Image of Dunas Alisios Hotel

Dunas Alisios Hotel

9 of 46 hotels in Corralejo

4 out of 5 from 50 reviews
2 stars
Calle del Sargo, 2, 35660 Corralejo, Spain

50 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    16
  • Very Good
    24
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Kerry Anelli
13 years 6 months ago
We stayed at the Dunas Caleta on a last minute deal. This was a big mistake.

The food at the hotel was truely appalling, we had to eat out for over half our holiday as there was nothing edible on the menu. We are not fussy eaters but still found it impossible to find anything to eat! The breakfast were a joke ! Everything came out separately eggs 15 mins after the rest of breakfast. The main problem is that the hotel are trying to provide half board on a shoe string.

The hotel is staffed mainly by English staff so they are like one big happy family. However this means that they are far more concerned with each others welfare than they are with their guests.

The apartments are basic and tired. They need an injection of cash because they could be very nice if they had a make over treatment. For example the toilets in the public areas 2 out of 3 of the toilets were broken cracked or coming away from the wall!

I would not go back to these apartments half board, but would consider them for self catering if they had the changing rooms treatment!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

L Ridehalgh
13 years 9 months ago
These apartments are brilliant, kept very clean, the maid came everyday and bedding and towels were changed every other day, They had a microwave, cooker, fridge, toaster and toasted sandwich maker. TV abit pricey 50cents for 30minutes.

The pool area is very clean, washed down every morning. We had no fights for sunbeds and went there in August.

Entertainment was good for the children, a few shows on, disco, and quiz nights.

The snack bar was good value, would recommend the barbecue night 12 euros adults, 6 euros children every meat you can think of, salad, potatoes, sauces, fresh fruit salad and 1/2 litre sangria each or juice for the children.

Only grumble I did have there was not enough staff on the bar and the tables were not cleaned often enough on the balcony. 90% percent of the staff are English, and are very helpful.

The apartments are in a very good location, central to everything would go back to them again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson's

Recommended
Mrs W
13 years 10 months ago
The rooms were spacious and very clean. The maid cleaned every day, and we had clean bedding and towels every other day. The self catering facilities were a microwave and a halogen hob, probably the best I have seen in an apartment.

I would highly recommend the Sunday Roast in the hotel restaurant, but we had the breakfast on the day before we left and that was not brilliant. The food in the pool bar was ok for the kids, the pizzas are as good as any and the filled baguettes are good value for money.

The hotel staff could not have been better, we met up with some friends there and they even re-arranged our rooms so we could be together. Most of the staff were English speaking and always friendly.

The only one gripe was the sun beds!! but to be fair the hotel staff did what they could so that every one got a fair chance to get one.

The evening entertainment was basically Gary and Nicky! But they were great at keeping the kids entertained with a few quizzes and shows for the adults. All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We had a great two weeks.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: SkyTours

Recommended
Julia
13 years 11 months ago
The hotel was in an excellent location close to the town, water park and bus stops to other locations such as flag beach.The only complaints we had were the smell of sewage that seemed to drift over the complex from time to time.It was strongest when the gardens were being watered. However the grounds were kept very clean and well presented.

After our first night out we decided to have breakfast at the pool bar, this was the last time we ate there! The food was disgusting and stone cold,we also overheard other guests passing comment about the food.I strongly suggest going self catering!

Overall we had a great time and yes we would use this hotel as a base again, the room was clean,spacious, the staff friendly and for those with kids it was ideal. We went as a couple but if we had children with us they would have loved it. There is so much for them to do and the entertainment for them was well co-ordinated.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Glyn & Sandra
14 years ago
Excellent holiday - much better than previous reviews had indicated.

Refurbishment taking place - outside table & four chairs replaced whilst we were there.The cleaner came every one or two days - towels replaced three times & bed linen twice in the week. Maintenance staff excellent - a light bulb & extractor fan replaced within two hours of reporting the faults. The portable fans were all cleaned in our block in the week!!

The hotel couldn't be in a better location.

The pool and surrounding areas were kept clean & there were plenty of sun lougers for everyone.

We only had one meal in the hotel - the food was excellent. There were many restaurants within easy walking distance.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson Skytours

Recommended
Ellie
14 years ago
This holiday was great and ideal for all ages.
We went on half-board which was 70euros for adults and 35euros for children. Food was amazing and had different food everynight. Breakfast was good and had a fry-up and cereals for everyone's liking.
Our apartment got cleaned everyday and was really well kept.
The location was super with a very long road of shops for all us girls and the beach was only 5-10 minutes away.
Entertainment staff were awesome especially Gary with all his jokes and kept everyone laughing.
I would certainly go back to this hotel and would recommend it to others anytime!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Donna
14 years ago
Having read some of the reviews on this site was abit apprehensive about going, you have to remember you can't please everybody all the time. I can honestly say that I found the apartments very clean and well furnished. The maids came in every other day and changed towels and bedding, the kitchen was well equipped (have stayed in alot of 4 star apartments and have had to hire toaster!)

The pool area and surroundings are lovely, the pool area and pool were cleaned every single morning.

The food from bar was nice, kids loved the pizzas, but we always ate out at night, there are some really lovely restaurants about.

Booked a couple of trips one to water park which the kids loved and another to the oasis park which was expensive but a good day out, camel ride was an experience!!! Last but not least the holiday reps, my daughter loved the kids club and really enjoyed the mini disco.

The reps work really hard, but also look like they enjoy it which is nice to see.

I would definitely go back to these apartments again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
John B
14 years 2 months ago
The hotel is nicely placed to access all the local amenities in Corralejo. Most evenings it was a pleasant stroll down through the town to see the bars and shops.

There is a small and friendly feel about the place as it all centres around the hotel pool with terraces and balconies all having a view to the pool and the surrounding area.

It was such a shame that so many guests came down with stomach bugs. 62 cases were recorded in three days, some requiring hospital treatment.

The cleaning of the rooms was minimalist, I timed the average at 2 minutes 11 seconds!

The staff were mainly British and, with their urge to help often cross the boundary between catering and bar work which did not help the infection spread. The water also went off twice leaving a lot of desperate holiday makers waiting for toilets and hand washing.

The green towels issued to all the rooms smelled of all sorts of disgusting things and had not been laundered properly

Some of the staff were also complaining of sickness and diarrhoea and were still involved in preparing food and drinks. This would not be allowed in the UK.

Such a shame that when we spoke to the rep they seemed to think it was normal and tried to fob us off.

This could be a lovely hotel but really needs to keep up with the Spanish ones and not act like something out of Blackpool!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Karen&trevor
14 years 2 months ago
Great holiday!

Hotel was better than I expected after reading reviews.
The only moan I have is the sofa bed was so uncomfortable.
Everything else was good. Plenty of room, cleaner came every day.

We were self catering but did eat at hotel a couple of nights and had snacks by the pool, the food was great and value for money, pizza's and toasties was lovely!

There was plenty sun loungers and you could get a parasol from reception for a deposit of 5 euros which by the end of the week you might be glad off, the pool was nice and clean and the pool area was cleaned everyday,

The staff was so friendly and all speak good English,
Our Thomson holiday rep Kathrine was so nice and helpful,

The hotel location was great 2 mins from shops and beaches,

The entertainment was good for people with small children as they had a disco every night for them. The adult entertainment was good but there wasn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Andy O'Hanlon
14 years 2 months ago
The hotel was nice, the pool was great but the rooms were passed their sell by date. They were clean enough but looked liked they had not been refurbished for at least 15 years. The hotel bar area was very clean and if you like football there is a big screen. There is also a mini arcade for kids but again was well past it's sell by date.
Overall the hotel is a good place to stay and I will go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.