Image of Colina da Lapa Apartments

Colina da Lapa Apartments

3 of 9 hotels in Carvoiero

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
4 stars
Urbanização das Sesmarias 65, 8401-901, Portugal

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
WOOD
10 years 3 months ago
Ideal for a quiet holiday but you do need a car to get around properly.
Definately stay there again
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: HAYS

Recommended
L And J
10 years 9 months ago
We decided on a late holiday this year at Colina Da Lapa Apartments. We had read the reviews beforehand and are pleased to report that almost everything was correct. The accomodation was excellent, clean and very large. We rented a one bedroom apartment and were lucky enough to be given one in the centre of the resort. All that your need for self catering is provided. Our only suggestions for improvement would be, take a few pegs ifyou intend doing your own washing and agree with previous reviews about the lumpy pillows. We did take some blow up ones but would suggest that if you have some old pillows and have the room in your luggage, you can take them with you and maybe leave them behind. As we travelled very late in the season the mimibus was only available if prebooked but that was no problem. 4* plus is a worthy category for this holiday and we intend to book again next year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Tina
10 years 10 months ago
The apartments were huge and we had a one bed and I was a bid dubious about the stone steps with my 2-year old but we managed. I had a nose around a two-bed villa and, if my daughter had been older I would have chosen this option. Food at the bar was excellent. The village was only 10 mins walk with a great pizza place near the water tower. Only criticisms are that there was only one socket in the kitchen and the pillows!!! Could not plug in a kettle and toaster at the same time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Travelcare

Recommended
Elaine
11 years 4 months ago
We had a 1 bedroom apartment for a week - huge, beautifully clean, beautifully situated - straight out onto manicured lawns overlooking neat flower borders on one side with a view over the mountains on the other side.

April was a fantastic time to visit, just right for temperature and beautiful flowers, but pools in Portugal are not heated, so much too cold to get in.

We just wanted to relax and this place was ideal. Very peaceful. We had a car, and from the airport it took less than 45 mins even at night (you'd need very good directions to the site as it's not in Carvoiera at all, but in Sesmarias). Nowhere is within walking distance, except a small store, bar and pizzeria, so really would recommend a car for the week, even if you don't intend going far (we didn't travel more than 10 miles in any direction, but don't know how we'd have managed without one).

We ate in the restaurant twice, and it was fine - all freshly cooked.

The staff throughout were exceptional, friendly, nothing was too much trouble.

Take some mugs, or buy some, as the cups in the kitchen are tiny! We needed the heaters on in the evenings, but they worked fine - take slippers as the tile floors are freezing in the middle of the night! Also take some DVDs and ask at reception and they'll put them on at your request on channel 1 on the TV. I really missed having a radio - but bought one, as there are several English speaking radio stations.

Would recommend this to couples or families and it was the most delightful site I've ever stayed on. At times we thought we were the only ones there, as there is so much room between the villas. Didn't notice noise from the other apartments either.

If you get the chance go to the beach at Benagil, a small sandy cove sheltered from any wind. Also don't miss the jeep safari if you like exploring the "real" countryside, looking at the flora and animals, eating with the locals and going to the top of Portugal's highest mountain.

As a resort Carvoiera itself has lovely restaurants, but for beaches go to the others either side. All are only small covers, no long sandy beaches around here.

Will definitely go again - with slippers, mugs and radio next time!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Morgan
12 years 1 month ago
Just came back this weekend a lovely place but nothing in walking distance only one or two little bars or cafes. We had a one bedroomed apartment which was lovely and had all and more that you needed in there. The room was cleaned every day and once on the weekend.

The food at the pool side bar was lovely for snacks for the family but for evening meals we would get a taxi into Carvoiero town which cost about 6 euros each way and the restaurants are lovely there.

The entertainment is very limited but I cannot comment to much on it as we always went into town.

I would stay there again but only if I had a car to get about, and also the transfer from the airport costs 45-50 euros by taxi.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: none

Recommended
Pat Humphrey
12 years 11 months ago
We were recomended these appartments by friends and were not disappointed. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the accomadation is excellent. I would agree with the pevious comments about taking mugs but that is all you would need to take as there is an iron,ironing board & hairdryer provided.

We will be returning but this time will hire a car as the transfer time is quite long due to all the drop offs but would only be about 30mins to drive direct.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Anna Murray
13 years ago
We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa. It was very spacious and clean. Our kitchen was big with both dishwasher and washing machine. We had the option to eat out or stay in because of the well equipped kitchen. Having a small child this was ideal.

We ate in the restaurant and this was excellent! I would recomend the meat kebabs!!

All the staff on the resort were very friendly and the reception staff were excellent.

We will be returning next year!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Recommended
13 years 2 months ago
This complex is really first class, its very clean and safe for children, it is on the edge of town but a taxi to the main resort takes 10 mins.

The accommodation is fab..we had a two bedroom villa these have two double bedrooms and a family sized bathroom upstairs and a FULLY equiped kitchen! ie washing machine, dishwasher, toaster, kettle, juicer, huge fridge/freezer!

The only thing you must take with you are some decent sized tea cups/mugs, the ones provided are 2ins deep! We had patio furniture and a terrace all the way round the villa with grass, great for our two year old to play on!

The swimming pool is lovely although could be a little bigger..and is very slippery when you get out so take some swim shoes for the toddlers!

We did not hire a car but were only there for a week, the courtesy bus takes you to the beach and town if you dont want to drive, but if your there for two it maybe a good idea to get a car, mainly for the supermarket run! They had a very small shop on site with the essentials but if self catering you will need a bigger store.

All in all this was a great family place and we are going to book again for next June..it comes highly recommended..we loved it!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Medhotels

Recommended
Caoline Johnson
14 years 1 month ago
Excellent accommodation, in quiet location, 2 bed villas are very spacious, with 2 good-sized bedrooms, bathroom and a well equipped kitchen. Lounge very good size, also a down stairs loo. Gardens front and back are very well kept. Tv in villas if you really feel the need for one.

Pool and bar area are great, as is the kids clubs if required, entertainment not too bad however we make our own. Tennis courts, childrens play park also available.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Recommended
Nick
14 years 3 months ago
This was our first visit to the Algarve - previously, we have been to Greek Islands.

Accomodation -

We stayed in the two bed apartments. They are basically a semi detached house. They are massive inside. Huge well equiped kitchen - full oven, hob, dishwasher, washing machine. Large lounge and dining room. Bedrooms very good and both have balcony with excellent views. Nice big bathroom too.

Accomodation opens out onto huge lawns - our boys spent lots of their time playing football etc.

BUT - and its a BIG BUT, the walls are paper thin. Infact, what separtes you from your neighbour is nothing more than two bits of plasterboard. Fortunately, there was only someone next to us on two days, but you could hear everything, even the water going down the plughole.

Prior to going we had actually booked up for 2005 but since cancelled because of this.

Complex - this was excellent - nice pool, tennis courts, 5 a side pitch etc.

Kids Club - again excellent, the boys loved it.

Location - very peacful, but you definately will need a car - nearest beach is excellent with a nice restraunt on it, but a good 30 min walk away.

Food - OK, but very very limited choice. When in Greece, massive amounts of choice and cheep, but not here.

Overall we had a good time but would not go back because of the thin walls - a shame because you will not find better quality and spacious accomodation at that price.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum