Image of Club Acapulco Hotel

Club Acapulco Hotel

8 of 12 hotels in Kyrenia

3 out of 5 from 15 reviews
3 stars
Catalkoy Kyrenia Zypern, Cyprus

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jill
8 years 11 months ago
This hotel was advertised as 5 star but should be either 3 or 4 which needs work. We arrived after midnight, and as we missed the evening meal sandwiches were offered which were dry and uninteresting, as were the sandwiches we were given on the day we left, as we left at 0545 and beakfast didn't start until 0700, the food in general was ok but as usual abroard was not as hot as it could have been.

the location was not within walking distance of anyware, but we hired a car so didn't mind.

The entertainment was the same group each night with no variation of songs.

The hotal was clean although the rooms and restaraunt needed updating.

The staff were unfriendly and smiling appeared to be a problem. At mealtimes there was too little staff to deal with the large amount holidaymakers.

Not a place we would go back to.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cyprus premier

10 years 3 months ago
Have just returned from this hotel but infact we only spent 2 days here as we demanded to be moved to another hotel. The beach is fantastic but unfortunatley nobody warns you about the army training ground next to the hotel or the fact that you are in the middle of nowhere and if you cant drive you are prisioners of the hotel as it is too far to walk anywhere.As for the bungalow "peppered" around the grounds they are in groupd of 5 and are approx 6 rows deep so everyone overlooks everyone else.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Direct Traveller

Barry Townsend
11 years 1 month ago
The lowest paid restaurant staff were all really nice however the reception staff and our holiday rep had no concept whatsoever of customer service. The room cleaners went into our room and took the executive decision to leave no toilet roll despite the fact we left a note politely requesting 2 as it kept running out (cheap stuff that disintegrates in your hands with about 20 sheets per roll). As an alternative, they took it upon themselves to leave our door wide open which we found on our return 24 hours later. We came back to the resort after spending the night away to find it wide open (the hotel swipe card records confirmed it was the cleaners). It was like the twilight zone with these stone faced robots at reception not having any comprehension that we might be slightly upset about this. We didn't even get an apology-nothing. Added to the fact that the bungalow we were in leaked water when it rained and the room was generally grubby, it wasn't great. The place is like a fortress with armed guards at the gate ensuring you don't dare bring any outside food or drink into your rooms (or take any toilet roll out). Nothing is cheap there, except the small minded management of the place.
The food was quite nice though and the pool was well maintained.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Suntours

Douglas Birkhead
12 years 1 month ago
Club Accapulco Girne/Kyrenia. My wife and i felt relaxed as soon as we arrived at the hotel we found the location to be an advantage because we wanted a break from the usual battle to avoid street touts trying to sell their
counterfeit goods and timeshare scams.
The entertainment although repetative at times during
dinner and hotel bar after still put us in a relaxed mood
the entertainment in the beach side amphitheatre was
really entertaining being put on by hotel staff.
Despite reading that prices were expensive i found this not to be the case as i have often been charged more in british hotels. The could not have been more helpfull as
we found them to be both curtious and polite at all times. The food was excellent although the tables at times were left with stained linen on them and if you timed it wrong difficulty in find a table.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Anatolian sky

Recommended
Petr
13 years ago
We selected this facility because it was one and only one offer of our domestic travel agencies at northern Cyprus. Reading the previous reviews we were a bit shaky about this place, but - generally - the overall experience was not disappointing.

It is really large-scale facility located in secluded position. It is disadvantage because you should buy everything within hotel area, consequently you pay higher (sometimes excessive) prices for everything. There is bus service to Kyrenia and back for reasonable price, but the last return is about 5pm. If you want to see a bit more and if you are not just idler car hire is almost must.

On the other side, the resort is very clean, carefully serviced and - due to its extent - never overcrowded.

Half-board catering is of very good quality and quantity.

There are two possibilities of accommodation: bungalows and main-building rooms. Although more expensive, the main-building rooms are of better quality; some of bungalows are not yet renovated and if you will have the bad luck you will be frustrated. On the other hand, bungalows could be of some advantage for families with children. Both immense pool and enjoyable sandy beach are one of the best we ever seen.

I would say that this hotel is the good choice for people who prefer rather slothful and sluggish style of vacation. Although my notion of holiday is different, I surprised myself how it can be soothing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Exim Tours / Czech Republic

Recommended
Marie Henshaw
13 years 1 month ago
After reading various reports on this hotel we was quite worried when we arrived. We found the hotel room to be very clean and a good size apparently the hotel rooms are of a better standard than the bungalows.

The location was a bit of a problem as you are not within walking distance of any other shops or restaurants in the area, so car hire is strongly recommended.

The food was very good the only problem being the restaurant being on a steep slope and the sheer number of people trying to get their food at the same time. Quite difficult if you have children with you as it feels a bit of a battle to get anything.

The entertainment was excellent especially if you have children the mini club and mini disco were brilliant with the entertainment people working so hard to make sure the shows that were put on were very professional.

We found the hotel staff helpful although there English is limited they were friendly.

One thing I would warn about is the very slippery marble floor around the swimming pool be very careful and make sure children don't run around the pool.

Don't buy from the hotel shop if anything is needed buy in town as prices are extremely expensive with children's suncream as dear as
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Green Island Holidays

Recommended
Mo
13 years 1 month ago
We managed to reserve inter connecting rooms for the five of us which made our stay comfortable and spacious. The rooms were very clean. Having seen the bungalows, we were very pleased to have stayed in the hotel.

The food was excellent, even the two fussy eaters we took with us enjoyed the huge choice on offer. Breakfast included made to order pancakes and omlettes. Dinner consisted of a variety of local dishes aswell as plain food for the kids. Drinks are expensive (
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Fay
13 years 1 month ago
Food was very good in restaurant although no ice creams, limited sweet selection for kids. Restaurant is a 5 mins walk from hotel and outside area on an incline, multi-tiered, lots of steps. Do not eat between 7.15 and 8.30pm as it is chaos, although inside restaurant OK but canteen like. Tables in short supply for paries over 4.

All drinks are v.expensive, bottle of local wine
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Green Island Holidays

Chris Rogers
13 years 3 months ago
Hotel has good facilities (beach, pools, gardens etc)
restuarant organization and food choice is awful - definetly not 5 star. They also seem to have a rip off mentality, charge for what ever they can and them some and use cheap quality food etc.

One night an influx of approx 900 visitors (Turkish wedding) caused chaos and a fight in the restuarant.
it could be a good hotel - needs good management
we would not visit again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: anatolian skies

Shaz
13 years 3 months ago
5 star rating hotel with superior bungalows, half board wide variety of choice , catering for children too.

Seven miles from Kyrenia harbour with a bus service daily throughout the day time but not in the evening time.

Taxis on site fairly reasonable price , had childrens mini club and entertainment in the evening for children too.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jewels of the Crown

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum