Image of Sun Royal Aparthotel

Sun Royal Aparthotel

22 of 45 hotels in Playa Blanca

4 out of 5 from 34 reviews
3 stars
Calle Janubio, 35580 Playa Blanca, Yaiza, Spain

34 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    18
  • Good
    10
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Good budget holiday
6 years 9 months ago
We stayed here for a week, all inclusive. Check in was quick and the receptionist was great.

Rooms were spacious and clean. Bedroom with large wardrobes and plenty of storage, safe if you needed it. Bathroom with shower & bath. Lounge/dining area had 2 beds which were fine for the kids. The room was clean, with clean towels and sheets that were replaced regularly throughout the week. The room was a bit tired and maybe does need modernising but it was clean and as we were only sleeping there is didn't bother us.

Pools were nice with the one by reception being colder and quieter. The top pool was acclimatised. There were loads of sunbeds, no one seemed to reserve them which was a welcome change.

The food was okay. We have had better but we have also had worse. We always found something to eat but at the end of the day this is a budget 3* hotel. Drinks were fine and the bar stocked the usual stuff. Staff were pleasant and friendly.

Didn't see much of the entertainment but it was the typical holiday stuff. The kids enjoyed it.

We had a good budget holiday which is what we had booked and paid for.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mrs Fisher
9 years ago
had a fanastic time very relaxing. having a little boy with special needs we was alittle worried, but the hotel was great. we ate in quiet alot and the food was,nt to bad. it was quiet central to the town and the marina. only thing i did,nt like was when we went into shops they would stand behind you asking if you wanted to buy it, htat was very of putting. overall had a great time and would deffinatly go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended
Carole
9 years 6 months ago
staff very helpful only problem our lock was broken so we could not lock ourselves in at night from friday until monday, until the rep intervened.Very relaxing holiday as all the entertainment was in spanish day and night which was not very good for the children. there seems to be a spanish tour operator on the complex as all the spaniards were all inclusive and the hand full of other nationalities were left to their own devices. ok for adults.shop on sight or netto just down the road but watch out for the cartons of sour milk in both.cleaned regular and fresh towels twice in seven days and beds changed once.heated pool upstirs level and cold fresh down. little market as you turn left outside saturdays and wednesdays cheaper than the marina.drinks expensive at the bar 21 euros for 3 cokes 2 vodkas and a lager.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
Lyndsey
10 years ago
This hotel was lovely and clean. The rooms are basic, but they have everything you need and we had a nice apartment next to the upstairs heated pool.

The hotel staff are helpful and pleasant.

I cannot comment on the food as we were self catering and always ate in one of the plenty of restaurants playa blanca has to offer.

The location of the hotel is on a quiet road. This has its ups and down. The Up is that you get no noise. Thoe down side is that if you just want to go somewhere close by for a meal you have a bit of a walk and with kids this can sometimes be a bit of a pain, but defintely not enough to put you off using this hotel again.

If you looking for a lively holiday i suggest Puerto del carmen as playa blanca is a holiday for those who want rest and relaxation. Plenty of lovely restaurants but nowhere really to go just for a drink with children and a bit of entertainment.

The hotel entertainment was awful while we were there. I think it may have been the time of the year as there was a lot of spanish staying at our hotel and all the entertainment was in spanish so we only stopped to watch once.

The car rental company situated in the hotel reception is very good with excellent rates and i would def recommend using them rather than thomson.

A bar we did use on New Years Eve was Chalmers which is situated down on a side road where all the shops are. We had never been in any other time during our holiday but they made us feel very welcome and we even got free shots at one point (bonus), although as i say it was New Years Eve.

Overall this holiday was excellent and relaxing. Thomsons trips (especially Souther Sights) was brilliant. Although i have to say maybe a little to quiet for us and having hired a car and visited Puerto Del Carmen we would like to go back to there.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Rob ALB
10 years 1 month ago
This is the 2nd time this year we stayed at the Sun Royal, Playa Blanca, All the staff in reception, catering and around the resort are all very pleasent, helpful, friendly and always treat you perfectly.

The position of the hotel around the pool's keep the slight breeze at bay, the hotel's location is far enough away from the noise of the sea front attractions, but within a easy 10min stroll, and it is located on a non-busy road.

The onsite shop is equal or cheaper than the local Netto shop, There is a great selection of self-service food to choose from, The Hotel is very relaxed, clean, well maintained, and in a quiet position, most rooms have single balconys some have two! If you have any issue, the hotel staff will usually rectify the problem within 10min with 100% success.

We booked through Thomsons, and the only way to describe them is "an invisable mother on hand ready to help 24hours" they don't "big-brother" you but it's like you know they are there for you when you need them, anytime!, they are at your side from when you land to when you leave (when/if you need them) they offer excellent excursions and a blanket trip that you will learn and maybe benefit from.

Sun Royal Aparthotel is *** to be honest it should be higher (you can't compare the ratings to the UK) it is 100% better than some 5* UK hotels.

Will I be going back? YES feel free to ask me anything I havent mentioned.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
RA
10 years 1 month ago
Just a quick reponse to Bond in Cardiff posting

The room safe works with a key that is hired from hotel reception, it doesnt cost much and is worth every euro/cent because it's covered with the holiday insurance!

There is 100's of leaflets in reception about the attractions, there are welcome packs ready from the tour operators who also hold a small meeting that shows and offers excursions.

The lady at the car-hire desk is a great source of attraction info too!

Hope you enjoyed the weather like us.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
10 years 3 months ago
Our apartment was in the top end of the complex on the first floor and was perfectly located as it caught the evening sun when we returned from the beach/sightseeing. The apartment was spacious, big bathroom and bedroom and loads of storage space for clothes, etc.

We didn't use the pool, preferring the beach, but it looked lovely.

We paid a deposit for a remote for the tv but couldn't get it to work so gave up and took it back - who needs to watch tv on hols anyway?

There was no information in the apartments - normally there is a ring binder with some basic information in. As we didn't attend the welcome meeting we were left to find out things for ourselves but we didn't have any problems. Don't know where you got the key for safety deposit box but we used the combination on our suitcase instead!!

All in all, a perfect place for us, we didn't mind the walk into town, it was a pleasant stroll on flat ground.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Rich And Lau
10 years 3 months ago
I can't think of where to start my review, im sitting here thinking of all the good memories i have. This was our first holiday away together and we couldnt have picked a nicer place to stay. The hotel could not be faulted and neither could the friendly helpful staff.
As we went towards the end of the season in Spetember the hotel was fairly quiet but everything was still open and was kept immaculatly clean.
The rooms were very well equppied and well maintained.
The pool was wonderfully clean and you could always get a sunbed.
The staff as i mentioned couldnt do enough to help and as we did not book coach transfers, the staff even dropped us off at the airport on our last day in their own car!
The one site shop is well stocked and a good sized netto is only down the road on the way to the beach.
The hotel is situated a 10 minute walk away from the town centre and beach. The hotel wasn't as close to the town as others, but as a result it was very peaceful throughout the day and night.
Most evenings we walked into town and back, but on the odd occasion when we had a little too much sangria or my girlfriends heels hurt we would catch a cab back for a few euros.
I can't really comment on the entertainment or the food at the hotel as there was no entertainment when we were there as it was late september and we ate in town every night.
In all the hotel was fantastic and highly recommended to anyone wanting a relaxing break. Ideal for couples, families, young and old. Enjoy!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson / Travel Republic

Recommended
10 years 4 months ago
The Sun Royal apartments are some of the nicest that we have stayed in. We stayed in a ground floor apartment and it was spotless. The apartment was spacious and the bedroom had plenty of storage. There were 3 english channels on the tv and the saviour for us travelling with a 3 year old was Sky Movies Family.
The complex itself is really nice and we found all the hotel staff to be friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The Thompson rep was very helpful as well too. The pool areas were clean and we always managed to find a sunbed around the pool. The pool was a bit chilly but it was very refreshing to get into when it was hot!
There was a variety of entertainment on at night but the only one that we went to see was the parrot show which our 3 year old loved. It was a very entertaining show and well worth going to see.
The location of these apartments is ideal. It takes about 10 mins to walk to the beach and the main resort area. Plenty of really nice places to eat along the beach front, in 2 weeks we didn't have one bad meal.
All in all i would recommend these apartments to anyone. For good value family apartments these are some of the best that we have stayed in and will definately be going back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Mcculloch
10 years 5 months ago
Sun Royal is very basic, rooms were a little grubby and could do with a freshen up. Swimming pool was a little deep as I am 5'4 and could not stand up in it.
Very few scottish or english people, mostly spanish and they were all on All inclusive. People in the UK do not get this option.
Shop in the complex is very good value and very handy.

Apartments are about 20 mins stroll to the main resort.

Resort itself we ate somewhere different every night of our 14 nights each meal was very good value.
Most waiters were very pleasant.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: skytours

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: