Image of Riu Palace Mexico Hotel

Riu Palace Mexico Hotel

8 of 17 hotels in Playa del Carmen

5 out of 5 from 8 reviews
4 stars
Avenida Xaman-Ha Manzana 3 Lote 4 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
9 years 2 months ago
Just returned from this hotel and it was absolutely fantastic. The food in all the speciality restaurants and the main buffet were all 5 star. Have never seen so much variety changed at all mealtimes. The staff are coming round all the time to get your drinks etc nothing too much trouble. They are cleaning and doing the grounds the whole time. As you can guess we loved it and will be going back. It's also handy to walk over the road into a little shopping plaza and 7 mins in a taxi to Playa del Carmen.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
Karen Thomson
10 years 9 months ago
We stayed at the Rui Palace Mexico for 2 weeks. This was our first visit to Mexico. The hotel, rooms and grounds were all clean and tidy. The staff could not do enough for you and made you very welcome. The food was outstanding, different theme nights and we also had a choice to go to the speciality restuarants,which were brazilian, mexican,japaneze and the steakhouse to name but a few. We went to the brazilian and steakhouse the service was excellent and the food was outstanding.
The carvings made from melons,butter and ice in the main restuarant were fantastic and photographed often.

The swimming pools were clean and you could play volleyball and go for a drink in the poolside bar which had excellent staff looking after you.

During the day you could take part in rifle shooting, learning spanish, going a tour of the kitchens, learning to make a cocktail and playing beach volleyball to name but a few.
Night time entertainment had a band playing, the entertainment team putting on different shows and in the lobby bar a fantastic pianist to listen to.

The day we celebrated our 30th Wedding Anniversary the hotel staff decorated our room with balloons, flowers and made swans from towels they also put our cards on the bed it was gorgeous. The staff also gave us a lovely gift and at nightime we went to the steakhouse where our table was decorated with flowers awesome. The food was outstanding and the service was first class.
I cannot praise this hotel, managment, staff and not forgetting the Thomas Cook rep enough. It is definetly a 5 star hotel. Well worth going to. We hope to return to it sometime in the future.
Children are also at this hotel it is not an adult only hotel.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
11 years 7 months ago
We have been to Mexico before and stayed in a 5 star hotel in Playacar but this one really does deserve the 5 star rating, from the moment we arrived we were treated as if their sole purpose was to look after us and make sure we had a good holiday, the hotel buildings and grounds were immaculate with constant cleaning and maintaining.

All the staff were friendly & helpful from the moment we arrived.

Waiters in the bars were at your table before you had finished your drink asking if you wanted another and remembered what you had from one night to the next.
restaurant staff cleared your plates away immedately & couldn't do enough for you.

The customer relations manager came round a chatted to us every day checking that everything was ok.

On our last evening our waiter had strewn petals & flowers all over the table and the same at breakfast on the day we left.

Our room was a suite with steps down to a lounge area and we had sun loungers on the balcony.

The room was cleaned twice a day and the maid changed our towels each time and turned the bed down while we were out in the evening. we had a bar in our room with optics and had bacardi, smirnoff, tequila and brandy, the fridge was also stocked up every day with corona, water,soft drinks etc

The food was great (and I'm a fussy eater). If you wanted there was food and drink available 24 hours a day.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Tina
12 years 6 months ago
We would highly recommend anyone to stay at this hotel it can only be dscribed as 5* luxury, from the moment you arrive to the time you leave the staff cannot do enough for you.

The food & service in the main Don Julien restaurant was excellant. though there were 5 other restaurants you could book up to dine in if you wished, we ate in two of them and again the food & service was excellent.

Would definately visit this hotel again.

Hotel was situated on the beach with its own beach bar which was ideal as you did not have to move far or if you were really chilled,just wait for waiters to their rounds with the trays of cocktails.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Rosie Xenos
13 years 6 months ago
My husband and I chose this hotel for our honeymoon stay and we could not have made a better choice. Overall the most beautiful and accomodating place I have ever travelled to. Staff is more than excellent, food is great, hotel is gorgeous. I would go back anytime and recommend it for all ages. Very quiet resort which makes it a great place to relax and unwind. 5*****.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Tours Maison

Recommended
Mrs Margaret Kane
13 years 7 months ago
Came back two weeks ago from Riu Palace, this is an excellent hotel for couples and people of all ages but it is not for those wanting to party. I am disabled and found everyone was really nice and extremely helpful.

The staff in the restaurant and the bars just can't do enough for you, they are asking you for you're drink orders before you have even finished the last one. You really feel like you are being pampered throughout you're holiday. We visited the three specialty restaurants and liked the Sir Edward best, we visited it three times during our stay.

The rooms are really nice and it was nice to have the optics as we could have a drink before we went for our evening meal, there is also ice machines in youre corridor which was great.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone as it is over the 5 star status, we visited the other 3 Riu hotels and just wanted to get back to the Palace, this was a dream holiday and we hope to return in the future. Don't think anyone could be disappointed with anything in this hotel.

Hotel is wheelchair friendly but would be a bit of a problem in rooms for anyone who is wheelchair bound with no mobility as there are a few steps in room and bath would be a problem.

Only downside was entertainment but it didn't spoil our holiday as we met some really nice people.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
13 years 9 months ago
On our arrival we were welcomed by smiling staff and a lovely cocktail drink. The hotel is worth it's five star status, accomodation was fantastic, our room was quiet and peaceful over looking lovely fountains. We are both very well travelled and we can honestly say you would be hard pushed to find a better hotel in Mexico.

The food was top quality in all of the restaurants with lots of choice available, the staff could not do enough for the guests who were mostly Americans with the odd British guest. The hotel is very popular for weddings, we counted at least eight during our stay. The beach was so lovely with lots of beds available, they have thought of everything at this hotel including a quiet area with hammocks and sunbeds under shady palm trees 'bliss'.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
15 years 7 months ago
Fantastic hotel, from the moment you arrive, to the moment you leave. Rooms were of good size and very clean. 4 full size optics and small fridge, re-filled every 2 days with your choice of soft drinks and/or beer. Such a fantastic selection of food, you need never become bored. Whole place was kept spotlessly clean by an army of cleaners/gardeners. Only negatives I can think of is pool is not too large, and entertainment was mediocre(but very lively).
Provides a quality that others need to live up to
Roger
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum