Image of La Vallette Resort Hotel

La Vallette Resort Hotel

9 of 10 hotels in St Julians

2 out of 5 from 17 reviews
3 stars
Dragonara Road, St Julian's STJ 02, Malta
The La Vallette complex has an ideal location near all major amenities and enjoys beautiful sea views. Close to the lively nightlife and a great selection of shops, restaurants and bars, the complex is also only 250m from the gently shelving beach.

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    6

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
what a dump
8 years 1 month ago
What an absolute dump this place is, filthy rooms, dirty toilets (ours was brown), disgusting food, gormless staff, filthy pool, human waste in corridors, dirty towels, stained bed sheets, balcony view that looked like Beirut, 6 lifts that didn't work, no fridge, one spoon in cutlery draw, no kettle, filthy cooker, flaking paint, better conditions down our local dogs home! Absolute rubbish!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: lowcostholidays

Deans Family
14 years ago
This hotel was certainly not clean, all electricial goods need to be renewed as does the toilet, no shower. sheets with holes in them, walls all covered with stains. No teatowels, no toaster, really is not suitable for a holiday. We were told it was apartments it certainly was not that just a studio,
we had friends who got another room and couldnt live with the noise, really not properly run.
The whole building needs to be refurbished.
When you come in the front door the foyare is beautiful, pity the rest of the Resort is not the same.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: my travel

Miss J Forsyth
15 years 4 months ago
Hotel generally unclean.

Cooker in room dirty,balcony unswept. Dining room dismall,like a school canteen only dirty. The food was absolutely dismal and when we complained we were shouted at by the resteraunt manager.

We spent most of our time out as the description in the brochure was not what we found at all.the maltese people are on the whole nice but with this experience I definitely will not be returning and in no way recommed it to others
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: belleair holidays

Lisa
16 years 1 month ago
I will never ever come to this hotel again. The second I walked into my hotel I was welcomed by a big lump of hair on the bathroom floor, even though my partner and I couldn't go into our room for 3 hours as it was being "cleaned". Making my way into the bedroom area the fan on the ceiling is half hanging off, the floor is filthy and the mirrored area full of dirt. At night time some Italians decided it'd be funny to ring the phone at 4,5 and 6 in the morning also they found it funny to wake up the whole corridor by screaming when coming home from going out. Next morning we immediately went downstairs and asked for a refund as we were not satisfied. They tried all they could so they didn't give our money back so we agreed to moving rooms, only to be told they would move us next door to where we were before. Pointless!!

After disagreeing they agreed to move us to another floor and I must say this room was an improvement but not much.

This hotel is dirty dirty dirty and I advise nobody to stay there. It's a waste of money!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Air Malta

Louise
16 years 1 month ago
Hotel not what I would call a 3 star - absolutely filthy - pubic hairs in hotel bathroom on arrival, balcony door wouldnt open, overall cleanliness and maintenance of the hotel was non existant.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: choice holidays

Hampal
16 years 7 months ago
Stayed at La Vallette Resort, Malta.

This felt more like budget style accomadation not three star. Extremely basic and in need of updating.

Sheets holey, towels thin (only bath towels provided). No toaster, only basic two ring stove and grill that took 20 mins to heat up. No handle on grill pan, no tea towel or oven glove provided. No hooks to hang clothes. Felt old and grubby. Bathroom old, crudely repaired tiles, plastic hose style shower, no wall hook or shower curtain.

Only positive thing to say was that the apartment was spacious.If we ever go to Malta again would definately pay more and go 4 or 5 star.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Belleaire

Catherine Watters
17 years ago
I stayed in La Vallette Resort St Julians.

Yes the noise on the side where all the bars were was very noisy but the side were the pool was, was very quite.

The hotel was basic but clean. We were self catering but were able to make food because you had hot plates and an oven.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Andy Ware And Trish Bell
17 years 1 month ago
this is our first visit to malta.we stayed at the la valette hotel i st juliens.having read previous reviews by other guests we were abit wary of staying in this hotel but desided to make the most of it.Boy were we shocked,our room was on the 9th floor facing sun-rise.The room comprised of two dirty beds,dirty curtains,dirty floor and a really dirty bathroom.On the second day the electricity went off in the room,the only thing keeping the room below 100f even at night was a noisy ceiling fan so you can imagine how hot the room was!!The management were unconcerned and i was told it may come back on in a couple of hours(eight hours later).The toilet had no water to flush it for three days.The food is alright if you like pasta seemed more to cater for the italian guests(noisy italian guests).The reception staff have no manners what to speak of and were very rude at times.Don`t hand your key into reception if you go out as it can take upto half an hour to get back.Malta as a holiday island is fantastic but find another hotel to stay at unless you are 18-25.This holiday wasn`t cheap as we paid over 900 pounds for a weeks holiday.We would stay Anywhere else on the island definately not the la valette resort.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Zoe Stanton
17 years 1 month ago
I traveled to Malta for a friends wedding with my 2 year old son. They were in 4* and 5* accommodation which made my days happy as I could visit them and stay at their pools.

After booking this hotel I read some comments on this site and got very nervous. I tried to change hotels before I left home but was told that Airtours had not had complaints about the hotel. I took a chance and wished I had not! When we arrived the room was not clean, after 45 mins sat by the pool with pushchair and suitcase we finally entered a room with no towels,a swept but dirty floor, a fridge that did not shut and one out of two beds not change.

I had to stay as the meeting with the rep was in the morning, so we attempted to sleep later that night. This was impossible because of the pool entertainment till midnight (great with a two year old), the heat (the fan is useless
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Sue
17 years 1 month ago
This hotel is filthy and very, very noisy. The music from the bar below continues until about 5am every morning. It may be suitable for a Club 18 - 30 holiday but not for anybody else.

We had to move rooms twice due to noise levels. We ended up on the 9th floor with the lifts hardly ever working. The reception staff agreed that the hotel was very poor.

Entertainment was appalling and food basic.

The rooms were brushed each day but I don't think the floor was ever cleaned.

My advice would be to get the bus and see some of the other places in Malta which are far nicer.

Spinola Bay is only 10 minutes walk away if you want a meal in a lovely setting - very reasonably priced too.

We have been to Malta before and would go again, but we would not go anywhere near St Julian's Bay and especially this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Aspro

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.