Image of Vistamar Club Riu Hotel

Vistamar Club Riu Hotel

3 of 7 hotels in Playa Amadores

4 out of 5 from 77 reviews
4 stars
Avenida de la Cornisa, 35130 Puerto Rico - Mogan, Spain
Situated on a cliff-top, over-looking Los Amadores beach, the Riu Vistamar enjoys an excellent setting and has stunning sea views. This brand new hotel offers very high standards and will particularly suit a relaxing holiday with plenty to do within easy reach.

77 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    34
  • Very Good
    33
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mr & Mrs S P Taylor
18 years 2 months ago
We were looking for somewhere nice to go for our honeymoon. We were impressed by what we read in the brochures and were told the Riu Vistamar would be a nice quiet place to visit.

On arrival we were greeted by friendly reception staff. We told them we were on our honeymoon and asked for a nice room with a view (if possible) - we were promptly given one with a view of cranes developing the area opposite! Having said this, when we asked for another room, it was no trouble at all and we were given a room on the 5th floor overlooking the sea (very nice).

The first week and a half of our stay, the hotel was probably only about 40-50% full and we never had any problems getting a sunbed (even when it got very busy on our last weekend - more on that later - we still were able to get sunbeds). We would agree the hotel is geared towards the German and Dutch markets but there were a few British people staying.

The location, although with a spectacular view, was a problem if you fancied a stroll. You had to climb probably the steepest hill on the island!! (Women are advised to wear flat shoes!) Although the beach looked lovely and there was a bus service every 30 minutes down to it, we didn't ever make it down there.

There are 2 swimming pools at the Vistamar. Both we found to be freezing cold!! Ok once you were in though.

The food was very good, with plenty of choice. We found the lunch menus a little bit "samey" but you could still have an enjoyable meal.

The biggest problem we found was smoking. The reception area was always thick with cigarette smoke. The one lounge bar had a very small non-smoking area - there was a bar in this area with people sitting around it smoking! It seemed amazing to us that non-smokers really weren't well catered for. A lot of the non-British guests smoked though. We found it very difficult to spend a whole evening in the Lounge Bar and found the only place we could escape the smoke was our room - despite non smoking signs, people were even smoking in the lifts! At least the dining room was non-smoking.

The entertainers....hmm... the entertainers....We found them to be "in your face" all of the time. We appreciate that there were plenty of activities laid on but we found the use of very loud music (the same old cheesy "Agadoo" type song) and "I like the sound of my own voice" entertainers making announcements via a PA system every half hour about these activities, a bit over the top. Once they had made the announcement, they would then walk around the complex shouting "volleyball" or "football" or "Aqua-gym" in 4 or 5 different languages. Yes, they're only doing their job but after 2 weeks of this it began to gripe. The evening entertainment was generally poor, we thought. And, because of the location, there really wasn't any alternative.

It sounds like we're moaning a lot. On the whole, we had an enjoyable "holiday" not a "honeymoon". No extra effort was made for us - we asked for a bottle of Champagne when we arrived and were given a bottle of cheap fortified wine. The room was clean and tidy, air con was excellent - there's even a clothes horse on the balcony to dry clothes.

If you want a hotel, with plenty of activites, food and drink on tap, and are a smoker this is the place for you.

We would definitely go all inclusive again but we've had our fill of the Rui Vistamar.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

18 years 2 months ago
We stayed at the Vistamar for 10 nights w/c 24/05/2004. On arrival we were met with a very friendly professional and courteous welcome, our cases were taken to our room by a porter who explained all the lighting, air conditioning and ceiling fan switches to us.

The room was spacious, spotless and well equipped with a little mini fridge and a well appointed bathroom with efficient power shower and bidet. Bed linen was cool crisp white cotton. The view from the balcony overlooked the Ocean and the coastline, although being on the 5th floor tended to give me vertigo.

On the whole the Hotel was kept to a high standard of cleanliness.

Food was of quite a high standard bearing in mind this is catering for a high number of people of differing nationalities and tastes and the Chefs Speciality Dishes were of particular note. Food was always available in plentiful supply throughout the day from early morning until evening. drinks available for self service were wines,coffees, teas, beers and soft drinks such as coke, fanta lemonades etc etc. Spirits and cocktails etc being served from behind the Bar.

My only little criticism was that the Dining room could get quite busy especiallly at night although you get allocated either 1st or 2nd sitting on arrival and this helped a little to ease congestion. I also found the Hotel staff quite open to suggestion if you wanted to change your sitting times for any or all of your Holiday.

Location mmm well its a bit high up there on the cliff as you well know and nothing quite prepares you for the walk up "Death Hill" as we came to know it - It's a steep 'un especially in the heat . The Europa Centre being about 1km from the hotel. We didnt particulary like the Europa Centre it reminded me of Benidorm in the bad old days. However the Hotel runs a free Bus to Amadores beach every half hour and this a nice Golden clean beach with a few shops, bars and restuarants which are more up market and picturesque. Puerto Rico which was a short taxi ride from the Hotel was also a bit run down although the Harbour area was nicer. Mogan which is along the coast is very pretty place and worth visiting.

Hotel Staff were excellent, Room maids remade our beds even if we made them, bar staff were friendly and courteous and ashtrays were removed and replaced if they had been used only for 1 cigarette. Reception staff were polite, very helpful and you felt if you had a problem they would have done their very best to help.
Many thanks goes out to Fenole the most helpful professional barman I ever met - Muchos Gracias.

Entertainment at night was variable with visiting acts ranging from the very good to poor, but too much reliance on the resident Animacion team to provide fill in for the nights where no acts were booked. While we found the Animacion shows amusing and entertaining you just didnt want to see them almost every second night.

The Animacion Team were great and the work and effort they put into arranging the daytime activities and keeping the children amused and out of our faces (hee hee) with the Mini and Maxi club and various activities for the adults such as volleyball, water polo, shooting etc and bingo and quizzes etc for the less active was amazing - Congrats to Animacion Team. One big gripe was the lack of bars at night the only bar being the show bar which later in the evening became vey hot and congested with people ,come on the Management you need to open the Pool Bar as well at night for a quieter area and reduce the congestion in the Show Bar.

All in all this is a very good Hotel and the Service, Accomodation and Cleanliness are up to a very high standard. Pull up the socks a bit with respect to the evening entertainment and the lack of a quieter 2nd bar and you may well have it cracked.

PS I have to commemt on one of the previous postings on this Hotel which stated there wasnt much special provision made for her honeymoon, We cant comment on her experience but i did notice one night at dinner a table set out, separate for two, the table was festooned with rose petals, ice bucket awaiting and candles for some couple with a special occaison they certainly seemed to have made an effort that night.

PPS Them lifts - grrr

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Jacqui
18 years 2 months ago
Having stayed in puerto rico last year , me and my boyfriend vowed to go back to Gran Canaria. I also put my foot down and vowed to stay in this hotel, as last year i spent most of holiday lazing around on Amadores beach and kept looking at the RIU perched on the cliff and wondering what it would be like to stay there.

I got my wish, and we got a deal with travelworld. We played travelworld off with Lunn Poly and ended up getting over 200 pounds of the original price quoted.

On arrival we were the first of the bus, which is always a bonus, much to the jealousy of the oth other people on the coach. We were greeted by courteous and friendly staff who took our bags to our rooms and showed us how to use the air con etc.

I had emailed the hotel before our holiday, as i was recommended to ask four a 4th or 5th floor room. Once again we were given our wish.

The view from the balcony was amazing, though looking at the room below us they had a large sundeck. For those who have said that they were on holiday for their honey moon and weren't given special treatment.... did you inform them? My boyfriend simply told the staff that we were celebrating our anniversary, we were given a candlelit meal, fruitbasket,bottle of wine and champagne in our room! At no extra charges!

The food , drinks and service was amazing!!! Well worth the money. The bar staff will make up anything you want with what they have behind the bar. Me and my boyfriend like vodka and red bull and just ended up taking a couple of cans to the bar and getting shots of vodka and even gave a couple to the Animacion team!!

All in all this holiday was great! Not a bad word to say about this hotel!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
DDen
18 years 4 months ago
Just returned from a week at the RIU Vistamar. Met with prompt, professional and friendly service from Reception on arrival, explained everything about the hotel. Bottled water given to you on arrival and you can get water as and when required from reception (free). Porter brings your bags to your room. Very clean and comfortable room, air con, ceiling fan, lovely furnishings, safe (free hire), fridge. Also very quiet in the evening, so you can always get a good night
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
John Deaves
18 years 4 months ago
Excellent week, in friendly relaxed atmosphere. Would most certainly return for another holiday,

Good Food, especially theme nights. Plenty of variety
Poolside bar with self service beer and wine - no waiting.
Entertainment nightly, very good especially Drifters Tribute Night.
Great staff, very helpful.
Bus service every half hour to beach.
Situated on cliff top, very steep.
Not for those with walking disabilities.

Well done Riu

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holidays Direct

Recommended
Mulrooney
18 years 4 months ago
We were in the hotel early March 2004. The hotel was very good. We had the all inclusive option and could not fault the food. What we really enjoyed was the fact that they served a second breakfast at the pool bar at 10.30am saving the need to get up early and go to the dining room. The entertainment was disappointing not our thing at all we thought it very outdated. Considering that this holiday was for relaxation it was a very good holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Mary
18 years 9 months ago
when we arrived to the hotel we were greeted very well and our luggage was taken up to our rooms for us. The hotel was spotless and the staff were always very chatty and kind to my two children (age:12 and 10). lots of different show cooking going on and lots of choices and i have no complaints.although the location is not very good there is a coach that takes you straight down to the beach but it was rarely used by us as the day time childrens activties are the best we have ever come across, and as our children usually never take part in the activities we were quite taken back when every morning they jumped out of bed and ran to the club. we have already booked to go back in october as it is one of the best holiday we have EVER had!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: eclipse

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.