Image of Orquidea Family Life Hotel

Orquidea Family Life Hotel

4 out of 5 from 81 reviews
4 stars
Bahía Feliz, Avenida Pablo Picasso, 13 VILLAS, 35100 San Bartolome de Tirajana (Gran Canaria), Spain
Right on the beach, in a quiet Canarian village resort in the south of the islan, so you can nip back from the beach to the pool at any time for a quick swim.

81 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    30
  • Very Good
    29
  • Good
    16
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
M Moreton
12 years 2 months ago
We stayed in the tres vidas apartments which were very spacious and clean. The cleaners came in five times a week to clean the rooms, change the towels and change sheets.Although we didnt stay at the hotel we did walk through it daily to the shops outside and the people on reception always seemed friendly and it always looked very clean.

The surroundings of the hotel and apartments are beautiful. The pool area is big and there were plenty of sunbeds so it was never a struggle to find a good place by the pool.

The entertainment was non stop all day long and every evening and the reps did a very good job.I have a 13 year old lad and a 17 year old girl and there were plenty of entertainment for them to join in during the day eg beach volleyball, football, pool, water polo just to name a few.

We will certainly be going back to this resort and will probably try the hotel next time as we did have a lot of people say to us how good the food was.

Also the reps that tranfered us to and from the airport were great.They told us everything we needed to know and places to visit. We were told all the pick up times etc and departure times for the transport and it was always on time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Carter Family
12 years 2 months ago
This was our first family holiday abroad and we have watched this web site with interest for some months. This is our honest opinion and reflects our needs for our children 4 and 9.

The Hotel is an eleven storey modern structure with three lifts. It is situated in a quiet small self contained village resort with a selection of small supermarkets, gift shops and clubs and restaurants. It was very clean and there was a regular security patrol giving it a very safe feeling.

Almost all rooms have a balcony and most look out over the garden/pool area. Apart from the odd spot of peeling paint it appears to be well maintained, with the rececption lobby area and grounds being particularly smart.

The hotel staff from management to the lowest cleaner all appear devoted to their work, are smartly dressed and are very helpful and welcoming.

All areas especially the bedrooms are cleaned daily to a very high standard.It should be noted that most bedrooms appear to be split level and with three tiled steps,which could be a hazard to the youngest guests.Linen and towels are changed very regularly.Air conditioning and safe boxes are available to hire. Almost all staff speak or understand English.

The grounds consist of lawned areas lined with palm trees with paths running through them leading to the three pools and down to the beach.The pools were of different depths to cater for all guests including the youngest and the disabled. They were kept clean at all times and were regularly inspected. During our stay we only once had a ten minute delay in getting sunbeds. Around the pool are snack bars selling reasonable priced snacks , ice creams and drinks. There was a regular security patrol, making it very safe, and I would imagine disorder was almost unheard of.

The restaurant is run on a buffet basis and was a model of efficiency. Only three times in a week did we have a five minute wait to be seated, and there were only the smallest of waits at the buffet counters. The waiters and staff were smart , friendly, especially to children, and extremely good at their job. The choice of food was excellent and would suit all tastes, with theme nights several nights a week.The quality too was excellent with all dishes being regularly refilled. The childrens menu looked a little bland but they always seemed pleased with what they ate.

We went to the hotel on a Thomson Superfamily Holiday and I can only say the Thomson staff were outstanding and a credit to their company. Kev, Annie and the team of holiday reps were with us from when we arrived through customs to the time we checked in to depart to go home. They were always smartly dressed, and eager for us to get the best from our holiday. Entertainment was provided for kids and adults by Leo, Jen and the team. This took the form of clubs, activites and evening disco's for the kids and daily activities and an evening show for the adults. they all put an amazing effort and energy in to make a good holiday outstanding.

To sum up if you have kids under 14 then this is the place for you. The reps were outstanding and treated all as special friends. It is a quiet safe base from which to explore the surrounding area or just relax by the pool.

I would bear in mind that the hotel appears to be geared more to UK guests from April to October and Scandinavian the rest of the year.

I have never seen so many tears from my kids when it was time to leave. We will go back next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
KAZ AND FAMILY
12 years 3 months ago
The hotel was clean and tidy. The suite was amazing. The entertainment was fantastic day and night.

Plenty of hot and cold selections of foods, the restaurant very over crowding at times.

Transport to and from airport very disappointing, as no reps on coaches at all, so booking in at resort and airport was confusing as no information available.
Would highly recommend hotel to friends and family and would stay again.

Trips were very well organised.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: PORTLAND

Recommended
Thomas
12 years 3 months ago
This was the most shabbiest Thomson accommodation we have ever stayed at. Don't visit this place unless you want to throw your money away!

The place is more 2* than 4 and is filthy. All the money is spent on entertainment; cleanlines and moderninity comes last.

I might have enjoyed my expensive stay if i had of booked this in 1979; I don't think its been cleaned/modernized since!

Also, don't rely on the brochure, facilities mentioned don't exist!

Tom
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Louise
12 years 3 months ago
I was very apprehensive about this holiday as I read these reviews after I'd booked.

Not sure what some people expect! The rooms were clean, big and comfortable, the shower was powerful and always hot and there was a kettle and a fridge in the room.

I travelled with my mum on a holiday purely to get our legs brown before the cold weather puts us in trousers - job done!

We had a lovely breakfast every day, plenty of choice. Got a sun lounger in the quiet area at around 10.30 every day and enjoyed a good evening meal.

I am veggie but never went hungry as there was always something. For the meat-eaters it was good to see the chef actually carve the meat at the serving area - my mum assures me it tasted good too!

The entertainment was very good, we didn't take part but you could watch without the reps tormenting you to join in. The reps worked very hard and were always cheerful and bubbly. The hotel staff are very efficient and friendly too.

If you accept the fact that all you're going to do is eat, sleep and lie by or swim in the pool all week this place is ideal. It was bliss dozing on a lounger listening to the waves breaking on the beach.

I would definitely go back for a very lazy holiday!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Doug Thoburn
12 years 3 months ago
Very poor for a 4 star hotel. The pool was dirty never cleaned, food was cold, service was poor, always had to queue for your meals.

Entertaiment is good for young children aged 3-9yrs old, other than that it is cheesy !

Brochure info is completley untrue, you have to pay for everything, even the football court, mini golf etc.Air conditioning also costs 30 euros per week.

On of the worst Thomson hotels I have visited.

Would not return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Kate
12 years 3 months ago
Hotel is clean inside, and I hear that its having a lick of paint to the outside for 2007. Maid service is great, she came in 7 days a week. Nice grounds in the hotel and friendly staff.

However, I had to complain on a couple of occasions about the number of flies in the dinning room, and flies walking all over the food, You cannot tell me that the staff did not notice them??

Thomson rep said he would have a word with the restaurant manager but it was the same again the next day. Not what I'd call 4 star!!

Additionally, the pool is salt water (not mentioned in the brochure)and it needs a good clean, not a man walking around once in the morning with a net to scoop the big bits of the edges only.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Jo
12 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the Orquidea in September. This was our second time, the hotel all round was as good as was 4 years ago. The rooms were always cleaned to a very high standard, the food was absolutely superb with plenty of different choices at tea time to suit all the family. The waiters were really pleasant and couldn't do enough for you, we had one night were our two year old boy just wouldn't settle a male waiter stayed by our table entertaining him, so that we could finish our tea which was no trouble for him at all. We noticed this time bar prices had risen quite alot, but we used to nip out of hotel to visit Frankys for our drinks as was a nicer pint, and Enrique was very friendly to everyone, especially with the kids. He made it feel like your local back at home!!

"Hotel Entertainment" well we felt that this let the Hotel and Thomson down really badly, we weren't on our own with our thoughts that "Ryan" did the most work, and always put in 110% more, than his other two colleagues. Big Daddy is sorely missed by all past guests, he was the entertainment, and made sure that all shows were finished by "Samba Time" which was absolutely wicked, he made everyone dance and made sure all people in the rooms opposite the entertainment stage were also dancing, as he would always spot you out the next day. We asked about where he was, and were told in an abrupt manner that "he has history, out with the deadwood, in with the new", well i am sorry, he is the best we have every seen, the Hotel, and Thomson, must be aware of past guests complaining about the lack of effort made by the 3 reps. "Bring Back Big Daddy!!"

The Kids reps were really brill, the only thing was there was not enough children to go in to clubs, which tested their interactive skills to the full. Shorty Shaz was a duracell battery, that NEVER EVER ran out. Princess Fiona, was our daughter's favourite. Jibber Jabber was on par with Shorty Shaz.

Transport to and from airport, there was no reps on board or that met you at hotel, so fortunately for us we had been before, but other guests were disgusted that nobody from Thomson had made the effort to guide them to hotel.

We have always booked with Thomson, but felt after this holiday that we will be going elsewhere.

Don't get us wrong, HOTEL is really clean, staff more than happy to help, but entertainment team really let ours and other returning guests down (as we booked to come back specifically to have BIG DADDY to entertain us)







Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Tara
12 years 4 months ago
We stayed at the Tres Vidas Apartments which are joined to the Hotel Orchidea.

Our first room was filthy, but we were soon moved to a cleaner one. We had to pay extra for air-conditioning and there was no porterage. We had to drag our luggage up a steep hill in the rain. We had no kettle in either the first or second room. Many of the electrical sockets did not work. The bed sheets were beige with brown palm trees on, smelling musty. Due to the colour they could not be boil washed. The towels were navy blue and again could not be bolied. Towels and bed lined were changed just twice a week.

Sunbeds had to be reserved by 07.30. The water in the swimming pool was salty. There were no fitness classes organised during our stay. There were no ash trays by the poolside, so cigarette ash was 'walked' into the pool.

Balcony furniture was dilapidated. The fridge stank of rot.

The Thomson reps and hotel staff were lovely. It's a shame they have to work in such a dilapidated environment.

The Saltan restaurant (at the Orcheida) is the best in the resort.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

David,Debbie&Kids
12 years 4 months ago
This hotel was by far one of the best oversaes I have stayed in. The foyer upon arrival was a pleasant surprise as it was plush and grand.

The room was excellent and the maid service was the best ever with sheets changed 3 times a week and towels on a practically daily basis.

One tip I would give is to keep your balcony doors shut in the evening and night, as Gran Canaria as a whole, appears to have a big problem with cockroaches and the hotel cannot be held responsible if they get in your room if doors are left open!

The reps were all brill especially Leo, Ryan and Jen! They were the best Big Daddy must have been something else if he was better than them!

Michaela the kidzone rep was also a favorite and my daughter Abbie has cried for her since being home! So we definitely recommend a visit for any family to this resort.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum