Image of Alcazar Hotel

Alcazar Hotel

2 of 9 hotels in Monte Gordo

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
3 stars
Rua de Ceuta, 9, Monte Gordo 8900, Portugal

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ronnie And Sofie
9 years ago
A nice central location. Built in the 1970's but refurbished. Decor internally has a rather Moorish look. Good sized rooms with air conditioning, mini bar but no kettle, many have sea views. 9 floors with only 2 lifts so be prepared to wait for lift especially at breakfast and early evening. Staff very good. Breakfast does not vary but still a good choice. Swimming pool very pleasant. entertainment was rubbish. Many Dutch guests. Best suited for couples wanting a quiet life. Not recommended for families or singles. We would return here without hesitation but may request a lower floor next time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Mr And Mrs Gray
12 years 5 months ago
We stayed in the hotel in April.The hotel was mainly full of older dutch people but they were very friendly.

The pool was closed nearly all week,when it did open it was disgusting.

Advertsied as a family hotel,there were no children and other than a very small play area there was nothing for children to do anyway.On a positive note the hotel excursions were excellent.

I could only recommend this hotel to families during high season.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

Mick Smith
13 years ago
The hotel is very clean and modern. While you didn't see much in the way of cleaning activity, someone obviously did it sometime! The rooms were cleaned daily. They were roomy, and had enough clothes space. There is a safe in the rooms (12 euros a week + 15 refundable deposit). There is sky TV in the rooms that screens sky-news and CNN plus a load of foreign channels. The beds are singles shoved together - but a good size, and reasonably comfy. The air conditioning doesn't blow directly at you in bed, which is a plus!

The lifts (2) are easy to command, and don't break down!

The hotel has a general air of quiet about it, and is mainly taken by mature people - although there were a sprinkling of thirty-somethings there.

The entertainment generally erred towards the later age group.

The staff were courteous and helpful, and spoke decent English.

The hotel is taken by a 70/30 split of foreign/Brit holidaymakers - with the food reflecting this.

It is on the edge of town, but the centre is not far down the road.

There is a small games/pool room, and bikes could be hired. There is no lilos etc to be used in the pool, which has free sunbeds/cushions for use, around it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Recommended
G Hughes J Woolven
13 years ago
Food at breakfast was plenty.

Evening meal when we ate there was excellant cleanliness was again excellent.

Location was close to all the things we wanted to do.

Staff were so helpful and spoke perfect english.

Entertainment was very good danced most nights the guy with the guitar played a great variety of songs that we all knew.

Yes we all would return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: going places

Recommended
John Woolven Elwyn Hughes
13 years ago
All was fantastic from the front entrance when we first arrived to our rooms that was at the very top of hotel. The view was wonderful when we stay again we want the same rooms.

We had a wonderful time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: going places

Recommended
13 years 4 months ago
A very good hotel,the rooms are more like suites with a seperate bedroom.

Food is basic but good. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean.

The bar is good and there is entertainment 7 nights, but it gets very warm at nightime.

Bit of a wind blows in the pool area, because the surrounding buildings cause a wind tunnel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct holidays

Recommended
Dave Kenrick
13 years 9 months ago
The hotel was spotless throughout. The rooms were very spacious and the majority had sea views with south facing balconies which got the sun all day. There was a wall heater and air con operated by remote control. The hotel had 2 lifts to 9 floors. The food was very good indeed although there was limited choice it was ample. The staff were superb, polite and very friendly, nothing was a trouble to them. The entertainment was on the whole good but did not cater for younger people.There was a magician every wednesday. Guests from the 4* hotels came to the Alcazar for the entertainment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Brian & Jean
13 years 10 months ago
We had been warned that this hotel is very popular with the Dutch and Germans but being a late holiday we found mainly Brits.

The recently renovated hotel offered excellent accommodation the staff were helpful and the house keeping staff kept the rooms and public areas very clean.

The food although restrictive in choice was well cooked and presented (continental breakfast and buffet dinner starters, only two main with veg. And salads. Sweet and fruit.

Entertainment every night was fine for the mature visitor but little to do for the younger generation
Lounge has TV. Showing sky sport (an additional sports bar being constructed will also show sports programs
T/V in the rooms have sky news, cnn news, and a plethora of Spanish and Portuguese stations (no British soaps etc)
The hotel also offered pool with bar tennis volley ball, inside entertainment bar,

The hotel is located five mins. From the beach and shopping centre, disco & casino it is also 10 mins. In a taxi to the next town where a ferry runs every half hour to the nearest Spanish town.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Phone and Fly

Recommended
Susan Powell
14 years 5 months ago
We had a fantastic holiday in this hotel, the staff were brilliant - especially with my young daughter. They bought her a present every day!

They aren't very good for vegetarians in Portugal but the chef made me something different and lovely every night.

The rooms were lovely and spacious - this hotel was only recently renovated so everything was brand new.

The location was perfect, really close to the beach.

Whilst not fantastic, there was entertainment on every night which was fine for us.

I am trying to get booked again for next year!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: MyTravel

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum