Image of Colina Village Apartments

Colina Village Apartments

6 of 9 hotels in Carvoiero

4 out of 5 from 13 reviews
Po├žo Partido, 8400, Portugal

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
The Arathoons
Lovely hotel, shame about the location
8 years 1 month ago
The complex itself was immaculately clean, the only reason I didn't give it 5/5 was because the maids seem to rush the room cleaning and we had to keep asking for towels instead of them being replaced when they should have been.

The outdoor swimming pools were lovely and clean too, with plenty of sunbeds so no early morning trip to reserve them even in August! We didn't use the indoor one so I can't comment.

On-site snack bar was a bit expensive but not too bad and the food was nice. We didn't use the restaurant in the evening. We had booked bed & breakfast but I would strongly advise against this as breakfast was just bread rolls, croissants, cheese, ham, jam and 2 types of cereal. Very plain and boring.

All staff were very friendly and helpful, especially on reception.

I think there was entertainment once a week but we never stayed for it so I can't comment.

The only reason I wouldn't go back was the location!

It would be pretty near impossible to walk from the complex into Carveiro unless you're incredibly fit and have a good sense of direction! Just accept you will be paying 5 euros for a taxi ride, or get the free bus but the last one is 5.00 pm. However, the free bus was handy for a day time trip into Carveiro.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Jackson
10 years 2 months ago
We have just returned from our annual two week foreign holiday.We stayed at this Apartment complex in a 2 bedroomed property.

The complex is about 2k from the town of Carvoeiro.

Apartments
Are very well designed and pleasing.They are set in lovely well attended gardens.
The living room actually feels like a living room,it is spacious with a high head-room.
The bedrooms too are of a good size with good wardrobe space.The beds themselves could be more comfortable.The bathroom is adequate and divides one bedroom from another.
The kitchen is a good size and has everytrhing you need,apart from points - there was just the one and that can make life difficult, kettle or toaster.

Facilities
Great indoor pool,large outside pool and kids pool.Poolside bar - pricey for snacks - restaurant excellent cooking but expensive - small shop very expensive.
Internet access in reception.
A mini bus is provided at 10.00,14.00 and 17.00 free

Entertainment
three times weekly, singers,pretty good but not my cup of tea.No kids club

Staff
Without exception are all cheerful and helpful from reception to bar.

Summary
good points - setting,apartments,pools and staff.

Downside - Location,location.It's not an easy walk to Carvoeiro it's pretty hilly,it's either that ,a 5 euro taxi ride or an early evening trip.And this is the problem.It's ok on cooler nights or for fairly healthy persons but people with fitness, mobility or with youngsters will find it difficult.Most people ordered taxi's and this adds 10 euro's a night to your budget.It also means that the services can be hiked up on captive audiences,because theres nothing in the immediate vicinity to use as an alternative or see/do apart from the large - and very good - Intermarche supermarket on the way to Lagoa,best to go early while it's cool.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Julie
10 years 11 months ago
Hotel - Our apartment was a one bedroom, with bathroom including Bath and shower and a separate living area with a balcony over looking the pool, which wasn't noisy even with a few children playing. We found are room to be clean, and well looked after by the maids. The furniture was a little old fashioned but it was all in good shape and well kept. Kitchen was very organized with everything you could need a part from a decent kettle, but we just used a pan. Our balcony was slightly small but still large enough to sit on, and we had a TV
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Travel Value

Recommended
Pajo
11 years 2 months ago
We stay in the collina village in a large one bedroomed appartment. The place was kept spotless and the staff were very friendly.The complex is a bit out of town but we walked in every evening and it was lovely, we got a taxi home.The entertainment was hit and miss but that suited us fine. This was our second visit to this complex and we loved it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Budget Travel

Alan Yorkshire
12 years 4 months ago
it was the best holiday of my life i loved it great pool great staff great every thing !!!! i am most certainly going back next year
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: falcon

Recommended
Shaw
13 years 3 months ago
The appearance of the hotel complex was attractive, but the apartments, although roomy, were very sparse. The beds were uncomfortable. The towels in the rooms were disgusting - thin, old, grey towels which didn't smell very fresh. The bedding also had a grey tinge to it and had seen better days. The tiles on the wall/floors were chipped and cracked, there were not many utensils in the kitchen and it just needed a complete overhall. When you walked in, it didn't feel welcoming and the floor didn't appear to be very clean.

The pool area was nice and there is a restaurant which serves good food in the evenings with good service, but, during the day there are different staff running the restaurant. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast was very poor - luke warm coffee, and bread rolls and croissants was all that was available with the choice of a couple of different breakfast cereals. One morning we observed another guest being served a cooked breakfast and when we queried this we were told by a most indignant waiter that you have to pay 2 euros for a cooked breakfast, although there are no menus.

Although there is a courtesy bus three times a day from the hotel into Carvoeiro, the last bus returns at 5pm so you are stuck at the hotel during the evening unless you get a taxi into the town. The shop on the site was very limited so you would really need a car in order to collect groceries.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Andrea
13 years 10 months ago
First appearance was very good, the lawns and trees are neat and well kept. Although the accomodation was roomy, it was shabby. Kitchen appliances had seen better days, and one socket for kettle/microwave/toaster. Utensils were few and far between and as we arrived after 10pm it would have been nice for at least a small welcome pack of milk & teabags as the very limited onsite shop was closed.

The pool area was pretty good, with plenty of beds. The village is a good 25 mins walk from the resort centre and murder on a hot day. Taxis are 5 euros each way although a courtesy bus is put on by the village but the last bus back is around 5pm.

Evening on the camp are deadly dull! I would certainly not go back to Colina Village but would go back to Carvoeiro.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

J. Hay
13 years 10 months ago
We have actually stayed here twice and would not hesitate to go again. Yes, it's a bit out of the way but the walk into town is lovely and there is a supermarket within walking distance. The mini bus into town is handy or a taxi is relatively cheap.

We loved the surroundings, the genuinely Portuguese feeling of the area, the absence of high rise or busy streets.

Brilliant pools, both indoor and out, cute little play park, really friendly staff, fantastic meals at the restaurant there!

Apartments were a bit basic but huge, we had 3 bathrooms in our 3 bed apartment! All the usual mod cons.

Our children loved the freedom and each time made lovely new friends.

Would definitely recommend a holiday here.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Steven Gardner
13 years 11 months ago
We stayed at Colina Village in the Algarve for 2 weeks. We found the site to be well maintained with well established trees and shrubs. Not the usual sea of concrete that sometimes greets you on these last minute holidays. The pool areas were also excellent and very well maintained. The Accomodation itself was spacious,very comfortable, and well appointed. The maid service was also excellent. Unfortunately Colina village is slightly isolated and although taxi's are plentiful and the resort runs a free shuttle bus several times a day a car would still be a great help, as the site shop is small and extremely expensive(4.50 euro-for a loaf of bread).
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Budget Travel

Recommended
13 years 11 months ago
This was our first visit to the Algarve and I must say we were not disappointed.

The apartment we had overlooked the reception but was extremely quiet, was very large with a huge kitchen and very clean - was lovely to look out the front window and see the fabulous sunrise. Cleaner where in nearly every day and was spotless.

We had ants (which didn't bother us) and the cleaners put powder down. We were half board and the food was amazing - no chicken and chips here. Waiter service was first class.

Breakfast had everything you could ask for. Would go back tomorrow if was a bit more central. Lots to do in Carveiro and lovely walks. A great holiday
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum