Image of Vistamar Club Riu Hotel

Vistamar Club Riu Hotel

3 of 7 hotels in Playa Amadores

4 out of 5 from 77 reviews
4 stars
Avenida de la Cornisa, 35130 Puerto Rico - Mogan, Spain
Situated on a cliff-top, over-looking Los Amadores beach, the Riu Vistamar enjoys an excellent setting and has stunning sea views. This brand new hotel offers very high standards and will particularly suit a relaxing holiday with plenty to do within easy reach.

77 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    34
  • Very Good
    33
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
BRENDA
16 years 3 months ago
Food is wonderful, the first hotel I have stayed in where you can get a full breakfast from the snack bar after 10.30 in a morning, including cereals and toast.

The Hotel was spotlessly clean, cleaners around at all times day and night.

Yes, the hill is very steep and would not be suitable to get to the beach under your own steam but the hotel courtesy bus is a full size bus and gets you down to the beach, you can take all your lilo's etc as they let you put them in the side locker, however, don't get on the bus with any sand on you or your buckets, etc as the driver is extremely proud of his bus and keeps it immaculate, you will be given a brush and invited to get all the sand off before you board!

Staff are fabulous, full of smiles and can't do enough for you.

The entertainers did a wonderful job, working from morning until night, I do not know where they found the energy.

Enjoyed this hotel so much we have booked to go again in December.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ECLIPSE

Recommended
Sam
16 years 3 months ago
I was looking forward to my stay at the Vistamar because of all the great reviews I had read on this site.

The hotel was absolutely spotless, nothing you could fault there, rooms where kept to a very high standard as well, we had a lovely little balcony and a nice view.

The food was plentiful and we loved the freshly made smoothies of a morning in the restaurant. We booked most evenings for the Barbacoa upstairs, as it was very very hectic in the restaurant downstairs and quite noisy.

I didn't mind the location although the hill just to walk from the hotel to the centre is a very steep one, and I was always breathless when I got to the top. They also supply a bus every half hour down to the beach area which is lovely plenty of bars and shops, we had lunch there quite a few times and a taxi back to the hotel is only a couple of euros.

The staff are very friendly and polite and nothing seems too much trouble, they choose there staff well.

The only thing we weren't looking forward to was the entertainment but it was good, we had quite a few laughs in there most evenings. We sat by the bar most nights and before your glass was empty the barman had placed another one there, the drinks are of good quality to, didn't seem to be any of that cheap rubbish you get at some all inclusives.

I would stay at this hotel again without a doubt and also would try another Riu hotel elsewhere, the standards are superb.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Eclipse

Recommended
Jason Douglas
16 years 3 months ago
When we got to the hotel we were met by the hotel staff, they were very helpful and took are suitcase's to are hotel room as well as taking us there.

The food was very nice couldn't complain only issue that the tables were pushed together. The food around the pools during the day was also very good always hot and fresh.

The rooms were cleaned every day all rooms have see views.

The hill was a bit of a mission to the hotel but ok on the way down as its down hill to the beach. Would defenlty go back to the hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Garry Sherwood
16 years 4 months ago
The food was excellent and always hot, except sometimes at the poolside snack bar, although the salads were excellent, plenty of fresh fruit. Pigeons are a nuisance there as well, although only about 15 of them! They swamped one table while a 7 year old was briefly left alone, these should be dealt with really!

We were on the 5th floor and had excellent views. The hotel was very clean and the maid service in the rooms was spot on.

The location gave fantastic views from the room and pools although we found restrictive at nights. We like to take a walk before or after dinner and in the end we taxied to Puerto Rico for a couple of hours before dinner, the taxis are very cheap around 4 euros to Puerto Rico.

The staff were very friendly and all made an effort to say hello etc, the reception staff were polite and loved to make jokes.

The concert room is now smoke free, with a glassed off area for those that do.The hotel does lack another inside bar/piano bar etc at night where you can have a quiet drink and chat. A gate near the top pool would cut out a lot of walking up the hill. Also missing is a lounge area where you can relax and read or take a drink. One more thing was a nuisance really, the bars close at 12 midnight, an extra hour or two without leaving the hotel (we were willing to pay) would be nice! We did feel as though we were being shepherded to bed.

But overall we felt very comfortable here and had a thoroughly nice relaxing holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Tony And Julie
16 years 5 months ago
Fantastic place!

Food was out of this world and plenty of it too.

Nice and clean everywhere.

Couldn't fault the staff they all made us feel very welcome.

The hill may be a problem to some people, it's a nice walk, taxis are very cheap if you don't want to walk.

There is a show every night, the kids are well entertained day and night! We will definitely be going back soon.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Pearce
16 years 6 months ago
We've been coming to Gran Canaria for more than ten years and we can remember this hotel being built, as well as the beach below.

Reading reports on this site for over a year now we might have been woried about a few concerns, enough to put us off coming. Let me put some to rest. The Hill. Yes it's a long way up and down. But there's a free bus, and it's exclusive to this hotel. It starts at 9a.m. and finishes at 5 p.m.
So does most of the beach activity.

The rooms are large, cleaned daily, are well appointed and all have balconies with panoramic views.
The food.

There's not enough space to tell how impressed we were at the quality, variety and freshness of a menu to suit ten different nationalities. Mouth watering. Staff were excellent in all departments. Entertainment crew worked from 9 a.m. til 12 midnight like Trojans. Not my bag but they can't please everyone.

Perhaps 3 sittings at dinner instead of 2 would help spread a sometimes cramped seating arrangement where you might find yourself squeezing between tables with plates and glasses full. Not much to moan about with this hotel at all. Would I go again? Like a shot!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunstar Leisure

Recommended
Michelle
16 years 6 months ago
The hotel was very clean and the room small but lovely. The view from the balcony was beautiful, especially at night.

The food was gobsmackingly gorgeous and plentiful. Breakfast from 8.00 to 10.30, pool bar for snacks (which consisted of hot dogs, cheese and ham toasties, etc.) from 10.30 to 17.30, and dinner (tea) was one of two sittings, either 18.30 or 20.30, which if required was easily changed on request. As you can see there was no time to go hungry.

The staff were very polite, and as said by most people were very helpful and eager to please.

There are no 2 ways about it, the hill is definitely a problem whether you're able bodied or not! It's not always necessary to get a taxi, especially if you're only going to the Europa shopping centre (as it's only a 5 minute walk!) and the free bus mentioned by others only goes to the beach. The hotel shop is very small and doesn't sell newspapers, snacks, etc, which means going to the hotel supermarket next door. So as you can see, there is really no avoiding climbing the hill, which is very steep and leaves you breathless!

The entertainment was diabolical and mostly just catered for the Germans, but the entertainment room was nice.

The only other problem with the hotel is the fact that on the day we were due to leave, the foyer was cram-packed with people and there was nowhere for people waiting for their coaches to sit! As is provided for the luggage, I would have expected a courtesy room of some sort to sit in while waiting.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Ian & Dot Hilton
16 years 7 months ago
Far more positives than negatives.

The only negative that screams out is the position. The hill mentioned in other reviews is every bit as bad as has been suggested. If you like a stroll after your evening meal there really isn't anywhere to go except the Europa shopping centre when you get to the top of it.

Facilities in the hotel were great. Always enough sun loungers, and if like us, you don't want to join in the many daytime activities, you could go onto the solarium where it feels as though you are on a cruise ship, surrounded by sea. No children seem to get on there either.

Activities for children seemed to be excellent, and the kids clubs were well used. Maybe that is why there were at least 4 classfulls of them there instead of being at school!!

No fault could be found with the food as it was plentiful and varied. Similarly the drinks were plentiful and varied.

Staff couldn't be more helpful. Always cheerful and pleasant.

The rooms were quite big and all seem to overlook the sea. As mentioned in previous reviews though,try to get a room on the fourth or fifth floor as the views will be better. Plenty of storage space in the rooms. Not even my wife could fill all the drawers and wardrobe!

The evening entertainment was some of the best we have seen in the 6 RIU hotels that we have visited so far. The entertainment staff were very committed and worked very hard to privide entertainment of a high quality.

Would we go again??? No!! This has nothing at all to do with the hotel, but everything to do with that hill and the general position of the hotel. If you want a crash out week, going nowhere, doing nothing, being well fed and watered, this is the place for you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independent

Recommended
Craig Adshead
16 years 8 months ago
It is the first holiday my wife and I have had alone without our lads, ever, and as we were in Puerto Rico in July of this year we saw the Riu Vistamar and wanted that to be our first place.

We were not disappointed. The flights were superb. The welcome at the Hotel was warm and the room was spotless and the view we had took our breath away.

Everything about this holiday was 10 out of 10 and that was cemented by the food. Every evening in the restaurant we were welcomed by the Manager, Chefs and waiters/s and we were pampered the whole time we were there and the food was 5 star not 4 star. The staff could not do enough for us and they were not overpowering or in our face.

The resort was excellent and the hills may not suit all but the taxis are prompt and cheap. I will go back again to the Hotel and will also be trying other Riu Hotels
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Boo
16 years 9 months ago
Our 4th floor room was spotlessly clean, well maintained, spacious - with generous storage space: 2 double wardrobes with plenty of coathangers, 2 chests of drawers, drawers beside the bed and shelf space in the bathroom.

The hotel itself is in a wonderful position overlooking the coastline and man made beach at Playa Amadores, Puerto Rico.

The hill into the smaller of the two resort centres is very steep, but not very long, so manageable for the fit and able, but not recommended for the elderly, less mobile or families with young kids.

We actually chose the hotel as we hoped it would prevent there being too many children staying there as we like peace and quiet!

The hotel has a very small shop in the lobby, however we discovered a good Spar supermarket in the hotel next door that seemed to sell everything we'd forgotten to pack or ran out of.

The constant supply of food and drink was the other reason we opted to stay at the Vistamar! The food was of the highest standard, and certainly not repetitive, despite reading other reports, and we found that during a week's stay at the resort, you could quite easily get through breakfast, lunch and dinner without eating the same thing twice!

The hotel staff were all very happy and friendly and the in house entertainment was always amusing, if a little varied.

The in house 'animation' team work very hard throughout the day and evening for the guests and their best show was actually a transvestite cabaret, brilliant! A couple of outside entertainment acts were appearing, but were pretty bad, so we made use of the outdoor pool bar in the evenings!

I wouldn't want to visit the hotel in high summer season as I would imagine it would be very cramped around the pool and in the restaurant, but for our late week away for some last minute sun, it was perfect and we will certainly re-visit the Vistamar.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.