the extras such as AC and fridge's is excessiveat
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: manos

Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
The Riverside Regency was one of the friendliest hotels we have visited over the years in Goa.

The bar staff especially could not do enough for you.

A return visit is definitely on the cards.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Odyssey

Recommended
Lucy Juniper & Joe Dodds
11 years 3 months ago
We have just returned after spending 3 weeks at The Riverside Regency and it was easily the best holiday we have ever had!

The hotel is fairly new and you can tell as everywhere is spotless. The rooms are cleaned everyday with fresh bedding and towels.

All the staff are lovely and even though we were only b&b we did eat at the hotel a couple of times and the food was very nice.

We spent most days away from the hotel out and about or at the beach but if you are a pool person the pool at the hotel is really nice and cleaned everyday and there are plenty of beds and separate clean towels for the pool.

We went on quite alot of trips and whilst driving to collect people from the different hotels we soon realised that The Riverside Regency is by far located in the best place. It is close to everything without having all the hustle and bustle on top of you.

The best holiday ever, we would definitely go back and would stay in the same hotel. Don't be put off that there are some building works going on near the hotel, these are due to be complete by summer 2007 but to be honest they didn't cause us any disturbance as it was just a noise in the background it wasn't bad at all.

We have stayed in 5* hotels in the Caribbean and we had a better time in this 2* b&b. Me and my boyfriend are both in our early 20's but I would recommend it to everyone of all ages as there is something for everyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Odyssey

Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
This is the 3rd time I have stayed here and will definitely not be the last, everywhere within the resort is cleaned daily with all the boys saying a very polite good morning and good night when they see you. The rooms are cleaned daily with sheets and towels changed every other day. Can not fault the cleanliness of this resort.

The rooms are a good size as are the bathrooms (the shower was better than mine at home - watch the water though it does get very very hot) there are no televisions in the rooms and you can hire a fridge if you want to, personally I did not miss either.

The staff are your friends as soon as you check in. My ceiling fan was not working when we arrived but within 5 minutes of reporting it it was - excellent service - they can not do enough for you and aways with a smile. The food here is fab and excellent value for money, even though there are some fantastic places to eat locally we ate in several nights (try the vegetable jalfrezi - my mouth is watering now).

The bridge is quite noisy at the moment (the work on the bridge starts at 0830 and finishes at 2030) but only if you spend all your time in the resort, we spent everyday at the Squeeze Shack on Baga Beach (also excellent)so it didn't bother us and certainly didn't spoil our time there.

I could go on and on about the Riverside Regency but I must stop at the risk of repeating myself.

Hope you enjoy it as much as we always do.

Fantastic!!!!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: N/A

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum