Image of Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotel

Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotel

11 of 16 hotels in Sliema

3 out of 5 from 21 reviews
3 stars
Dive Systems Malta, Tower Point - Exiles Triq It - Torri, Tas-Sliema SLM 1601, Malta
The Hotel Plaza and Plaza Regency are sister hotels joined by an internal walkway. Guests return year after year to the warm welcome of this hotel. Set on a beautiful sea front, located near a 3km promenade, with local shops, bars and restaurants.

21 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
William Vincent
Possibly the best situated hotel in Sliema.
3 years 3 months ago
Room 225
1. Due to hotel situation: The busiest/noisiest outside. Bus stop outside. Refuse wagon parks outside 0400-0500 hrs. every am. engine running, crusher operating).
Very popular restaurant below.
2. Any inspector worth his salt would condemn the bathroom out of hand as unsafe(dangerous) - broken bath grab handle - very loose shower wall fixing - and unsavoury (broken/mouldy tiling).
3. Housekeeping - filthy carpet - bed making a joke (we re-did it ourselves) thus discovering one could read through the holey sheets - no dusting done.
4. Double booking Halfway through holiday - room next door (daughter & son-in law) more guests - complete with key - entered room (how many keys per room?)
5. Apparently rep. does not attend hotel (attends Plaza reception - but no one saw fit to tell us!)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thompson/Skytours

Hotel tip: Don't go in the Regency bit!

7 years 11 months ago
Hotel cleanliness was ok but it has to be said that the rooms were a bit dull and in need of some refurbishment ie stains on carpets,skirting boards and doors varnish eroded.
It appeared that some rooms have been going through some updating with new brighter wood doors with keycard access.I think these were the rooms with full sea view so the majority have had no updating.
There was some work in progress with new doors to the restaurant as well so there looks as if there is a plan to continue updating.

Food:Breakfast was the usual fayre juices,cereals,cooked breakfast or cold meats/cheese,breads tea or coffee.
Everything was eatable but I wasn't too keen on the cereals ( low quality )and I could only find skimmed milk which I personally dont like.

Dinner was reasonable with the soups particularly good.There was a choice of three cooked main dishes and a selection of vegetables and there was always plenty of salad dishes as well.
I found the sweet dishes rather repetitive for my taste however they were tasty and there was always three ice cream choices if nothing caught your eye.
Overall the food choice for a weeks stay was acceptable but if staying for more than that it may start to feel repetitive.

Hotel location:This hotel is in Sliema (just),St Jullians is a few metres around the corner.
If you have a sea view room you will have beautiful view of the bay to wake up to.
Turn left outside the hotel and you can walk to St Jullians and then to Paceville if you like plenty of nightlife.
If you turn right you can take a walk along the promenade to the centre of Sliema and a variety of shops, many that will be well known to you like M&S,BHS,Next....
If you don't wish to walk then there are regular buses into town and to most areas of the island from just outside the hotel.
They are a very inexpensive way to explore the island but many are of the "bone shaker" variety but are fun to use.
The only downside I found location wise is that the hotel is on a busy road with more or less constant traffic and can be a bit noisy at night when in bed .
It all depends on your room location.

Hotel Staff:Had an initial problem on checking in(given room without balcony when I had booked a room with balcony)Reception eventually rectified the situation but only after I politely refused to accept nothing less than what I had booked.
There was no "welcome to the Plaza hotel and enjoy your stay" but you rarely get that at many hotels unless its 4+* hotels.Its a pity because it only takes a few seconds to do.
The restaurant staff were polite and usually said good morning /evening as were the cleaners.

Entertainment:Cannot comment as I did not use but other guests said it was ok in small doses.

I haven't been put off this hotel completely.
It was competitively priced and as such I would return here if a suitable price was on offer.

If you are looking for a basic hotel with a central location and good access to shop and nightlife close by and you can get a good deal on price then this may be an option to consider
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: lowcostholidays.com

Recommended
Tosca
9 years 3 months ago
The hotel is in an excellent situation.
My daughter and son in-law and my wife and myself stayed in the self catering appartments in seperate rooms, Both rooms had fantastic views across the bay and along the coast.
My son and his partner stayed in the hotel section in a room on the second floor with views that were obscured by trees.
The self catering rooms are newly refurbished and are excellent, the hotel room looked a little tired and needed a good clean!
The towels were changed on a daily basis but were DISGUSTING! They were dirty, smelly and on one occasion had the previous users hair on them.
The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis but not to a very good standard. We were there for three weeks and the same hair was on the floor of the bathroom from day one to our departure!
The pool is small but adequate, but the sunbathing area is far too small for the size of the hotel. Not enough beds and what there are are on top of each other.
The air conditioning is on a timer and will not be on when you realy need it, ie when you are getting ready to go out for the evening.
The air con in my sons room sounded like a tractor starting up and nothing was done when reported several times. The iron in our toom was broken in two pieces when we arrived and reported to the reception and the cleaners but nothing was done about it during our stay.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Malta Direct

10 years 1 month ago
when we all checked in we were split in the 2 hotels our 4 yr old didnt even have a bed she had to share with me.someof the rooms had 3 beds and only 2 people in them, the aparts were not allocated properly to suit peoples needs. we found the hotel staff not very friendly at all. the entertainment would have suited deaf people.one of our party had money taken from his room which really disappointed all of our party (35 people) there wasnt any real life in the hotel so we wouldnt stay there again in fact dont think i would go to malta again. the breakfast was ok the same every day tho but enjoyable we all thought.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

C Fisher
10 years 3 months ago
Just returned from the plaza hotel and what a relief but for haveing brill weather thats all i can say.I have stayed in better 2 stars than this bathroom towels was a disgrace i have better dusters. The students are noisey and take up all the sunbeds which these are pushed that close together you feel like the person next to you is on top of you. Food bland, our bedroom was that small that when we went to the bathroom the bed was that close to the door we could not open it fully. Will not be returning to this hotel or malta!!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: panaramer

William Speirs
10 years 4 months ago
This hotel was very good great view from balcony

Entertainment on rooftop bar 5 nights

Pool was very good also on rooftop

Food was lovely differnt choice each night and plenty of choice and the sweet trolley was something else

Hotel was very clean and maids in every day staff was very pleasant

Hotel location more near St Julians Bay

Will go back here as plenty to do and see
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: dirct holidays

Recommended
Sheila Watts
10 years 5 months ago
We arrived at the hotel at 3am we had room 141 in plaza side of hotel

It was an excellent room. Only to be woken at 7am by workmen who were installing a new lift shaft right next door to our room. The work went on until 5.30 every day. At times on leaving our room we had to step over powertools such as a drill angle grindder arc light pipes and a number of other things . Even though the work men were very appologetic. This was the same on every floor at the back of the hotel There was make shift doors to the lift shaft, which I found left wide open without any one or thing to stop any little child going towards the bright light which was shinning down the shaft. I found this very disturbing and have reported this matter I hope it will be sorted soon
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel house

Johanna
10 years 10 months ago
We stayed here over the new year, it was a last minute booking and Im glad I did'nt pay full price.

They put us in a blue room and blue it was.

You could upgrade to a room with furniture but not worth it only there for the week.

The breakfast was not too bad but dinner was horrendous.We ate out most nights, Mezzas the resturant under the hotel was really nice and the cafe caras was good too you must have the hot chocolate.

All in all I will never stop at this hotel ever again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Kim & Pat
11 years 1 month ago
Arrived home yesterday and this has to have been one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in.

The room was OK but the water was only warm enough for a shower or bath for two out of seven nights.

The food was not very good, you had to get to the restaurant really early and join the scrum to get anything hot or before they ran out of the basics. We ended up eating out for 5 of the 7 nights. The toilets at the hotel pool bar were unusable - filthy dirty and overflowing, they have to be a health hazard.

The staff are rude and clearly have forgotten how to smile and have never learn't their please's and thankyou's. Our cleaner, however, was cheerful and always had a hello and a smile for you. The receptionists occasionally said "you're welcome" when you thanked them.

The hotel is listed as a three star ans apparently is looking for another star, in my opinion they should have a star removed. Nearly everyone I spoke to at this hotel felt the same as me.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Gemma
11 years 3 months ago
We arrived in the early morning to the hotel and we were booked into the Plaza side of the hotel. We paid extra for a balcony with side sea view room and where amazed by the views when we awoke in the morning.

Breakfasts were really good with lots of choices, cooked breakfast, cheeses, fruit, breads and cereals.
Meals on a evening where very nice, and they always have English dishes. I am a vegetarian and they gave me a menu on a morning of a choice of around five dishes.

The views from the rooftop pool are amazing and you could sit up the for hours watching the world go by.
The roof top pool also has a bar which serves 'snacks' (portion sizes where big.

The rooftop bar is also open till 12.30am and has entertainment on a wed to Sunday night. The inside bar was closed when we were there but it was warmer enough to stay out.

They are many bars near the hotel and a walk along the sea front is lovely on a night. We stayed in Malta when the towns where having festivals going on so there was entertainment always going on in the streets and fireworks. A very romantic town, with brilliant views, we we be returning.

Would recommend the hotel to anyone
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.