Image of Safari Apartments

Safari Apartments

5 of 15 hotels in Sa Coma

4 out of 5 from 39 reviews
4 stars
C./ Aritja. s/n 07560 Sa Coma, Spain
Comfortable, convenient and close to the action are how you describe the Safari Apartments. Lots of sports facilities will keep you busy and active, while the beach is close by for a change of scenery.

39 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    14
  • Very Good
    17
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Perfect for families
4 years 7 months ago
We travelled as a family group of 8 with ages ranging from 3 to 72, and we all had a very enjoyable holiday.

The hotel is one of a group of 4, each is self-contained but speciality restaurants and some sports and leisure facilities are shared.

We stayed on an all-inclusive basis in a one-bedroomed apartment. The apartment was spotless and well equipped with 2 couches and a flat-screen TV with BBC and ITV in the lounge area and a kitchenette with fridge, microwave and cooking rings plus a separate bedroom, fully air-conditioned, with a decent sized balcony.

Without exception, the staff were friendly and helpful, even when the hotel was full and they were really busy.

The food was great - plenty of choice in the buffet restaurant, plus snacks available from the Country Grill. There are four speciality restaurants which need to be pre-booked at the Club House on the morning that you want to eat there. The Club House opens at 9 but we found that people started queuing before 8am. The most popular restaurants were the Tapas and the Italian, and we found that to be certain of getting a table in one of those 2 you have to be in the queue before 8.30. However the Argentinian and Country Grills had bigger capacity so we could walk down just after nine to join the back of the queue and still get tickets. You can book for other members of a group but need to take their room card.

We didn't eat at the Tapas restaurant so can't comment other than to say it was usually the first one full. The Italian was nice, with waiter service and wine by the bottle (rather than the pump as provided in the other restaurants). The set menu offered 3 salads or 2 soups to start, pasta, pizza or a choice of a chicken, pork or salmon dish for mains, then 3 desserts. The Argentinian is located in the water park at the back of the complex and served a range of grilled meats and veg with a limited salad and dessert buffet, this was all self-service. The Country Grill was very similar to the Argentinian with less spice added to the meats and again was all self-service.

There were Thomson kids clubs and a hotel mini-club (the latter mainly used by the German guests), a small water park which cost 9euro for AI guests to enter (non-guests paid ~35euro which included all food and drink for the visit), an excellent kid's play area with small pool and water slides, trampolines, playground etc. (no extra cost) and 3 mini golf courses which were also free for AI guests.

Local drinks were included and premium brands could be purchased if required, but the local stuff was more than drinkable. There is a hypermarket nearby of you wanted a particular tipple to drink in your room.

There was entertainment every night; including a Robbie Williams tribute, Beatles tribute and band doing 70s rock covers in addition to the usual daytime activities provided by the Animation team.

Overall we had a fabulous and would return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Christina Pascoe
6 years 6 months ago
Having just returned from Sa Coma last week, we found this hotel and the resort as a whole excellent with friendly staff, good food and a good range of activities.

Yes, it is true to say that there were alot of Germans staying on the resort, but personally I did not find this a problem.

I also feel that it would have been helpful to know that for any activities that you wish to take part in on the resort, you first need to obtain a ticket from your own hotel reception which we were not told.

Finally, if anyone is wondering, on your last night when the maid comes, she is offering a turn down service and a chocolate for your pillow as a gift from the hotel, she does not want to hide chocolate in your bed!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 4 months ago
Have stayed here 4 times so it must be good, the standard of the food is good with a good selection of dishes. The all inclusive option is worthwhile when you have 2 young adults with you, drinks wise it was excellent value. The hotel staff are very good and there was a good bar service. The entertainment was ok if you like that sort of thing, you could sit in the bar and chat or watch. The beach here is lovely. Having been to the resort 4 times each holiday has been different as the kids grow up they want to do different things. The resort is safe at night the only place lively is the kings head which was good for our to girls for a night out.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 4 months ago
This is a big hotel, which was pretty full during our stay, (approx 2000 guests, probably over 50% German).

The Hotel was kept very clean, rooms tidied 5 times a week, however there was rubbish, empty cups and general litter left around the pool areas overnight, the sunbeds are packed so tight together it's impossible to lift them up to clean underneath!

We were very surprised that the pools appeared to be open to allcomers on a 24 hour basis, not at all safe as there were no lifeguards present, with late evening drinkers leaving beer glasses on the patio area walls for the kids to smash.

There are only 2 lifts, which carry only 5 people, and you have to wait an eternity at busy times.

The food was plentiful and OK, all meals in the hotel were buffet style, something for pretty much everybody.

The Hotel also has a number of separate restaurants that are open to AI guests that need to be booked well in advance, (do it as soon as you arrive up at the "Clubhouse" and you may be lucky), these meals were also OK with the exception of "La Luna" in the Sa Coma Playa Hotel opposite, the steak was inedible, I have NEVER tasted meat so tough, also service was very slow.

Hotel location is at the quieter "top end" of Sa Coma, the beach is a 10 minute stroll, a lovely beach, sandy & safe. There are plenty of tourist shops within easy reach of the Hotel, and a bus service runs nearby from S'Illot through Sa Coma, Cala Millor up to Cala Ratjada to the market on Saturdays, (beware of pickpockets in the rugby scrum to get back on the buses, I had my pocket dipped).

Hotel staff were generally very helpful, there are a few girls from the UK working there, we had no problems at all.

The entertainment was a big let down, if you like your evening bingo or quiz sessions you will be disappointed, they have a "mini disco" early evening, then the "entertainment" starts at 9.30, which is normally the Hotel Animation team doing their best to mime to "grease" or "moulin rouge", but there were no "quality" acts of any description whilst we were there. Everything finishes at 11.00pm, I think the bars stay open until midnight or perhaps later, but there's no late entertainment, apart from the drunken swimmers.

You also need to book well in advance if you want to take part in any of the usual games, rifle shooting, volleyball, darts etc, the procedure seems a bit haphazard, our 14 year old daughter was turned away from the "Teens" volleyball as the game was already over subscribed with 40 somethings.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Penny And Pete Cotton
8 years 5 months ago
One of the best all inclusive hotels that we have ever stayed in, and we've visited a few. Our room was superb, clean and spacious. The food was good, plenty of choice for all tastes. At times it could have been slighty hotter but that was the only fault. The "evening grill" has to be booked well in advance so book for it as soon as you get there at the club house.It is well worth it at no extra cost!!!! The staff were always helpful and friendly. The evening entertainment was good, we especially enjoyed the "Rod Stewart" tribute act! We had absolutely no problem in getting 4 sunbeds together up until 9.30am in the morning. There was plenty for our 2 boys to do, football, golf, tennis, squash. We are seriously considering re-booking for 2009.





Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Suzanne Peter Cresswell
8 years 6 months ago
we were very apprehensive about going to this hotel as some comments about this hotel were not very good. got there on the monday and were greeted with lovely staff. room was lovely and spacious and very clean.infact all areas of the hotel pool area,toilets,bar area and restaurants were spotless all the time.the food was great with plenty of choice always hot and plenty of it, staff in restaurant always polite and helpful,booked one nite at the barbecue restaurant which was lovely,plenty of really lovely food cooked just how you like it, take no notice of others who say food is awful, they are just fussy there is something for everyone.Hotel could have been a bit nearer to beach but thats not the fault of the hotel,i just like being straight out of a hotel and onto a beach. The hotel staff cannot do enough for you,the reception staff,waiters,cleaners and finally the entertainment staff were brill, my two children loved all the entertainment that was going on around,the Thomson family reps were brill and i feel that they really made our holiday fab. Some entertainment on an evening could have been better but even so it was still enjoyable, some nights the Protur staff put on a show, Mamma mia,Grease and Disney were great,you couldnt fault the effort that they put in.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Parker
8 years 6 months ago
Definately agree with the previous comment, this is an excellent hotel with something for everyone. Food is great, even my fussy 6 yr old enjoyed the meals and thats saying something. Staff were excellent and the hotel itself is one of the best we've staying in and extremely clean.

The only thing I would grumble about is that towels are put on sunbeds very very early in the morning (there were some even put on the night before) but there were always free beds even if they werent right by the pool.

The Reserva over the road is excellent value and the food superb, even cocktails on tap.

All in all we would definatly visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sarah
8 years 6 months ago
We were really looking forward to going on to this hotel after spending a week in another resort. Well we wished we had came straight home.
The sunbeds are so close together that you have to climb on from the end and if the person you are next to wants their sun unbrella uo then you are completely in the shade. But actually you should think yourself lucky to get a bed unless ofcourse you get up at the crack of dawn to put a towel on one. In the hotels defence they did on our last night put up signs saying no towels on the sunbeds before 9am or they would be removed and sure enough at 8.45 the next morning they removed every towel!!
We found the lifts to be a problem, having to wait for ages.
The amount of Germans at this hotel was amazing, def 20:1 at least so much of the entertainment and animation staff were german.
We were happy we were only there for 3 days.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gail
8 years 6 months ago
Arrived at 4.30am in the morning after a 3 hour delay, very tired and hungry but the night staff were very helpful and even said we could use the resturant for snacks and drinks. We should have realized then about the sunbed situation as even at that time of morning towels were already on the sunbeds!!! I dont mind if people are up at the crack of dawn on their holidays to get sunbeds but when they dont use them all day and just come back mid afternoon that really annoys me.
Did mention to the hotel staff and I have to say that the next morning staff were going around the pool area removing towells off beds that had been reserved before 9am.
Even with the bed situation i have to say that we thought that the safari was a great hotel, it was exceptionally clean for the amount of people staying there, the maids came 5 days out of seven.
The rooms were very spacious and I would say one of the nicest we have ever stayed in.
We have never been all inclusive before but I dont think I could go back to self catering again, we thought that the selection was fantastic something for even fussy eaters! Only down side was the food could have been slightly hotter, really good lunchtime food served in the country grill from 1pm - 3pm and then afternoon tea and cakes from 3-30pm till 5pm.
The hotel staff worked really hard and loved to include as many people as they could for the usual poolside games but they never forced you to join in if you didnt want to. Cant really comment on the evening entertainment as we usually went out for a walk but we did see 2 really good shows.
The Reserva (luxury pool/water park) situated at the back of the hotel was well worth a visit, guests staying at the protur chain could have a reduced cost entry of 11 euro per person all food and drink was included in the price and you were gauranteed a sun bed !!
Overall a fantastic hotel and would definatley return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Pauline
8 years 7 months ago
Have recently returned from a two week holiday at Safari Park Aparthotel and had a really nice time. The hotel was very clean and the gardens were well maintained. The accomodation,a one bedroom apartment on the 5th floor,was excellent. Very comfortable beds and plenty of hanging space and coathangers!! The maid service was very good and the towels were changed every day. The food was slightly disappointing in that it wasn't always very hot but was always being replenished, and not always instantly recognisable without the labels!! Loved the availablity of soft drinks and ice cream throught the day. The location of the hotel was ideal for us, close enough to the shops and beach but far enough away to avoid any night time noise.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: