Image of Presidente Hotel

Presidente Hotel

3 of 9 hotels in Portinatx

4 out of 5 from 77 reviews
3 stars
Cala Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja
Set on a hillside amid pine and juniper, the Hotel Presidente commands stunning glimpses of the pretty cove below.

77 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    36
  • Very Good
    29
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
ANON
Nice Hotel........shame about the late night noise every night!
5 years ago
Everything about this holiday was great (location, staff, food, cleanliness etc) but the noise from 9-12pm was unrelenting every night. This was mainly due to the vast majority of residents returning from the bar after the entertainments had finished. The majority of guests showed little consideration for people trying to sleep and for their own young children. Oh well as long as they got their fill of BINGO and all inclusive beer then who cares what sort of noise levels they created while staggering back to their rooms.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Stevens
6 years 11 months ago
Very disappointed with accommodation for family of 4 - only 2 beds! Room very small. As our children will not sleep together one of our party spent the entire week sleeping on the floor! Not what you expect at alleged "luxury hotel". No other option available, put-you-up bed not available (no space for it anyway), hotel full so could not change room. Think website should make it much much clearer that only 2 queen sized beds is standard for family of 4. Decor rather tired and bathroom needs updating. Balcony extremely small with only 2 chairs for 4 people. Drinks and ice creams very expensive and hotel staff surly on occasions. Entertainment mediocre.

Good points - beautiful location, weather superb, food good and plentiful, Thomson reps good. Health and safety awareness good - swimming pool closed one day for 4 hours and disinfected due to child being ill in it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Helen
7 years 10 months ago
We arrived at the hotel at half seven in the evening and we were able to have our evening meal.
I was alittle worried as i was a vegetarian but i needn't have as there was alot of choice and a separate bit for the kids though they could choose from the rest too. The drinks were expensive here and I would recommend you get any drinks from a shop called Boozy Buys it's in the square on the other side of the beach but it's worth the walk for the savings. The rooms were cleaned and towels changed every day. The air con is a must and we slept sound with it on in the night. The children loved this hotel as there was so much for them to do here, there are day and evening clubs, though a couple charged 3 euros as some snacks were included but for a couple of hours is well worth it and the children were occupied constantly. We didn't take much notice of the evening entertainment but we did have the odd game of bingo. The childrens Razzamatazz club had a show a couple of times a week and this was the best entertainment, my daughter loved this and did it twice. They have a rule for sun loungers that you cannot reserve them before 9am as any before then left unattended the towels will be removed, I must admit thought I never once saw towels removed and alot of people would just come down early with a book and at 9 o clock all go for breakfast, I guess people will always try to get around it. We didn't have a problem getting loungers after our breakfast. The location was abit out the way and quiet but this is what we like so it was ideal and there are lovely views of the bay.
We would definately stay at this hotel again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Viv Jihn& Bethany
8 years ago
This is the second time we have stayed here with our grandchildren, Last year with a 4 year old boy, this year with an 8 year old girl. They both thought it was fantastic.Myself I'm not sure,yes the entertainment was good, but sorry Nathan you're not as good as Johnny.
The visiting entertainers were not as good as last year. Too much repartition. Thanks to Allison from Stoke your participation was better than some of the Entertainment gang. Nacho the clown, and in his other roles was superb. His chicken dance has to be seen to be believed
The hotel is spotless,rooms are adequat. The sea view rooms over the dining room have stunning views but the noise from the air con units kept us awake, even with ear plugs, so this time we opted for a standard room & slept peacefully.
The food is very good, plentiful & fresh, but I was not impressed by the children's buffet not even my grand daughter wanted chips for breakfast. We thought snack bar & bar prices quite steep (& not only due to the poor exchange rate, as is that hill. Just keep telling yourself "I think I can, I think I can, get to the top of the Hill" it worked for us.
The beaches are superb, & the water park is great for the kids big & small. Get your day tickets from El Grecco Reception, this year its 12 euros for adults & 6 for children, but drinks and icecreams are free all day & you can get a pass out to go into to the village to get sandwiches or other essentials.
Having said that Portinx is a bit of a one horse town. The walley train & a couple of buses are the some total of transport, the shops are not riveting either. But where ever you sit or walk the views are fabulous.
As a couple we wouldn't go back but as grandparents its ideal. Kids club poolside activities, good all round family fun.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

A. Brownbill
8 years 1 month ago
Went for a short break which we thoroughly enjoyed. Hotel is clean and had everything we needed if not more. The food was buffet style and was fresh and served hot every night. There was plenty of choice and even people who are fussy eaters will find something they like. Drinks in the hotel are a little pricey, at breakfast your drinks are free but you have to pay for them with your evening meal but we found that drinks were expensive all over the Island. The location of the hotel was stunning as it looked over the bay and our room had a sea view but it was tiering walking up from the beach as the hill was rather steep and I wouldn't recommend it for people with walking difficulties. The entertainment in the hotel was more towards the children however on some nights there was some entertainment for the adults but you do really need to participate as you may find it boring we actually loved it and had a good laugh sometimes at our own expense. The staff are really friendly and work extremely hard to keep this hotel going. The rooms were cleaned every day and we were given clean towels. Portinax itself was a bit disappointing as it was very quiet although a beautiful bay - if you want peace and quiet then this is the place to go but if you like it a little more lively then you may find it quiet boring. Holiday overall was excellent and I would recommend it and would certainly go again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson/Ryan Air

Recommended
Reeder
8 years 8 months ago
Hotel a little dated but kept well maintained and clean.Hotel staff are friendly and helpfull. Emma on reception is very nice and very informative.
Restaurant is modern and bright seems to have been been modernised at some point.Food was great different every night for two weeks.Children have their own clown section small but ok.
Now for entertainment,not good.Kiddi Kiddi all the way.Day-horseshoe tossing, Skittles,killer pool,football 3 days week one, 1 day week 2 and that was only because the sun came out and Jonny did it. The football,shooting,ect man went home 2nd week so that all stopped.There was a daily quiz at 2pm for adults.Yipee something to do.All the reviews we read about noisy reps and them always asking you to take part when relaxing was nothing like in october not even any music. You could find a rep in dellboys bar at lunchtime if u needed one.Kids clubs were good though always sempt full.
Pool bar expensive normal menu nothing to shout about.
Now for the night entertainment 2 nights out of 14 were good. Zappers quiz night brill and Tom Jones was a good act.As for the rest i have never been to a Thomson hotel with as many poor acts.Childrens part 8.30-9.45, Show 10-11,11-11.15 big fish little fish dance.You will know this and be downloading it to your ipod when you get home.Trust me.
Bar expensive to say the least.
It was as though the last two weeks before it closed nobody from Thomson could be bothered. All reps looked miserable a couple spoke and broke a smile.
Advertised trips to waterpark,Closed.Ibiza town closed at lunchtime.Hire a car cheap at this time of year you will need one.
Got a lap top take it they have free internet. Use their computers 1 euro gets you 15mins.My eldest fed it nightly.
To top if off weather was not good 2nd week cloud and rain and very cool.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Helen
8 years 9 months ago
on arrival we were checked in quickly and made our way to our room, we had paid extra for a sea view which was stunning , but there was a big problem we didn't forsee which was the constant noise from the stage below us which didn't stop until 11.30pm then there was the noise from the plastic furnature being scraped across the tiles until midnight, not ideal if you have small children to get to sleep ,so we moved to a room at the rear of the hotel where it was so quiet it was bliss.The rooms are very small ,basic but cleaned daily,and you will have to pay extra for fridges,safes etc.All the areas of the hotel seemed clean, and the food was excellent although mealtimes where a bit hectic.it would have been nice if some of the guests had bothered to dress up a bit instead of coming to eat in their football strips The pool area wasn't crowded when we were there (late sept ) but there were a few unruly teenagers who spoilt it ,(parents didn't seem to care ) my main gripe with this holiday was the constant hassle and noise from the reps trying to get people to do activities when all you want to do is chill by the pool and the awful blaring chav music coming from the speakers. There was no escape, evening at night if you walked over to the other side of the bay you could still hear it ! it was a bit like butlins in the sun (except it rained for most of the week !! )We like entertainment , music as much as the next person but it was too much .The hotel staff were excellent from the housekeeping to the management, but in all i was really dissapointed with this holiday ,mainly due to the constant badgering from the reps and a small minority of guests who felt that their offsring could do exactly as they wanted without any thought for others,not somewhere i would want to go again or recommend to others
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Tilbury
8 years 9 months ago
we stayed halfboard,food very good.staff exelent.rooms very clean,entertainment noisy and kiddyfied,bar prices extorionet.steer clear of rooms with sea veiw ending with 25 unless you like extractor fans and ductin. very steep hill down to the beach i have to use a stick it took me only 5 mins.but had a taxi back only 4
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended
Ashlie
8 years 10 months ago
Just came back yesterday from the Presidente. Staff in the hotel are very friendly and I must say a special thank you to the restaurant staff who organised a birthday cake and special table for my son's birthday.

The hotel itself is kept very clean, rooms as previously stated are clean but basic. A note on the chiller/fridge, if you are going as a group only hire one key for the fridge, they are all the same! The pool area was very crowded and I thought too small for the size of the hotel but it was very clean and well maintained but it was peak holiday time. Food we found good, better on some days than others. Also I thought it was strange not have water jugs on the tables for dinner, but I suppose this would detract people from purchasing drinks from the waiters.

The hotel is on a hill but it is not as bad as I thought it was going to be. If you go down the hill from the hotel and bear to your left, there is a smaller beach which with young children we thought was much better as you can go out quite a way before it starts to get deeper, also the pedalos are half the price of the one's on the main beach in front of the El Greco Hotel. There are 3 bars on this side, which we found much better value for drinks than the hotel, Gin & Tonic in the hotel 5.20 Euro's, bars down the road, 3.50 Euro's. Again, when we spent evenings in the hotel, we took our own. Some people where just brining carrier bags direct from the Spar! Another point of info, the shop below the hotel is cheapest for sun lotions & inflatables compared to those on the beaches.

Entertainment, I found okay, some days there was something going on all day and the next day nothing, just kids club. I do think more children & adult entertainment is needed during the day. Reps did try hard but have had better entertainment on previous holidays.

The water park opposite the El Greco is adequate for a day's vist which we thoroughly enjoyed. It cost
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Holidays

LS
8 years 10 months ago
Just came back from the Presidente,very clean hotel,food fantastic-choice for everyone.Beautiful location with very friendly,helpful staff.
The Thomson reps where fantastic very hard working,lots of activities for all ages.Our kids loved every moment of this holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMSONS

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.