Image of Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa Hotel

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa Hotel

10 of 17 hotels in Playa del Carmen

5 out of 5 from 14 reviews
4 stars
Carretera Cancun-Chetumal | Km 295, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Rachael Brown
Clean and pleasant
4 years 9 months ago
It was a fantastic holiday, the weather wasn't great to start however it was to be expected during rainy season and it only rained for one full day with a few showers on two other days. Overall the weather was brilliant. I would advise that one week is not enough time by the time you get there you only have 6 days and if it rains you will be gutted when you leave the beautiful summer sun. It does get very hot when the sun is out so bear that in mind.

We were on our honeymoon, however this information had got lost through communication and was not on the system. This was extremely disappointing and little effort was made to congratulate us on our honeymoon until the next day when we had a nice towel display on our bed and some t-shirts with just married on them. NOT alot of effort made because every time we went to the reception we were called by my maiden name even with the amount of times we corrected them, they could have changed it on their system.

The staff at the hotel were pleasant but we found a particular four were the only ones worth speaking to in order to find out relevant information. No tour was given which would have been appreciated due to how large the complex was. It was very clean and the attention to detail was fantastic. The food was brilliant and a great service from all of the waiting staff who make a great effort to accommodate what ever language you speak.

We would definitely go back just to experience more of it we didn't get to see. Hopefully, they will get our name right next time. The shows were out of this world, they had an amazing theatre with proper shows on every night which was well worth going to. The resort itself was beautiful with some amazing hidden gems and the beach was a gorgeous long stretch of white sands and turquoise sea. The best holiday I have ever been to. Worth going but would have appreciated a little more fuss made for our honeymoon.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunsave

Recommended
Margaret
Great food, great kids club
7 years 1 month ago
Excellent food and drinks were much better than stated in the brochure. Cocktails included, Capaccinos, Frappacinis you want it they provide it other than champagne, however they do over a lovely sparkling wine substitute.

Location is beach front. Staff are superb. Kids Club faultless, they earn every penny of their wages. It would cost a fortune to take a family of 5 out for an evening to see even 1 of these very professional shows, which they lay on most nights. Party night great fun.

Can't find fault very relaxing holiday, we will certainly book again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years ago
We stayed at the Caracol 6th-23rd April (had an extended stay due to the volcano). We were in Mexico for a family wedding and could not fault this hotel at all. It was everything we expected it to be and much more. Very clean main/public areas; bedrooms cleaned to a high standard; restaurants spotless; all walkways/gardens etc. perfect. Always people cleaning. We had terrible rain for 2 days and although the staff were unable to clear the rain from the main areas, they kept on trying even though they were soaked through. Hotel issued large refuse bags to holidaymakers in an attempt to keep us dry!!!

Food was of a good standard with lots of variety. We never bothered with the a la carte restaurants as you had to be on the queue at 6.30 to try and get a booking and quite honestly, the other restaurants were good enough not to warrant getting up at silly o'clock. Italian was the only restaurant we thought let the hotel down (cold food and not a lot of choice).

Hotel was huge but easy to get around once you got your bearings. Beach was lovely; always plenty of beds/brolleys and no need to "reserve". Even pool had plenty of beds. Very clean on the beach even after torrential rain storms the staff were out clearing up.

Entertainment was very good (day and night). Our teenage son found plenty to keep him occupied. All entertainment staff very keen to keep you happy and make your stay enjoyable.

All in all, we had a brillant holiday and would definitely return without hesitation. As already stated, we had an extended stay due to the volcano and cannot fault First Choice or their reps at all. Kept us up to date with any news as soon as they received it and we were disappointed when they finally got a plane out to bring us home. 10 out of 10 to TUI Travel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
8 years 1 month ago
We returned last week from our two week stay at the caracol and it was amazing, really, truly the best holiday yet.
We got upgraded to a junior suite on arrival, so a brilliant start.
The restraunts are really good, loads of choice at the buffets, though we never ate at the brazillian or steakhouse, simply because you had to get up at 6.30 am to book them !!!
Everywhere around the resort is spotless, i've never seen such hardworking, cheery staff, fabulous.
free shuttle bus into playa del carmen every 2 hours was great, took about 20 minutes, playa is lovely.
The beach is nice, they have sandwhales to stop the beach eroding.
Entertainment at night never started till 9.45, so we thought this was a little late, but it was very good.
the pools were fab, the kids pool is a waterpark with 17 different slides, perfect for young kids, very shallow.
I would go back here tomorrow if I could and highly reccomend as a family resort.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Jason
8 years 3 months ago
Great resort!
All staff exelent and the best entertainment crew. Don't miss the fantasia show!

The steak house is extreamly poor but the la laguna is fantastic quality and has a great veriety.

Superb!
5 ☆'s
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
9 years 3 months ago
We have just returned from a fantastic two weeks at the Sandos Caracol. The food at this hotel was great, with so much choice. The main buffet restaurant had a different theme every night, we were spoilt for choice on what to have. We ate in all the A la Carte restaurants, The Brazilian was excellent. The Chinese and Meditterean were nice, although not a great choice. But the steak house was dissappointing, so we only ate there once. There were also Mexican and Italian buffet restaurants aswell, which were both excellent.

The hotel was spotlessly clean, to the extent that each time we had a highchair for our 18 month old daughter it would arrive wrapped in clingfilm having been cleaned.

The grounds of the hotelare beautifully kept, with lots of wildlife raoming around, Iguna's, Racoons, Turtles in the steams.

We didn't get involved in many activities, but there was lots going on round the main pool and on the beach. Our 5 year old son participated in the kids club activities and enjoyed himself.

The only downside was we had 4 days of rain and it was hard to entertain our 18 month old. Also the resort shop didn't really sell nappies, they were very expensive and no choice of sizes, althought they did have nappies for adults !!!! ( which made me laugh). We also missed out on quite alot of the evening entertainment which was a shame, but we were all so tired from getting up so early with the little ones. However we did manage to stay up for the full duration of the Beach Party on the Saturday night and that was fantastic !!!

All in all it was a fantasic holiday, and we would definately go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
9 years 4 months ago
Have just returned from sandos caracol after a fab 2 weeks.flight out took 14 hours on arrival we were checked in and a buggy took us to room.the room was lovely large bed jaccuzi very spacious and spotlessly clean.had a quick look round resort then had early nite both a bit jet lagged.
next morning went to breakfast and was impressed by choice and quality of food.
during holiday we only ate at buffet resturants the a la carts have to be pre booked never had a bad meal and the waiting staff were great.
the grouds of the resort are lovely very clean loads of wildlife .the beach was a bit rocky so tended to chill out at swiming pools.in the evening there are various bars to chill in and again the staff were very friendly and efficient.would not hesitate to recomend this resort
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Val Hanlon
9 years 7 months ago
We have just returned from Sandos Caracol Beach Spa, September 08. The food was excellant,drinks if asked for were named brands i.e. Beefeater, Gordons Smirnoff Jim Beam, Baileys etc. The 3 al la cartes well worth visiting, the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you during our stay. We had maid service every day all toiletries provided so save space in luggage allowance, as Cancun airport very strict on weight,charging you
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mark Wilson
9 years 8 months ago
Just back from a 2 week break at the Sandos Caracol, 2 adults and 2 children travelled.
The hotel is very well located, about 45 minutes from Cancun airport, but near to most attractions and only 15 minutes from Playa Del Carmen Town by taxi / bus.
Ate in all the resturants and all of them were excellent.
The cleanliness of the hotel-complex was very good - we had maid service every day!
The beach / sea has some rocks, but they can be avoided. We all used sea shoes and didnt take any notice of the rocks!
All the bar / restuarant staff worked non stop and service was excellent - you must try a Mojito!
The only things that didnt make it the perfect holiday for us was - the entertainment, ( i gave entertainment 3 stars - but that was mainly for the kids club). Also we found we had to put towels out on the sunbeds before 9am to guarantee some shade.
Overall the holiday was excellent and would recommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
9 years 11 months ago
we travelled here for our anniversary, a special treat and it was great, the hotel was spotless, the food was excellent, preferred the buffet to the a la carte, the chinese restuarant choice was pretty limited, the location was brill, with a free bus service into town every morning and afternoon
the staff were happy and helpful, cant really comment on the entertainment as we didnt experience it, we would definitely go again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum