Image of Orquidea Family Life Hotel

Orquidea Family Life Hotel

4 out of 5 from 81 reviews
4 stars
Bahía Feliz, Avenida Pablo Picasso, 13 VILLAS, 35100 San Bartolome de Tirajana (Gran Canaria), Spain
Right on the beach, in a quiet Canarian village resort in the south of the islan, so you can nip back from the beach to the pool at any time for a quick swim.

81 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    30
  • Very Good
    29
  • Good
    16
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
June,Paul, Becki And Will
12 years 2 months ago
The hotel is great for a family, rooms are spacious and clean. Towels and sheets changed 3 times a week and always fresh. However if you want Aircon they do charge 30 euros a week for the priviledge.

Looking from the outside of the hotel it does need some running repairs, building is a bit shabby in places!

The pools are nice if a bit dirty when the wind blows and there are no life guards, they will not allow you to place your towels on the sunbeds and go before 9am (they will remove them) so most people get up and are there for 7.30am to get prome places which is a bit tedious.

The staff are friendly enough and the shop keepers outside the hotel are lovely with the children and most spoke fairly good english (shame we dont learn spanish i guess!). The bar across from the hotel (Frankies bar) is excellent and the service there great.

The entertainment is typical superfamily stuff (not our scene the kids tired of it quickly) but there is another bar called the Coco Loco bar on site where the Danish Thomson reps perform and this is great well worth a visit - my son loved the pretty girls.

All in all we had a lovely holiday, nice hotel, friendly people, met some new friends also - would we visit again mmmmmmmmm not sure like to travel around a bit so maybe in a couple of years, can do with doing the same holiday year in year out.

Would recommend if you enjoy a good family knees up though.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Taa
12 years 2 months ago
This accomodation was worse than bad. We have stayed in better 2* - it needs a drastic refit to meet Thomsons normal standards - this accomodaton is an embarassment to the company - we have voiced our concerns with them and are waiting a reply.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Billy The Kid
12 years 3 months ago
Very clean and pleasant hotel, nice grounds and helpful, friendly staff.

The Food was perfectly good, unless you are VERY picky, always fresh and plenty of choice. The dinner sittings are very flexible and not really a problem, there could be a queue but it never lasted very long.

There are plenty of sunbeds, but not room for everyone to sit next to the pool. It wasn't a problem.

My kids (7 & 5) loved the entertainment, but there were limited places in the kids Club. This is very poor from Thomson's at a Super family hotel. Come on Big T, you know who is coming because we all book in advance so why is it limited??? All the kids Reps and Entertainers were Excellent!!

If you want a Super Family Holiday this will probably hit the right spot, it certainly did for us!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Dumb And Dumber!
12 years 3 months ago
Just come back from orquidea hotel. I went to this super family hotel with my boyfriend and we are only 18 however we had a wicked time!

We found the reps and staff at the hotel were amazing and nothing was ever trouble for them! They kept everybody entertained regardless of how old you are! There is activities all day long and the reps are very encouraging.

The only let down however was the food standard as it was repetitive. Many others felt this was not a problem but we did! Pork was served everyday which is not my fave food and the quality is not great. But when you think about it they are accommodating for over 1000 people!

If you have children you are going to love this hotel as they are well entertained and will not be with you all day as the kids clubs run during the day and they have their own entertainment at night!

Overall a fantastic holiday! Would go back!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Danni-a
12 years 3 months ago
I have just come back off my holiday at hotel Orquidea. There was 4 of us (2 adults 2 children). We had an all inclusive holiday.

The hotel was very clean and the cleaners was extremely friendly. The food was an all you can eat buffet which was excellent.

It wasn't to crowded which surprised me because of the amount of people at the hotel. The food was excellent and they had great choices of food, and teh staff was extremely friendly and they got on with the kids really well.

The entertainment started at 8 which gave us time to have our dinner and look around the shops across the road. The kids entertainment was great for both the kids and adults they involved everyone.

The entertainers was great l-e-o Leo! was fabulous! The kids really enjoyed it.

There are lots of sunbeds with shade and some with not for the people who wanted to top up there tan. In the day was great, we sunbathed all day and there are 3 pools to cool down in, 2 restaurants, a beach slap bang next the the sunbeds, a shop, they had basically everything at the pool area.

If anyone is thinking about staying at this hotel you should definitely go on the cowboy night. Its based at the film set of a fist full of dollars, its great the kids and us adults both enjoyed it.
You pay for it at the hotel about 50 euros each I think and you get a BBQ, there is a big show with both cowboys and Indians. There's line dancing, wanted posters and you can have a look around teh houses along the sandy streets and can see the spooky graveyard at teh top of the street. You can also buy hats, guns, everything a cowboy needs. so if your thinking about this holiday definitely go for this its great and cheep. oh yes and there's a all night free bar!!

I would definitely bring my children and us back here it was a great holiday and i was really sad that we was leaving. Thank you Thompson for making it such a good holiday!

xxx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
The Armstrongs
12 years 3 months ago
Had a brilliant holiday here,

The hotel was very clean and the grounds were beautiful. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, our shower broke one day and it was fixed within the hour. We did not pay for aircon as the fan in the room was sufficient. The food was good with plenty to choose from and the service excellent. We agree that there wasnt really anywhere to walk at night but this was not a problem for us as we were happy to stay within the hotel grounds and watch the entertainment although we did visit Holidays across the road quite a few times. The beach is only small but has a nice interesting coastline and although would not be ideal for very small children with the three pools on the complex this not a problem and we didnt find a problem getting sunbeds.

The Thomson reps and Kids Reps were very friendly and helpful but special mention must be given to the entertainments team, Ryan, Leo & Jen. We knew Ryan so knew we were going to be well entertained but with the addition of Leo & Jen this made our holiday even more special. All three of them worked tirelessly to entertain us day and night and the banter between them was hilarious. Our youngest child is 13 now but the shows were brilliant for all ages. We were there for the Big Boy Birthday Big Boy Bash but Leo kept it very quiet!!!

We've heard a lot of people miss Big Daddy but Ryan, Leo & Jen couldnt try any harder to make sure you have a good time so please give them a chance.
Thanks to all of you for a memorable holiday xxx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Davison
12 years 3 months ago
We have all just arrived back from our holiday. Our rooms were very clean, the maid service was excellent. Before we left we were concerned about the rooms not having free air-con (30 Euros per week) but the ceiling fan was fine, and the hottest temp was 108o while we were there.

The restaurant staff were excellent, as there were 7 of us to seat we thought it may cause a problem but we waited only twice in the two weeks and that was only for five minutes or so. The food wasn't bad but the deserts were nearly always the same and the childrens menu always had either chips or smash type mash (new potatoes would have been nice!)
In hotels we have stayed in the past we have had a wider selection of food but saying this we never went hungry at the Orquidea, and the Chinese theme night food went down a treat!.

The hotel staff were great. We booked to go to see Garbo's this was an absolutely fantastic night. It cost 51 Euros per adult 25 Euros per child which included a three course meal and drinks all night. Luckily it is situated next to the hotel so we walked to the show and rated it *****. The singing was as good as in many West-end shows i've seen!

L-E-O Leo was the best thing about the entertainment crew. He is such a natural comedian/entertainer, and the children and adults all loved him.

My two children are 8 and 5 and managed to go to the childrens clubs on most days. Although it was an effort as there were only 16 spaces per day for my oldests club on some days, so you had to que at 6pm the evening before to put there names down for the following day. But once in they really enjoyed themselves, going on treasure hunts etc. But if they didn't manage to find a space at the clubs the pools were great,I even managed to get my parents to join in with the morning aqua aerobics each day which was great fun! The children loved playing in the sea (making sure not to go in too deep, as it got quite rough, but the beach is much better than the rocky photo in the brochure, although it's small there is sand to play with and waves to play in!)


The sun beds were avaiable to be saved if you put towels down and left your husband to guard them at 8.15am until 9am, as they were thrown in the towel basket if left unattended, but this seemed quite a social time for most of the men each morning as they read there papers and had a chat in the early morning sun before breakfast!

I wouldn't go back to the hotel as we like to change our destinations each year, but i'm sure if you're a family who like to get involved with others and have fun, you will enjoy your holiday at this hotel!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Loraine
12 years 3 months ago
The hotel itself looks a little bit drab and dirty from the outside but inside it's very clean and well maintained. The rooms are fresh, clean and well presented. The air conditioning installed for the 2006 season is very welcome, but beware of the local charge for using it (approx 30 euro per week).

The reception staff speak good English and all staff are very helpful and genuinely concerned for any issues you have. The hotel itself is well located within Bahia Feliz but the resort itself is small.

The hotel food is well prepared and presented and there are usually several main course choices, but over a two week period it can become a bit repetitive. There is a separate children's buffet and our child had no difficulty finding food to her liking.

There are two large main pools and a toddler's pool all of which are clean and well maintained. There is also a large sunbathing area away from the pool. If you want to ensure a good spot by the pool you need to get down to reserve your sunbed by about 7:30am since the hotel has a strict policy of removing unattended towels from sunbeds before 9:00am.

The Orquidea is a Thomson "Superfamily" hotel and as such has a team of full-time reps who seem to have limitless energy to entertain your children and, if you want it, the adults as well. There is a well structured programme of "kids-club" style activities but they book up quickly and I heard a lot of people complaining that they couldn't get their child into a club. Along with the kids clubs there are aerobics, pool games, rounders, football, quizzes, etc organised by the reps throughout the day and both children and adults are welcome to join in. Evening entertainment includes a kids disco between 8pm and 9pm followed by prizes for the winners of the day's activities and then either entertainment from the reps or a professional show which were of reasonable standard. The reps really put a lot of effort into entertaining you and usually succeed! The children absolutely love it.

For a family with children this hotel will probably tick every box - we absolutely recommend it. For those without kids looking for a quiet holiday it probably won't tick any boxes! This was our third visit to the Orquidea and we've just booked again for next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Barrons
12 years 4 months ago
Hotel rooms are modern and cleaned to a reasonable standard. The exterior of the hotel is in good need of a few coats of paint, food little choice we are not fussy eaters and always found something to eat however a lot of people would struggle, very poor choice for the kids.

If its a relaxing holiday your after this is not
the place for you, you need to be at the pool before 8 to get a sunlounger there is no space to walk in between any of the loungers you are all lying directly next to each other.

They have 2 diffrent sitting times fo dinner, the resturant is not big enough to accomadate the amount of people as you have people using it from the appts as well.

Eve entertainment ok not great, reps the most unfriendly I have ever come across, kids reps in paticular.

Sorry Thomson what a let down would not recommend, not up to superfamily standard.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Garlands
12 years 4 months ago
The hotel was spotless couldn't fault the cleaners very good and polite.

Didnt think the food was up to much as there wasnt enough choice. Needs more choice for the children and needs to be refilled more often as all the adults are eating from the childrens area.

Hotel location was a bit quite which was ok as I have two young children. Entertainment was ok the Thomson superfamily show which all the reps take part was excellent. Cant fault the reps Ryan, Jen And Leo
they were brilliant excpecially Ryan.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum