Image of The Landmark Hotel

The Landmark Hotel

14 of 37 hotels in Bangkok

5 out of 5 from 7 reviews
Khlong Toei, Bangkok, Thailand

7 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
A great choice for location, service and value
8 years 1 month ago
It is a few years since we stayed at the Landmark and having a spare night at the end of a trip to Myanmar and Thailand, we decided to return. We were not disappointed.

We had booked on line and obtained a good rate, with the additional benefit of being able to cancel up to 4pm on the day of arrival without charge – a bonus when travelling with multiple stops.

The Landmark is ideally located close to Nana BTS station on Sukhumvit Road, which is ideal for shops, restaurants and nightlife.

As we were only there for one night, we opted for a deluxe corner room, and were delighted to be upgraded to a Club floor suite. This was an excellent room, in first rate decorative order, large bedroom (comfy bed), good sitting room and excellent bath / shower room. A bit of a waste for a brief visit, but hey ho!

We strolled round the local area and some of the shops in Sukhumvit. The area seemed quieter than on previous visits, with fewer pavement stalls. The shops also seemed quiet.

One of our favourite restaurants in the area, Suda, was very busy so we returned to the Landmark to eat. We decided to go to the “Huntsman”, below the hotel, where a lot of ex-pats and residents spend the evening listening to and watching the entertainment. The food is not exactly UK pub grub, but the menu is good and moderately priced.

The food was good, the entertainment good and an enjoyable evening was spent there.

The following morning, we opted to take breakfast in the Atrium restaurant in the hotel. Once more we were not disappointed. The selection of food from American, European, Chinese, Japanese – and I dare say Thai – was great. We opted for a full English, including toast and marmalade (of course), which Janet followed with a couple of Danish Pastries. I still believe this to be one of the best breakfasts in Thailand!


The staff at this hotel are polite, efficient and friendly although check out can get very busy. My tip is to pay your bill at breakfast time and then just leave your room card on departure.

Taxis to the airport can be obtained by the door staff and cost approx. 350 Baht, including tolls.

In summary, a good hotel, good value rooms in a good location, in a great city.

A personal opinion based on a one night stay – December 2012.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Not Specified
9 years 7 months ago
Our fifth stay but its worth reviewing again as there have been renovations since our last stay. We stayed in the executive floor corner deluxe room. My first impression on entering was "wow!" It has had a stunning transformation. High quality fittings and furniture. The only thing I recognised was the room size and shape. Fabulous bathroom with free standing bath and huge shower with different showerheads- loved the rainshower one. Room also had TWO flatscreen tvs. The tv is also a computer and you can control lighting, heating, curtains etc through it.
In fact if you are a bit of a technophobe it might be a bit difficult to turn off and on the lights!

However, have to say that once I had spent some time getting used to the changes I came to the conclusion that I was disappointed as this room could now be anywhere in the world. I loved the Thai decor the room used to have.
EX club was as good as usual. Great breakfast, lovely canapes and drinks from 5.30pm to 7.30pm and free soft drinks, nibbles and pastries during the day.

The Huntsman Pub was a huge disappointment. Gone is the busy atmosphere. Gone because of the extortianate prices they now charge. £10 for a a beer and bacardi is what I expect from Singapore not Bangkok. The group was out of this world. Incredible singers. They deserve an audience of more than a dozen folks though.
A word about the restaurants nearby. Had a superb meal at Cabbages and Condoms, much better than last time and reviews show that others think the same.The decor is pretty unusual to say the least:) We had intended to eat at Lemongrass as this has always been superb but recent reviews have been awful so we opted to go to Baan Kanitha- just a skytrain stop and 15minute walk away. This was our last meal of our holidays and it was also our best. Would highly recommend it but be prepared to pay UK prices for this one.

Would we return to the Landmark- probably. We keep meaning to try other places but the service and handy position of the hotel keeps drawing us back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Claire
13 years 1 month ago
We loved this hotel. It was very clean, had lovely rooms and the staff were very friendly. Most of the time you didn't even have to summon a lift yourself, and I don't think I ever had to open a door!

The hotel is very close to the skytrain which is handy and also near to one of the busy touristy areas which we enjoyed. We booked this on recommendation from other members after asking advice on where to stay in the forums and we would definitely return here and would recommend it to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Going Places

Recommended
13 years 3 months ago
I booked the Landmark after seeing it on several occasions in the past. I booked direct with their website and received instant confirmation and a personal email confirming all my details. The deal was stay seven nights and get the 8th free. Upgraded room, 3 pieces of laundry free each day, free broadband and 10% off in the hotel restaurants bar the steak house.I have posted pics of the room in the photo section. There are staff everywhere to open doors, summon lifts, grab you an umbrella, ask how you are.... wonderful. Check in took all of 40 seconds and check out was also speedy. The bill was accurate and fully itemised. I really could not fault the hotel or its' staff. The bakery/cafe in the front of the hotel serves wonderful cakes and pastries and do takeaway which makes a nice present for people that you are going to visit... Thais tend to have a very sweet tooth!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Did my own

Recommended
14 years 9 months ago
This was our second stay here and won't be the last. This time we went for the executive floor and opted for deluxe corner room. ( we had this room before but not on the Club level).

Huge room, beautifully furnished, great bathroom and toiletries. Nice touch with a bowl of fruit. The executive lounge excels itself on its breakfast and the free snacks and drinks from 5pm-7pm were too good!!

Service is always efficient. We used the pool time this time. What is good about it is that when the seats around the pool are all full up, there is a sundeck a level above which easily takes any overflow. There are stairs taking you directly from the deck to the pool.

The hotel is next to the Nana skytrain stop which is so handy.

There is always someone at the entrance to open doors for you and to welcome you. We also found that more often than not someone was there to summon a lift for you as well!!

The Club floor gives you an automatic 6pm check out but we found they extended it to 8pm without any problem.
Great hotel!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
Peter B
14 years 11 months ago
The Landmark is located very conveniently close to Nana BTS station in Sukhumvit Road - an ideal location for shops and restaurants.

The Landmark (where we have stayed several times in the past) is well known for its excellent service and food, coupled with great accommodation at an extremely good price. The staff are excellent and extremely helpful, whichever department they belong to.

Rooms came in various sizes and styles, from Superior rooms (standard) through deluxe and suites on standard, club and 'lifestyle floors. Club floor benefits can be found on the hotel's website, refered to at the beginning of this review section.

In the past we have opted for the 'deluxe' corner rooms, but this time we opted for a suite. Whilst this had the benefit of a separate sitting area and a larger shower, we believe that the deluxe corner rooms (especially on club floors) are probably more than adequate for most people's requirements for a few days in Bangkok (the 'standard' rooms being a little smaller).

If the breakfast buffet in the Atrium restaraunt is used, we are convinced that this is one of the best breakfasts in Bangkok and has a high standard of service. For early risers (for flights or trips) then the breakfast offered in the Greenhouse bistro on the ground floor is excellent.

The Landmark offers a variety of restaurants, specialising in Thai, Japanese, Chinese and international cuisine and all are first rate. At the time of our last visit the Rib room and the Piano bar were closed but there were still more than enough restaurants and all tastes were catered for.

There is a 'British' style pub, the Huntsman, in the basement, which seems popular with ex-pats as well as business and holiday guests. There is a live goup every (most?) evening which are very good. This is an ideal place to meet with colleagues or friends and is an ideal place to start or finish an evening.

Following the relaxation, eating and drinking, hotel guests may wish to use the facilities provided in the very largr 'Fitness first' health club (not for us) or on the squash court or in the pool!

Overall, this is a well located hotel which provides high quality accommodation, food and service - at a very realistic price. Excellent value for money.

Please note that this is a personal opinion based upon our experiences in February 2006 and previous years.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Premier

Recommended
15 years 1 month ago
For any stay in Bangkok, I would highly recommend the Landmark hotel. The staff are friendly, the hotel excellent and the food amazing. It is located right next to the skytrain so makes getting about Bangkok really simple.

From the moment we checked in, at 6.30am, the staff couildnt do enough. We were taken to the check in and given a drink and made to feel very comfortable straight away.

Due to us arriving so early, our room wasn't ready, no problem, they put us in another room so we could freshen up and get a few hours sleep. When we moved to the proper room, they gave us a free bowl of fruit.

We stayed in a lifestyle deluxe room, all these rooms have been re-decorated and you also have access to a lounge on the 25th floor for free drinks and snacks between 5pm and 7.30pm which makes a really good start to the night.

When I say snacks, these are top notch cuisine canapes and not nuts and crisps! You also get breakfast in bed at no extra cost and it is the full silever service job too!

We never stayed in the hotel for entertainment (who would in Bangkok?), so I cant comment on that. Next time I am in Bangkok, there will only be one place I will stay!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Asia Web Direct

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
One Week Or Two offers a complete personalised travel service with Holidays | Flights | Cruises | Hotels at fantastic prices.
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.