Image of Whispering Palms Beach Resort Hotel

Whispering Palms Beach Resort Hotel

29 of 39 hotels in Candolim

3 out of 5 from 7 reviews
Sinquerim Beach, Panaji, Goa 403515, India

7 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
8 years 5 months ago
I did not intend to book up an all-inclusive deal as I always eat out for dinner, but it was nice to get a snack and a beer on return from the beach, a G and T before dinner and a cocktail upon return. The hotel was easily the best I have stayed at in Goa in the 3 star category. Excellent staff, lots of management around the desk and the feeling that they cared how your stay went. Their basic rooms have two beds, enough hot water, TV, A/c and fan and I found mine perfectly adequate. I did ask to see one of their rooms from the next grade up but it was exactly the same apart from a large double bed...not really worth the extra money. Rooms surround a clean looking pool which, because of the AI deal was busy during the day and at night. There was entertainment every night and a good atmosphere, unlike some hotels where everybody goes out. It is 3/4minutes walk from the beach and a 100 yards from the main road. Just across from the hotel gate is a money changer/shop/internet place, although I had heard that the hotel had wifi. Yes, I will come back here next time. Try as I can, I cant think of anything to criticise.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jewel in the Crown

Recommended
Watling
10 years 1 month ago
fantastic hotel,we stayed in a superior room with a small garden area,staff couldn't do enough for us,we renewed our wedding vows and were made to feel really special,so good that we had booked to visit again april 2010 but the volcano put a stop to that but we will visit again as soon as possible.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Mark Allen
11 years 2 months ago
The hotel is clean and tidy and the staff are very friendly and helpful, location of the hotel is 5 minutes from the beach and the nearest restaurants are on the door step.

The all inclusive food was extremely poor and after the first 3 days of a 2 week holiday we didn't eat in the hotel again. The room we had is one of the older rooms and is a bit dated and very dim but was cleaned efficiently everyday.

We would definitely return to Candolim again but not this hotel.

If you are considering Goa, travel room only or b & b as eating out is very cheap and nice, I recommend The Bistro and Ganesh shack opposite the tanker, can't do enough for you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Damien & Dawn
12 years 3 months ago
We stayed for 2 weeks Jan/Feb 2006. Whispering Palms has a range of accommodation, some of it better than others. The worst rooms are in the main block above the lobby/kitchen facing away from the pool towards the generator and storage area.

Avoid room 115 and any close to it as you get the added bonus of the kitchen extractor right next to your verandah.

Many guests flatly refused these rooms when they were offered, and others were requesting a change after their first night.

To be honest, the management did try to accommodate these changes, but the hotel is very full, and they had to wait for a day when lots of guests were leaving - this inevitably led to all the worst rooms being available for the new arrivals, and the whole process began again.

The other 'basic rooms are in blocks of 4 dotted around the pool. They are basic, medium sized but with a very large, and (by Goa standards)comfortable bed. The windows, doors etc are ill fitting and provide gaps for the mossies.
Cleaning/linen change is daily and of an acceptable standard.

The food, for all inclusive, is of a quite reasonable standard - nothing too expensive, but varied and you can usually get something to tempt you. The chefs do an excellent job in trying to keep food at the correct temperature and fly free-sometimes made more difficult by guests leaving lids / nets off. Substantial 'snacks' are always available outside main meal times. Breakfast can be a bit of an ordeal - the facilities may have been OK for the original 66 rooms, but new rooms have been added, and shortages in cutlery, crockery, and tables are a result of too many people trying to dine at the same time - so be prepared to have your early morning cuppa from a cereal bowl!

The newer blocks offer a slightly better room, a bigger bathroom, and a corner seating area, but are 20 pounds per night dearer and(as far as I am aware) cannot be pre-booked with Thompsons.

Approach the 'all inclusive' bar service with care. As usual,not all products on sale are included, but, the difference at Whispering Palms is as you are required to 'sign' for all drinks, it does not become immediately apparent what is being added to your final bill. There is a list of 'local ' drinks, but you need to look for it. Three meals at the a la carte are included for a 2 week stay - nothing special and again some items are not included in your all inclusive rate, but these are highlighted.

If you want a good fillet steak, pop over to the 'Mermaid' and you'll get one for about 600 rupees.The entertainment was good some nights and basic on others.

There are about 40 sunbeds, so it's either an early start or a trip to the beach. To get to the beach you need to pass about 20 stalls with some of the most persistant 'sellers' you will meet in Goa - there may be something worth buying in some of these stalls, but the sheer badgering tends to make most people get past them as quickly as possible. The shacks on this bit of beach are right beside the beached tanker - River Princess- but this is not as bad as it sounds - you don't notice it after a few days.

Ganesh and his family have a plesant shack and sunbeds, and Ganesh will give advice on most matters if required. He doesn't hard sell anything - which is a breath of fresh air in Goa, as much 'advice' is really a recommendation to a family member or a 'kickback'.

The hotel staff are all very friendly, and, once you have 'tipped' the ones who have looked after you best - you should get their attention again. All in all - a nice 3 star hotel, but with a few rooms you should avoid.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Mary Sanderson
12 years 4 months ago
We have stayed at the Whispering Palms for the last 6 years. We were there for three weeks in Jan/Feb 06. We have already booked again for 2007.

Several of the hotel staff have become our friends and we also have many friends who are also guests at the same time each year. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and and we always find them friendly and courteous.

The rooms are very clean with sheets and towels changed daily.

The food is very good. Breakfasts are good even though they desperately need a new toaster.

There is entertainment every night.

The hotel is near the sea and the walk down to the beach is always good fun with the banter with the sellers. We hardly ever buy from them as we have already bought most of what they have to offer in previous years but,nevertheless, they are always cheerful and friendly and remember us when we come back each year. You have to remember that they rely on selling in order to save money for the monsoon period when they have no work.

We always go to Ryan's shack on the beach and are now firm friends with Ryan and his family and are given a big welcome back when we arrive each year.

I think Goa, Candolim and the Whispering Palms are fantastic.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
12 years 5 months ago
We stayed at this Hotel for Christmas & New Year it was very disappointing.

The de-luxe room we were allocated was dark and dingy with stained bedspreads. Because of this we paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Amanda
14 years 4 months ago
This hotel is a 2 minute walk to the beach. The hotel is clean. The room we had was at the front of the hotel quite noisy as the taxis parked outside. The room was small the beds very low, fridge and tv. The room also had a huge round window at the top which was really annoying as the sun shone through it in the morning.


Did not stay around hotel to see entertainment so can not comment.The pool are small and crowded but I never use the pool as I like the beach. The food was normal Goan/English breakfast of eggs and eggs, all done outside so there was a lot of flys landing on the jam.


I liked the hotel but would not stay there again now I have found The Phoenix Ppark.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum