Turkey Discussion Forum

Discussions regarding holidays in Turkey.
Hi lisaloo! Like you I have great difficulty coping with the hot weather in this country but it really is different abroad. We always have to go in August as I work in a school but after a day or 2 adjusting I'm fine. Remember you don't have to do anything during the heat of the day. We tend to lie in the sun from about 9 til 11 30 then we're under the umbrella with a book or in the bar having a drink and a game of cards. At around 3 we re emerge into the sun once again. We also go in and out of the pool or sea about 20 times a day - I take an old hat and glasses with me and wear them in the water - my sister and daughter do the same. We don't care what we look like we're not going to be ill ! We save the sightseeing for after the evening meal. Make sure you drink plenty of water. Don't worry I'm sure you'll be fine.
if you cant stand the heat here you wont cope in turkey ive never been but went mallorca when it was 35, that hot you couldnt breath spent whole week in the sea i dont no why you booked for august if the heat gets to you hottest month abroad in my opinion. Heat does feel different abroad ive been sweating today in co durham and had to keep coming in plus you can just jump in the water abroad to cool off.
And no I don't mean tha air???, (conditioning),
I believe the athmosphere is so pure you're able to handle the heat, now I did find it really hot on our first trip to Turkey, but after that it was a breeze and I enjoy it and just love the whole athmosphere, (air included), heat, bright sky, sun, etc., by the way I have bad enough asthma (on three inhalers) and have developed sinisitus since Christmas this year, and the doc., actually said that I would be better off health wise to live in a hot country like Turkey as he said it has the best weather for my health!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!i.e., no smog etc., happy holiday anyway, bye.