Image of Cesare Augustus Hotel

Cesare Augustus Hotel

9 of 12 hotels in Lido Di Jesolo

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
Via Treviso, 19, 30016 Jesolo, Italy

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sydney Graham
8 years 11 months ago
Recently refurbished, the Cesare Augustus is superbly located overlooking Jesolos long beach. The hotel is furnished to a very high standard and is maintained in an immaculate condition. facilities are very good but what really makes this hotel is the friendly and helpful attitude of the staff all of whom go out of their way to make guests feel welcome. Breakfast is served by the pool and, in the evening, the resturaunt offers a wide variety of delicious dishes to suit every taste. Deck chairs and sunbeds are available on the beach and, as everywhere in Italy, they have to be paid for (3 euro per day). The hotel also provides bike hire and a pitch and put course. The garden is an oasis of peace but, if pubs and shops are required they are just a short walk away.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Liz
9 years 8 months ago
This hotel is beautifully located right on the sandy beach and only 3 mins walk to the Pizza Aurora and 1 min from the main shopping street. The hotel has been refurbished this year and is bright and modern inside, with lots of comfortable white leather sofas to lounge on in air conditioned splendour. The terrace and pool area are spotless and there are plenty of seats and loungers. There is a new pool now (some photos that I have seen are of the old pool)that has no hard edge to it, you simply slide in. It also has a 'bubble pool' area and a very small waterfall. The dining room is buffet service with a huge variety of foods,salads, soups, fresh fish, carvery, huge variety of vegetables and many meats and fish cooked on the grill in front of you. There is also a huge dessert buffet which offers fresh fruit, pastries, cakes, cheeses and ice-cream. Food was replenished very quickly and was plentiful.The waiter service was good and they were very attentive.
Breakfast is served out on the terrace each morning, cereals, fruit, hams, cheeses, pastries as well a full cooked breakfast, all freshly cooked on the grill on the terrace.
The rooms were a little small, but were perfectly adequate and were spotlessly clean, with towels changed every day. All bedrooms had a fridge to put your own drinks in (not a costly mini bar)and the air-conditioning was very effective.
The hotel provides bike hire (1.50 Euro per hour) and it is very easy to get around as there are lots of bike lanes and the whole area is flat. There is also a pitch and putt course (2.50 Euro per person)at the hotel. The entertainment happened twice a week when we were there - once it was a singer(?) singing up to date songs, the other time it was a duo who were rather sparkly and dated.
The staff were very friendly and efficient and the staff on the front desk were very helpful and informative.
I would throughly recommend this hotel and would love to visit it again in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
G Blackburn
9 years 9 months ago
the hotel is in very good condition. the rooms are very small. but are well looked after . the food is diabolical. its boring and repitive. dishes are not refilled unless asked by guests. no maitre de in view to control some of the sloppy waiting staff. a cocky chef who prefers to tell guests they are late instead of looking after the food . warm plates for salad ? deserts if in doubt put out a bowl of pears...
bar staff who think they are good but cant make a basic coffee liquior. bar staff who loudly argue in front of guests and wont shut up when asked. little or no evening drinks waiting staff. dire entertainment.one night a singer spent most of the night trying to repair something and singing with his back to the guests.
the rep does her best,but needs more help from above. the whole hotel needs a good shake up. a very nice hotel in a prime location going to waste.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Stephanie Hilton
9 years 10 months ago
The hotel is spotlessly clean and tidy, and the facilities and location are good. The room we had was advertised with a side sea view, which it was,unfortunately there is another hotel next door and the balconies there looked directly into our balcony and room - not a lot of privacy.

The room was quite small and painted dark blue, so a bit depressing, but loads of shelves and cupboards to put things away. The room staff were excellent and all staff very helpful. Good shower and it worked!!

The restaurant is large and an enormous selection of food, not very Italian though as they seem to cater for the English taste, and the food seemed to be the same things every night although the menu changed.

You would not go hungry though, even fussy eaters would find something they liked. We stayed a week and were a bit bored with the food at the end.

Take care if you are seated near the grill, you may smell of smoke for the duration. Tables in the restaurant seem to seat 4, but the Manageress in the restaurant will try and change your seating if she can.

There is a charge of 3 euros per day per sun bed at the pool, but this includes fresh towels. There are free deckchairs on the beach but a charge of 5 euros for s sunbed.

Good location, and an easy walk to bars/shops/bus stops etc.

Do make sure you check your change in the bar, as one person made a few mistakes while we were there - obviously maths not his strong point.

There is nothing to complain about at this hotel, and many of the guests seem to return again and again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
10 years 11 months ago
I had read in previous reviews about the lack of food in this hotel, but it was really good, always plenty of choice and no chips in sight. Although the food was never piping hot but apparently Italians don't like piping hot food, they like to be able to eat it straightaway.

The hotel itself was good, apart from no entertainment until the night we flew home and only then it was a old crooner from Napoli and i don't think many people stayed to listen to him.

The Thomson trips were expensive, 72 euros to Venice but word soon got round that you could get a ticket for 19 euros for the bus and boat and I think a lot of people made their own way there, which we did and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Mr & Mrs Jackson
11 years 7 months ago
Stayed at this hotel the last two weeks in September. Be warned the Hotel & resort closes down the last week in September. During our two weeks stay bars & restaurants were closing down daily, so if you are looking for some nightlife go earlier in the season.

This hotel has also changed ownership.

Make sure you go into the restaurant early for your evening meal otherwise nothing left.

On the whole a ideal base for trips to Venice, Lake Garda and Verona
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

White Family
11 years 8 months ago
We arrived at this hotel at about 8.30pm we were asked to put our cases in our room and go down to restaurant where we could find a hot meal. There was plenty of it and very nice.

We found the staff very pleasant and helpful if you had a query, nice to have free safety deposit box and air conditioning rooms were cleaned and beds made every day it makes a nice change. There was such a choice of food that you couldn't resist going back for more or trying something different. The chef was only to happy to cook your steak which ever way you preferred whilst you waited.

Pool very clean but a bit cold lovely sandy beach hotel close to shops and nightlife but far enough away not to hear the music.

5 hour delay on way home but hotel gave us a hot meal because of it.

Will definitely go back again because a week is not long enough.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
12 years 7 months ago
We stopped in the Conca Park for our honeymoon and were disappointed that there was nothing to congratulate us in the room, when we told the receptionist we were honeymooners she just smiled.

Apart from that, the hotel was great, didnt find it cold, its in an excellent location, away from the busy main road where you take your life into your hands by just crossing it.

Would definitely go back to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cant remember

Recommended
Margaret
12 years 8 months ago
We visited the Hotel Cesare Augustus in August. I was very pleased when the rep told us that the resturant would be open and serving dinner when we arrived, which was about 9.00pm.

My husband an I were not so pleased when we were told that we would be sharing a table and this would probably be the case for our holiday.

However, when telling reception, after the meal that we did not wish to share, we were given a table for two for the following nights.

The food was good, both breakfast and dinner buffets were well laid out. One thing I would point out was that the dinner buffet is cleared away promptly. So if you arrive towards the later end of the given time for dinner, tables will begin being cleared and the buffet will slowly begin to vanish!.

The rooms are on the small side but are spotless and the air-con is a boon. I asked for more pillows and these were delivered immediately.

The pool area is good and as opposed to many other european hotels there was no problem in getting a sunbed.

There is a small charge of about e2.50 per day, per bed, but this includes a beach towel. Waiter service around the pool area is good but a bit pricey. eg e6.00 for an orange juice and small beer plus they expect a tip.

One thing I would like to point out about the hotel is that they do not accept credit cards, so there is no such thing as a tab.

The wine waiter at dinner will want to be paid there and then as will the waiters by the pool. Also the reception money exchange will not exchange euro travellers cheques, only pounds to euro's or, I suppose other national currencies.

All in all I would say that the Cesare Augustus made a good clean, comfortable holiday base if you intend to take up all the excursions on offer.

If I had intended to use the hotel as a 'sunsoak' base and maybe do one or two excursions, I think I would have been slightly dissapointed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Dave Bastin
15 years 10 months ago
Hotel was excellent,staff very friendly and helpful.
Food was very, very good,plenty of choice at all meal times.

Could not wish for a better location, right on the beach.
Very little entertainment, however lots of nice bars
nearby, the good thing out of hundreds of bars only saw two english bars.

Fantastic shopping in the area over 15km of shops, restaurants and bars.

Shopping centre is pedestrianised after 6.oopm and most shops stay open until 11.00pm.

Will be going there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum