52 independent reviews of Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Playa del Carmen Location

4/5
Playa del Carmen is rated 4 out of 5 from 52 Reviews

Playa del Carmen Hotels

Playa del Carmen Reviews

5/5


Keith Lewis visited here on September 2006
Playacar is a purpose built resort with the hotels and villas etc being built around an 18 hole golf course. It was absolutely spotless. The beach was as well, pure white sand looking out over a turquoise sea. Lots of sunbeds. The beach shelves a bit into the sea so sometimes the waves were a bit rough for the younger kids. The only problem I saw with the beach was at the North end of Playa del Carmen where the fishing boats were moored. Lots of fish heads floating in the sea and some had washed up onto the beach, but that was only on a 100 metre stretch of the miles long beach.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


McBabe visited here on August 2006
Playacar is an exclusive gated resort on the edge of Playa Del Carmen which was within walking distance or 5 dollars in a taxi. The beaches are white sand and the sea a beautiful bright blue.
It was about an hour from Cancun airport.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Jeff Hall visited here on July 2006
The resort itself is very clean....the beach is as you would expect from the carribean....perfect.

There was Kyaking, pedalos, jet skis, banana boat, windsurfing, yachting & paragliding.....lots to do!

I would definately visit again!!!
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


mal visited here on July 2006
The small plaza in Playacar is just a 10 minute walk (if that)down the tree lined road. Which is nice to go for that evening stroll. It is extremely clean and well lit. There are also phones situated here so you can call back home. Playa Del Carmen, is a short taxi ride, with bars, shops and restaurants. The ferry, which runs back and forth,every hour, also goes from here to the island opposite, enabling you to visit the island with ease. The beach is kept spotless.Hotgel staff constantly collecting glasses and asking if you need anything. Not only was there a \'flag\' system in place for swimming, but there was also a lifeguard on duty ALL day. Not only ...
was he on duty, but he could be see doing his job and looking out for the safety of people in the sea and on the beach.I have been to Playacar 3 times and next year will be my fourth. So yes, I am definately vising Playacar again.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


williams visited here on July 2006
The beach is superb with all the watersports free.

We did go paragliding which was good value at 100 dollars for 3 people. The carribean is crystal clear ,after a 10 hour flight it all seems worth it.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Jenkins family visited here on June 2006
We stayed in Playacar - the hotel area of Playa Del Carmen.

Playacar is small with a small parade of tourist shops which were pleasant enough.
Playa del Carmen was easy to get to (approx 3 taxi ride) but a little dissappointed with what was there.
Not a large shopping area but nevertheless some decent stuff available.
Plenty of tourist shops also and a medium to high hassle level with some of the stall / market holders.
We felt very safe and would recomment a visit.

Some interesting tours / trips available to other parts of Riviera Maya...and some great golf courses.
Playacar looks very challenging and very expensive (100 green fee, plus club hire). We played the Iberostar course at ...
Play Paraiso - free transport to and from our hotel , 60 green fee plus club hire. Includes buggy and all snacks and drinks around the course (snack buggy visited us almost every couple of holes!) and in the clubhouse afterwards. Really enjoyed it.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


poppy visited here on May 2006
Riviera maya - is a quiet hotel based part of the yucatan peninsular, but it is located close to the fantastic attractions such as Tulum, Xcaret, xel ha etc..
Beaches very nice - plently of watersports.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Hamilton visited here on April 2006
The resort comprises only of the extensive, self contained, all inclusive hotel site. Six Restauarants, many pools, bars etc. Large Spa complex. Man made beaches (very clean but gritty)and sea lagoons. On site excursion operator. There is a marina and condos nearby called Puerto Avantras, but this would not be considered a resort.
Nearest resort Playa Del Carmen - $15 taxi ride or Cancun -$100 Taxi Ride
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
2 stars

3/5


Mr & Mrs Henshall visited here on April 2006
The hotel is in a gated community with residential houses which are owned by the local wealthy, so our guide told us. Within this area is it immaculately clean and tidy. Outside reminded me of a dusty/developing Florida.

The roads were wide and straight and everything was spread out, like in Florida. Playacar is a nice town and you can get the boat over to Cozumel. It felt very safe, next time we go we may even hire a car.

The beach is lovely, very clean but not that wide. The water is warm and clear. We can recommend swimming with the dolphins and manatees at X-Caret to make your holiday really special.

We\'ve been to the Dominican Republic and ...
Jamaica in recent years (staying in other Riu hotels) and this is by far the best hotel and resort.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


jeanette greatorex visited here on March 2006
There were no tummy upsets in the resort that I was aware of and we as a family didnt even have any sort of upset tummies.

The resort entertainment was awesome, something for every one and every age group and very professional and the best I thought was the circus. I sat absolutley stunned at the performers.

The beach as I said was jsut so lovely and we sat and fed the fish around our legs in the water, there were lots of people snorkeling and getting very excited about what they could see.

I would definately go back to this resort.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


The Joneses visited here on March 2006
Playacar was great- ignore the entertainment rating, since all the hotels are AI there is no need for entertainment outside of them.

The beach was lovely- it is manned by a lifeguard and so long as you obey the flags it is perfectly safe to go in the sea, which is shallow a long way out-perfect for kids.

The area itself is gated and the public areas are beatifully maintained. In the hotel area is the Playacar Plaza shopping area- probably a dozen or so shops, but perfect for souvenir shopping if you don\'t fancy the trip into Playa.

I think it is a perfect holday spot and we would return without a doubt
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Happy Honeymooner visited here on February 2006
Beach is lovely! Watch out for the big dip when walking into the sea tho! Also beware of the little reef sharks when its calm (if you dont know what they are you could have a heart attack like myself)!!!!

Swim with the dolphins - very good price & we had the best time ever.

Would definately recommend this hotel, we will def be going back to another Iberostar!!!
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Liza visited here on September 2005
The resort of Riviera Maya was very clean. Didn\'t see any additional entertainment in the area - but where all the hotels were all inclusive it wasn\'t really a requirement of the area. It was nice that would could go to the sister hotel across the road for meals and the beach if wanted to. The beach was very clean with Golden Sand and lovely clear turquoise waters. Would definitely return to the area if I went to Mexico again
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Tina visited here on September 2005
We chose an excellent resort for our holiday, very relaxing & laid back.
Beach was of a very high standard and the water was crystal clear.
There are few shops in Playcar, though you could walk or get a taxi into Play del Carmen for a wider selection, where there were also plenty of bars & restaurants.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Holidaymaker visited here on June 2005
Playa del Carmen was lovely, plenty of really nice bars and restaurants and the beach was to die for. Having stayed in Cancun a few years previously, we much preferred this resort as it is slightly less commercialised.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


jo pink visited here on April 2005
The Tequilla is a great family hotel. the staff are very hard working and I have no complaints at all about this hotel.

I travelled with my two girls aged 19 and 10 years. Its difficult planning a holiday with the age gap but there was things to do for the two of them, gentle persuasion around the pool during the day to participate in the games,and lots of shows by the entertainment team on an evening.

The staff never stop they are great. Food excellent like I've never experienced before something for everyone.

Definitely go back.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Mrs Margaret Kane visited here on August 2004
The resort was spotless with staff cleaning all day, the entertainment could have been alot better, but some shows not too bad. The beach was lovely and clean, I would definitely reccomend the Riu Palace to anyone who likes a high quality holiday and I will definitely be back
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
2 stars

4/5


Zoe Osborn visited here on August 2004
I have put 2 for resort entertainment as there wasn\'t really any there which was ok by me. If you are wanting a holiday where you want to go out alot then this isn\'t the place to go as you will have to get taxis all the time. But if you want an extremely relaxing holiday where the surroundings are nice and the people are friendly then this is the place to go.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Duncans visited here on June 2004
The resort of Playacar is very quiet however, their is a small number of shops selling local arts and crafts. You can reach Playa del Carmen by taxi which is very cheap, there are bars and plenty of shops, silver jewellery is fantastic value and very good quality

The beaches are fabulous well kept with no sign of litter.

We intend returning to Playacar in 2007
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Kim visited here on November 2003
I\'ve been here twice and still as good as the first.

It is not too commercialised for Mexico. It has many shops, bars and restaurants, but nothing tacky like Cancun.

The bars are generally scattered on the beach and the restaurants are a good mixture. The shops are everything from people selling local crafts or silver to Ralph Lauren bikinis.

Nothing is high rise, so even though it is more developed then nearby islands, it does not give that impression.

Good for familes, couples or singles.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars
Quick hotel find:
4/5
Aventura Spa Palace Resort Hotel  stars Aventura Spa Palace Resort Hotel
Address: Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal | Riviera Maya, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico

Latest Review: May 2007

Ranked #15 of 18 hotels in Playa del Carmen

4/5
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort Hotel  stars Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort Hotel
Address: Chetumal-Pto Juarex KM.250 Local B Akumal, Riviera Maya Sur 77760

Latest Review: Jul 2011

Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in Playa del Carmen

5/5
Club El Mandarin Hotel  stars Club El Mandarin Hotel
10 minutes from Playa del Carmen this hotel offers easy access and transportation to a lot of attractions, Xel-Ha, Puerto Aventuras, Xcaret and the Archaeological sites, Chichen Itza, Coba and Tulum.

Latest Review: Apr 2005

Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Playa del Carmen

5/5
Club Hotel Riu Tequila Hotel  stars Club Hotel Riu Tequila Hotel
Address: Avenida Xaman-ha, Manzana 3, Lote 19 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

Latest Review: Jan 2013

Ranked #10 of 18 hotels in Playa del Carmen

4/5
El Dorado Royale Spa Hotel  stars El Dorado Royale Spa Hotel
Address: Km 45 Carretera municipio de solidaridad, 77710, Mexico

Latest Review: Jan 2012

Ranked #14 of 18 hotels in Playa del Carmen

5/5
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel  stars Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel
Address: Carretera Chetumal Km 309 Riviera Maya 77710 Mexico

Latest Review: Jun 2007

Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Playa del Carmen

5/5
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Hotel  stars Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Hotel
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309 Playa del Carmen Mexico

Latest Review: Apr 2008

Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Playa del Carmen

4/5
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Hotel  stars Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Hotel
Address: Xaman-Ha | Lote Hotelero 2, Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

Latest Review: Jan 2011

Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Playa del Carmen

5/5
Iberostar Tucan Hotel  stars Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero, No.2 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

Latest Review: Dec 2012

Ranked #8 of 18 hotels in Playa del Carmen

4/5
Occidental Grand Xcaret & Royal Club Hotel  stars Occidental Grand Xcaret & Royal Club Hotel
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 282, #307 | Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

Latest Review: Jun 2008

Ranked #17 of 18 hotels in Playa del Carmen

5/5
Riu Palace Mexico Hotel  stars Riu Palace Mexico Hotel
Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha Manzana 3 Lote 4 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

Latest Review: Feb 2009

Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Playa del Carmen

5/5
Riu Palace Riviera Maya Hotel  stars Riu Palace Riviera Maya Hotel
Address: Av Xaman-Ha Mza 9 y 10 Lote 1 Int. Fracc. Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

Latest Review: Jun 2005

Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Playa del Carmen

4/5
Riu Playacar Hotel  stars Riu Playacar Hotel
Address: Avenida Xamen-Ha | Manzana 3, Lote 6, Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

Latest Review: Aug 2007

Ranked #15 of 18 hotels in Playa del Carmen

5/5
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa Hotel  stars Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa Hotel
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal | Km 295, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

Latest Review: Jul 2013

Ranked #11 of 18 hotels in Playa del Carmen

5/5
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun  stars Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Chetumal - Pueto Juarez Km. 306.5 Maroma , Playa del Carmen, QROO 77710 Mexico

Latest Review: Mar 2012

Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Playa del Carmen

5/5
The Royal Playa del Carmen Hotel  stars The Royal Playa del Carmen Hotel
The Royal in Playa del Carmen has risen on the foundation of The Royal Porto Real, one of the most successful Adults Only beachfront resorts on the Riviera Maya. Like its sister property, The Royal in Cancun, guests will discover an explosion of luxury.

Latest Review: Aug 2009

Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Playa del Carmen

5/5
Tropical Escape Hotel  stars Tropical Escape Hotel
Address: Avenida Primera Entre Calle 10 Y 12 | 1st Avenue between 10th and 12th street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

Latest Review: Mar 2008

Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Share