Image of Oceana

Oceana

4 of 9 P & O ships

A large vessel of superior rating. Built in 2000 and refit in 2002. The Oceana carries a maximum of 2272 passengers in 1008 cabins, 410 of which have balconies with a further 193 having ocean views.19 cabins have wheelchair access and disabled facilities are good.

Cabins are medium in size and come with a fridge and plenty of storage space.

Entertainment on the Oceana is in two show lounges with a library and casino also onboard. Sporting facilities include a fitness centre, sauna, steam room, tennis, football and cricket.

110 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    64
  • Very Good
    25
  • Good
    11
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    4

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
Neal Ball
Hi-di-hi campers!
2 years 6 months ago
OMG Butlins on water! We thought this was going to be the Waldorf Astoria, but sadly it's more Butlins.

Friends have described P & O as 5 star, sorry that does not apply to this trip, nor this boat. It can best be described as a 1980's cross channel ferry, not a Cruise ship. Lets just hope it gets better.

Cabin though is great - outside balcony on A deck, but from there its all downhill.

Dinner at 20:30 which is ok, but all the different dress codes, adds to the event, but ends up wearing you down.... The menu is great... But so great it gets boring.... You just want ordinary food....

But maybe at 53 and 50 (tomorrow) we are just too young... Plus 3 days at sea might not help....

We will not be cruising again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Mrs Anne Moon
Don't do it
2 years 6 months ago
When we booked this cruise it was only that the date fitted with our 25th wedding anniversary. What a big mistake. P&O emailed us 2 days before and completely changed our itinerary and the cruise went downhill from there.

We had a suite which was not worth the extra money and all the excursions were a rip off.

P&O gave us 25% off the cruise, we would rather have had a cruise to remember not a cruise to forget.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Zara
Amazing
2 years 6 months ago
Having been on Oceana a few years ago I really enjoyed it and if not even better! I have sailed with P&O for 6 years now and wouldn't want to switch to another line. All of the members of staff are fantastic and go out of their way for each and every one of the passengers on board. However i do feel that P&O standards have gone down a little, for example not having silver service anymore and the ship could do with a little refurbishment.

The entertainment was hit and miss but the headliners were fantastic! The North Sea wasn't choppy at all and the Fjords were beautiful! Some people complain for complaining sake I would recommend Oceana to anyone who wants a peaceful break. The only thing I could really fault was the sail away parties did not seem to match the usual standards.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lynford Dean & Kathy Savage
A fantastic first cruise!
2 years 6 months ago
This was our first cruise and exceeds all our expectations. We have booked on the Britannia for next year! The ship was starting to look a little weather-worn externally and our cabin a little shabby. For example we had to request a new toilet seat to be fitted as it was unsavory and we asked for the duvet cover to be replaced as it was badly torn and ripped. The replacement bedding had a small hole in the bed sheet.

The service & attention to our needs was dealt with extreme efficiency. The food was fantastic, the entertainment excellent and apart from one trip in Barcelona excellent value for money. I would have liked to have had the offered tour of the ship to see the engines, food processing and waste management systems but at£75 per person this was prohibitive. Would definitely recommend this ship and P&O for your cruise.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mr Carter
4 years 6 months ago
Just returned from Xmas cruise to the Canary Islands on Oceana.
Unfortunatly we sailed though a force 10 storm which was unpleasant to say the least. We were in an inside cabin near the bow, so experienced a lot of movement.
When the ship hit a particulary large wave, a window in one of the shops broke causing injuries to several people, we understand.
Whilst the food was good,it was not sparkling, drinks somewhat expensive.
The ship looks ready for a major refit, tiles missing from the sundeck & lots of buckets around to catch water drips in the public areas.
Whilst the headliner dancers were very pleasant & energetic, they need a new chorographer. The comedians were very second rate.
On the whole, to be honest,the entertainment apart from the shows reminded us of that provided for an old folks home e.g.a bed making competition!!!!
We sailed on the Independence of the Seas last year
, P&O need to seriously up their game to match Royal Caribbean, as the standard was very inferior.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
blc
4 years 6 months ago
The ship was continuosly being cleaned/polished/painted/varnished throughout the cruiseas is the usual with P&O.The evening meals in the Adriatic dining room was of a good standard allways hot and our waiter "Jesus" was very attentive and worked hard to please.Breakfast and Lunch was generaly taken in Cafe Jardine (MPW)and was of good standard and plentiful.The crew throughout the ship were exceptional polite and efficient.On board entertainment wasa bit hit and miss,Headliners were very good,comedian/singer ok as was the ventriliquist.NYE we had an Abba tribute act,didnt live up to my expectations but still enjoyed the music.The firework display in Tenerife was very good and the decorations around the ship were good.
I would sail on this ship again if the itinery and dates were right for me.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sam Hamblett
4 years 9 months ago
We have sailed on the oceana twice,the last time was 3 years ago so we were looking forward to see what condition she was in.
As usual p&o have it down to fine art moving passengers on & off the ship.
THE SHIP.We found our inside cabin clean all the usual little things that we expect,sweets,kettle,bottles of water in the fridge,tea & coffee.bed was ok,after a night eating and drinking i think any bed would be ok.
2 big & 1 medium suitcases + 2 pieces of hand luggage. just enough space to hang our clothes.shower ok i am 5ft 7" plenty of room.
We found the entertainment on board good from the theatre,HEADLINERS to the starlight and footlight.footlight had the cinema,watched a few films there,the kings speech naming one.
The staff were pleasent and at times funny throughout the ship.
EATING.The buffet area THE PLAZA became a bit over crowed at breakfast so we went into the Ligurian restaurant for silver service breakfast more civalised,but be quick you dont get much time to decide what to have for breakfast.THEY ARE QUICK TO QUICK.
The evening meals were superb,every time we had meat in the 14 days it was succulant.The CAFE JARDIN which we tried did not hit the spot with us £8.50 each.
FORMAL NIGHTS.We had 4 formal nights and spledid they were.it makes the evening into a special occasion.
CAPTS GALA.They kept on coming with the drinks and we kept on drinking them Hic!had a nice chat with the capt.
We had plenty of sunbeds on offer never a problem,
DRINKS.Pints of beer £2.80 strong bow £2.80, G&T's £3.60 Bombay gin.
OUTSIDE ON DECK.As i have said plenty of sun beds,nice bar area around the main pool,smoking tables for those who smoke.we had one main sailaway party.there is a promenade deck for a nice stroll round.again we enjoyed sailing on the oceana.
TIP.CIVITAVECCHIA. If you dont want to go into rome 1.1/2hrs coach drive go on the courtesy bus to the port gates,walk towards the fort on your right & keep walking keeping the sea to your right 30 min walk,you find a promenade with bars and shops,quite a surprise.
LIVORNO,PISA. Courtesy bus into livorno,off the bus buy a ticket in the information shop it's indicated with an "i".tickets to pisa return were 15euro each.this bus departs at 10am,stop right behind where you get off the courtsey bus in livorno,40 mins into pisa,came back at 2pm.
Again we had a superb cruise with P&O and on the oceana.
PS.oceana we are told is going in for a refit.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended
jew
4 years 10 months ago
Great system for embarking on ship very quickly, cabin available straight away. Cabin clean and comfortable and that was a basic inside. Thought there might have been more hand gel around the ship especially in the main dining rooms and when boarding the ship after time ashore. Tables in Plazza buffet were always clean.

Ship food was good but not wow, adequate choices. Buffet always looked fresh and stations were frequently replenished.

Most of the staff were polite but not "in your face" friendly which suited us just fine.

Loved the entertainment, Headliners Theatre Company certainly earned their money, so energetic and all young and enthusiastic. Great singer Phil Brown who had appeared in many West End productions and had such a silky, smooth voice and charming personality. Other singers, piano players could be enjoyed around the rest of the ship all evening. Guest speakers included an ex SAS man and a toastmaster who were equally very interesting to listen to.

Would sail on the Oceana again but would like to try some other P&O ships first. Have cruised with other companies before so can compare. Thank you for reading.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sue Nash
5 years 1 month ago
The ship was not clean the windows had finger marks all over them our bathroom was not clean when we boarded and the balcony was disgusting that we would not use it. I lost 4 days of the holiday by contacting the norovirus which was rife on the ship, people coming off the previous trip had it bad and I'm sure the ones going on after us will get it at some stage. Why do they not keep the ship in dock until thouroughly cleaned and then screen the passengers before they get on the ship. No it would cost too much and the profits and shareholders would suffer, never mind the paying passengers and then they had the cheeck to charge you for the medical check up and injections. We never saw the Captain the whole time we were on the ship, now we know why he didn't want to mix with the passengers and get the bug. I have never been on such an awful cruise and we have done loads over the years but only 2 with P & O never again it has put me off cruising. If I had been told that the norovirus had been on board the ship I would not have travelled, but I was never told and did not have the choice.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Colin Bartle
5 years 2 months ago
Well the ship really needs a shake up.Looks its age.not as clean when we last went on ship.(june 10)could do better.food can not fault.well staff not intrested,Only 1 was o.k,yes 1.others had long contracts which were coming to a end.The resturant was a joke no leadership from head waiters,waited most nites for table.(freedom),but i put that down to oap,s,who were rude with it.my fault wont book early again,If you got to breakfast early & were sat in a chair that the oap,s used,you had the death look,so we waited for the for them to move on.the entertainment was good,could have been better,still you had to be at the venue before the oap,s,still the bars were clear at nite.i must say i do have not any grudges with the oap,s.????? The capt we saw once,was the annoucments made in the morning,recorded,Not like Hamish reid who mixed with the passengers.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question