Image of Club Riu Oliva Beach Resort Hotel

Club Riu Oliva Beach Resort Hotel

5 of 46 hotels in Corralejo

4 out of 5 from 30 reviews
3 stars
Av Grandes Playas, 35660 Corralejo, Spain

30 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    16
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Caroline
10 years 2 months ago
The hotel, food and staff were fatastic. The only minus if htere is one is there is nothing local unless you get a taxi or bus into town. However if you love beach holidays this is right on the beach which is lovely
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Pauline
10 years 2 months ago
All the staff were great,even the reception staff.We stayed in the annex very nice but it was quite a walk to the hotel.It was to far to carry a drink back to our room.One day it was raining so hard that we had to wait almost an hour for the rain to stop before we could go to lunch.All that was worth it for the peace and quiret that we had in the annex.The hotel was very clean.They were always cleaning the public toilets.The entertainment was the best we have ever had.real dancers.The food was good thanks to the other restaurants Mandarin and Canarian.We was given the use of a safty deposit box free of charge.We would very much like to return to this hotel soon.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Dan And Kate
10 years 7 months ago
READ THIS! I stayed at this hotel for a week, i thought i would be staying in the main hotel but we stayed in an apartment away from the hotel, and after a 4 hour flight and transfer time they told us the room number and let us get on with it! all the signs and notices where in every languge except english, so we didnt have a clue where we was going! the hotel was immaculate and the food was lovely it could be a 4*+ but unfortunatly they didnt cater for the english at all! even asking for a lager was difficult the hotel staff didn't have a clue what we were saying, as we were staying all inclusive we didnt take as much money as usual, but as all the entertainment was in german we had to go out into correlejo everynight which ment we had to take more money a taxi cost about 8-9 euro's one way,we went in august and thought it would be quite lively but there but it was very quiet! and ended up spending most nights in bars with no-one else in! and as for the entertainment in the day we just spent the day down the beach which cost 9euros for 2 loungers and an umbrella which wasnt bad but was pricey for a drink, i thought the price we paid we got ripped off and the all inclusive option is a farse cos you cant spend anytime at the hotel!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

10 years 10 months ago
This is the first time we have been all inclusive and if this hotel is anything to go by we will certainly go all inclusive again.

The food was excellent with a varied choice, the dining room staff were extremely frendly and always smiling.

The staff all over the hotel worked non stop, on the move all the time, cleaning, gathering glasses in the bars, clearing tables in the dining room. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly and spoke very good English.

Having been to Corralejo 3 times previously we were fully aware of the hotel and its prime location on the beach, this is why we chose it. The views from the hotel are breathtaking. Ideal location for relaxing but also for walks along the beach.

The entertainment was as good as any hotel we have been to, professional acts occassionally with the hotel entertainment staff performing to their best on the other evenings, daytime entertainmebt was first class.

The standard of the bedrooms was good, freshly decorated recently, spotlessly clean, given a really good going over daily, fresh room towels daily if required and fresh beach towels also provided daily.

There was no shortage of beds around the pool although people of all nations were up with the sun bagging their favourite spots with their towels.

The all inclusive drinks were available all day and into the early hours, you could have self service juices, fizzy drinks, coffee, wine and beer from breakfast, through to at least 2 in the morning. The spirits were available from around 10:30 in the morning when the pool bar opened and were still free in the disco in the early hours. What I liked about the bars was that there was sufficient staff in the bars so that you didn't have to wait any more than 30 seconds to get a drink and it was served with a smile.

As well as the drinks there was food available all day long, both in the main dining room and the pool bar. There are two specialist dining rooms, one chinese and one canarian which have to be booked 24 hours in advance, we didn't feel the need to use them as we were so pleased with the main dining room.

Although the majority of guests were German this only serves to ensure the highest standards are maintained. There were only one or two of them barging in and some were very friendly.

This hotel ticked all the boxes for us and we will be going back next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Pat
10 years 11 months ago
Riu Olivia beach is a 3 star hotel with all the potential for a 5 star rating. We had a fab week mixture of friends and children - non stop entertainment, the hotel staff are working non-stop and always very cheerfull-We have stayed in a 5 star hotel and the food here was far superior. The hotel just needs a little TLC in places. The beach is just paradise, the water clean and clear.
Overall anyone who doesn't enjoy the holiday experience at this hotel must be very fussy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Knight
10 years 11 months ago
Stayed at this hotel in April and wow the location is fantastic - very beautiful. The food was excellent lots of variety although as with many spanish hotels pork seems to be the favourite meat. Staff were friendy, reception handed out bottles of water, free and as many as you wanted, this was much appreciated. Location was quite remote and although on the beach and surrounded by mountains,to go into town you had to take a taxi. We tried the bus on one occasion but it never arrived.

Entertainment was fun and run by a group of mixed nationality 20 somethings who tried very hard, if you like drag acts you will love it. We didn't think we did but you live and learn.

From my personal perspective the only thing that let this hotel down were the birds, they flew in from the outside seating area into the main dining room, as I have quite a major fear of birdsthis caused me a problem (still running out of the restaurant every other day half way through a meal certainly kept the weight off).
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
11 years 5 months ago
Stayed 24-31 October in the annex. Phoned the hotel to see if we could upgrade to a junior/family room overlooking the pool. Going Places wanted
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Ruth & Dean Brighton
11 years 6 months ago
this is the second time back to the Oliva beach, this time we took 4 friends and once again we thoroghly enjoyed it. It is the only hotel i have ever been to where i was happy walking into the poolside loos in barefeet as it was always kept so clean. - cleaners always cleaning. This hotel is a good getaway hotel as it is on its own on the beach and about 10 mins taxi from town. Hotel leads straight onto beach. Beach is superb & clean and water is clear and stays shallow for a long way out. Sunbeds on beach cost but take your own towels, lilo etc and you can spend all day there, nipping back to the hotel for drinks & food. All food & wine for all inclusive was extremely good (not cheap rubbish).
Did have to be up rather early to get good sunbeds round main hotel pool! Bottled water from reception - Free. Mosquito plugs from reception - Free.
Main entertainment a bit amateurish as put on by in-house team with visiting shows only 1 or 2 times a week. All entertainment and activities primarily in other languages.
Mandarin restaurant (part of all inclusive package) excellent.
This is a good reliable getaway for a break hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Adrian / Julie/louise/scott
11 years 7 months ago
we stayed in the annexe part of the hotel with our room over looking the pool the rooms are 2 storey high and we were on top with the view of the pool.we stayed allinclusive and the food and drink on tap all day. the food from breakfast to lunch to dinner was top class with lots of choice for everyone and in between the meal times the snack bar was open with a wide range of choice and also ice crean and cakes. drinks you could get a beer / wine /soft drink from 08:30 to 2am in a morning and you help yourself you dont have to queue you only need the bar staff for spirits or cocktails which is free as well .location of hotel alright for sunbathers stuck in the middle of sandunes on the beach about 45min walk from the main townwhich is very small and not much to do when you get there .the hotel is on the beach and the beach is part of the nudist beach which we had the pleasure of seeing some sights which was hard to miss as they paraded right passed you.this did not bother us as we are open minded there is parts of the beach were the nudisted dont go which is right in front of the hotel.the beach beds on the beach you have to pay for as the hotel did not own them . the sea is very clean and clear.the staff at the hotel are very helpful and very friendly.the entertainment on a night was geared up for the germans and french but not for us some of it we understood but some we didnt day time activities was ok volley ball /polo/darts/shooting /bingo.this is a posh hotel and well worth the money we paid i would visit this hotel or any in its group againi would give it 9/10
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holiday

Recommended
Mrs A Cook
11 years 10 months ago
We arrived at 22.30 & on our journey to the hotel couldn't see a thing as it was really dark with no street lights etc. The hotel reception staff were really friendly & asked us if we had had a good journey. Our luggage was taken to our room which was in the annex and they had laid a cold buffet meal on for us in the dining room. We were given a map on how to reach our room & we got lost in the dark & a random guy who we think was probably a taxi driver helped us find our room !!

Rooms in the annex spotlessly clean & well equiped but when we go again( and we will!! ) we will book into the main hotel which I think is more upmarket. If you have young children, the annex is brilliant as there are lots of play areas for them and it is traffic free.

There are two large dining rooms and meal times are really laid back and the selection of food is fantastic. You dont have to worry if you turn up late as they are always replenishing the food during meal times. Even those who are fussy will find something they like each mealtime.

They also have the Mandarin restaurant & the Canarian restaurant which you have to book in advance. We went to the Mandarin restaurant and it was absolutely fantastic. The food was brilliant & the waiters were first class. Part of the all inclusive but we left them a tip as the sevice was second to none.

There is food and drinks available all day long so dont start diets until after your holiday as I promise you, you will break them at the Oliva Beach!

The Bar staff were constantly collecting glasses & cleaning tables & the cleaning staff were working all hours of the day. The hotel was spotless wherever you went.

Only 'down side' was that it was hard to get a sunbed each day as some of the guests had put their towels on them early in the morning and then cleared off to breakfast. We could't be bothered and went on the beach instead. The beach is absolutely fantastic !! and the hotel is right on it !!

In our opinion, this hotel is the best situated in Corralejo. The bus stops just outside the hotel grounds & drops you in the town centre for 1 euro.

Finally, the entertainments staff, they worked so hard, rehearsing during the day & putting on shows at night. They always have a smile on their face and are so friendly we can't praise them enough.

We will definitely go back to the Oliva beach Hotel.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum