Image of Vistamar Club Riu Hotel

Vistamar Club Riu Hotel

3 of 7 hotels in Playa Amadores

4 out of 5 from 77 reviews
4 stars
Avenida de la Cornisa, 35130 Puerto Rico - Mogan, Spain
Situated on a cliff-top, over-looking Los Amadores beach, the Riu Vistamar enjoys an excellent setting and has stunning sea views. This brand new hotel offers very high standards and will particularly suit a relaxing holiday with plenty to do within easy reach.

77 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    34
  • Very Good
    33
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Rebecca & Adrian
15 years 6 months ago
Hotel Riu Vistamar - Gran Canaria.

My partner and I decided to treat ourselves to a 4* fully inclusive hotel to enable us to fully relax and indulge ourselves. Our rational was that we would pay extra for the holiday to ensure we stayed in a decent hotel, therefore we chose a Thomson Platinum holiday.

When we arrived at Riu Vistamar reception we were pleased to be greeted by very pleasant, professional staff. However when we entered our room we were a little disappointed to find that there was damp on the ceiling in the bathroom and the room standard was average, however we decided that we would make the most of our holiday and not worry about the room.
Unfortunately our (luxury) holiday just seemed to go from bad to worse

The restaurant took on the appearance of a cafeteria not a restaurant, there was no privacy and tables were pushed together so we had little or no space, which we had to share with a family.
The food was a complete let down; although there was a good selection the quality was awful. Every day the same food was served, bad quality meat with each mouthful consisting of fat and gristle, the fish was far from fresh..
Also it seemed that the food that was not eaten at dinner would be served up disguised as another dish the following day!
The entertainment was quite frankly basic and seemed to be aimed at children.
The sound proofing in the room was diabolical, we could hear everything and I mean everything! It sometimes seemed as if we had other people in our room. You can laugh for the first couple of times however it becomes rather annoying spending your entire holiday being woken up at 3,4,&5am by other guests.

The hotel staff were the saving grace as they were friendly and accomodating.

Although we do not usually complain, we feel on this occassion that the hotel was not acceptable as a 4*.
This is certainly the worst holiday for the amount we paid and we would not go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

James
15 years 8 months ago
One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Staff, food, maid service, down to beach bus were excellent. Entertainment was good some nights, mediocre next. But hey that was a hiccup.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: none

Recommended
15 years 9 months ago
Having experienced a number of all inclusive hotels over the years (some better than others), this has to be one of the better choices.

The hotel is very self contained and as we were only in Gran Canaria for a chilled out 1 week, we didn't have to venture out. Food was fantastic from smoothies and freshly made pancakes in the morning for breakfast to a wide selection of absolutely anything you can imagine for dinner and somewhere in between lunch if you can manage this. Children were catered for with the usual Kids food (pizza, burgers, hot dogs, chips etc).

All staff were helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble.

The hotel was located at the top of a steep hill and you do have to walk up quite an incline to get out - but taxis are cheap and apart from the odd shopping trip, you really don't have to venture out as everything you need is on tap within the complex. Any sight seeing trips organised would collect you and deposit you back to the hotel.

We had no problems with sun beds but the hotel wasn't operating at full capacity until the week-end before we left but we still managed to find a spot although cannot comment this would still be the case at the hight of summer / school holidays. The bottom pool was of a safe depth for children over 6 with a splash pool beside the kids club for the smaller ones.

Entertainment team worked hard - Kids clubs on twice per day with mini disco at night. Evening shows were of a reasonable standard and considering the animation staff put these on themselves they really did a great job (and no tacky bingo to waste 1 hour!!. The non smoking bar area was great and made sitting there a pleasant experience. There is a smoking area directly outside which is covered and has a glass partition enabling you to see into the bar area. The decor and seating in the bar could do with an up-grading but being an all year round resort I appreciate this would be difficult.

There always seemed to be something going on by the pool but they never tried to force you into participating if you didn't want to

Would we venture back - yes, absolutely - however, take a hairdryer with you if you need one as the appliances in the rooms aren't very good (a very insignificant complaint !
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Peter Williams
15 years 9 months ago
This is the second time I have visited Amadores last time I stayed in the Gloria Palace Hotel which is also given a 4 star. Me and my partner like to try other hotels so this time went to the Vistamar. How dissapointing. How some people belive this hotel should be a five star is beyond me.

The food, although plenty of quantity was of a very poor standard, so much so that we ate out on 4 nights of the 7 we where staying! The lunch time menu was pretty much the same, pizza and burgers everyday with mountains of salad, however, the salad was made up of all kinds of stuff, cold cauliflower with mayo!!! Left over veg gone cold!! Strange to say the least. Don't get me wrong, you could always fill yourself up on a meal time, but enjoying your meal was a different matter. The evening meal seatting arrangements are diabolical, sat like you where at school on long tables with no privousy what so ever.

Not once did we spend the day round the pool as it was far to busy, we may have got a sun bed somewhere but getting in the pool without been bombed by one of the million kids would have been impossible.

One good point is that the hotel put a bus service on to get to the beach as the hotels on top of a cliff so waliking would be a killer!!

Rooms where nice enough, but then again this is supposed to be a 4 star!!! Air con was rubbish however a large fan in the room keeps it fairly cool.

Would not return to this hotel again, ever!!! Not a snob, but it was very very poor.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Fee & Billy
15 years 9 months ago
Well I have to stay that I can't belive the previous post to this found this hotel so poor ! This is our second stay here and we were just as impressed as the last time - and we are pretty choosy. Hotel is very clean and there are regular checks on the rooms by supervisors to ensure the rooms have been cleaned to a high standard.

The food, as always with all inc. was buffet style but plenty of choice and certainly not only burgers etc. at lunch time. Two breakfasts, from 8.00 in the restaurant and from 10.00 at the pool bar which then merges into lunch - meanwhile lunch is also available from 1.00 in the restaurant - then afternoon tea/cakes etc. at the pool bar then dinner at night - I fail to see how anyone could not find something to suit their taste. Carvery every night in the restaurant with a different meat being served by the chef on each occasion. We ate out 3 nights but only because there as so many lovely restaurants we like to visit(Guantanamo, El Brasero etc.) and not because there was anything wrong with the hotel food.

Location is up a hill but free bus to Amadores beach and only a five minute walk to the Europa Centre.

Staff were all very nice and some helped me out with my very very limited few words of Spanish, encouraging me to speak with them in their own language and praising when I managed to get it right !

Entertainment was a mixed bag but better than when we were there two years ago. A lot of effort goes into the shows and although it's not really our cup of tea it's certainly ideal if you have small kids.

Only downsides were the third bed in our room was so uncomfortable that our 15 year old daughter (who travelled as an adult) ended up sleeping in our bed. The 3rd bed is a "put me up" and would probably do a small child but certainly not a full fare paying adult ! (and my daughter is a small 15 year old). One other small niggle was no lights on the balconies so impossible to sit out after dark with a book/drink/pack of cards etc.

Would still go back here though as hotel is of a very high standard and most definitely deserves its 4 stars.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Nick Ans Lisa
15 years 11 months ago
This is the second Rui we have stayed at. It was a good standard hotel for a 4* and the food, service and entertainment - especially for the children - was excellent. The Animacion Team really worked their socks off most evenings producing shows that worked in 5 different languages!!

No complaints regarding the quality of alchohol classed as 'local' - no watering down etc etc. Beer was OK too!

Staff really helpful and friendly from chalet maids to bar staff to Reception staff and of course the Animacion Team and even the Manager.

We got a bit fed up with the daily rush to secure a sun bed - around the pool you need a base - and a parasol! Space was limited on that front.

Kids activities were various and kept them keen to go back for more - a bonus, thank you Pascale!! The Mini-Club girls were amazingly cheerful - always!!

Activities for adults were OK - rifle shooting, water aerobics, water polo, volleyball, football, basketball and Bingo!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Karen
15 years 11 months ago
We were recommend this hotel, and can honestly say we had a great time.

Food was excellent and variety of dishes to choose from each night. I can say the whole duration of our stay (11 nights) we did not have the same food twice. Lunchtime at the pool bar was burgers, pizza, pasta, fish, meat and salads.

The hotel was kept spotless, cleaners always cleaning, either your room or hotel corridors or washing down all paths and steps. Our maid was very good and kept asking if we were happy with her work.

The hotel staff were very good, especially the animacion team who work very very hard. Very good for Kids Clubs the girls that work there are always cheerful and always made the kids feel welcome.

Evening entertainment was ok variety of shows (did feel a bit like Butlins sometimes).

The only two things that were a problem were the sunbeds if you were not there by 9.00am you would find it hard to get a bed. Most beds were reserved by 8.30am which was a pain especially when there was a sign saying no beds to be reserved before 9.00am or towels would be removed but we never saw this. My sister went last September and had no probs with the sunbeds so maybe August is a very busy period.

The other prob was the lifts. Family rooms are on floors 1 and 2 and trying to get a lift to level 8 (reception and dining room) and level 9 (pools) was a nightmare especially during dining periods and in the morning trying to get to the pools. Sometimes waited 5 mins so it was quicker to walk the stairs. Not very good for young children or the elderly.

Hotel location not bad a very very steep hill to get you up to the shops at the top not much to do up there and a taxi ride down to town centre.

I would visit hotel again but maybe not in August when very busy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independent

Recommended
Kelly Skevington
15 years 11 months ago
On arrival we were very impresssed with the appearance of the hotel and we were not disappointed with the cleanliness throughout our stay. Spillages were dealt as soon as and the rooms were always immaculate.

What can you say about the food. I think wow sums it up. As this was our first time all inclusive, thanks to the hotel it definately won't be our last.

After reading all the comments on the location of the hotel i cannot believe that people complained about the 'hill'. It clearly states in our brochure exactly where the hotel is situated so it surely does in others!! After the airport transfer and seeing where other hotels were situated, I personally was thrilled to find the vistamar on top of the hill and out of the way. I just recommend that if you are travelling with disabled or the elderly that you are fine with the 'hill' but if not look elsewhere. Besides there is a curtesy bus that runs down to the beach and most excursions provide transport from the hotel.

All the staff were second to none. They made meal times pleasant, the receptionists were always approachable and cleaners always had a word of greeting for you. All were very professional but had their wild side.

The entertainment as far as we were concerned was very good. They worked very hard to try and please everybody. Obviously some things were better than others. Everybodys tastes are different so pleases one would not please everybody.

I would definately visit the hotel again. Maybe not late August as the hotel is very busy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Jordan
15 years 11 months ago
The Hotel staff were the friendliest I have come across and really helpful. Nothing seemed too much for them and they were always making a fuss of the children.

The hotel food was excellent always varied and the variety was excellent, you certainly wouldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Made on booking

Recommended
16 years 1 month ago
Having visited Puerto Rico for many years the RIU is a class above anything in the area. This hotel stands out and is an all inclusive haven. It is not faultless by any means, everyone to their own. But the standards are excellent.

The hotel is spotless from the rooms to the pool areas. The food is to die for and that comes from 4 adults who like food!! Breakfast is pretty standard but lunch and the evening meals are superb - so much choice to mention.

The entertainment is in house by a multi national team who 'try their upmost' to entertain you from Dawn to Dusk. They do not pester you to join in games it is there if you want to. They do 5 evening shows a week which some are very funny and others bordering average.

The hotel was quite full but you could always get a seat in the lounge. The bar staff are very, very good and not just underpaid locals who haven't a clue what you are asking for!

The location is second to none!! There is a 'steep' hill out to the main road but it can be managed. If you do venture out, the reception will willingly get a taxi for you. All the usual Bars and entertainment in the main resort areas are within a 3 Euro taxi ride. The one area that sticks out in our thoughts is the willingness of ALL the staff to make your holiday a memorable one. What makes this hotel different from most in Puerto Rico is that it is only made up of about 25% British and it is not your run of the mill facility.

This is our third time at the Riu and it just gets better and better.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.