Image of Pia Bella Hotel

Pia Bella Hotel

5 of 12 hotels in Kyrenia

4 out of 5 from 14 reviews
4 stars
Kyrenia, Cyprus

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Steve Malone
an amazing experience form the beginning.
4 years 6 months ago
We have stayed at the Pia Bella a few times now. Travelled with Direct Traveller on all occasions. Good service all round, transfers and reps very efficient.

The last time we stayed was in the winter months. The hotel was not that busy, but there were still tourists here.

The price was good as we also had a free half board promotion.

Overall this is a great base to stay for your kyrenia holiday.

The staff is as friendly as ever, and we now know most of them. Service is good, with a personal touch, and of good standards.

There is a nice long bar area outside, and a outdoor courtyard area between the two pools. This is a good spot to relax, and watch the world go by.

The two pools give plenty of room for sunbathing, and you don’t really feel like you are in the town.

Opt for a superior or deluxe room. The latter being the better. The rooms have been newly created, with good furnishings. In the winter however the rooms could get a bit nippy, but when we put the air-conditioning unit on it was fine. Al be it the air was a bit dry, as it's an electric heater.

Food at the hotel is good, a large buffet or al al carte options. All served in the main restaurant, with entertainment on some nights.

The hotel is geared towards couples and adults, so you wont really find too many kids running around. Being close to the town centre means its ideal spot for getting around town, with plenty of parking also in the area.

Tip: ask for a brandy sour cocktail.. nice!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Traveller

Hotel tip: Ask for superior or deluxe rooms as standard face the busy main road

Recommended
Mrs V Reid
8 years 2 months ago
food very good .hotel spotless.staff very friendly and helpfull central location. easy walk to the harbour, though the pavements were full of pot holes, so walking out at night very risky.entertainment could have been better,but over all we had alovely holiday, and would certainly recomend this hotel. would go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: anatolian

Recommended
Viv Wood
9 years 7 months ago
I cannot say that we didn't enjoy our holiday at the Pia Bella, as we did. The people we met were friendly, the staff couldn't do enough for you. The Thai massage by Linda was fantastic.
The food however mediocre, unvaried & most of the time lukewarm, served on cold plates so that by the time you got it to the table, cold.We normally only book B/B but this time took the half board option.
Having said that Christmas Eve gala meal was better & the entertainment was good. Locals, ex-pats & holiday makers were mixed together,it was a lovely atmosphere.
On Christmas morning all the guests were greeted by Father Christmas & given a small gift.
New Year however was another matter all together. The hotel residents were herded into the rear of the dining room, the main part was decorated with satin bows & drapes, damask table linen,sparking cutlery & glasses,we didn't even get a full set of cutlery & paper serviettes.
We were asked to wait until the local paying visitors (they had been charged
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Direct Travveler

Recommended
John Peterson
9 years 9 months ago
First impression of the location of the hotel after a day of travelling was not very exciting but, once inside the hotel and then through to the hotel grounds,it was like being in a different world.Instead of a busy street we found large, well kept grounds with two excellent swimming pools, open-air bar and dining areas and a peaceful atmosphere. Our room that night was at the front of the hotel and we suffered a bit from loss of sleep caused by outside noise, but as soon as the member of staff responsible for guests' welfare became aware of that and a room overlooking the grounds and nearby mountains became available,we were given that room. We really enjoyed our hotel meals, which were well presented and excellent value for money. All the staff were helpful and played a large part in our enjoyment of the whole holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cyprus Premier

Recommended
Townsend
10 years 1 month ago
Although a lovely hotel the Pia Bella is not, in my opinion, a 4* hotel. The block we were in had no lift and no hand rail on the first flight of stairs. We were supposed to be in a superior room but didn't have a good view. There was a jacuzzi bath in the room which didn't work and if you filled the bath above the jets it flooded the floor. Having said that, the staff were wonderful, especially the new barman, Mustafa. He was a real comic. The breakfast was good but only got bacon on Sunday, though being a Muslim country this is very good. The hotel is a pleasant 20 minute stroll from the town centre and harbour. The two pools were clean and not too cold. The gardens are lovely and well kept. The Guest Liaison, Susi (incorrect spelling) was very good. Ask and you shall receive. The only other down side was 2 tea bags per room per day. I couldn't believe it when I asked for more and was told this. I would visit the hotel again but would not stay in the block we were in. The indoor pool is not finished and an extension at the back of one block isn't finished either. Apparently due to a lack of funds.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Direct Traveller

Recommended
Patrick White
11 years ago
my wife and i stayed at the pia bella hotel for 10 days in july 2007,even though our arrival was late at 11 o'clock our welcome by staff was very pleasant and helpful. our room was on the top floor as requested with a superb view of the kyrenia mountains.This room proved to be a quiet location despite a little building work during the day.Entertainment for some is low key,but is available 2 or 3 times a week.All staff at this hotel are a credit to TRNC tourism and i hope they get recieve more positive comments.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cyprus paradise

Recommended
Glen And Gill Lockett
11 years ago
We have stayed in many hotels in Cyprus, North and South. There is none to comapre with the standard and value for money of the Pia bella. The staff are welcoming and will bend over backwards to help and ensure your stay is enjoyable.
The staff are a credit to this well located, pleasant and clean hotel. It now has 2 outdoor and a new indoor pool almost completed. The food is not only good, but excelent. Served on a large patio by the chefs.
I really cant say anything else, but try it, you will be delighted.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Anatolian Sky

Recommended
Loz Baker
12 years ago
This was our 1st visit to north Cyprus, but will not be our last..

The staff at the Pia Bella were first class,very friendly and so helpful.

We had a lovely room (Superior) Jacuzzi and double balcony!!

There are two pools one large and one small, both spotless. I have never been so relaxed on holiday before and apart from a bad experience in Famagusta We loved every moment.

Kyrinia is very nice too, don't waste your money at all the restaurants in the harbour! The best meals can be found at the small side streets and near to hotel also(the Coffee stop is a must, great chef Joe) The Grapevine is good also, but the Brassiere is over rated and over rated (Italian speciality ha ha Joke!!)the set Italian has fantastic setting but awful food and worse service! Try Chinese behind hotel its great food and setting very good value. The best of all is the Kybelle restaurant at Bellepais monastery, awesome views in daytime and so beautiful at night. The staff fantastic best of all is Gengiss the waiter("small guy ,but 1st class waiter") if you only take one trip make it to this restaurant,you will not regret it I promise you?

The only down side is the massive amount of single men that sit, roam or seem to be everywhere in the town at night time (from eastern Turkey working as Builders on massive property boom) 40 men to 1 women, so great for the women heh? ha ha!!!! No crime in Kyrinia at all, hard to believe but true...

Get to Northern Cyprus before it gets spoilt QUICKLY.........
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jewell's of the world

Recommended
Pat And George
12 years 2 months ago
We returned back to this hotel from 27.5.06=10.06.06. It was so nice to go back after a two year break.

We were met in the early hours of the morning by Sied who we knew from our last visit, which was lovely. It was also nice to see Ali and Phylis again and not forgetting the est of the staff. They all made us feel very welcome. They have done some refurbishments to the hotel which is very nice.

Our room was very nice and clean and tidy. The maid who cleaned our rom on a daily basis was very good and kept it so nice for us. The pools and gardens are a lovely place to spend your time for relaxing and reading a good book and soaking up the sun. The pool in the garden area was likme getting into a bath, whih pleased my hubby as he is abit of a whimp when it comes to pool water, he does the toe dipping first,ahhhhhhh. The pool bar is a great place to meet other guests for a pre dinner drink and a chat and then to meet up again after your meal.

We met some really nice people while on holiday. The food was very good and varied. The new restaurant is very nice. Only one downside with the restaurant is there is not enough air conditioning in their. The restaurant staff are very attentive and look after your every need.

The walk down to Kyrenia takes about 20min and although there is alot of traffic and not much to look at you get used to it very quickly. The harbour is very nice,and there are lots of designer shops.We would recommend a vist upto Bellapais and to visit the Abbey, it is very pretty and peaceful up there.We loved our two weeks here and would return again another time. One eatery which we would say to visit for lunch which just up the road from the hotel is MOLLY'S.

You will have a great meal there and Molly is a lovely person and her staff. Well we hope this has been of some help and if you do decide to go we kn ow you will have a lovely time. ENJOY.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cta holidays

Recommended
Clare Bond
12 years 11 months ago
The Pia Bella is a very pleasant hotel with good facilities and excellent staff. We had a superior room in the newer rear building in order to fit a child in with us and still had adequate space to feel comfortable. The setting is very quiet and the pools are not overlooked from outside the hotel. There was always plenty of space and sunbeds, particularly around the larger pool, and shade for those who want it. The only aspect of the hotel that was not entirely satisfactory were the meals which offered only limited choice and were rather repetitive, although there was always plenty of food available. Usefully the hotel has a car park at the rear where there was always enough space. Entertainment is limited but the staff were always very pleasant and worked hard to create a good atmosphere.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cyprus Paradise

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum