Greece and other Greek Island Discussion Forum

Discussions regarding holidays in Greece and other Greek Islands.
Hi :D

Well I have been travelling to the Greek Islands since 1991, Corfu, Crete, Zante, Rhodes, and day visits to Parga, Kefalonia etc.

I understand what you say about fast food bars etc, but I think you will now find these in just about most resorts. Saying that, you will also find greek restuarants serving good food everywhere too!

We have never hired a car and have always been able to get around on whichever island we chose to visit.

Most islands have their own attractions and each give trips to other islands, we went to Corfu last year and visited Albania for the day. I have also been to the mainland from Corfu. From Rhodes we visited the little island of Symi, that also was lovely. From Zante it was a day in Kefalonia etc etc.

We prefer somewhere with a bit of life but not overly crowded, hence we holiday in early October when the weather is still warm but the crowds have died down a little. I am 50 yrs old and my partner is 35 and we both enjoy the same places.

Have a look at some sites for the different islands and see some pictures to help you decide. You can take some advice from feedback sites but I find we all have our own preferences and what I like, you may not.

Hope that helps.
Hi :)
There is a good post on some places that may fit the bill in Corfu by iluvSanGeorge, see this thread
http://www.holidaytruths.co.uk/viewtopic.php?t=106206

In Arillas, certainly there are no burger joints (although a fast food very Greek Grill joint, very good!), but there are two bars that play English/U.S music. Having said that, the tavernas are a place you can stay in all night, and enjoy drinks after your meal. Sunsets at the beach (where there are several tavernas) are delightful. A nice long beach for a stroll, and you can trip into Corfu town on a coach for the evening once or twice