Image of Costa Mar Aparthotel

Costa Mar Aparthotel

38 of 89 hotels in Puerto Del Carmen

4 out of 5 from 14 reviews
3 stars
PLAYA DE LOS POCILLOS,S.N., PUERTO DEL CARMEN-TIAS-LANZAROTE, 35510 LANZAROTE - ISLAS CANARIAS, Spain

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Neill Bateman
9 years 3 months ago
We arrived close to the restaurant closing and were greeted by extremely friendly staff who ushered us into the Restaurant for our evening meal. Sadly, on that night, that late, the food wasnt very good. Staff throughout were immensely helpfull and friendly, and spoke all 3 languages as the place was visited by Brits, Irish, Spaniards but mainly Germans, and all factions seemed to get on very well at all times. It is located in a quiet area, 2km south and you are in Puerto del Carmen, party animal heaven, about 3 euros in a cab. Its just a short walk the other way to another less busy area. However, the hotel does boast a decent area directly in front of it with decent bars, restaurants, especially a good chinese, and shops.

During the stay, being half board, food got hitty missy. Majority of visitors were German, and food seemed geared that way. Breakfast, although repetitive, appealed to all in some way, was well cooked, nicely presented and buffet style. Evening meals were in the main a good selection, always well cooked, but not always appealing. Towards the end of our holiday, more and more Germans arrived and food became almost entirely German based. On 3 of the last 4 nights, we sent a scout to report on the fare, and then went out to dine. This was purely down to what was on offer, not how good or bad it was. The food on the nights we did eat there was well cooked and well presented.

The entertainment reflected the interest in the place. It wasnt a huge concert hall by any stretch of the imagination, and the cheerfull entertainer did a great job with the kids. If theyre serious about providing entertainment, it has to be in a better room. The drink (local lager) was really poo.

Where the hotel really falls over is in security. It is really bad and careless. 3 burglaries were committed in the second week alone, and all 3 times, the reception staff blamed the tourists for leaving open windows. We had already argued between ourselves about open windows after being out. After the third burglary, we meticulously made sure everything was locked, fastened and hooked. After a full day out in a car, we got back to find our door not just unlocked, but wide open to the elements and anyone who wanted to come in. The maids were going in to clean and leaving windows and doors open. We even considered that they may be in on the burglaries. But we had nothing missing, maybe because she'd left the toilet light on which may have suggested someone was in. Sadly, they didnt take our complaint seriously until the biggest Thomas Cook authority on the island got involved. It didnt matter how safe and secure you were, the maids undid it all.

Pool was small for the size of the hotel, loungers were always available. I was happy to throw unattended towels on the floor if it was obvious they werent in use. Sorry anybody it upset ..... not. Why do you need the lounger if youre in town?
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Kate
9 years 4 months ago
just got back from the costa mar aparthotel. overall the rooms in the hotel were spacious.the maids came in every day. the hotel staff are very kind. entertainment was good water polo, tabke tennis and other stuff.the beach wa a nice size plenty of sunbeds. the pool was quite big with 2 pools and a padling pool in the middle. the staff are helpful. costa mar has its own shopping bit . would vist again a good place
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Anne
9 years 5 months ago
Just back from our first visit to Costa Mar.

Few niggles. Had to move rooms after being placed in Block G and our bedroom window was directly facing major [and I can't stress the word major] roadworks. We were wakened the first morning, after not getting in to the hotel until midnight, at 7.20am with the apartment literally vibrating from a massive digger and pneumatic drill, digging up a road the size of a large swimming pool. Reception were really good and moved us within the hour to a much better apartment in Block F which overlooked the pool and was actually better.

The entertainment is dreadful but again, that's not what we pick a place for, the wee kids seemed to enjoy it although some of it was not that suitable for their age. Cross dressers, massive boobs, that type of thing but other people seemed to enjoy it.It just didn't do it for us I'm afraid but again, others might appreciate it. The only night it was funny was when six guests were involved and they basically entertained us and this was the best entertainment I saw in the 10 days. However, the entertainment team are dead friendly and the wee kids seemed to love them so I would feel guilty about slating them but a few nights, outside entertainers came in and it was woeful.

The cleaners are very pleasant although don't speak English although we did start to get a bit cheesed off the last couple of days when they appeared at 10am as we were all still in our beds and just thinking about getting up so told them to come back later which was fine once they understood. There was one day a swirl of dust just about covered everything in our balcony, chairs tables and this was never really cleaned well, noticed others were the same. But the apartments are spotless when you arrive and there is no lack of fresh towels available.

The only major gripe I had were the lack of sunbeds. These are draped with towels from early on and you have to try and do this as well if you want to spend a couple of hours around the pool. Some families appeared to spend the entire time around the pool and in the hotel itself but we like to get out and about. A wee shot of a sunbed here and there was all we needed but there was never any available until we draped towels on ourselves and did the same as everyone else. Not much room around the pool which seems to the the problem, rather than the lack of beds available.

Didn't ever try to eat in the hotel so cant comment on their grub. There are a couple of good eating places around the Costa Mar and we ate in the Mucky Duck and the Celtic Inn which was decent pub grub. The Celtic Inn is also a MUST for it's fresh English breakfast and decent cup of tea. Dead cheap and really, really good. THey also have a good TV menu with a daily film at 5pm for kids and would put on anything you liked on SKY TV if you asked them.

The televisions in the apartments don't have any English speaking channels apart from a Disney Channel which for some reason did not have a decent volume on it. Used to having CNN or something at least but still, you don't go abroad to sit about watching the telly.

You hire a safe in your room which you pay when you leave and this cost 20e.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Flyglobespan

Recommended
Tara
9 years 6 months ago
apartments nice and clean...lots of friendly people there too...except watch out when your sleeping..in the morning the maid kind of barges right in...she does a good job of the cleaning...but I thought barging in like that was a bit rude!

Food...neh not so bad..I prefer 2 eat in the restaurants. omg all the different ice creams to die for

Entertainment was ok...I felt it was mostly for children but the staff are so friendly you don't really care...
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: great escapes

Recommended
David Hubbard
10 years 8 months ago
The room was spot on, Had maybe 3 tiny cockroaches, which weren't a problem.

The maids were in every day, and the reception staff were fantastic.

Although I did feel very ignorant when I heard them speaking fluently in 3 or more languages and I was struggling to understand my own!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Budget Travel

Recommended
11 years 2 months ago
Massive room 3 bedrooms. Kitchenette tv table and chairs large balony we were on second floor.

Only a few baby cockroaches but we sprayed them as we saw them. We did tell reception and they put a trap down under the sink and offered to move us if we wanted but we didnt feel we wanted to repack - they werent a problem.

Take your own kettle, although you can hire them the same with toasters, maid were excellent came in everyday and changed towels, bin etc, we didnt go to the hotel enertaintment as my sister lives in Puerto del Carmen so we went out the first week to see Tina Turner show and wander (singer and comedy act), my sisters friends so go and see them while you are their also the second week went the the Brittania bar oppt the apartments just past the spar tell Matt in bar, Stef and Rob told you to go and sing kareoke. Lovely food and good service also has Sky T, ITV, BBC for the kids or soap addicts.

Would return again to Costa Mar and we made good friends with Matt.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
Colin
11 years 4 months ago
Hotel is good but watch out for the cockroaches(but then again you are in a warm climate). They are everywhere on our first day we saw 3 by the pool and we landed at 5 in the afternoon.

The rooms are very spacious no kettle but you have saucepans to boil the water for the tea. We had to look out everywhere for cockroaches though 3 killed first night 5 the next, 2 the next, 4 the next, none the next because we asked to be moved to a higher room (we were on a ground floor room)and then none and after that.

We had the time of our life the place the hotel was fantastic I would recommend the the 2 pubs across from the hotel ( the Britannia & the Slainte the food and the craic are second to none)
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: mayo travel

Recommended
J Middleton
11 years 8 months ago
Had a great time at this hotel in April the rooms are very spacious and lots of clean towels and bedding changed regularly staff at reception were very helpful.

The cleaning ladies were spot on no English spoken but understand enough to help you. We self catered but went for breakfast 1st morning it wasn't as good as I expected and quite pricy for what you got so we didn't bother again.

The location is perfect and the pool area is good, the entertainment was A1 for the kids lovely staff tried really hard to cater for all ages. The adult shows were watchable but poor music for our age (late 30s).

It's a quite relaxing place, good resturants within walking distance and no touters.

Liked it alot going again in 4 weeks (oct 2006).

Take a kettle if you can as you have to hire one(a bit mean) for 3*plus, TV is poor unless you are German as our kids are under 9 we have quite early nights so bring cards, etc or a good bottle of wine (from supermarket)all in all its a good place to visit.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel republic

Recommended
Graham
11 years 9 months ago
Dear oh dear, I booked this holiday on strength of previous postings ( big mistake).

Had to change apartment after first day, as we were sharing it with cockroaches (I killed at least 15 here)and the overall condition of the apartment was looking very tired.

The second apartment was much better although we still had a cockroach problem (only killed half a dozen in the apartment during the rest of the stay) I spoke to other English guests who had had same problem, but seemed to accept it as they didn't want a fuss (tut tut).

Next the food : The breakfast wasn't too bad, but seemed to cater mainly for the Germans and Spanish rather than the Brits. The evening meal consisted of either veal or pork every other night, alternating with chicken or turkey. Plenty of pasta and chips tho and what can only be referred to as factory food. Needless to say we ended up eating out 10 nights out of the 14 we stayed.

Couldn't fault the reception staff or the cleaners, or the waiters really, but the management have obviously crossed the fine line that separates cutting costs from providing a good service .

In conclusion all I can say is thank god the weather was good.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Peter
11 years 9 months ago
I can only re-iterate what Graham (Leeds) reported, every word he wrote is totally spot on. Like him we were also impressed by previous reports, but to our disappointment standards appeared to have dropped considerably.

Whilst the communal areas of the hotel were clean our room was also infested with cockroaches. We spent an evening stuffing cracks and crevices with toilet paper!! Followed by spraying repellent before we went out each evening - this did have the desired effect.

The bedding has seen much better days. We put T.Shirts over our pillowcase because they did not look or feel "freshly laundered". One bed base was ripped and had cigarette burns in it.

The reception staff were very pleasant but that is where it ended for us. The waiters and waitress were quite surly no one seemed to be enjoying their work - there were no happy greeting faces like you normally get.

The food was unbelievably bad, and like the previous writer we also ate out because of the lack of choice/standard and presentation. The food really was awful.

The hotel location is very good - the beach just being across the road and Puerto Del Carmen within walking distance.

I would not visit this hotel again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: