Image of Vasco Da Gama Hotel

Vasco Da Gama Hotel

1 of 9 hotels in Monte Gordo

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
3 stars
Avenida Infante Dom Henrique 1, 8900 Vila Real de Santo António, Portugal
This traditional hotel, situated in a quieter location and overlooking beautiful sandy beaches, is a good choice for guests of all ages. It is set in attractive gardens leading onto the beach and is a short walk from the resort centre.

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Irene Sizer
12 years 3 months ago
Even though this hotel is one of the oldest in Monte Gordo it was kept impeccably clean by the friendly and cheerfull staff.You were spoilt for choice at meal times and the food was excellent.The pool and surrounding area was also well maintained.Iwould reccomend this hotel to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
Lizziebeth
12 years 8 months ago
We have just returned from a week in "Vasco da Gama. The reception staff when we arrived, was very helpful, and spoke perfect English.

Our room was very clean and well furnished. There was a mini bar/fridge, which was very useful as the weather was nice. We had a balcony looking out to the front of the Hotel and the main road to Villa Real, which had a table and two chairs.

There were two pools with lots of sunbeds along the side and also among small trees. The sun terrace was above, which had several tables and chairs, with a few parasols. There was a well laid out crazy golf pitch under the trees, and a childrens play area. Also there were tennis courts.

The Hotel has its own entrance to the beach. Inside there were several comfortable sitting lounges,a bar and other recreational areas. The food was plentiful with lots of choice. The room was cleaned and towels changed daily. A very good holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunstart

Recommended
Fred Willetts
12 years 9 months ago
We had a very good holiday staying at the Vasco da Gama,nice room ,we were on the inland side and enjoyed the view .The room was always cleaned well,beds were fine,nice bathroom maybe a bit small but no problem.reception staff were good and there english was 100%.Food was good and a lot of choice each day.dinning room staff did find me invisible but not a real problem.great position on the wonderful beach.hope I can stay there again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: diy

Recommended
Linda Churchman
13 years 9 months ago
Hi there, we have just come back today after staying at the Vasco da Gamahotel, Monte Gordo. What a lovely hotel, staff were so very kind always there when you need them.
The hotel is right on the beach which was fantastic and seemed to go on forever, it was so clean.

The only downfall we found was the entertainment was very limited to a man on the organ, a lady singer, a man pianist it would have really made our holiday if they had better entertainment.

It was such a shame that the weather was not very good, we only had three good days the rain kept on falling, but the other days were great.

The food was lovely, local fish, pork, steak the chef cooked as you like, prawns, mussels, loads of salad and cooked meats.

Breakfast was great too with the traditional English as well as cereals, cooked meats, cheeses, everything was great.

Who ever goes to this hotel will come home a stone heavier.......
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Griffiths
13 years 11 months ago
Hotel and staff were great. We had apartment with two bathrooms and basic catering facilities which we did not need as we were on half board. Food was very good and not at all boring. Beach is amazing but kids preferred the hotel pool facilities, one large and one for the younger kids to paddle in.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Anonymous
14 years 3 months ago
We did enjoy our holiday in this hotel, but mainly because the weather was very good.

The pool area was good, with plenty of beds etc. The poolbar was not wonderful - rather expensive compared to the nearby restaraunts.

The hotel itself was clean, although a little dated. Room was basic but adequate. Food in dining room was O.K. but a little unimaginative. The evening entertainment was also very limited - a pianist and a singer on 4 nights of our week.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Alan And Anne
14 years 8 months ago
This is an excellent hotel, very clean and comfortable with helpful staff. Our complaint was that as I am a bit disabled.

I found all the steps very difficult and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone with mobility problems.

The sea view from the room was fantastic and there is a lovely pool area (accessed via steps. Any one who can manage steps fairly easily will have a great time at this hotel.

One point: the sofas needed replacing -- they sag in the middle)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Didcot
16 years ago
Superb Hotel with a superb situation.

Three weeks with no complaints except that we could have done with longer.

Don Strange.

Travel operator: Unknown

Eddiemacdonald
16 years 3 months ago
I have been to this hotel twice and would have no hestitation in going back again. The Hotel is quite old but full of character, clean and comfortable. It sits right on the beach and the beach has to be seen to be believed.

Hotel staff are friendly and efficient, rooms are cleaned every day. The town of Monte Gordo is small and quiet, it has plenty of very good restraunts which are incredibly cheap. There are no Discos as such, thank god, so no "lager louts".

This is a great place for a relaxing holiday, my wife and I loved every moment we were there. One tip, ask for a room with a sea facing balcony/terrace, the view in the morning as you have your cup of tea is wonderful.

Travel operator: Unknown

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum