Image of Vistamar Club Riu Hotel

Vistamar Club Riu Hotel

3 of 7 hotels in Playa Amadores

4 out of 5 from 76 reviews
4 stars
Avenida de la Cornisa, 35130 Puerto Rico - Mogan, Spain
Situated on a cliff-top, over-looking Los Amadores beach, the Riu Vistamar enjoys an excellent setting and has stunning sea views. This brand new hotel offers very high standards and will particularly suit a relaxing holiday with plenty to do within easy reach.

76 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    33
  • Very Good
    33
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Nadine Seager
Excellent Location
6 years 10 months ago
We went to the Riu Vistamar in Amadores. This was my first time staying in a Riu Hotel and I was amazed at how lovely it was. All staff were welcoming and friendly no matter what time of day it was.

The reception was 24 hours and was at the end of a telephone if you needed anything. The best part of the holiday by far was the entertainment team. The were always chatty and involving you in day time activities. The evening entertainment was utterly amazing. From outside entertainment singing Bee Gees songs to Acrobatics. But I must say the shows the entertainment staff put on was the funniest and made the evening.

The food was amazing with endless supply if wanted and staff were very friendly.

The location for me was excellent, beautiful views from around the hotel. I went for a relaxing holiday and this is what I got and more.

Definitely recommend this hotel!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 5 months ago
This hotel was an AI RIU hotel, I must say not up to the usual RIU standards, food was of excellent quality but not varied enough, superb views from this location, unfortunately as it is located on a hill side movement off site was limited to a taxi ride or courtesy bus to the beach, hotel staff were always attentive but seemed to be insufficient in numbers.
There were only two bars to choose from, widely spaced apart and were open at different times therefore no opportunity to sit elsewhere to have a drink.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Mark And Steph
7 years 11 months ago
hotel was very clean, staff helpfull, location on a very steep hill, you had to use transport to get out. food very good with an excellent choice of all categories the only dissapointing thing was the evening entertainment,it was like being at pontins, run by young teenagers miming to songs acting the fool had to leave hotel to get any kind off entertainment even supposed disco was none existent. this in general spoilt holiday the hotel was sold out and we were offered no real entetainment and everyone left at 11pm to go to bed were probably bored stiff. purto rico was very good for entertainment plenty of bars and clubs with live music.
im not so sure whether we would stay there again all inclusive because of the lack of evening entertainment
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
COLIN EYLEY
7 years 11 months ago
RIU VISTAMAR in Amadores. High standard of maintenance and care by staff. Range of food very good and well presented. Pleased to have same table for evening dinner each night and was able to have this available to brother and wife who joined us two days later!! Restaurant staff very good (but would prefer waiter service!). Went to one a la carte meal but this was also buffet and exactly the same meal as in the restaurant - but quieter!! Lovely location with easy access by taxi (cheap and quick!) and courtesy bus but sometimes not everyone was able to get on and long wait for next one! At the RIU in Madeira it was possible to reserve seats and it should be so here!! Entertainment seemed unsuitable for us but we were not really interested in this anyway!! Already booked for next year!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOS COOK

Recommended
Brenda
8 years 3 months ago
This was our first visit to this hotel and we couldn't fault anything. Although it took a while to get used to the hotel rooms being below the reception floor!!!!

Towels on beds before 9am were not allowed.....pool staff removed them if people were not in place at 9am. However, people did learn to place towels prior to this then go down to breakfast at 9.01am.

I have read previous reports regarding the lifts and can only say that we didn't have the same problems!!

As for sharing dining tables with strangers.....this only happened once (our first night)....we asked for an early dining time (6.30pm)after this and we had a separate table for two for the rest of our stay.

The staff were very friendly and we would definitely visit this hotel again!!!!

However...on our last day on way to airport...we weren't impressed on the Resort Centre (Puerto Rico)we didn't actually venture into the centre on our holiday......but it didn't look very interesting from the bus!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Barry Briggs
8 years 7 months ago
just returned from riu vistamar in may .
this was our 5th time at the vistamaran as usual
every aspect of our stay was excellent especialy
the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff.
already booked for may 2010
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
9 years 2 months ago
Stayed at this hotel in late November.
Firstly the bad points: - the hotel is situated down a very steep bank (cardiac hill is what it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
D.Maidment
9 years 6 months ago
Arrived early in the morning reception staff exelent,room lovely,veiw fantastic. Area around the hotel very steep hills but hotel bus goes regularley to and from beach and taxi's are cheep and at the door of the hotel before you can walk from reception outside.It was nice to see towels on sunloungers removed around 9am.Exelent Hotel and Staff.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
9 years 11 months ago
Upon arrival we were warmly greeted at reception, instead of the usual from filling, the girl (Debbie - NOT Debs.)took our passports and filled in them for us, leaving us only to have to sign them.

Then we were given a map of the hotel (required for the first few hours only) a key for our room safe (complimentary) TWO door keys for our room (TWO at our request) and pointed in the direction of the poolside buffet/bar after being given a complimentary bottle of water.

The food at the buffet was delicious, varied and HOT. Dinner was 8.30 for the first night of our stay only. I didn't like the table we were allocated, and we were moved without any question.

The staff just could not do enough to help at all times. The rest of our stay we ate at the early seating at our request. There is something for having your own table allocated also, so not having to rush in at the start, take your time, one thing for sure, the food will ALWAYS be there piping hot, cooked in front of you and I have never had steak or prime rib served like that to me in any holiday hotel before. Each cut of meat melted off the fork almost.

The entertainment was briiliantly put together and choreographed by Reuben, with lovely girls, super costumes, no expense spared. It was also good top have a self-service facility for hot drinks, beer and soft drinks. This meant I could mix my own shandy, in my own pint-glass, brought especially from home for that specific purpose. That turned some heads with envy. The Germans were remarkablty subdued also, different when they are are in a MINORITY for a change.

The ONLY thing I could fault the hotel on at all, was the long break of "nothingness" between dinner and the Entertainment, (except the obligatory mini-disco) The kids were running around mad between times, but the PARENTS are to blame for this. First week of term back at school and loads of kids there. It should NOT be allowed, and the Hotel shold punish the PARENTS when their kids misbehave. Maybe a "naughty-room" whre kids and their respective parents are sent to, similar to a sin-bin. Worth a try but the staff just do not want to upset or offend anyone, but those kids offended US. Vicious cirlce I suppose.

All in all a wonderful break with good rooms complete with a/c - mini-fridge - LOADS of cupboard space, and wonderful views from the location on the cliff-top. Only problem now is to lose the weight I gained during the mammoth "eat-in". DON'T say I was greedy, I challenge YOU not to over-eat at this place.

DEFINITELY worth a return visit. Maybe a little expensive, but you get what you pay for.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Eclipse

Recommended
Jo Clemo
9 years 11 months ago
Just returned from 2 weeks in Rui Vistamar and all in all only have positive things to say about it.

Having only been used to staying in villa accommodation, we did find the family room a bit small, but regular hotel users will probably be ok with this. However, the room was spotlessly clean on arrival and was cleaned every day. Food was plentiful and varied although as the 2 weeks went on you did see obvious repetition but it was pretty good nonetheless. The restaurant could be quite busy at times and you were allocated a table for dinner which was the table for your entire stay, however, be prepared to be on a table with other people. We found this awkward at times with 2 children who didn't want what we had given them or they were generally playing up and we were sat next to a couple with no children. We found the whole sharing table thing quite stressful.

The hotel's location at the top of a cliff did give you great views from your balcony (which every room has), but to get into Puerto Rico or anywhere else was a good walk (taxi's however are cheap and very reliable)so evening strolls weren't particularly an option. Amadores Beach at the bottom of the hill is lovely with a selection of restaurants and the usual bucket and spade shops. The walk however back up the hill with 2 kids in tow did take us at least 3/4 of an hour, so do take advantage of the free hotel bus that runs back and forth as we did after two attempts at the hill.

Hotel Staff were exceptionally friendly and made everyone feel welcome. Mini and Maxi Clubs for children 4 - 12 were run by a fantastic group of young people (who also provided evening entertainment in the Bar) and our 2 children couldn't wait for the sessions to begin each day (Merel and Dorien being particular favourites of our two. Evening entertainment was okay, but the kids enjoyed the Mini Disco (and as we all know if the kids are happy ......).

The Vistamar is a large and busy hotel but manages to provide a friendly and personal service. All in all we were very pleased with our stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: