Image of THB Don Paco Castilla Apartments

THB Don Paco Castilla Apartments

8 of 9 hotels in Playa de los Pocillos

3 out of 5 from 36 reviews
2 stars
Calle de Urano, 35510 Puerto del Carmen, Spain

36 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mr R White
18 years 2 months ago
We just returned from two pre Easter weeks in the Don Paco Loc Pocillos near Puerto Carmen, Lanzarote. We had a great time weather was just about perfect not too hot during the day a breeze to stop you overheating and as long as you had a light jacket comfortable at night.

Temperatures ranged between 23 and 28c. The Hotel was a good 2* hotel it is centred in three blocks around three pool areas. It has two restaurants the one mainly used for those on half board, and a pool bar / restaurant with an ala carte menu that also does takeaway. Food here was good quality at a similar price to resort restaurants 50
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsen

Recommended
Webster Family
18 years 2 months ago
We spent the first 2 weeks of April at this aparthotel and had a great time. We have three children aged 12, 8 and 4 and all three enjoyed themselves.

We had one of the three bedroom apartments which comprised of a large lounge with kitchen area. Each bedroom had twin beds and plenty of wardrobe space. The bathroom had a shower over the bath and included a bidet. The fixtures and fittings were dated but functional. The balcony was large and since we were on a corner went fully around the corner giving us plenty of space. We overlooked one of the 4 pools on site. We also had a seaview.

The rooms were cleaned and towels changed on 5 days out of each week and the beds were changed twice a week.

We hired a safe and paid 3 euros a day for satelite TV which included a movie channel, sky sports, sky news, BBC world and Channel 4 (so kids could watch the Simpsons at 6pm!)

All the staff we met while at this hotel were friendly, helpful and efficient.

The Thomson rep was very good and through her we arranged our excursions. These included going on a submarine, a tour of the south of the island and the volcanoes, a tour of the north of the island including Ceasar Manriques house and the green caves and a trip to Teguise Market (which is held every Sunday). We thought all the excursions were very good and the children enjoyed them.

We ate down in Playa de los Pocillos most nights but did try the hotel buffet on our first night for convenience. It was good value but nothing special. On 3 other evenings we ate in the other bar/restaurant next to one of the pools which was very nice and then went down to the Mini Disco at 9pm followed by entertainment. The kids club staff were very good with the children and made a big fuss of our 4 year old on her birthday. The children are still singing the Spanish "kids club songs" now after being home for almost 2 weeks. Our regret is that we did not introduce the children to such entertainment during our first week there. Having said this our evenings down in Playa de los Pocillos were very nice and the sunsets we witnessed were beautiful.

The beach at Los Pocillos is very nice and clean (it's raked every morning) and is sandy. Our older children bought a net and went looking for crabs in the rock pools. The beach is safe - the sea does not suddenly become deep, you can wade out quite far.

There are beds and parasols for hire (5 euros for one of each or 8 euros for two of each).

We had a great time and can't wait to go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Chris
18 years 5 months ago
The complex was clean but the apartments lacked TLC, the cracks in the walls etc reminded me of the film 'Carry on abroad'!

Our apartment had been recently painted as there were many white paint splash marks on the bedroom doors. I think this summed up the general attitude - it's a case of do the job but there was no real positive management / supervision / quality control. Cleaning standard of our apartment was inconsistent.

Didn't try the food but the complex supermarket seemed to price its good fairly.

The location was a road back from the main road and the complex lighting was 'subdued' and the perimeter road / path lighting was very very poor and we were wary when going out at night.

The complex was very quiet, within our area of 80 apartments only 8 were occupied.

Take care with the patio doors if you go out on the balcony area, especially if on 1st / 2nd floor - do not fully close the patio door when you are outside - there is no way back in to your apartment as there are no locks / handles on the outside!

Plenty of sunbeds but no cushions or sunbed adjustments. Pool was clean and attended to every day.

TV in rooms cost 3
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct travel

Lynette
18 years 5 months ago
We arrived on the 6th Feb 2006 at Mid -day. My initial impression was bad as the room was very tired and desperately in need of a re-fit. However, as the days went on it grew on me. The beds were comfortable and very clean, the lounge massive and we equipped. (TV is available for 3E per day).

The complex was like a ghost town. We only saw about 10 other people there. We tried the bar one night but it shut at 10.45!! The disco was closed for a refurb.

The location is poor as you have to walk a long distance to anywhere (we like walking) If you have children/walking difficulties or idlelitis don't go there.

Unfortunately we only saw the sun for two half days, however, we had a nice holiday. You MUST try the Japanese in Play Poscillios it if fantastic and cheap.

Also walk to the harbour in Puerto Del Carmen (about 1 hour) well worth the effort.

I would say, don't go to Don Paco and don't go to the Canaries in January.

We have been to Lanzarote 4 times before and had very good deals, this was ok but not great.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct holidays

Janet Fryer
18 years 9 months ago
Have just returned from the Don Paco and had a brilliant holiday.

The four swimming pools were always clean with plenty of sunbeds available. The bar at the pool was reasonably priced and the staff friendly and helpful, great with the kids.

The two appartments we had were cleaned 6 days a week and linen changed weekly, the maids were friendly and never appeared before 10am.

The entertainment staff were wonderful especially with the children. The mini club was open for 3 hours 6 days a week and there was a mini disco and shows every evening.

All the complex staff were helpful and reception/bar staff speak good English.

The complex was clean, tidy and well maintained, there was some refurbishing going on which was a little intrusive but not enough to make a complaint about and will soon be finished.

The complex has 2 reasonably priced supermarkets.

The complex is only 2 minutes walk from the beach, shops, bars and restaurants, if you want a more lively night life then a short taxi ride will get you into Puerto Del Carmen.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
Mrs Hayes
18 years 10 months ago
There wasn,t really any thing clean about the Don Paco!

The entertainment was virtually non existent!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Jacqueline
19 years 1 month ago
We were a bit nervous of what to expect when we arrived, having read some previous reports. However, we were very pleasantly surprised.

We had a very spacious apartment, with 2 bedrooms one of which was quite large with a double sliding door onto a very large balcony. There was also a smaller terrace to the front which looked onto a pool, we were on the top floor (all buildings are 3 floors high). The furnishing is slightly old fashioned and could do with being modernised but no complaints other than we only had one plug point in the kitchen, so we had to boil the kettle first and then plug in the toaster.

The cleaning staff were very obliging and the staff at the restaurant (by the pool) were absolutely lovely especially to kids. It was very quiet when we were there and we had a choice of 3 very large pool areas or one smaller pool. We loved the pools by the restaurant/bar as there was a lovely kiddies pool and an adults pool and you could sit at the entrance to the restaurant, have a meal or a drink and comfortable supervise your child in the kiddies pool.

The staff here were lovely especially Marc and Reyes. Most days we had the pool and the sun loungers almost completely to ourselves.

There is a large restaurant which opened on our second week and while it looked very impressive too, we never got the opportunity to try it. There is also a kiddies club (our child was too young to use this), 2 fine supermarkets, a computer room, a games room, a beauticians, a night time entertainment area (which we didn't use) and a laundry on site.

At the moment there is some renovation work going on both in the complex and in the complex across the road, we didn't mind the noise too much but some people may find it aggravating so it may be wise to check when these renovations will be complete.

We would love to go back here and would have no hesitation in recommending this resort.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Stein Travel

Recommended
Emma Powell
19 years 5 months ago
When we arrived at the Don paco, we were given our room keys and directed to our room. When we got to our room, the apartment smelt very strongly of stale cigarrette smoke, and there were also stains on the bed and walls.

My partner and I went back to reception and they gladly offered to exchange our apartment which we gladly exepted. The new apartment was better but I wouldn't say very clean! There were some cockroaches in the bathroom, but only small ones which we dealt with! Don Paco apartments seemed very well used and could have done with a lick of paint!

On the whole the resort was very nice.
To conclude I would say only go to the Don paco if you are very easily pleased and as my partner said Don Paco only makes you want to paco and go homo!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Jodie
19 years 7 months ago
Went with doubts in my mind, but was completely satisfied with the holiday, staff were really friendly especially the entertainment guys, entertainment was great for kids with a disco or show on every night.

Well priced drinks and food. Brill location, near some bars and restauraunts and a nice walk to peurto de carmen, bus service to the market that was brilliant. will definateley be goin again beach was clean and appartments fantastic!!! very impressed
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
John
19 years 9 months ago
I had read some reports posted on this website after booking my holiday and admit that it put doubts in my mind about the booking. These were quickly dispelled however when we reached Don Paco.
The apartment is a nice size with plenty of room for a couple and I would say another on the sofa (very comfortable). Although there are quite a lot of steps leading up to the rooms in the individual blocks, this was not an issue for us as they are adequately lit and provide you with nice views of the pool etc. from your spacious balcony.
The apartment was very clean, not a cockroach in sight, and the maid service was frequent and quick with nobody banging on the door early hours waking you up.
The complex has a number of pools all well kept and cleaned every morning, one of them is mighty deep though, with plenty sun loungers around each. The beach is only about two minutes away across the road too.

Didn't avail of any entertainment but there always seemed to be something going on from discos to water polo and there are two very nice restaurants, internet cafe, 2 supermarkets and a laundry for those staying a bit longer
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Budget Travel

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.