Image of Siesta Mar Apartments

Siesta Mar Apartments

2 of 4 hotels in Cala n Porter

4 out of 5 from 23 reviews
2 stars
Calle de la Avenida Central, 60, 07730 Cala en Porter, Spain
Near a sandy beach, the Siestamar Apartments are ideal for families. The complex is in two parts, both with pools. The Siestamar 2 is the hub of the complex and suits those after a lively holiday. The Siestamar 1 is across the road and is more relaxed.

23 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Not Specified
Not the best start with no room available.
6 years 5 months ago
When we arrived on the 3rd August 2011 we were told we would have to wait a couple of hours for our apartment - which I was expecting, however what had actually happened was the hotel was overbooked and they were scrambling around to try and find alternative accommodation - not only for us but quite a few Spanish couples who were getting quite irate at reception.

Be warned, this wasn't a last minute booking, we had booked and paid for the accommodation 6 months ago.
Alison
No good for self catering
7 years 5 months ago
Apartment was cleaned regularly but not set up for self-catering and the kitchen cupboards smelt damp so we did not keep any food in them. The beds were uncomfortable and the decor was so out dated it had to be seen to be believed.

The pool area was clean and the kids enjoyed it but the water was cold. The grounds were clean but trees were very tall and cut out all natural light on the ground floor so we had to have the light on inside the whole time. The bathrooms are desperately in need of some TLC. In fact the whole apartment needs some TLC. Not planning on going back there....
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
M
8 years 5 months ago
Stayed in a 2 bed apartment which overlooked a road but not too noisey. Apartments large with ceiling fans which cooled apartment down a great deal. Furniture a little dated but everything you needed was there apart from TV. Breakfast was buffet style and a good selection of stuff although chips and chicken nuggets were served at times for brekkie. (9.00am -11.30am). Swimming pools excellent and not too crowded. Only seen entertainment twice in the evenings - not sure of any in the day time. Internet access and washing/ tumble dryers also. Sky TV in main bar and small arcade with games etc. Only complaint was waiting for room to be cleaned when we arrived there (had to wait 3 and a half hrs before we could get in room.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: onthebeachholidays.com

Recommended
9 years 4 months ago
We stayed in the siestamar2. The napartment was clean and the facilities very good. The bedrooms had ceiling fans which is perfectly adequate. The Reception clean and staff very friendly and helpful.
It has 3 swimming pools the main pool then a meter depth and a paddling pool, there is also a pool with 2 waterslides going in the area is clean and plenty of sunbeds (kept locked at night and opened at around 9am. There is plenty of shade if wanted uner the pergoda. Plenty to do pool tables laser hockey etc. There is a laundrey and internet access. There is day and evening activities. The apartments have a free bus to beach and back 4 times a day. (Not to bad going but trying to climb the 180+ steps is tiring)I couldnot find any fault at all with any part of the holiday. I would definetly return. Even my Husband who normally would not go back said he would return there. Only a 20 - 30 min ride from Mahon it makes it ideal for a family holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Hazel
10 years 5 months ago
Just returned from Siestamar Apartments 1 Calan Porter, Minorca. Apartments well positioned and pleasantly surprised how spacious they are, cleanliness is no worse than anywhere else we have visited it was of an acceptable level. There is a charge for sunbeds on Siestamar 1 which I feel is quite excessive they are free on Siestamar 2 but there are clearly not enough to go round and despite there being signs up asking for them not to be reserved this was clearly ignored. The Thomson Kids club reps were fantastic my 7yr old had a fantastic time spent between there and the Water Slides in Siestamar 2. The hotel entertainment was poor. found hotel staff pleasant and helpful.

Was particularly pleased to be staying in Siestamar 1 as we heard a no of apartments in Siestamar 2 were subject to break-ins and thefts. The only downside to the apartment we were in was it was near to the road and was quite noisy at night.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

10 years 7 months ago
The apartments were sufficient, clean enough and spacious, but furniture quite tired and could do with a refurbishment. Apartment was cleaned and linen changed every 2 or 3 days which was great.

We stayed in Siestamar I because we knew it would be quieter and are so glad! Only choose Siestamar II if you are happy with loud music until midnight. Pool area was also much quieter and ideal for kids in I.

Children loved the KidZone club best. The children's reps were excellent(especially Krazy Kim)and children were always desperate to return, loads of different activies were on offer 5 days/wk and 2 or 3 nights.

Would recommend this place to families looking for a good self-catering holiday close to the beach with 2 good pool areas and plenty of entertainment and shops.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Clare
11 years 2 months ago
Hotel has a great location (even though resort is very small).

Found reception staff very helpful. Bar and restaurant staff very ingnorant (Spanish and English) and not happy at work at any time during our 14 nights there. Hence the reason we never ate in restaurant. Drink very expensive, no happy hour or promotions to entice you to stay in complex.

Kids club was excellent and staff were very helpful and pleasant even off duty. 2 girls has tears in eyes on the day we left (and want to move to menorca, sign of a great holiday). Mini Disco was poor, same songs every night and only lasted half an hour, when kidzone reps did the disco you noticed the difference.

La Paissa is the place to go for live tribute bands, excellent!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Williams
11 years 3 months ago
Would stay in this again if we ever went back to Menorca but don't think we would go back because of the weather we had rain for one full day and night and two half days and two cloudy days only went for a week.

The hotel location was very good could be a bit noisy a really nice beach even with the steps the price of the sunbeds on the beach was terrible though 17 euros for two for a day.

Only went to the pool twice as it got to full the rooms were clean we only booked 4 days before and we could have slept 8 in our room.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Amanda And Katie-mae
11 years 4 months ago
Just returned from the Siestamar apartments and oh so glad.

Hotel grounds and pool kept clean but rooms really dirty the kitchen tops and floors very greasy. The bed was very uncomfortable had to get them to clean the room again before we unpacked.

We had to eat in the restaraunt as we were half board and staff treat us like we on free meals really horrible and didnt get starters or deserts offered at all.

The sunbed issue is a problem we had to go for 9am to get one as not enough to go round, I feel that this place would be ok to go self catering but are not geared up for half board basis unless you like fried breakfasts and chips.

Will not be going again and that was the feed back we also got from people who we met and spoke to whilst there, the only good thing was the pools and the people who we met - HELLO TO YOU ALL.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Mrs Fowler
11 years 5 months ago
Siestemar 1 Apartments were excellent.

All apartments had 2 balconies one at the back catching the morning sun and one at the front catching the afternoon.

The rooms were clean and the hotel cleaners did a good job.

The kitchen was small but adequate. Overall good.

The Siestemar 1 was definitely the quieter of the two. Eve entertainment at 2 not quite Broadway but the children enjoyed it.ok.

Receptionists very helpful.

Waiting staff in restaurant-Poor! Took half board option for 4 days, very flexible, could be used at anytime during stay, having a breakfast one day and an evening meal the next and so on.

3 Euros for a sun bed at S1 free at S2 (very busy, problems with guests reserving beds). Pool cleaned daily. Tidy and safe. Sprinkler system a little loud early am.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: