Image of Marinda Garden Aparthotel

Marinda Garden Aparthotel

9 of 16 hotels in Cala n Bosch

4 out of 5 from 39 reviews
3 stars
Cala┬┤n Bosch, s/n, 07760 Ciutadella de Menorca, Spain

39 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    18
  • Very Good
    17
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Julie Smith
10 years 11 months ago
we stayed in a ground floor apartment right next to the stage and the pool we didnt have a problem with this apatment at all being situated where it was, it was ideal for the kids and not noisy at all, very clean a little dark until the shutters were opened but it wasnt a problem to us ,
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Mrs W
10 years 11 months ago
Our second visit to Marinda Garden hotel and we thouroughly enjoyed it. Rooms are very clean and any problems are dealt with. The hotel staff worked very hard and there were plenty of activities throughout the day for adults and children. The pool is lovely and the surrounding areas are very nice too. Our two visits to this hotel have been our best holidays. The layout is much better than a high rise hotel, so nice and quiet at night. The food is very good, lots of choice and the dining room is spotless. We never had any problems at this accomodation in both our visits and I have been to at least 15 other accomodations. My only disappointment this year was the entertainment which was nowhere near as good as last year. The outside shows last year were excellent wheras this year they were not. The hotel team tried their best though. We also had shows repeated both weeks. All in all a good holiday and yes I would go again next year. Infact we bumped into 4 couples who were also there last year !! Lots of Spanish holiday there too which I think is an excellent sign !! Yes the accomodation is basic but we only slept in it and it was spotlessly clean and we were quite happy with it. We have stayed down and upstairs and their isn't a great deal of difference, slightly bigger upstairs with a private balcony but thats it. Think the entertainment needs greatly improving if the hotel want people to return as last year it made our holiday extra special.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
10 years 11 months ago
Just returned from the Marinda Gardens, we booked it through alpha rooms. I had requested a ground floor room for my mum near the entertainment area and a upper floor for ourselves away from the pool area as we have a 2 year old. We were granted both (but on different blocks) the receptionist apologized and said we could move half way through the week, but we declined as it wasnt too much of a problem. The rooms were spotlessly clean, but we did have an ant problem, which was quickly dealt with when I mentioned it to reception.We were on a self catering holiday, but were dissapointed to find their was no snack bar to grab a toastie etc. You could eat in the restaurant, if you got a card stamped, however we found it quite pricey at 16euros each, we did however enjoy a lovely breakfast one day, with english brekkie, continental fayre and dried and fresh fruit.
We only watched one show 'we will rock you', it was very good, and the amination team really put everything they had into it. The entertainment usually finished about 11 with the bar shutting soon after. Drinks were quite expensive at 4 euros for a large beer, however you can get an all-inclusive drinks package for the week for 77euros per adult, again i think quite expensive unless you are a big drinker!
The Marinda Gardens is only a five minute walk to the Marina and the goody goody park, and 10 to the beach. We ended up hiring a wheelchair for my mum to get to and fro as taxis were extortionate at 7 euros each way. we alos hired a buggy for my son(as we had forgotten to bring his) both of these were lent to us by a firm called 'holiday hire'at very reasonable prices. The reception staff will arrange this for you. They are very obliging and helpful, especially Aga. We asked for a table for our balcony, and one arrived the next day. The maids work like trojans and come every day but sunday and wednesday, i wish i could have brought one home!

All in all, a very enjoyable holiday, and yes we would return again!

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: diy

Recommended
Sue Taylor
10 years 11 months ago
We have just returned from 1 of the best holidays ever and if im honest, after reading some of the reviews, i was in 2 minds whether to cancel. If your reading reviews and like me are a bit nervous, let me reassure you, this hotel is brilliant. Animation team of Oswin, Sofie,Christina,Irene and Roxanne really made this holiday special for us. They always had smiles on their faces and nothing was too much trouble, we clicked with all of them. We have 13 year old twin boys and an 8 year old daughter whom we never saw as the lads made friends with all the lads of their own age including spanish as well as English ( Ola to Ivan & Adrian!!) Staff are really friendly, entertainment fantastic, food is as good as any other all inclusive deal. shows finish at 11ish and bar closes at 12, so any noise is a minimum. Only gripe is our flight was early in the morn and hotel literature says the dining room will open for those who have early flights at 4am. Then discovered that u had to book if you wanted this, wasnt a disaster but was a little irritating! If you want to stay in your apartment all day every day, then yes, they are a tad basic but if your anything like us and just use it as a base and for sleeping, they are completely adequate. special hello to Lisandro, and see u next year!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Julie, Derek, Ian, Lyn, Emma, Amy, Hannah & Chloe
11 years ago
Having just returned from this complex, I have to re-assure people after seeing a few negative reports.
Everything from the start to finish was fantastic.

Yes we asked in advance for 2 upstairs apartments and got them.(There are 2 upstairs to every 4 downstairs apartments, they are more spacious with a large balcony) I emailed the hotel direct about 2 weeks before travelling as well as having made the request on our booking form.

Reception - Spoke fantastic English and dealt with check in and any queries with no problem at all.

Thomas Cook Reps - Seemed friendly enough, didn't really have any need to use them.

Animation Team (Hotels own entertainment team)- Made the holiday for us. Oswin, Danny, Roxanne, Christina, Sophia and Irene. Kept everyone entertained morning noon and night. For adults 14+ = Shooting, Archery,Volley ball, waterpolo, French Boules, Sunbed games etc. Mini club 4-9yrs = Crafts, diploma games, mini golf, pool games etc. Maxi Club 9-14, Table Tennis, Crouquet, dance practice for an evening performance.

No one is pressured into joining in, but by doing so you get to mix with other guests and a good atmosphere is built around the place. Also the way the team switch from English to German to Spanish to Dutch just made me feel inadequate.

The same team put on shows in the evenings we saw, Rocky Horror, Grease, Cinderella, We will Rock You and the best one of all where every child who wanted a part got one is the Disney Show. Make sure your video is charged for this one, you'll be as proud as punch!

There were a couple of other external shows that came in which were also very good.

These shows each evening were after the mini disco and the train song. It will all become clear. Mini disco is also held in the pool every other day of an afternoon. The alternate day is Aqua Aerobics.

Wednesday is Kids day, you do have to pay for this one, 13 euros for each child, they have face painting, make a fruit salad, paint a T shirt on the morning and then go to the waterpark next door on the afternoon. For every child paid for all day an adult can go to the waterpark for 3 euros for anyone else who wants to go with them it's 5 Euros each. A heavily discounted price based on if you went there independantly.

Still can't get over the fact that no matter what time of day you went to the pool there were sun beds available.
We were all inclusive and the pool bar did only serve all inclusive snacks free between 12 - 1pm (50% off at all other times) but then the restaurant opens from 1pm-3pm so you can go in there.(no swimwear in there though, so dry yourself off)

The restaurant staff were very friendly and we were perfectly happy with the food choices, quality and the way they were cooked.

Rafa and his team on the bars were up for a laugh. Friendly banter. Squirting the kids with water pistols at the poolside bar. Revenge had to be sought and the serial offender was still smiling after the dads threw him in the pool!

I may have had my holiday goggles on but I was unaware of missing tiles in the pool, flaky paintwork and didn't see a cockraoch, our air con was working fine we did have an ant problem on the first day but this was sorted with half an hour of reporting it. The same maid cleans your room for your stay they have Sundays and Wednesdays off. Leaving everything spik and span.

I would go back next week if i could afford it. If your off to Marinda Gardens enjoy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Violet Clarkson
11 years 1 month ago
we were very disappointed with this hotel.AS this was a last minute change of hotel by Thomas Cook we had no time to read other comments before going. We were unfortunate to have a ground floor apartment which was very dark and damp.The sheets were damp every night and our clothes were damp when we put them on.We asked to change rooms but were told nothing was available until halfway through our holiday as other people were also waiting to move.Also the "terrace" area was very small and people were constantly walking past.Minor repairs eg.electricity going off, were not dealt with very quickly.Food was average,not very warm and a bit repetitive.On the plus side the bar, restaurant and entertainment staff were very good,always pleasant.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Parker Family
11 years 1 month ago
After reading both negative and positive reviews before our departure we didn't know what to expect and were quite nervous about what we were going to find on arrival. After reading in other reviews recommendations of emailling the hotel and requesting a 1st floor room I did so about 3 days before we went and our request was granted.

The apartment was spacious and clean, the lighting was a bit dull but if you opened your shutters the sunlight made up for this. The floor in the apartment did get slippy when wet so you needed to be careful but we had no accidents.

The pool was lovely the kids couldn't keep away and you could always get a sunlounger no matter what time of day you went down.

The entertainment staff worked hard both through the day and on a evening and all the staff were always friendly and helpful. As we were self catering we paid for drinks in the hotel bars and found these quite expensive compared to other bars in the resort but this was the only negative aspect of our stay at Marinda Gardens and if you think you will be using the hotels bars regularly then you can buy a wristband for about 77 euros for the week for adults (less for kids) and this covers all your drinks at the hotel.

We travelled with Thomas Cook who provided a kids club which was excellant our children only went for about a hour on approx 4 occasions but it was open 6 days a week for several hours and the staff were brilliant with the kids.

We would definately recommend Marinda Gardens especially for families with young children and will hopefully be going back next summer.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Nicola
11 years 2 months ago
The Marinda Garden Apart-hotel is just a short walk from the marina and about 10 minutes walk to the first beach if you go over the little foot bridge. It will take a bit longer if you walk around the harbour.

The hotel is nicely presented and the staff are friendly and welcoming. We didn't make use of the daytime kids club so can not comment on that but our children loved the mini disco's in the evening and the entertainment team were very good. They put on a brilliant disney show with the kids on our last night. They had obviously worked hard with the children.

The food was pretty good and there was a good variety but don't expect the same hearty breakfast if you have to leave early on departure day.

Pool area was really nice with ample sun beds all around.

After reading negative reviews about this hotel before we left, I was concerned about the accomodation and requested an upper floor apartment. Luckily we were allocated one with a large balcony and I think this did make all the difference. It was very basic and some repairs were needed to tiles, but it was clean. The maids came in every day, except Sunday and Wednesday, and did a good job changing towels etc. We had a small kitchenette with no work surface so I'm glad we weren't self catering. our bedroom window was low and was dangerous for small children. Nothing to stop you from falling out onto the pavement below. Even I was nervous when I leaned to reach the open shutters.

I had a look around the complex and a lot of the ground floor apartments did overlook each others terraces, a lot of which seemed very small and dark, and some were flooding when it rained. You wouldn't want to open your bedroom shutters if your neighbour was sat right outside on their terrace, but without them open, the rooms were very dark. Some terraces you were almost walking over on your way past. Not well thought out at all and I certainly would not have been happy in one of those.

Tiles generally got very slippery when wet so care on steps had to be taken.

I would not go back here again for fear of getting a ground floor apartment. They would not guarantee an upper floor apartment when I asked and I think there are only 2 for every 4 ground floor ones.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Julie
11 years 2 months ago
Just arrived back from marina gardens. Had a fantastic time.We are glad we went all inclusive as every where was very expensive , 4 euros pint beer 2e for a newspaper lots people in our hotel were self catering but ended up upgrading to all inclusive, A tin of beans e2.50, tin corn beef e3.75c we could,nt belive the prices in the supermarkets. People we meet who were s/c had been out for meals in the evening and were spending around e80 just for an evening meal. So if you are going take plenty of money.The hotel food was good all salads soup different bread rolls pasta dishs fish meat dishes ice cream deserts.We never went hungry and aways eat plenty.Our room went straight out to the pool area, 3 pools cleaned every morning.The hotel staff work very hard and are all lovley.The best was the hotel entertainment staff they are very good we had some great days they did lots of games, my daughter loved all the games , a large sand play area a kids room full of creative things to do ,all work so hard. The evening shows was ok. Overall we had a great hoilday and would go back there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Woodman
11 years 10 months ago
Just come back from our fabulous holiday at the marinda gardens.
Weather has been fantastic alot hotter than i thought it would of been at this time of year (in its 30's)
Hotel was really nice but as people have already said make sure you get an upstairs apartment as the downstairs patios are awful. you are nearly walking on some of them and others are in dark little areas with next door neighbours window opening on to it.
i emailed the hotel before leaving and luckiely we recieved an upstairs apartment.
I travelled with my mum dad sister and 8 month old son in a 1 bedroom apartment which was abit of a squash. the apartments are clean but i dont feel there was enough storage space for all of us at all so we lived out of our suitcases.
The food was nice but if you go later on the food was sometimes cold and it gota bit repetative with the same deserts everyday. The staff couldnt do enough for you tops marks especially the thomas cook entertainment team sam and becky they were excellent and made the holiday what it was.
also the hotels entertainment team were really nice.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.