Image of Samoa Hotel

Samoa Hotel

5 of 10 hotels in Calas de Mallorca

4 out of 5 from 82 reviews
3 stars
Hotasa Samoa, Carre Formentor, S/N, 07689 Manacor (Mallorca), Spain

82 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    16
  • Very Good
    42
  • Good
    15
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mrs May
9 years 4 months ago
We stayed at the samosa in july and august of this year , with myself , husband and two children.On arrival We were told we were on minus 3 , right under the pool. These are the warmest rooms ever with no air-con !!!!! which is a must when its 40 degrees everyday.The rooms were cleaned everyday with the maid coming back later if you were still in bed .The food was awful and the smell from the restaurant made you ill before you went in, so we ate out alot . The menu had tripe and rabbit most days ewwwwwww, not for us , burger bar was ok but there are only so many burgers you can eat !!! we are not fussy but the food was very bad .drinks 2 at a time at the bar in small plastic cups but ok , good cocktail bar across the road :),the pool area was great and reps worked hard, there were alot of people there at this time so if you wanted a sunbed then you'd have to get up at 6:30 am !!
would i go again NEVER,
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Richard
9 years 6 months ago
The hotel Samoa was a huge disappointment. The best preparation for a stay here is to live on your nearest council sink estate for a week. Our nights were a constant interruption of slamming doors, loud voices and foul language both outside and within the hotel corridors. Hardly the "family friendly" hotel described in the brochure..., the majority of Samoa guests were really very rough indeed.

The "all inclusive" aspect of the deal is a real misnomer. The food at the hotel Samoa was, to be fair, at least palatable but only in a 'school dinner' sense. The quality is distinctly average. Think burgers, dried out chips and greasy bacon and you're on the right lines. The coffee and tea were of the same fayre. The restaurant manager refused to drink a cup of their awful coffee that I offered him. We tried to revert to tea but even putting two teabags in the cup couldn't induce even a glimmer of any taste of tea. It was truly that bad.

The wine and beer were also completely undrinkable. I am no wine snob, a
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Sharron Ruddy
9 years 6 months ago
we got a last min deal and we have been to calas de many timesbefore so the samoa was a good hotel full of scots i must say and what a week the rooms were spotless the food was ok and the location was good the hotel staff were great with the kids but the only let down was the entertainment that was a bit naff my little girl hated it but all in all i would go back for a week again not 2 weeks that would be two long
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: barrhead travel

Recommended
Samoa Hotel
10 years 1 month ago
We had a wonderful time. This hotel is great for families mainly because of the entertainment team. The kids could be as much or as little involved as they liked and as parents you could get involved too if you wanted to. Fabulous location near the beach but not much else in resort.The maids left the rooms spotless everyday and the bar/meal service was quick. The food was repetative but very enjoyable and the kids enjoyed trying things too. The bar staff were also great with the kids. The only moan is the noise at night...mainly by other holiday makers who dont know how to whisper and shout at the top of their voices at 1 in the morning and the very loud karaoke bar over the road...but....by the end of the week u kind of get used to it. It would be great if security wandered around between 12 and 1 to make sure that people are behaving and being courteos 2 other families! All in all a value for money hotel with great kids programme. Could be 4 * with a refurbishment, noise/behaviour control and vamped menus.Staff need to be a bit more friendly over proffessional but in all fairness they work very long hours and deal with some not so friendly holiday makers!We would return if the price was right.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Fleetway

Recommended
10 years 2 months ago
after reading various reports on this hotel i was worried,however as a party of 2 adults over 40 and 2 younger adults aged 20 we were all very happy with all aspects of this hotel apart from the fact that we are very much english food eaters,and we were in spain and i dont expect spanish cooks to cook english food the same anyway.i know some people may say why bother going to spain if you want english food,but we did enjoy spain.at the end of the day we got a cheap deal enough to say we will save money during the day and eat out every night and thats just what we did.great english bar/cafe opposite hotel that imports english food(breakfast great)all meals brill!if your not fussy like us then the food would be great all day and night at this hotel(if you dont mind using microwave to heat food up).cleanliness could not fault.drinks for adults and kids were well worth the all inclusive for!location could not have been better for beach and nightlife was all right opposite hotel in very big square.staff what can i say after you been to greece or turkey then spanish are well left behind in manners!ignorant,rude,what more can i say!!!entertainment,well for the kids great,they work very hard,adults go into the square for fun!!.yes i would visit this hotel again but only if i got a very cheap price!!!! as we did this time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: xl

Recommended
Kirsty Ramsden And Sean Ringwood
10 years 3 months ago
Having stayed here at this hotel before and putting a review on here about how great the hotel is, We think it is now time to tell the truth.I am actually sat in the hotel writing this review waiting to go home.Where do i start. The Hotel seemed to have improved since we last stayed here but that was all just a front. I "somehow" caught a tummy bug whilst staying here at the hotel (dr said Food was the cause) no one at the hotel offered an apology that i had to spend nearly 3 days in my room (too ill to come downstairs) but they were all very quick to say it wasn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Private

10 years 3 months ago
When arrived was told of theft in hotel being bad so was very worried, however, staff very friendly, spoke excellent english, always willing to have a laugh with you! Apparently the theft is people coming into the hotel on arrival day and pinching bags etc when guests are checking in so be careful! Hotel could do with refurbishing (put air con in) and genereal 'tarting' up but was always very clean. Entertainers were always smiling, very eager to please! The restaurant could do with being a little bigger as at times was too crowded and hard to find a clean table as staff weren't that quick at clearing away. If you go for evening meal late the food was always cold so you have to time it right! Snack bar was always clean and food was plentiful. Choice of chips burgers, sausages, pasta, lots of salads, and pizza. Pool area cleaned every day and sun beds were 'unchained' at 7.45 am but people were already waiting from about 7.00 am! Overall, a good holiday, very relaxing atmosphere, kids loved it as mini golf, football, table tennis and daytime entertainment kept them busy! No-one in our group suffered stomach bugs etc as the other reports are stating.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmo

Recommended
10 years 3 months ago
Hi just spent a really relaxing week in this hotel read some reviews beforehand and was a little apprehensive it is a very nice hotel again in need of air con.

Staff very friendly food was average but something you could eat on every sitting.

Location was second to none and had a really great time lots for kids to do entertainment wise not so adult themed but on the whole would go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: on the beach

Recommended
Samoa
10 years 3 months ago
having never been on an all inclusive we were unsure as to what it would be about. What a culture shock!
The rooms needed air con but you can hire fans. They werent that effective but you sort of became aclimatised.The bathrooms were a bit shabby but rooms were kept very clean and clean linen daily,even though some of the towels were a bit threadbare!
Plenty of choice in the restaurant but mealtimes were chaos, particularly with 2 children to sort out. We went out on the saturday night for dinner despite being AI and what a treat it was to all sit down together and not have to fight your way to the salad bar!
The entertainment was plentiful for the kids and very infectious. The songs and dances done daily by the animacion team were great fun and i would defy anyone to come away not humming at least one of the songs..(boom boom boom I say bang bang bang)
The main hall was a bit like a youth club but as this holiday was for the benefit of the kids it was great fun.
The pool was lovely and big, just not quite big enough.
We had a lovely view overlooking the hills and away from the front entrance or the pool where all the activity centred around so it was nice and quiet.
You have to be quick off the mark for the sunbeds but we deciced that if you cant beat them.. join them and we had a lovely time all told.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: on the beach

Recommended
Terry Ramsden
10 years 3 months ago
How times have changed. This hotel although not a five star the staff would listen to your complaints. It would appear that if a stomach bug appears during your stay then it has come with you from the U.K. The food is very bland and the whole restaurant leaves a bad taste. Dirty plates and cutlery a daily exhibition to those wishing to eat in clean surroundings.I spoke with one of the new directors and was assured changes would be made.I stayed at another hotel in the resort this year and visited the Samoa to inspect the alleged changes. Guess what,it was as bad has before.I have stayed at the Samoa on several occasions but I will never return. Please be careful when considering this Hotel. Holidays are ruined by the appaling cleansliness standards
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: