Image of Bristol Playa Hotel

Bristol Playa Hotel

25 of 46 hotels in Corralejo

4 out of 5 from 25 reviews
3 stars
ización de Bristol Lago, 35660 Correlejo, Spain

25 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Helen Houghton
Overall unpleasant
7 years 6 months ago
Worst holiday ever! The whole place was filthy, did not have high expectations but this place really was the pits. Every other tile around the pool was broken and if you were not trying to avoid stepping on them you’d be trying to hop over squashed cockroaches that had been stepped on the previous night. The cleaner came twice (voluntarily) in 2 weeks! Had to keep going to request new towels from reception.

Horrid ancient rusty fridge, no air con, no kettle and lights that switched on in the middle of the night! If you do decide to try out this hotel, don’t forget to plug all sinks and taps as well as keeping windows closed unless you want quite a few extra visitors for breakfast of taking refuge in your suitcase ready to jump at you (cockroaches).
Overall, unpleasant and was glad to go home.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Mrs Hughes
8 years 7 months ago
we stayed self catering , but the hotel does have the facilities for guests to pay for breakfast ,4.50 euros for adults and 2.50 euros for children . the hotel does have a small supermarket very over priced , and watch out for the bread we bought a loaf of english bread that they had frozen with a expiry date of sep'08.
Our hotel room was cleaned every other day and if we needed our towels changed they would , no problems , the communal areas were very well maintained and always kept cleaned .
The location of this hotel was a bit to far out of the resort, but for some people the 15min walk around the seaview promanade would be ok , but because of the breeze in futerventura it does get a bit chilly for the kids .
The hotel staff were always very polite and if there was a problem it was sorted out very quickly and proffesionally .
Unfortunatley the entertainment let the hotel down , we picked this hotel because in the thomas cook brochure it said it catered for children with lots for things for them to do , there was not !! , the hotel run facilities were so disapointing , IF YOU HAVE CHILDREN PLEASE LOOK ELSE WERE . the hotel is best for couples , and for people that love to stay by the hotel pool all day long on there holiday !!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

8 years 9 months ago
After booking our holiday and then reading poor reports on holiday truths we were really worried! However, we were really happy with the apartments. We requested a sunny balcony and got a room overlooking the pool. Our apartment was clean - the grounds were beautiful and the staff were very very helpful. We never saw any cockroaches in our apartments. We only had a very minor problem with ants - a quick blast of ant spray provided by reception got rid of them (there were only a few at any one time - so not a major problem).

Only thing I would say about these apartments is that they were about a ten minute walk from the main street. Walk there and back was pleasant enough though.

Two really nice restaurants are just a few minutes walk away - Pancho Villas and Restaurant Avenida. Also, a really handy Hyperdino supermarket is a wee bit further along that road.

For cat lovers - the Bristol Playa has a cat cafeteria tucked away at the side of the hotel where you can feed and give water to the cats, although they do seem to be well fed and well cared for by someone local, thanks to the work of Twinkle Trust.

I would definitely go back to the Bristol Playa.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
8 years 10 months ago
Reading other reports we were a bit apprehensive about this aparthotel. However do not worry as most of the reviews are fairly dated. The complex has been taken over by the Hisperia chain so has improved.

1 bed apartment was spotless with no sign of ants or any other wildlife. Cleaned for 5 of our 7 days with fresh towels, linen each day. Well equipped with Microwave, Toaster, Kettle & Coffee Maker. I will agree that the 'sofa bed' in the lounge is not satisfactory as a sleeping arrangement.

Location is in a residential area on the North West corner of the town. It is very quiet and you do have to walk through a few residential streets to get to the town center.These streets are perfectly safe and well lit. However it only takes 5/6 minutes and you are at the Harbour. HiperDino Supermarket is 4 minutes stroll away and that has an ATM.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
9 years 2 months ago
Clean and a nice garden pool area.
Stuck out on a limb however as its placed at the extreme northern end of the resort so it bares the brunt of the predominent northely winds.
The surrounding area is local three storey housing, with virtually no bars or restaurants nearby.
However its a choice of two "strolls" into the main drag - either via the promenade or through the old town itself.
If you are with young children this may be an extra burden.
Staff were all very good, although the apartments do need a bit of tender loving care.
Good pool area with life guard in attendance.
But a bit tight for space for sunbathing.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct holidays

Andy Thompson
9 years 6 months ago
The location was probably about as far away from civilisation that you could get, everything was a long walk into the centre along dark narrow streets.

There was no entertainment to speak of, and children were allowed in the bar so there was no chance of a quiet drink either.

I would not visit this hotel again and was in fact glad to be going home.

There were cockroaches in our apartment so we had to be careful not to leave food out.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Mrs Sexton
11 years 2 months ago
Having read very mixed reviews about this hotel we decided to book anyway. Unfortunately the bad reviews read turned out to be our experiences also. We booked a one bedroomed apartment as I was travelling with my mother and son (aged 8). When we arrived at the hotel complex it looked reasonable from the outside, the view over the bay to Lanzarote was lovely. Our problems started with the ants - they seemed to know the minute we'd arrived and marched into the apartment in columns of 5 or 6, finding their way into our clothes in the drawers, and they bit like mad. We complained to the rep and to the hotel's credit within 30 minutes of complaining our apartment was sprayed with insecticide and a can of spray left with us. Having now heard that other guests were having problems with cockroaches also we decided that it was probably a good thing that they did! The kitchen in the apartment was better than some other apartments we have been to and even included a coffee maker, although some items were missing - only one cereal bowl for an apartment that was meant for 4.

The bedroom in the apartment was reasonable. The beds were comfortable and sheets clean - which was more that could be said for the rest of the apartment. The "sofa bed" in the lounge turned out to be a 3 inch thick slab of poor quality foam placed directly on a hardboard base. The coverings of the sofa were ripped and stained and didn't fit the foam. The bathroom looked as though it had not seen a mop for quite some time. If we mopped up any splashes from the shower with it you could actually see how dirty the floor was. There were cleaners in the hotel and we actually saw how little they do when we arrived back at our apartment just as they had arrived. They emptied bins, made beds and just swept floors - no mops were used at any time. Towels were changed but to be honest the towels had seen better days and looked dirty as they were so old.

Entertainment at the hotel was poorly attended during our stay (it got better with a new influx of guests mid week) and one night there were only 5 of us (2 of which were playing table tennis). The entertainment was of a poor standard, although on our last night there was a good lady singer (sorry, forgotten her name). I have to say that I felt that the entertainment started too late at 10.00 p.m. as there were lots of families with young children and if perhaps it had started at say 9.00 p.m. they may have had more of an audience.

The location of the hotel was OK - we just booked for a quiet week away and didn't want to be in the main drag so the 15 minute walk to the harbour was ideal for us. The rep suggested a walk which was quicker than following the coast road but it involved quite a few little streets that were lined with smelly litter bins and piles of dog poo so we walked the long way round.

The pool area was kept very tidy but the pools were absolutely freezing, even though the weather was glorious. There is no shade at all around the pool as umberellas are non-existent but beds were in good supply.

I wouldn't say that we had a disasterous holiday - except for the money we paid I would have expected much more. I wouldn't recommend the hotel to anyone simply because I think it's overpriced and could do with a good clean and the apartments could do with renovating as they have become very very shabby. The public rooms in the hotel were fine.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

11 years 3 months ago
The enjoyment of this hotel will be totally dependant on what room you get, if you get a high floor sea or pool view it will be great, if like us you get a low floor and the back of the hotel it will be OK.

My room was small and basic, cleanish, we did intend to eat in the room some nights to save a bit of money but we suffered from ants, they would not appear until food was around so we decided to eat in the room which was disappointing.

The pool area was nice but very busy, I felt like we on top of each other.

The location has it's good points and bad points, the good thing is that it is in the old town near the harbour, the bad points is that as local people live there as well you get the rubbuish of a town, i particually noticed a lot of dog poo around the area, also apart from the sea one side of the hotel looks over an abadoned building.

I don't regret staying at this hotel but would not stay here again unless I am guaranteed once of the better rooms.


Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

11 years 5 months ago
We stayed at this hotel at the end of July beginning of August 2006. We are a family of 5 so we had a 2 bed apartment which was on the top floor. The apartment itself was OK and the bedrooms fairly spacious, although the kitchen area was very small to actually do much in. We act a huge balcony, almost a roof terrace really with a sunbed on it too it was lovely, the only problem was it was so windy in the evenings it made it impossible to sit out on so we didn't get as much use of the balcony as we would have liked.

As has been said before the pool is very cold but you soon get used to it and the children don't seem to mind at all. Like most hotels you have to get up at the crack of dawn to get your towels on sunbeds otherwise they will all be gone by the time you get to the pool.

We didn't eat at this hotel so I can't comment on the food but we did go to a couple of their entertainment shows - a reptile show and parrott show which the children thought were great.

My only real disappointment with this hotel was the location. It overlooks wasteland on one side and buildings at the back so not that an attractive view for us anyway. As has been said the local dogs do use the streets as their toilets and this is not pleasant when walking from the hotel to the main street.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Mr H
11 years 10 months ago
My parents stayed at this hotel and had a brilliant time.They describe it as being spotlessly clean with very friendly and helpful staff.They arrived at 730pm and after collecting their key from reception went to find their apt no.270. Having got a little lost,a passing pool attendant looked at their key,picked up their bags and led them to their apartment. He would not accept any tip,and always spoke to them throughout their stay.It became a little chilly at night time and when asked for blankets,they were provided within 10 minutes.Their apartment had a fab view of the bay,the pool was immaculately kept and again very very clean.They did not have any food at the hotel , although other guests did say it was quite good.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: