Image of Solmonte Hotel

Solmonte Hotel

5 of 10 hotels in Portimao

4 out of 5 from 7 reviews
3 stars
Avenida das Comunidades Lusíadas, 8500-801 Portimão, Portugal

7 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Service
  • Location
9 years 10 months ago
Returned to UK yesterday [13/06/08]., and wished we didnt have to !! This holiday was a late deal, booked 3 weeks before departure. Needless to say I had checked out his site before we went.

For starters we werent expecting too much as it is classed as a '2 star' by Seguro Holidays. However what a surprise we got. We were in a 1 bedroom apartment, and it was a big bedroom. Kitchen / sitting room was also big. According to the brochure kettle / toaster, were available on request. But when we got into the room both were already there.
We had a problem on the first day with a shutter that wouldnt close. Within half an hour of informing reception. Someone had been up and fixed it. This entailed removing panels. So top marks to the maintenance crew.
Maid service is as already mentioned on Monday, Wednesday, Friday. With Sheet change once a week. Unless you strip the bed and leave sheets on floor.

The housekeepers did a good job of cleaning up and tidying rooms / surroundings.

All in I would have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone, at the moment.

HOWEVER - Across the road from and between The Solmon and Club Arcos, a new structure is being built. The builders start hammering at 0700. This wasnt too bad at the moment as the crew was only a small one. However as the building progresses and rises the noise will get worse. This will be particularly bad as the summer season progresses.
So be warned.

All in all a nice hotel. Could do with a lick of pain / modernisation but as a base for your holidays.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Seguro Holidays

Recommended
10 years 8 months ago
This is the 3rd time I have stayed at the solmonte and cant find fault with the apartments yet. Maids only come every second day as they clean the sister apts on the other days, if anything is needed the reception staff are only to happy to help.

I wouldn't recommend going to Rudys bar at the apts as he isn't very happy but its understandable. the other bar, Tonis is now open all day and at night and staff are very friendly and good at making you feel welcome.

Not a lot of sun bed round the pool area but the grass is fine or get a lilo to lie one. The pool is always clean and round the pool area is tidied every day.

I would recommend the solmonte as everyone is friendly and polite. I am definitely going back next year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: seguro

Recommended
Jane & Alan
10 years 8 months ago
Solmonte was recommended to us by friends & we were definately not dissapointed. Basic apartments but very spacious & cleaned regularly!

We were self catering but found ourselves munching mainly on snacks from Toni's bar (below hotel & next to pool)infact we found ourselves majority of the holiday either eating or drinking in Toni's bar! There wasn't supposed to be entertainment inculded in this holiday but I can assure you!

There is never a dull moment when Toni is around. Fantastic holiday with some fantastic people which we met at the Solmonte Apartments.

The only thing that I would suggest is that a little bit of modernisation in the apartments wouldn't go astray.

Would definitely go back!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Seguro

Recommended
Daz
10 years 10 months ago
Horrible hotel in a horrible place. Luckily we were only due to stay 2 nights but 1 night was enough and we left. Hotel and resort were both dated and would not recommend staying here to even my worst enemy.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: freedomdirect

Margaret Anne Willis
12 years 9 months ago
Stayed here the fair fortnight, great location, very friendly staff, big rooms we had two balconies one overlooked the pool, the apt`s basic but clean, the pool large plus kiddies pool. Not enough sun loungers, but great grassy area for sunbathing. Tony`s bar and Ruddies are very good, food great out of both, Tony and family make everyone welcome, would definately go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: seguro

Recommended
Lesley
13 years ago
We had a problem at first with the apartments, on arrival they put us on a 10th floor apartment, with a two year old kid this wasn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Segurgo

Recommended
13 years 9 months ago
Although the Apartments were clean enough, a lick of paint would have made all the difference.

Reception staff were great. Didn't need our rep, which is always a good sign.

Maids 4 times a week.

There are 2 bars on sight. Tony's Bar and Ruddi's Bar. We frequented Ruddi's bar and found him to be really friendly. Our 3 y/o got on great with him.

Word of warning though if you want a sun lounger, no not get up early, take it with you. It's your only chance.

I estimated the hotel held around 500 people and 1 night I counted a total of 30 sunbeds, half of which were broken.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Seguro Holidays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum