Image of Sol Gavilanes Hotel

Sol Gavilanes Hotel

3 of 8 hotels in Cala Galdana

4 out of 5 from 22 reviews
4 stars
Cala Galdana, 07750 Ferreries, Spain

22 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Nigel Souch
Punches above its star rateing
4 years 8 months ago
Just returned from this most pleasant of hotel, where the views take your breath away.
The Staff are delightful and always smile and greet you as if your family.
Special mention to our Thomas Cook Rep Sophie who always turned up on time and had the warmest of smiles.
The rooms we first had were on the 6th floor but due to a lot noise nearby we asked to be moved and we were given the door card to more rooms on the 9th floor and they were much better and it was done without any fuss.
The only down side was that the entertainment was quite loud but thankfully didn’t last to late(jass/blues).
Keep up the good work and I hope to see you all again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Skelton
9 years 2 months ago
This was our third visit to the Sol Gavilanes hotel, the last time was in 2001. We were suprised to see a lot of the staff who were there in 2001 and they were still as freindly as we remembered them.
The hotel was spotlessly clean as usual and our room (with a superb sea view) on the third floor was ready for us on arrival. The room had two single beds (pushed together) and a sofa bed for our daughter. A mini-bar fridge and t.v and ceiling fan plus an air-con unit are standard fixtures in the room. The bathrooms all have 4 piece suites (bidet,W.C,bath and sink)and have soap, shower gel and shampoo provided.
At breakfast and evening meal times the hotel is self service buffet style meals. It is the same as all other hotels we have stayed in, in which it can be a mad scrum to find a table or get to the food. A light hearted battle with the Germans normally ensues.
As already stated, the staff are freindly, they are also courteous and fast with setting tables and arranging refreshments. Reception staff are also excellent and can put alot of English to shame with their language skills.
As we had arrived at the hotel at the end of the holiday season there was not a great deal of entertainment on offer, the annimation team (hotel etertainment staff) did still organise games during the day.
We would stay at the hotel again, no questions asked. The ideal place for a quiet, relaxing holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Helen
9 years 4 months ago
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotel is the best I've stayed in for along time and definitely deserves the 4 star rating. The food was lovely and alot of choice, the only dissapoint I had with the food was the breakfasts in a morning especially the cereal wasn't up to much but everyting else was very nice. Rooms were spot on, clean and tidy everyday and there was 3 of us in the room but there was plenty of room to move around. The view from room 525 was exceptional and was a joy to wake up to every morning. The location of the hotel is fantastic and in walking distance to the main shopping area (10 mins tops). Make sure to take the train ride round cala galdana really enjoyed it. I will definitely be returning to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Jose
9 years 7 months ago
The hotel was in the best position on the beach, it was very clean and the staff were all very friendly and curtious.

We had 2 standard rooms with sea view and an additional bed in each room and there was plenty of room and also very good sea views, the bathroom was well equipped and very clean, towels changed daily and rooms cleaned daily.

The public areas of the hotel were very clean and all in good condition, looks like it had just been refreshed for the season.

The food was very good and had a good varied selection although not a great selection if you are vegetarian, if staying longer than a week the food could become repetative.

The entertainment was acceptable but not a lot of variation, even the kids got fed up with it by the end of the week.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked direct

Recommended
Rosemary Rowden
10 years 4 months ago
The location of this hotel is it's major attraction with most of the rooms having beautiful sea views. If the view is an important thing for you then ask to go on a higher floor otherwise you could be looking through a tree ! The safe sandy beach is just a minute away down a few steps. The hotel was very clean and all the staff were helpful and friendly. The food in the buffet restaurants was rather repetive but we could always find something to enjoy. We never tired of having our breakfast in the open air terrace restaurant looking out over the bay. We can't comment on the entertainment as we preferred to go for a stroll into the resort and see what was going on there. This is also a good hotel for young families.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Palm Air

Recommended
Jenny
10 years 4 months ago
The best location with lovely views. The hotel, pool and rooms had a good standard of cleanliness on the whole. Bed sheets could have been changed more often. You had to HIRE a kettle if you wanted a hot drink in your room! Small fridge were you could put a few bottles but took for ever to get them cold enough to drink. Not enough sun shades by the pool hence people would put towels out on recliners very early in the morning to bag the best places. Also, people would go off for hours, selfishly leaving towels on recliners. Being on the top two floors does give the best views but you are also right above the 'entertainment'which gives out loud noise from early evening through to midnight-ish, no chance to sit on (small)balcony and enjoy the beautiful view in peace in the evening. Food very repetitive on the whole and little vegetarian choice. Also, as a 4* hotel should you have to go to look for oil and vinegar dressing for salads? Wine at table was twice the price of the same bottle in the hotels (expensive)mini-market. No jugs of water on the table you had to buy a (small)bottle for two euros instead.Tea bags were handed out in the morning, just plain black or menthol, no other choice. Cocktails were a rip off. Try to order (for instance) Vodka and orange juice instead and you get much more for your money. I felt the hotel penny pinched on food/drink items not the 4* standard I am used too. Pool man and chamber maid were really nice and chatty but on the whole I felt other staff in the restaurant were not interested and just wanted to get you in and out as fast as possible. I wouldn't give this hotel a 4* grading and I didn't find it peaceful in the evenings. I think it rests too much on it's reputation for a beautiful setting and is more interested in profit than people.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: palmair

Allmen
10 years 6 months ago
The Sol Gavilanes hotel is located in an ideal spot as you can walk down from the rear exit right on to Santa Galdana beach, one of the best, fine sand beaches in Minorca, the only drawback is the price of umbrellas and sun beds
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Bubs
10 years 6 months ago
We have just spent 2 weeks at the Sol Gavilanes, and cannot fault it. Our room was kept spotlessly clean, bedding changed nearly every day, towels changed daily. The staff cannot do enough to help - they work their socks off!

We found the food to be good - a little repetitive maybe, but then there's bound to be a limit to the variety they can provide when catering for so many people: we didn't struggle to find something we enjoyed every day.

It was nice to be able to choose between the terrace area or the restaurant. We found the entertainment to be OK, but possibly not as good as the entertainment at one of the other nearby hotels.

Enjoyed the piano bar each evening, between 8 and 9pm. Would definitely stay at this hotel again, without a doubt.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independent

Recommended
Lynn Owen
10 years 7 months ago
We really enjoyed revisiting this hotel after an absence of 15 years. The only negative changes we noticed were the main restaurant is a bit like a caf rather than a restaurant, though the restaurant on the terrace more than made up for this disappointment. Also the entertainment was pretty dire, we went to the Hotel Cala Galdana at night as the entertainment there was far superior to that on offer at the Gavilanes.
The location and views from this hotel cannot be bettered.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Del & Caz
11 years 6 months ago
Just returned home yesterday (12.06.06) from the Sol Gavilanes and cannot praise this hotel and resort highly enough. This was our first visit to Menorca but we are now booking for next year as we absolutely loved it.

The hotel was immaculate, the staff friendly and attentive, the food - varied and tasty. The rooms all have sea views and the view is breathtaking. We were on the 2nd floor but we will be requesting a 6th/7th floor next year as this is where you get the best views. The hotel has 2 restaurants - ine indoors and one open terrace - both excellent. It was fantastic to sit out in both the mnorning sunshine and the evening heat enjoying your meal. The open air restaurant is also where the outdoor entertainment is in the evening so if you time it right you can be settled for the night!!!

Beach towel hire is available (refundable deposit), free fridge and safe in the rooms - which is great. " lines for washing on the balcony, both a ceiling fan and aircon in the rooms. Soap and shampoo are provided in the bathroom as well as a selection of other free toiletries.

There are 2 pools (one for children) the pool area however there is not enough sunbeds etc. This was not too much of a problem as the beach was in front of the hotel. Pricey at approx. 20 euros to hire 2 beds and an umbrella but many people opted for buying a couple of inflatables and a parasol. The beach is beautiful with lovely fine golden sands and clear water.

Overall a fantastic time had by all. We met many people who have been back 3 and 4 times - that says it all for us. Give it a try - you won't be disappointed!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: