94 independent reviews of Cala Galdana, Spain
Cala Galdana Location

4/5
Cala Galdana is rated 4 out of 5 from 94 Reviews

Cala Galdana Hotels

Cala Galdana Reviews

4/5


n greenwood visited here on June 2007
The resort is very small only 4 decent sized hotels but on visiting others and asking about the Cala Galdana was the best.The resort entertainment visit every hotel but is very poor .The best acts were in the square where they involved the audience more.The beach is very good and if you fancy an hour walk you can walk a well marked trail ,with viewpoints,to another beach with cafe (its not to bad a walk as plenty of elderly managed it).
I would visit resort again if i wanted a very relaxing week (not enough there to occupy us for 2 weeks).
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Allmen visited here on June 2007
Iíve heard Cala Galdana described as a quiet resort that is true but it does have the beach and various bars with most of the entertainment in the hotels at night. The entertainment is in the three hotels in the resort with in my opinion the Cala Galdana hotel the best of the three.

The resort is in a small bay with a gentle beach. There are a few pedalo type boats for hire and also a diving school if you wish to try scuba. The beach is clean and sandy although there are few sahell fragments in amongst the sand. There are three places for snacks along the main walkway and then the restaurants in the town.

The island is ...
not that big and we hired a car for three days just to get to some of the places of note. The main roads are good but be careful if you get diverted from them as some of the lesser used roads are almost as bad as ours at home.

Would I go back yes I would because there was enough going on without being in your face and you could stroll about in the evening and listen to all the varied entertainment available. A couple of criticisms is that it was dearer in the resort compared to the town about four miles inland called Ferreries and the cost of two sunbeds and brollie at Ä22 per day seemed dear to me.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


alan henderson visited here on June 2007
Cala Galdana is a small resort, the beach is first class , but as mentioned before the sunbed price of 8 euros seems way to steep and must deter many.

There appears to be no facilities for changing money apart from the hotels and there is only a couple of cash machines in the resort Tobacco can only be sold in official outlets and the one in this resort only opens on the first of July for three months, so anyone visiting before July will have to go to one of the larger towns.

There are superb walks to neighbouring beaches and elsewhere but a guidebook to find them is essential, I got one before I went and couldn't find ...
any in the resort.

The bus links to nearby towns seem to have improved and visits to other parts of the Island are quite straightforeward

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


joanne petty visited here on June 2007
A spotlessly clean resort with a gorgeous beach that is gently sloping making it safe for children.
resort entertainment centered around the main square and hotels.
The whole resort is very low key with no rowdy night clubs and very child orientated
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Mr Truth visited here on May 2007
Cala Galdana is a natural beauty spot which has unfortunately been ruined by over development and mass tourism. The beach is stunning and the main reason we went there, however it is dominated by banks of sunbeds charging extortionate prices leaving the masses to crowd into the vacant gaps. It is also littered with endless fag butts.

The resort is full of restaurants selling largely English food (everything is served with chips) prices are high and service poor.

A theme park style train on wheels circles the resort tooting its horn to attract kids to ride, again extortionately priced!

Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Lynn Owen visited here on May 2007
Cala Galdana is a spectacular horseshoe bay with white sandy beach and clear turquoise water. The sunbeds are extortionate, so take lilo\'s and sunshades if you dont want to be rippped off. There are lovely neighbourig beaches to walk to and the whole island is a pleasure to drive around. Cuitedella is well worth a vistit with its pleasant squares and marina to stroll around as well as the shops, bars and restaurants to while away the hours.
The resort is quiet and not suitable for anyone looking to do anything other than chill out with a good book.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Chris & Dora visited here on October 2006
Cala Galdana beach consists of a beautiful crescent shaped bay where the beach is sheltered by the surrounding cliffs from high waves.

The beach itself consists of very fine sand of a light colour which is maintained to a high standard, being cleaned every morning. The area around the beach has not been overly developed which means that there is a feeling of openness a greenery around the beach.

There are sufficient shops and cafe/restaurants to cater for most needs whilst at the resort.

It is worthwhile (particularly for those less able) to travel on the resort road-train which can take you around the whole bay and leave you at the various high vantage points on the cliffs for viewing ...
or taking photograghs. The cost for this is 6 euros each for adults. Perhaps of less value judging by their general lack of usage during our stay are the sunbeds on the beach at 8 euros each per day plus a further 5 euros for an umbrella?

There were many people during our stay fishing around the bay and along the river creek with various rates of success. I think I will take a rod along for my next visit.

The resort did not seem to have any clubs or discos in operation at the time of our stay and it was quiet at nightimes.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Rollasons visited here on September 2006
The whole resort appeared to be very clean and tidy, and quieter than we expected.

The beach is set in a beautiful cove with shallow waters and golden sand. The sunbeds were very expensive though 20 euros for 2 beds and a parasol! so we purchased our own parasol the following day!

Plenty of cliff top walks and hikes with great views.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Louise visited here on September 2006
The resort is fabulous for those with small families. The beach is excellent and very safe for toddlers. We sat at the edge of the beach every day and our baby just played all day long there. There were a few pedalos to hire but that was it from the beach.

The restaurants in the resort were lovely. We tried just about everyone and couldnt complain about any of them.

There is also a little hide away courtyard and there is a toddler disco there every night, which was brilliant followed by the adult entertainment. We stayed there most nights as our little girl could run up and down freely to an extent.

There was also a train (not on a track) that ...
took you round Cala Galdana and my daughter was obsessed with this. It was a lovely ride (1/2 hour) around.

There is plenty to do with young children in the resort but anyone over the age of 10 might find it very boring apart from the beach. It is definately a young children family resort.

We will 100% be back at this resort next year.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Axtell/Johnson visited here on September 2006
Cala Galdana, Menorca
Very pretty spot especially with Marina behind Beach.Beach very clean and shallow water ideal for toddlers. Didn\'t use sunbeds as we took our own mats and parasol - not much chance to sit down with a two year old who absolutely loved every minute of her seaside holiday.
Beautiful walks around and the little train takes you around the resort for 6 euros. Well worth it.
Bars and Restaurants along the front road were all very welcoming and shops held everything you could wish for.Our favourite restaurant was Sa Lluna half way up the hill to our hotel, but most of them welcomed small children as I think the whole resort did.
Overall a very enjoyable holiday.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Andrea visited here on September 2006
There\'s not a lot here, not much choice for eating out at lunchtime and lacking a decent supermarket. Can\'t imagine spending more than 1 week here as there is very little to do.

Cliff top walks were quite pleasant although you need to be fairly fit and wear a decent pair of shoes. Bike hire is available but the paths do not look good for cycling, much better to walk.

Nice marina, great if you have your own boat or fancy a bit of fishing. The beach was clean and very safe for children and good for swimming.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


Linda and Stuart visited here on September 2006
We found the resort to be very clean, the resort entertainment was made up of mainly tribute bands, the entertainment was found at the hotels, but there is a main square there which also does entertainment, and some of the shows we saw were very good. The beach was lovely, the sand was white and the sea was great to swim in. We would definately visit this resort again, in fact we are going to book to come back next September for our first wedding Anniversary.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


gilly johnson visited here on September 2006
The resort was wonderful.The entertainment revolves mainly around the hotels but they welcome you with open arms.
The Cala Galdana hotel is a \'must\' for your evening meal the food is great and is reasonably priced, and the staff are great with the kids.
The beach is lovely too but we were unlucky on one of our visits because of jellyfish, so look out for their flag system. The sunbeds on the beach can be expensive in high season.Try to visit the beach at night because the cliffs in the bay are all lit up with different coloured lights and it is beautiful.
All in all a wonderful relaxing place with enough to do should you wish...
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


julie visited here on August 2006
Beautiful beach, very calm, clean. No banana boats although we did hire a peddle boat which was good.

Sunbeds 21euros for two, we bought an umberella and mats for 14euros and used them each day, saved a fortune.

The \"tap\" what can i say \"fantastic\" 5 eruos for 28 goes. Kids walk or should i say run up the path to the tap, handed their token in and came down one of the two water slides and landed in a safe pool.

We tried a few restaurants and we must say all the food was great. We went on the train for the full trip around Cala Galdana 6 euros each person, we though it was really good.

You must visit the ...
beach after dark, all the cove is lit and it looks beautiful.

We went to the water park, we had a great day, the park was lovely, no real mad water slides. We went on a Sunday and it was lovely and peaceful.

Overall a beautiful place the only drawback is that it is only small, few bars, restaurants and shops

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Horsley visited here on August 2006
The resort consists mailnly of a row of restaurants/shops/bars/crazy golf/water slides on one side of a jetty and the beach on the other, with some very large hotels overlooking. Although there is a road throught the centre, its not too busy (and there were no taxis to be seen at all).

Good beach, although the parasols (euro 5) and loungers (8 euros) are expensive to hire. We struggled to find the toilets by the beach at first - beware with toddlers!

The restaurants are pretty good, service can be a bit slow though.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


Shore visited here on August 2006
This is one of the most beautiful resorts I have visited. The beach is fabulous and clean and the water is so clear and shallow it\'s perfect for the children.However, beware, the sunbeds and brollies are very expensive.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Del & Caz visited here on June 2006
The resort has many bars and restaurants. There is also the Cala Galdana hotel which has good evening entertainment. There is a resort \'train\' which is a good way of seeing round Cala Gladana and there is many fantastic walks through wonderfully set out wooded areas. There is also a beautiful bay about 15 minutes walk from the hotel (go out of the hotel main entrance, turn left at the top and then right at the car park, walk up to the samll gate - behind the tree and follow the path). This takes you to the old limestone quarry and the fantastic bay beneath it. This has got to be the most beautiful bay ...
ever. Well worth the walk. Don\'t go at night as this walk has no lighting along the way.

We travelled with Thomson and only went on one \'highlight\'. This was the Mahon and Modas trip - 19 euros each. You are firstly taken to a leather outlet showroom where a fashion show takes place. Everyone is offered a glass of bubbly or fresh orange. This show takes only about 10 minutes and the leather clothing is very nice with prices ranging from about 250 euros to about 800 euros approx. After the show you are taken into their shop to try on garments. There was a lot of sales people in the room and the doors to the exit were closed. Many of us felt that we should have been told that if we didn\'t want to try on \'without obligation\' we could just go through the doors on the right hand side to leave. The people were nice enough and it was obviously a very legit company - otherwise Thomson would not have it on the tour but we really believe that doors should be left open for peole to leave once the show was over. To be fair when asked they said that the doors have to remain closed so that the aircon works. As I have said the goods are lovely but we were more interested in going shopping in Mahon. That said if you are looking for a new leather coat/jacket/trousers or skirt then this is the place to come - absolutely gorgeous clothing.


Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Karen visited here on June 2006
Quite a few steps up and down to beach so only for the mobile.
Beware of Pedalo guy on beach-lines about 100 pedaloes all along nearest beach from, where kids like to play and go crabbing, then it gets harder and harder to watch them. He then keeps moving his sign along to take up more beach. There is only ever about 4 being used. He also tried to over charge us on Kayaks and we ended up asking for our money back when he got an attitude.
Entertainment, we went out every night to small square up the road, behind where the train picks you up, for the mini disco etc, then onto Cala Galdana hotel ...
for adult entertainment. All in all, lovely place, just Audax staff a huge let down.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
3 stars

5/5


Nikki visited here on May 2006
Cala Galdana is absolutely breathtaking from the very first view from the bridge entering the resort. The beach is set around a beautiful cove with shallow green waters and caves to explore. There are trees right along the beach which offer lots of shade and should be taken advantage of if you don\'t wish to pay 20 euros for two beds and an umbrella! After the first day we bought lilos and a parassol and used these instead.

During your stay I would highly recommend going to the viewpoint of the bay (Sa Punta Mirador). This is quite a walk during the day (uphill!) when it is hot so I would suggest getting the little train which costs 3 euros ...
per person and takes you around Cala Galdana, dropping off and picking up and various stops, including the viewpoints. Take your camera!

The restaurants are plentiful and serve a good selection of dishes. The seafood is fantastic and quite reasonably priced, although the restaurant overlooking the sea is slightly more pricey (you pay for the fabulius view). If you prefer english food, most places offer burgers, pizzas, pasta, curry and even steak and kidney pie although I didn\'t try any of this.

The weather was lovely the two weeks we were there (12th-26th May) with only one rainy day and mainly sunshine every other day. The sea wasn\'t exactly warm but we braved it a couple of times and became bearable if we stuck it out! A few windy days meant it wasn\'t ideal to go the beach and so we took the opportunity to rent a car these days. Although a gorgeous resort, there is not that much to do other than eat, drink and sunbathe, and so I would suggest getting a car and seeing the rest of the island if you can.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


jean visited here on May 2006
The resort has the most beatiful beach on the island The resort is very well maintained clean and crime is very rare,you feel safe holidaying here.It is not a resort for young peole who want to party,but is great for coulpes and families with children
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars
Quick hotel find:
4/5
Audax Hotel  stars Audax Hotel
This outstanding hotel is in one of the finest locations from which to enjoy the unspoilt attractions of Menorca.

Latest Review: Oct 2013

Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Cala Galdana

4/5
Cala Galdana Hotel & D Aljandar Villas  stars Cala Galdana Hotel & D Aljandar Villas
This modern, spacious and smartly furnished hotel stands in an eye catching position, within walking distance to Cala Galdana's superb beach where, in high season, there is a whole host of watersports.

Latest Review: Oct 2012

Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Cala Galdana

3/5
Cala Galdana Playa Apartments  stars Cala Galdana Playa Apartments
Set in pretty gardens and shaded by pine trees, these well furnished apartments are set in tiers around the central pool area, all interlinked by a series of steps. The terrace area offers a relaxing place to soak up the sun in between dips in the pool.

Latest Review: Aug 2007

Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Cala Galdana

4/5
Confortel Apartments  stars Confortel Apartments
Set high on the hillside and surrounded by sweet-smelling pines, the Confortel Anabel is an ideal holiday retreat for those with younger families. You're only 900 metres from Menorca's 'Queen of Bays' (via 136 steps or by road which takes slightly longer.

Latest Review: Jul 2009

Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Cala Galdana

4/5
Flora Mar Aparthotel  stars Flora Mar Aparthotel
The Aparthotel Flora Mar is spacious, modern and comfortably furnished. Older families come in the hieght of summer. Couples prefer the quieter early or late season. Stairs make it unsuitable for the less mobile.

Latest Review: Jul 2010

Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Cala Galdana

4/5
Galdana Gardens Apartments  stars Galdana Gardens Apartments
Situated in the centre of the resort, these modern and well-equipped apartments are perfectly placed to make the most of popular Cala Galdana. Theres plenty to do at the family-run Galdana Gardens with shops, cafes and restaurants close by.

Latest Review: Sep 2011

Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Cala Galdana

4/5
Galdana Palms Villas  stars Galdana Palms Villas
Address: Urbanitzacio la Serpentona, S/N, 07750 Ferreries, Spain

Latest Review: Jun 2007

Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Cala Galdana

3/5
Sol Gavilanes Hotel  stars Sol Gavilanes Hotel
Address: Cala Galdana, 07750 Ferreries, Spain

Latest Review: May 2013

Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Cala Galdana
Share