Image of Holiday Village Costa Del Sol

Holiday Village Costa Del Sol

18 of 24 hotels in Fuengirola

4 out of 5 from 286 reviews
4 stars
Calle Marbella, 3, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Imagine, lying on your sunbed sipping an ice cold drink beside one of the largest pools in Mainland Spain. Picture spectacular Mediterranean views and sumptuous dinners and you are a guest at the Holiday Village. A resort in itself, the superior standard.

286 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    38
  • Very Good
    131
  • Good
    73
  • Average
    38
  • Poor
    6

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Paula
16 years ago
Family holiday of 3 adults and 14 and 12 year old. We had a relaxing holiday, food was good and varied from night to night. Didn't like the queuing for a table, but then it is a large hotel with a relatively small resturant area for its size.

Was hoping to lose my kids for the week, but the kids club staff weren't that good at encouraging teenagers to join in with the activites, but maybe that is English staff for you, so the teen club ended up full of loud, over confident kids and mine stayed away. Waterpark was great seeing as it was 5 min walk away and free. Evening entertainment was great which was a relief as there was absolutely no where within walking distance.

Been there done that - prob wouldn't go back but had a relaxing time
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Jayne Wall
16 years 1 month ago
The breakfast in buffet restaurant was lovely, as for the other meals,they were often luke warm and many dishes seemed to return the next evening.On one occasion we noticed that there was a build-up crumbs below were the toaster is placed, this wouldn't be a problem if they had been cleared before we came in for the evening meal but they hadn't. The hotel staff were pleasant,but hotel seemed to have a shortage of bar staff and cleaning staff this meant that they never seemd to catch up with their work load.many times the queue would be 20 deep at peak times. And tables had not been cleared/cleaned for long periods at peak times.All inclusive didn't ring true and large parts of the menu was not availble without extra cost, only leaving very basic of meals with no cost.
The location was ok, a taxi to towns was between 10 and 12 euros. The buses were 2 an hour but on tuesday mornings there is no chance of getting to Fuengirolo as it is market day.
The evening entertainment was not great,only 4 nights out of 14, did we have "outside" entertainers.the "wavelength" team were excellent with the kids and our son thoroughly enjoyed himself but a distinct lack of air-con in these rooms often left the kids very hot even at night .
The main pool was often dirty and during our stay 60 tiles approx were missing, these were not replaced, i reported to first choice,3 times, that a lid to a filter in the pool was missing. The hole was large enough for a childs foot to get stuck.this was obviously a major health and safety issue.yet again this was not dealt with.
We also reported that paving slabs were broken and again not replaced, leaving holes along pavement between Piano Bar and pool. A temporary slippery surface sign was put over the worse holes, another health and safety issue which was over looked.
The urinal in the toilets by the pool was broken before we arrived and was not fixed during our stay.the toilets were often dirty in both and not once did i see them being cleaned after 9 am.

If we wanted a sunbed around the pool we would have to get up early as most were taken by 8am, even though signs were visible saying that no sunbeds to be reservered before 9am.also there were not enough parasols to go around.
The balcony had a small drain on one side where a small out flow pipe ran, this would be fine if it was clean but ther was a build up of dirt/alge around this area which was not very pleasing to the eye and probably not hygenic.a holiday that cost
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Mrs Brown
16 years 1 month ago
We arrived at the hotel at 10pm and first impression was good,but we had to pay 100 euros returnable deposit for the remote control for our tv. The corridors was very dark not much light. The room was big but the balcony was very dirty, the table never got cleaned the whole 2 weeks we was there, the walls was coverd in pigeon poo, and the two grates on the floor was ugly. The air con didn't work it was just blowing out warm air and we found it very hard to sleep on a night, we reported it and got told that it had been fixed, but it was still the same. The maids came into our room every day but all they did was make the beds and empty bins they never touched the floors or did any cleaning. The food was ok but never hot. The second week we was there i came down with severe diarrhoea and sickness and was in my room for 3 days, we got talking to other people and a lot of people had got it, so i would suggest to take some sickness medicine because it was spreading like wild fire through the hotel. They have a doctor on site but it costs 80 euros just to be seen then you have the cost of the medication.The pool at the hotel never got cleaned and was dirty, the pools over the road via the bridge was a lot cleaner but it is open to the public who can pay in, so its not exclusive to the hotel. In all the reps was brill and worked very hard, but the hotel is more a 3 star and not worth the money we paid which was
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: firstchoice

Karen And Neil
16 years 3 months ago
Despite the size of the hotel, largest we have ever stayed in, we were very impressed with the way everything was organised, especially the restaurant and kids clubs.
Everywhere was very clean, with cleaners working till late evening. The restaurant staff were very efficient in clearing tables so no food was left lying around. Food and drink was only allowed around the pool area in plastic glasses/plates, so no dirty dishes left around.
Food quality was very good, plenty of choice for all tastes (even burgers, chips and chicken nuggets if you want it!). Mexican and Italian restaurants were fine, nice to be waited on for a change.
Bus service was good, though the hotel was a bit out of the way and no where to walk to after dinner.
Entertainment was very average, but it was only april so maybe it gets better in summer. Kids clubs are excellent - the In2Action team work extremely hard and we hardly saw our 12 year old!
We would highly recommend this hotel to families and wouldn't hesitate to go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mrs D Calver
16 years 3 months ago
We have just returned from what is simply one of the best holidays that we have ever had. I will try to be as informative and helpful in this report as I can to help you choose if this is the holiday for you.

In our party we had, 2 adults and one 14 year old girl. After an early but trouble free flight we were met by cheerful, helpful reps who guided us to our coach for a 30 minute journey to the hotel.

On the journey points of local interest were pointed out. There was a queue for check in but the in 2 action team were on hand to entertain the younger kids with circus skills etc to make it less painful.

Our room wasn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mrs D Calver
16 years 3 months ago
Appolgies to Hotel Village. I pressed the wrong button for cleanliness and food. All areas were exceptionally clean. As for food, we were all inclusive, not self catering as I said. The food was very good with plenty of choice. However, my husband missed strolling to find a restuarant and having peppered steak. But there really were no complaints.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
16 years 4 months ago
We arrived on time (5pm ish) to a lovely looking hotel, absolutely huge, with a very airy light reception area. It was very organised, and we queued to be given our rooms, and asked if we wanted to upgrade to all inclusive, and given 10% off if we paid then and there. We chose to think about it, and look round first. The reception staff were friendly and polite and so helpful the whole week.

After the first morning, and paying for breakfast/drinks etc which we found to be quite expensive, we decided to upgrade to AI for just 4 days, at
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Sam Calvert
16 years 9 months ago
This was our second visit to the holiday village and once again we were not disappointed.

our flight was excellent and on time and we arrived at the resort just after lunch. I will make this a short review as not much has changed since last year but all i will say is the reps work very hard to keep everyone happy and entertained and we thought they were all fantastic. Carlos doing the daytime quiz every day was so funny and also Anna,another in2action rep was fab, we loved her.
I do have to make a special comment about the wavelength rep called Luke who really made our 9 year old daughters holiday special,he always had time to chat and is a credit to first choice. Our daughter was so upset to leave luke, he even came to wave us off when we left and she cried all the way to the airport!
The night time entertainment was also enjoyable, yes it wasn't like watching a broadway show but give them a break, they all work very hard all day every day and always give 100% so well done to monique, darren, tom,lauren and debbie.
food was fine and we never had a problem with cold food etc always plenty of choice.
We would visit this hotel again but maybe leave it a couple of years as already booked for egypt holiday village for next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Iain
16 years 10 months ago
Just come back from this hotel and all I an say is "FANTASTIC"
Some people are just not happy about anything and just like to moan.
Would highly recommend,been on several long haul and short haul all inclusive hotels and would rank this one up there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Paul Brown
16 years 10 months ago
One week is not enough!
The Hotel is Fantastic and would definetely return.
Firstly the room. Very large bathroom, large bedroom and lounge and even a seperate well equipped kitchen.
The rooms are cleaned most days and to a very high standard. Plenty of Towels and also shampoo, soap, shower gel, shower cap and a comb. Plenty of wardrobes and hangers. Large TV ( did not watch once,as on Holiday).
The restaurant is well managed and the staff are very helpfull. More than enough choice to please everyone, but do remember you are in spain not in England, so if you want your bacon crispy, stay at home ! The food is always HOT and plentiful. Only wish we could have tried everything. For the people who miss England, you can always get burger and chips !
The Bars are well stocked with every drink you could wish for( all local drinks). Our only complaint was they gave us too much. Had hangover one morning. The bar staff are always cheerful. Please treat them the way YOU would wish to be treated. A smile cost nothing and they will smile back.
The Swimming Pools are just brilliant. Always clean. Plenty of sunbeds. The Hotel has it's own Water Park over the bridge. Only a short walk.
All in all GO THERE. it is a wonderful Hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.