Image of Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort

Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort

13 of 104 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh

4 out of 5 from 16 reviews
5 stars
If you're looking for something a little bit special then this hotel definitely deserves a place on your holiday shortlist. Gazing out on the coral-cluttered waters of the Red Sea Riviera, it sits right on the beachfront so a sun-kissed carpet of sands.

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Clean and friendly hotel
6 years 9 months ago
Food very good, plenty of choice.

Hotel very clean. Bedding and towels changed daily.

A bit of a way from the main road. We just wanted to relax so no problem.

Staff were very attentive. Entertainment - we never bother.

We had room 4227 which was a good position overlooking the gardens. Right next to the adult only relax pool, few minutes walk to the shopping mall and to the reception.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Dr Samer
7 years 3 months ago
We chose this hotel based on an excellent past experience in its brother Reef Oasis Beach hotel during 2007 where we enjoyed our time so much and moreover we also expected to have a better quality of everything as we have heard that it is better than the elder beach hotel specially it has a premium rate
Our trip was from 3rd -7th of June 2010, the first trouble we faced was that the hotel name and location was not known to anyone in Sharm El Sheikh and there has been no sign to guide car drivers for the location however all neighbour hotel has signs at the beginning of the drive way to let people know where the hotel is.
Once arrived to the hotel we checked in easily to a well furnished clean and spacious
room and with some negatives like the TV was small and old fashioned compared to other hotels in Egypt who most of them have big LCDs, second the mini bar was not working efficiently and its door did not close, Third the Air condition was not powerful enough to cool the room during the hot day times
The hotel architecture is simple and not luxurious but I like simple designs
The location of the rooms deserve the word very bad as most of them are on gardens not looking at any swimming pools and no rooms have a sea view
The location of the hotel is far from Neama bay and you have to take the shuttle bus then a taxi to get out of the hotel
Coming to food and drinks you can find whatever you are looking for but you have to spend some effort to travel between food and drinks outlets according to a challenging schedule put by the hotel management and coming to the quality and as I am Egyptian and familiar with what is good and what is bad in this country I would judge the quality of food to equal a 3 to 4 stars hotel with very low to average quality of everything (Juice, Bread, cheese, oil, Chips, meat, fish, fruits .....etc ). Surprisingly when we planned to get the dinner in the fisherman's restaurant, we found that all the fish included for the all inclusive package are the lowest quality of frozen fish in the Egyptian markets which we normally do not eat which proved to me that the management is very conscious to saving
The desserts are their biggest problem; Most of the hotels serve better qualities
If you are Egyptian accompanying your family, watch out as the staff is exchanging a very bad language at the hotel depending on the fact that few guests can understand Arabic
At the end I would say that we enjoyed our trip because we are in sharm however disappointed from the hotel management and policies
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas

Emily
7 years 5 months ago
We just came back from reef oasis blue bay and we thought it was fantastic the productions what the animation team did were great and hilarious. the hotel was always kept so clean the reception floor you could see your face in and also that there were good bars the carribean bar have a disco on every night from 23:00 and they did the most great food although it was very repetitive and sometimes if you were having the same meal everyday you could loose your apitite overall it ws fantastic i would definately recommend it for first time in egypt the staff could do nothing more for you
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Ht
7 years 6 months ago
to ask a question or to join in discussion about this hotel click here
http://www.holidaytruths.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=130945

Travel operator: none

Recommended
Jim And Rosie
7 years 7 months ago
A difficulty with the Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort lies in the fact that it is entirely self contained. Its a large resort securely enclosed with controlled access with nothing worth visiting beyond the boundary walls - in short there is no point leaving the resort to take in the local area - which has absolutely nothing of any interest whatsoever. Having said that you can have an excellent holiday without ever straying beyond the main gate. It has several restaurants all serving excellent food, many bars, a choice of swimming pools and an extensive beach thats favourite with the snorkel enthusiasts. The staff are excellent and efficient and do not show any favouritism between the people who tip and those who dont. We went all-inclusive which, although rather pricy represented good value and surprised us with the quality and variety of food and drink (alcoholic or otherwise). The room was very good and cleaned daily to a high standard - in fact all the staff, without exception, were remarkably diligent and efficient and looked after us from arrival to our final departure. If you want somewhere to relax, take the sun and enjoy your food, this is the place. And when they say all-inclusive they really mean it - you can go all week without spending a cent. On the downside there are a few shops on site which seem to operate independantly but at prices which are rather over the top. The entertainment is mainly through the animation team and therefore lacks the quality you might get with professional entertainers but they try to compensate for it with enthusiasm.
The beach has a lot of coral so you might find it useful to take rubber/plastic slippers designed to protect your feet if you fancy a paddle.
The only problem we could see lies in the size of the resort. Bear in mind that in this case 'resort' and 'hotel' are the same i.e. the accommodation is spread over a quite a large acreage so the walk from your bedroom to the main dining area or the beach could be a bit of a distance - a couple of minutes if youre lucky but ten to fifteen if you get one of the more distant accommodation blocks. They run a circular bus at fifteen minute intervals which helps but anyone disabled or needing a wheelchair might find this resort rather restricting on their mobility.
So, if you want a top class excellent resort and you are not too worried about straying into the surrounding district this is the place. Ignore any comments you might read regarding the hassle you get from traders or people trying to sell you something - that wont happen within this resort - outside you just take your chances.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
7 years 8 months ago
We stayed at the BBRO during the storms and the hotel coped fantastically with the very difficult conditions and my review does not judge them for their efforts.

We had a junior suite, which were bigger and better appointed than the standard rooms, and you get a seperate breakfast restaurant and seperate beach area with the room.

The hotel is large and ther run a great bus service on their Tuf Tuf, which runs to all major areas from 0700 to 2300.

The staff are the main reason the hotel is enjoyable, very pleasant and they love children.

Hyper clean, even when we had the torrential storms, they had the place up and running within a day.

I found the food to be lacking slightly, for a 5*, although quality was not in question, the range could have been better.

Loads of swimming pools, and more importantly, we never had a problem with sun beds!!!!

The animation team tried hard, mainly by shouting a lot. It is geared up for the european market so don't expect a Butlins style pressentation.


The hotel is a bit out of town, as are most of the higher standard ones, so make use of the reasonably priced hotel limo service. and the free bus into Naama.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Peter Langley
7 years 11 months ago
Just returned home after a wonderful week at Reef oasis Blue Bay Sharm el Sheikh. This was our first time in Egypt and we were not disappointed.We had a lovely room which was spotless,towels were changed every day, room 4152.The main Hotel area and bars were kept very clean, the outside areas were constantly being swept even the path down to the beach.The Pools were also cleaned every day.
We ate breakfast and lunch in the Seabreeze Restaurant,the food was always well presented and very tasty, plenty of choice as well.The different Breads were superb.For our main evening meal we used the Main Buffet Restaurant,the choices were brilliant, meat cooked to perfection,the cakes and pastries were to die for.
The Hotel staff were so helpful and could not do enough for you,we never had to wait for our plates to be cleared or wait for our drinks to be replenished.
I cannot say much about the Entertainment as we only watched the Egyptian night which was very good. the Animation team worked very hard,were always smiling, always ready to help you if they could.
My wife and I will definitely be going back to the Reef Oasis, the sooner the better , can,t wait.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Amanda Eddy
8 years 2 months ago
Resort was fantastic, very clean and staff were amazing in every aspect from the bell boys to the restaurant staff. Snorkelling off the pontoon fantastic don't bother going on any trips for this as it is far better at the resort.

Food was outstanding, we ate almost every night in the buffet restaurant, tried the Italian but the food a far better standard at the buffet restaurant, Akram at the buffet was fantastic always smiling and very attentive, also the manager and Zack great people and really care anout the standards of the restaurant, if you leave something on your plate they will ask if all was OK with the food. We could not fault this hotel the rooms and pools were lovely and plenty to do here, the "pub" and carribean bar were great and staff everywhere were just fantastic.

The only down side to our holiday was the transport on a 2 day trip to Cairo, collected at 1.15am and taken to a motorway roadside where we waited for our "coach! to Cairo, this turned out to be a mini bus with no reclining seats and air conditioning that can only be described as a puff of air, we were exhausted and could hardly cope with the sightseeing on the first day, hardly the relaxing journey described by the reps who failed to advise us we may end up on an uncomfortable mini bus for 14 hours, even though they have received complained about this before, when you complain one of the reps seemed to think this was about him and lacked the customer service skills you would expect from your local postman who you hardly see, let alone a company representitive you would expect to be skilled in this department. not cheap either as it cost over
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
8 years 4 months ago
What a fabulous hotel. From the moment we arrived we were looked after. A golf buggy took us to our room and then our cases were brought along a bit later. There was fruit and soft drinks already there for us. We had upgraded to a junior suite which was worth it. A little bit of advice re tipping if you are staying for one week do it at end of stay if you are staying two weeks do it middle of second week. They make most of their wages on tips so dont be to mean as they realy do look after you. If you like birds their are wild Kestrals in the area which are a real privelege to see. Went into Nama Bay what a nightmare. You are pounced upon from the moment you get out of the taxi. I felt very uncomfortable. Food is good at the hotel as there is something for everyone. This hotel is spotless. The location is just up from the airport but you do not hear the planes as they do not come over you. Entertainment needs to be addressed as it realy is very poor. They are trying as they acctually brought in belly dancers to entertain last week. Would I go back oh most definately.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: PORTLAND

Recommended
Paul And Tina
8 years 6 months ago
We have had an absolutely fabulous time here. Everything from check in to check out was great. Our room was very large and spotless, the young lad who cleaned our room was so attentive, with flowers and towels folded into different shapes laid out on the beds practically every day. The whole complex is beautiful and the Gardeners do a really good job. The food was excellent with an amazing selection every evening, we particularly enjoyed the Italian restaurant and booked in twice during our stay. There are several pools to choose from and each one has plenty of sun beds, the beach is very nice and the snorkelling is fantastic, you have to get in off a jetty as the coral reef is bang up to the beach and is obviously protected. We have never seen so many different fish their colours were beautiful. Everyone we came into contact with was so cheerful and ready to help with a smile! Nothing was too much trouble. We have already booked to go back next March - can't wait :)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.