Image of Audax Hotel

Audax Hotel

5 of 8 hotels in Cala Galdana

4 out of 5 from 14 reviews
4 stars
Carrer dels Pins, 07750 Ferreries, Spain
This outstanding hotel is in one of the finest locations from which to enjoy the unspoilt attractions of Menorca.

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Judith
Lovely Hotel
4 years 1 month ago
Have just returned from a week at this Adults only hotel.


Lovely spacious rooms, ours was on the top floor (7th)overlooking the pool and very quiet.


Tea and coffee facilities in the room. A fridge, safe and toiletries were also provided.


Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the staff were extremely helpful.


The food was good with plenty of choice.


The only negative is that the sunbeds are placed far too close together as the pool area is quite small, there are though some small terrace areas with sunbeds. Didn't bother us as we aren't sunworshippers


Will definitely return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lovely hotel and resort
5 years 1 month ago
Stayed at this hotel HB in October 2012, adults only heavenly. The staff are lovely and so friendly & helpful.

The rooms are furnished with Ikea furniture, beds very comfortable. Free tea & coffee with large carton of UHT milk. Free large safe. Fridge and flat screen TV. We had a room on the front which overlooked the bay, beautiful. Hotel and rooms very clean. We ate mainly in the restaurant on 5th Floor as we thought the ambience better. The food was lovely, our first meal was salmon and the servings were huge, in fact I couldn't finish my fish because it was so big. The food prepared by the chef at the cook station was a great service, steak one night was cooked to perfection, rare. They had scorpion fish cooked to order the same night, I said I had never tried it so the chef put two pieces on my plate with the steak, asked him to take one off, can't eat that much. The lamb steaks were nice too. Desserts yummy. There is free wi-fi in the hotel, which we found quicker to use in the lounge. The snack bar on the pool level served mouth-watering snacks and a great menu of Lavazza coffee to work through. Didn't use the spa, so cannot comment. The entertainment in the lounge and outside cafe finished at about 11.00 so there was no noise after that.

Did a few trip with Thomson. Went to Mahon, had a good walk around, went on a catamaran trip around the harbour, very interesting. Went to Ciudadella, didn't enjoy that so much, very busy, also went to Binibeca, didn't know that it was modern but built in the old style, disappointing. In Cala Galdana, we walked to the gorge, left from the hotel, climbed over three stiles, not like to ones at home, some quite frightening. Right out of the hotel is the cliff, which is a beautiful walk, no need to climb up the rocks because further up the road to the side of the hotel there are wooden steps that go to the top. We went to the Son Martorellet Horse Show, lovely show but wouldn't want to go there in the height of summer as the seats are plastic and would be uncomfortably sticky.

I would recommend this hotel and Cala Galdana for a relaxing and comfortable holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Andy66
Adults only and recently refurbished
6 years 5 months ago
The Audax is now adult only and the rooms are recently refurbished. The rooms have a safe, hairdryer, flat screen TV and tea & coffee facilities and minibar to use. The beds are very comfortable and the room was kept clean throughout our stay.

There are 2 restaurants on the 4th & 5th floor, we had breakfast in 5th and dinner in 4th they both offered good quality food and an enjoyable dining experience. The pool is on the top floor with great views over the resort bay; there is a bar/restaurant which serves really tasty snacks during the day.

In the evening we would use the Blue Cafe bar which had live entertainment which was good and the drinks were served quickly, the bar had a nice setting overlooking the marina/beach. The most impressive feature of this hotel is the friendly staff, with the quality of hotel amenities and good food; it makes this hotel a good choice if you want a relaxing and enjoyable break.

Top tips, the best rooms are on floor 5, 6, 7. Great views, for coffee lovers there is a wonderful Lavazza menu to work your way through.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Chris & Dora
11 years ago
My wife and I visited Menorca for the first time this October and had the good fortune of booking into the Audax Hotel at Cala Galdana.

We had booked a Sea View and were delighted to be allocated a room fully overlooking the bay on the sixth floor.

The room was thoroughly cleaned daily and towels changed as we required.

On our stay we only used the restaurant on the 5th floor and were very pleased with the range, amount, and quality of the food on offer.

Even though I have a food allergy I was able to find plenty of choice every day. It was my fiftieth birthday during our visit, and on the day I received from the management a bottle of quality Cava (Champagne)and in the evening was presented with a cake in the restaurant.

Every evening there was entertainment available in the ground floor bar and this was mostly of a high standard, we particularly enjoyed the Flamenco dancing show.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and we will on our next visit make sure that we take advantage of the Spa facilities available. Next visit? - Yes we will definitely be returning to the Audax.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Louise
11 years 1 month ago
My husband, my 18 month old daughter and I went to Audax knowing that it wasnt a child friendly hotel, which it isnt. BUT we had a fantastic time in Menorca.

We got a sea-view room which wasnt requested which was beautiful and clean. The cot was already in there and bathroom and beach towels were given for my daughter which shocked us. The balcony was a deathtrap for a baby/toddler so we had to keep the door permanently closed, but there was air-conditioning so this didnt matter to us and our balcony was mainly filled with all her beach toys so we couldnt have sat in it anyway!!!

There are two restaurants on the 4th and 5th floors. Both serve the same food but the one on the 4th floor cooks some food infront of you so you can say how rare or well done you would like it.

We stayed in the 4th floor restaurant for breakfast and dinner as this was much more child friendly. The 5th floor one was for all the couples really who wanted a bit of piece and quiet which was fair enough as both served the same food. Every time we entered the restaurant we were instantly taken to a table with a high chair and looked after greatly. The staff were amazing with my daughter and tried to keep her entertained as much as possible.

I only gave the hotel food a 4 as there wasnt much variety. They did have a mediterrain night one a week which was more fish (we dont particularly like fish) but that was it. The rest of the week was pretty much the same food. They could have done with a chinese or indian or italian night for a total change in one of the restaurants.

We didnt stay in for any of the entertainment as we couldnt keep our daughter in one room like that for such a length of time. But the entertainment in the resort goes round each hotel in turn so it didnt matter whether you watched it in your own hotel or another as you eventually got to watch it all anyway. The entertainment was excellent even though we didnt watch it at our hotel.

We had maid service everyday and it was immaculate. We needed this as we were on the beach each day and the room got covered in sand.

The pool was lovely but again the baby pool was a deathtrap for children as it had steps going on to a roof terrace in two different places and steps going down to the adult pool so you were on your feet constantly stopping your child falling down 20 concrete steps!

But like I said this hotel was not built for babies/toddlers and we did know this when we booked it.

Overall we would definately go back to this hotel preferrably without children as it was lovely. And if we cant get into the other hotel we would like (which is for familes) we would still go back to Audax.

The beach was about 50 yards infront of the hotel and this was excellent if you needed to pop back to the room for anything.

Cala Galdana is a fabulous place for families with young children and we will be visiting again next year and probably for years to come.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Andrea
11 years 1 month ago
The hotel was classed as a 4* premier but did not live up to our expectations based on our experiences of other similarly rated hotels.

We stayed in a sea view room, which had a very strong smell of sewage every morning and the floor was not very clean. The restaurant food fell way below our expectations and the service was poor.

The hotel pool was smaller than appeared in the brochure and the sunbeds too uncomfortable to sit on for more than 30 minutes. No mattresses were available for the sunbeds either.

The hotel boasts a good range of facilities according to the brochure, but we thought them overly priced. We've stayed in other hotels with indoor pools or spas that can be used free to guests.

Overall the hotel was a big disappointment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Eclipse (First Choice)

Linda And Stuart
11 years 1 month ago
We booked the Audax for our honeymoon. We were very pleased with our room. It had a lovely view overlooking the bay, and we had a queen sized bed. We were also given a bottle of bubbly and a bowl of fruit.

The staff were all very friendly, and while we were at reception booking in, the receptionist said that because it was our honeymoon, they would arrange for us to have a four course a La Carte Meal and a bottle of wine on them.

The food on the whole was wonderful, there was so much choice.

The pool area was lovely, and we often had the upper pool to ourselves to swim in.

There were no children there when we went, so it was nice and peaceful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
11 years 4 months ago
When we arrived at hotel - we found it very nice, however, even though we booked a year in advance and pre-requested sea-view or pool view high floor, for the 3 rooms we had booked. We were given a view of a mud hill on low floor-we were told that people had preference who had arrived on a Saturday, not a Wednesday like us and that they could change us the following Saturday! We were a party of one elderly grandmother, two other adults and two children, do you know how difficult it is to move 3 whole rooms after unpacking and settling in! This put a damper on the situation, especially as my mother has always enjoyed in the past, sitting on the balcony, enjoying the view.

Now for the restaurants, there is 2 - 1 one the 4th floor and 1 on the 5th. We went to the 5th floor 1st, prior to my other friend arriving, so at this stage we were a party of 4. They told us it was impossible to seat us, at all, as we were a big number (4) most people were in twos, there was only 2 tables laid out for 4 or more people and they refused to push two tables together and could not seat us together. We then went to the 4th floor restaurant(manager Pedro) and was told the same thing by a sarcastic blonde hostess (who would talk really animatedly in German to all the German guests and then be very abrupt and disdainful with the English ones) We said we had paid for half-board and now had been turned away from both restaurants, they then said come back in an hour. This was difficult with a 7 and 9 year old. Most were very rude and unfriendly, even though we made a point of smiling and being pleasant every day.

Finally, my partner arrived and then they said there was no way at all to seat 5. I said we are not leaving until you seat us every night. The 4th floor manager finally relented, realising he would have us for 10 days, he then became resigned to this fact and seated us without complaint the rest of the holiday, again this was a horrible experience to go through each night. FOOD was much better on 4th floor, apart from paella was totally dried out, breakfast was a long queue for cooked bacon and fried eggs, scrambled eggs revolting. Too much pork served. Salads excellent.

Staff at pool bar very unfriendly too. Tried to engage them in conversation, and either did not speak English at all, or just grunted.

Great location for beach and entertainment. Never went to pool until late in day and then always managed to get a sunbed. Quite a few steps up and down to beach so only for the mobile. Wish there had been a side/beach entrance from the beach, you had to use main entrance to hotel, covered in excess sand and pool toys.

Beware of Pedalo guy on beach lines about 100 pedaloes all along nearest beach from, where kids like to play and go crabbing, then it gets harder and harder to watch them. He then keeps moving his sign along to take up more beach. There is only ever about 4 being used. He also tried to over charge us on Kayaks and we ended up asking for our money back when he got an attitude.

Entertainment in hotel was boring, we went out every night to small square up the road, behind where the train picks you up, for the mini disco etc, then onto Cala Galdana hotel for adult entertainment. All in all, lovely place, just Audax staff a huge let down.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

ELIZABETH ALLEN
11 years 5 months ago
This was my second consecutive holiday in the Audax. On arrival I was allocated a room on the second floor and was very disappointed that I was looking out at a wall and had to lean out and look upwards just to see the sky. I complained and was moved to a better room after two days. However it really anoyed me and took the shine off the holiday from the outset.

The cleanliness and standard of the rooms is excellent as is its location 2 minutes from the beach.

The food in the hotel restaurants is excellent and the staff are very good. The entertainment for my age-group (penshioner)could have been better. It was OK on three or four of the 14 nights I was there.

I really enjoyed my previous holiday at the holiday but this year I was a little let down and am not sure I will be going back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: AIRTOURS

Recommended
Brian
12 years 4 months ago
The Audax is a very nice hotel in a nice position, the room was kept clean by friendly and efficient staff.

The swimming pool was good, though people were getting up early to put towels on the sunbeds even though there was signs saying this was not allowed.

The reception staff were also friendly and helpful, we were not happy with our room and requested a move, this wasn't a problem and we were given a new room the following day.

The bar in the hotel was good,you could either sit outside on a large terrace or inside were the entertainment was, the waiters and bar staff were exceptionally nice and helpful.

To be fair we spent most of our evenings out of the hotel but called in the hotel bar on our way back missing most of the entertainment, but what we saw seemed o.k.

The spa centre was spectacular though there was a charge of
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.