Image of Invisa Hotel La Cala

Invisa Hotel La Cala

8 of 25 hotels in Santa Eulalia

4 out of 5 from 19 reviews
3 stars
Huesca, 9, 07840, Santa Eulalia
In the heart of up-market Santa Eulalia with boutiques, restaurants, cafes and bars right on the doorstep, this hotel is well situated for those who like to be close to all amenities whilst having the option of taking a local bus or ferry.

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    16
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
John&Pam
9 years 6 months ago
Nothing to add to previous excellent reviews. A very well run Hotel and good value.

Be aware that Thompsons do not have a rep visit, or bother even to drop off a welcome pack.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
9 years 7 months ago
I cannot better Scaramoocho's excellent review (Aug 2007) and endorse all they reported with one exception to add the hotel does provide a sun terrace annex to the pool area with space for another 20-30 sunbeds. Never viewed the pool & sunbed area completely full (but it was May/June).

Our only beef was with the travel company (Portland/TUI) and the transfers. Although prompt, there was no rep and we were dropped on the main road around the corner from the Hotel entrance. Luckily we had found some warning on the web and found our own way. Could be very different and worrying for elderly or infirmed travellers.

Did not see any evidence of the hotel not being child friendly. There were plenty there during our stay. Could some of our older contributors be putting us off lol.

This is a very good hotel and if we ever go to Ibiza again we would seriously consider a return visit.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Scaramoocho
10 years 4 months ago
This is a great hotel but will not be for everybody.

I'll echo the reports of others in many ways but here goes..

Cleanliness: Spotless. Rooms immaculate.

Bed linen: Not sure if it was everyday the sheets were changed but certainly for 4 out of the 7 days. The maids freshened up every day, made the beds, replaced the towels if needed and were courteous and friendly.

Bar: Same prices, if not cheaper than most local bars. Pleasant staff who were eager to please.

We were fortunate to get a huge corner room with double sided balcony above the main reception. We had a view to the marina some 500 yds away and were right on the junction of 4 secondary roads with a few shops and bars amongst residential apartment blocks. I think we'd have been dissapointed had we been overlooking the pool and as mentioned elsewhere the quiet hive of activity below made a welcome change to a solitary view out to sea or the wall of the next hotel! I should point out that the rooms have double glazed Patio doors AND double glazed French doors, black out curtains and traditional drapes so once shut you were completely oblivious to outside noise.

In terms of general location the La Cala is superbly situated a short stroll to the beach, the shops and the marina.

Food: Faultless. With any sort of 'canteen' style cooking the offerings can be repetitive but the chefs worked hard to give a good variety with something for everybody and despite 2 teenage daughters and a fussy wife we never went hungry. From the usual roast chicken portions, steak, pork chops and grilled fish to more obscure Veal Ragout, stuffed aubergines, octopus, swordfish, minted lamb, kebabs..........pizza, fresh salmon. I could go on but trust me you'll put on weight :>)

Now the downsides...................

The pool is situated centrally in the centre of the 'U' made up by the apartment blocks. Apart from the pool edging and enough room to walk around the sides past the sunbeds there is no additional sunbathing space. You could secure a sunbed in the morning and be in the shade by early afternoon. Likewise a shady spot in the morning could be ablaze with sunshine after lunch. For us it was far too cramped and we headed for the beach every day which was literally a 5-6 minute stroll. The pool itself looked fine for kids and cooling off but I like to do a few lengths in a vain attempt to stay fit and it simply wasn't big enough for that.

Entertainment is as good as non existent with a pianist running through a non stop medley of broadway and rat pack classics in the style of supermarket background music! A very accomplished musician but a token gesture towards the ideals of holiday entertainment. On another night a lone singer warbled his way through some Andy Williams and Bee Gees stuff but without an expectant audience (most people seemed to have found something livelier outside) all he could do was the allotted time and scoot! Again outside space was severely limited so this probably hampers any opportunity to improve on the entertainment side anyway.

So in a nutshell, if you want a great base with great food in a good position to explore a very nice resort then La Cala is superb. If you MUST have a decent poolside area and evening entertainment, look elsewhere.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Mr & Mrs C
10 years 5 months ago
Could not really fault this hotel at all - Spotlessly clean, air-conditioned, and a good selection of food at the breakfast and dinner buffets. We chose to eat out on a few occasions, as the "canteen" style atmos in the dining room isn't really conducive to a romantic dining experience, maybe they should dim the lighting a bit ! Didn't sample the evening entertainment as it's not really our thing. The hotel location is perfect, just a couple of minutes' stroll to the marina area where you can find lots of great bars & restaurants. I can only think of one small complaint, there aren't really enough sun beds around the pool for everyone. You have to reserve one at breakfast time (despite the sign telling you not to !) to guarantee a place. The pool itsself is lovely, a nice temperature (not too cold like some I've experienced), and a decent size for a small area.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
10 years 6 months ago
This was our second stay at la cala and it just gets better. This hotel is one of the cleanest hotels i have every stayed in.The whole hotel is spotless.

The rooms are very large, all rooms have a mini fridge, flat screen T.V. Clean bedding every 2 days. We found the food to be very good plenty of choice every night. Gala night once a week.

Very good choice on the salad bar. Plenty of choice in desserts (hot chocolate sauce to die for).No matter how busy it was could always find a clean table. Staff in dinning room very freindly.

Enterainment to poor a singer once a week. Hotel is one street back from the marina. Only 5 min walk to beach, and to centre.

Overall this is a excellent hotel in a great location. Will be back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: none

Recommended
10 years 6 months ago
This was are 1st stay in La Cala hotel although we have been to Santa Eulalia before. I would highly recommend this hotel for cleanliness and comfort. The staff were extremely friendly and went out of there way to make you feel comfortable.

The pool was great for as I am a non swimmer you could comfortably go in and not feel out of your depth which was lovely on a hot afternoon. My only gripe was as my husband is disabled and liked to go for a nap in the afternoon I could not take the key of the room with me as this would shut down the air conditioning, and coming back to knock on the door I felt was desturbing the other guests.

The resturant was buffet style but you always got something fresh regardless of the time you went in, but like hotel food in general it does get boring after a while, but there are some lovely resturants close by.

I do hope anyone going this year has a great holiday I know you wont be disappointed with this hotel. I have already booked for next year so role on 2008.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct holidays

Recommended
Elaine Simpson
11 years 3 months ago
This was our 1st visit to La Cala & after reading all the fantastic reviews we started to wonder if this hotel was too good to be true....We normally stay in 4*/5* hotels, so these are our honest views on this 3* hotel.

The staff were friendly.

The food was the usual Spanish buffet style, with cava on a Sunday morning, the drink prices were very reasonable, much cheaper than the bars, the hotel was very clean in all areas.

You could hire pool towels for a refundable deposit of 20 euros.

The entertainment was about 3 times a week, but that wasn't up to much, but there are plenty of places to walk to in the evenings so you can always find entertainment in other hotels or bars (by the Marina) or just sit on one of the many seats along the prom and "people watch".

In our opinion there were two downsides to this hotel, the "no shorts" rule for the evening meal was not enforced, most of the gentlemen didn't wear shorts in the evening, but there were a few (mainly French) who dined in vest & shorts, which didn't look very tasteful & I think made the restaurant look low class.

The main problem with this hotel was the pool area, there were nowhere near enough sunbeds to go round, we counted about 70 and as usual there were the "towel brigade" out in full force, but the design of the area was so cramped and with the position of the hotel only half of the pool area ever got the sun at any one time, so you could always get a bed in the shade, but you don't go to Ibiza to spend days in the shade. Fortunately the beach at Santa Eulalia is excellent, kept very clean and not far to walk to, but it would have been nice some days to walk out of breakfast and find two sunbeds at 10 o'clock, but you had not chance of that, there were notices around the pool area with "no reserving" but again absolutely no enforcement.

To sum up the hotel was definitely 3* not 4*. The resort is excellent, we think the best in Ibiza by far.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Mr & Mrs Garside
11 years 3 months ago
Had a wonderful stay at La Cala. Being centrally located is ideal as is close to shops and close to promenade as well.

Hotel was spotless with one of the roomiest bedrooms we have had for years very well appointed. The food was excellent one night then not so excellent the next but always a good choice so never went hungry.

Didnt use the pool as felt quite hemmed in with the hotel round you on three sides and not many loungers. Despite hotel policy to not allow towels to reserve loungers this was ignored, as was the rule of no shorts at evening mealtime, felt this lowered the tone somewhat.

Overall would be more than happy to go back here.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Sally Matthews
11 years 5 months ago
This hotel was absolutely superb, spotlessly clean everywhere and the food choice was very impressive, staff were so polite and friendly. rooms cleaned everyday and cleaners seem to be everywhere you looked! Waiters lovely too.

Different mix of nationalities and age groups, we had our 14 year old daughter with us and hotel was very safe.

Would definately go to this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
11 years 6 months ago
Thanks to this site we had a great holiday at the La Cala, this is a lovely hotel, very clean, spacious rooms, helpful staff, nice pool with pool showers that could be adjusted from hot to cold.

Hotel food was not to our liking but others enjoyed it.

Hotel is well positioned within resort, short walk down takes you to the marina with the beach just beyond that,nice prom, but watch out for dog dirt.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct travel

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: