Image of Iberostar Papagayo Apartments

Iberostar Papagayo Apartments

6 of 44 hotels in Playa Blanca

4 out of 5 from 15 reviews
4 stars
CL PRINCESA DE ICO YAIZA Playa Blanca Lanzarote 35570 Spain
It's beautiful beachfront setting of the Playa de las Coloradas bay and plenty of space and 30 km away from the international airport (ACE). Set in a quiet location, yet is within a short distance to the centre of Playa Blanca.

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Morley
7 years 1 month ago
Booked this at the last min , We were not disapointed. upon arrival we got meet with a male receptionist who was really helpful. we then got a helpful porter to take our 3 cases to the room he would nit have any help.

Room: the room was a 1 bed room with sofa bed . the room very spacious and clean. Bathroom with sep showewr and and bath with shower also over bath. The room had a kitchenett with fridge frezzer even tho we stayed all inclusive it was helpful as we bought some cold drinks to have as and when we pleased. We stayed in the separate apertment block which I thought was better that being in the holtel (room 59) which was nice . could sit out and had a view to the sea amongst others thighs but it was nice.

Food: The food was good been on a few all inc and they are all pretty as much as much. The rose vine was very very nice, could not fault the food not fussed on some things but the sea food was to die for.

Lunch was had in the pool bar pizza, chips, burgers and salad. they did toasties late afternnon which my son loved cheese and ham he had 3 each time,

what more can you ask for with a 9 years old icecream, slush puppies and toasties on tap yipee.

entertainment: the animation team work very very hard thay are all great. again been on other all INC and the teams have been a bit stand off ish not this lot. They are mad as brushies. not in your face if you want to join in you can if not they leave you be. I won a gold medal at darts it was made better as I beat my husband (men waht are they like he made it his mission them to get a gold but he did't. On some nights the animation team did the shows not the best I must say but again they work hard. One night it was the bad it was really funny i cried laughing.

The other show's african ????? was great and argentina infusion both well worth seeing.

Bar: The show bar closed at mid night and the terrace bar closed at 11 so not much else to do. The show bar gets very warm no air con so take afan not that it helped much. We meet some really nice people so stayed up playing cards till about 1ish and the kids would play poole.

All in All a great holiday , like I said meet some lovly people and my son loved the pleace which if the kid's are happy mum & dad happy.

The only negative nothing else around a supermarket but thats it, you could walk to the marina in about 20 mins which was lovley, A taxi into Playa a balanc 5 euros well worth it but you can walk if you dont have a moaning 9 yeat old.

Do not go on a ferry across to Fuerteventura unless you have booked an excursion. we though it would be cheaper just to do the crossing and go to the water park on the other side . Crossing 2 adults & 1 child 85 euros for a 25 min crossing RIP OFF. it was only 30ish euros for a full trip.

All in all a great holiday and we would go back. Hello to all who stayed at the holtel from the 29th july - 7th aug 2010

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel republic

Recommended
Morley
7 years 2 months ago
Booked this at the last min, we were not disappointed. Upon arrival we got meet with a male receptionist who was really helpful. We then got a helpful porter to take our 3 cases to the room he would not have any help.

Room: the room was a 1 bed room with sofa bed. The room very spacious and clean. Bathroom with separate shower and bath with shower also over bath. The room had a kitchenette with fridge freezer even though we stayed all inclusive it was helpful as we bought some cold drinks to have as and when we pleased. We stayed in the separate apartment block which I thought was better than being in the hotel (room 59) which was nice. Could sit out and had a view to the sea amongst others thighs but it was nice.

Food: The food was good been on a few all inclusive and they are all pretty as much as much. The rose vine was very very nice, could not fault the food not fussed on some things but the sea food was to die for.

Lunch was had in the pool bar pizza, chips, burgers and salad. They did toasties late afternoon which my son loved cheese and ham he had 3 each time,

what more can you ask for with a 9 years old ice-cream, slush puppies and toasties on tap yippee.

Entertainment: the animation team work very hard they are all great. Again been on other all INC and the teams have been a bit standoff ish not this lot. They are mad as brushes. Not in your face if you want to join in you can if not they leave you be. I won a gold medal at darts it was made better as I beat my husband (men what are they like he made it his mission them to get a gold but he did't. On some nights the animation team did the shows not the best I must say but again they work hard. One night it was the bad it was really funny I cried laughing.

The other show's African????? Was great and Argentina infusion both well worth seeing.

Bar: The show bar closed at mid night and the terrace bar closed at 11 so not much else to do. The show bar gets very warm no air con so take a fan not that it helped much. We meet some really nice people so stayed up playing cards till about 1ish and the kids would play pool.

All in All a great holiday, like I said meet some lovely people and my son loved the place which if the kid's are happy mum & dad happy.

The only negative nothing else around a supermarket but that’s it, you could walk to the marina in about 20 minutes which was lovely, A taxi into Playa a balance 5 euros well worth it but you can walk if you don’t have a moaning 9 year old.

Do not go on a ferry across to Fuerteventura unless you have booked an excursion. We thought it would be cheaper just to do the crossing and go to the water park on the other side. Crossing 2 adults & 1 child 85 euros for a 25 min crossing RIP OFF. It was only 30ish euros for a full trip.

All in all a great holiday and we would go back. Hello to all who stayed at the hotel from the 29th July - 7th Aug. 2010


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Paul
8 years 1 month ago
Rooms were cleaned daily. All inclusive choice was extensive although can get a bit repetative like all other "all incs". Food was replenished whenever it ran low, so always fresh available. Drinks were self service in the restaurant. Hotel location was fairly quiet on the coast with a nearby supermarket as most of this type of hotels are. 15 min walk to the marina. Waiting on staff were pleasant, some bar staff were pretty obnoxious with no concept of "first come first served" but you just have to accept it and there was never a problem with waiting times, even though we were there at peak time (July/Aug). The animation team were good fun with all ages. Mini club, Maxi club and adult sports. Although the hotel stated " no reserving sunbeds" you needed to have your towel down by 9:00am to get one! But as the bar closed at 11:00 each night( entertainment room was 12:00) It was never a problem being up in time for breakfast. Snacks also available at the pool bar during the day with ice cream for the kids. Different shows on each night, or the bar terrace if you wanted a quiet drink. One pool table and two internet PC's also available. Reception staff were friendly and sorted anything you required quickly.
Going back in 6 weeks. Most relaxing "All Inc" that we've stayed at.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hays

Recommended
Evans Family
9 years 1 month ago
excellent hotel worthy of its 4*.food very good and evening meals always hot.hotel is about a casual 20 miniute walk to the new marina along the sea front,didn't use evening entertainment so can't really comment.only gripe our daughter cut her foot in the smaller pool on the tiles also another child while we were there also cut his foot,so be careful.there is a lifeguard come first aider around the pool from about 10am till 5pm.overall we had an excellent holiday and would throughly recommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
9 years 10 months ago
Needed a break during half term but were unable to stay for a full week so checked all major holiday company websites and Thomas Cook came up with a selection of 3 day trips. We chose this hotel after reading the reviews on this website. We were not disappointed.

The hotel is fairly new and deserves it's 4* rating. The room was reasonably sized, as were the bathroom and balcony. The food was not outstanding but perfectly adequate with a good selection for all tastes.

We booked the all inclusive option which included some international brand drinks in addition to the usual local varieties.

There is a returnable deposit required on the pool towels of 10 euro each. A similar desposit was also required for the tv remote handset .

The only faults we found were that the only English speaking TV station was Eurosport, there were no news channels whatsoever and the room card stopped working every afternoon so we had to have it reprogrammed each day to gain access.

The walk to the new Rubicon Marina takes a leisurely 15 minutes or so along the sea front promenade. There is a nice selection of shops, restaurants etc but not many were open when we were there. Presumably it is a lot busier in the main holiday season.

Overall a very good short break - very relaxing with warm days (av 25 degrees) and nights.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
10 years 3 months ago
We always like to stay in Iberostars because we know what to expect and this was no different. Reception staff were fantastic, helping out with any queries we had and nothing was too much trouble.

The food was brilliant. We went half-board but a lot were All-inclusive, so in the evenings we had the option of either paying separately for each drink we ordered or we could pay
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Walker
10 years 6 months ago
The hotel is so clean and well looked after the staff are very helpful particularly in the dining room.

The pool is wonderful as is the towel service one less item to pack You cannot fault the food,show cooking and salads and everything cooked perfect with a really good choice.

This is the third time we have been here, OK lots of Germans but they are really nice if you try,and no they dont pinch all the sun beds. Entertainment well its different but the bar is better and plenty of drinks I love the Cava

All inclusive at its best
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Media Travel

Recommended
Julia Tyas
11 years 4 months ago
A good 4 star hotel. The food, both the choice and the quality are excellent.

The staff also deserve a special mention for being particularly polite, helpful and friendly.

The drinks in the hotel are very reasonably priced, as is the lunchtime pool-side buffet.

Possibly a few more loungers with mattress around the pool, and some more umbrellas for shade needed.

Evening entertainment-you need a good sense of humour, and a couple of drinks to watch it....

Our room for three adults was fine. Spotlessly clean. Paying extra for a superb sea-view was definitely worth it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: med hotels

Recommended
11 years 5 months ago
This hotel is a very good standard of accomodation and worthy of its 4 stars.

The plus points -

The food is good there is plenty of choice - perhaps a little more geared towards the germans but you can always find something to eat. There is a huge choice on the salad bar alone and usually a choice of 5/6 desserts and icecream as well as biscuits and cheese if desserts are not your thing.

The hotel is very friendly and the staff are excellent we never had to wait to be served at a bar even during busy periods. The cleaning staff were also efficent our room and the public areas of the hotel were always spotless.The reception staff are all very friendly too.

The rooms are a good size with a nice bathroom and having the fridge in the room for the bottles of water the maids leave in the room every day is a nice touch.

The minus points-

Hotel is geared more towards couples than families the only children there were all under 2 there was a kids club and kids pool there but in the 5 days we were there we didnt see any kids using either facility.If you have children who are in the 2-teens age bracket this perhaps isnt the hotel for you (it might be worth checking out the iberstar papagayo apartments over the road from the main hotel)

The hotel is quite isolated there is a Netto up the road from the hotel but if you want other shops you can do the 10/15 min walk to the Rubicon marina or there is a courtesy bus into town 4 times a day.

To sum up this hotel is perfect for couples (old or young) looking for a relaxing quiet break in a high quality hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: security travel

Recommended
Lisa
11 years 5 months ago
When we booked our holiday to Lanzarote, the girl in the travel agents showed us the Papagayo Arena Hotel so that is where we thought we were going. Not so! Apparently this happened to another couple we met too. I had done all the research on the Arena Hotel so to find out we were going somewhere else left us a little apprehensive. We need not have worried - what a fantastic hotel the Iberostar Papagayo is!

It definitely deserves it's four star status. Everywhere was spotless and well looked after, the staff were amazing and the food was first class. There were touches that made this hotel stand above the normal 3 star all inclusive you get. They left you 2 bottles of water everyday which I thought was good. There was also a selection of toiletries and shower gel in the bathroom - another nice touch.

However, the highlight for me was the black swimming pool. The black tiles made the water look so much more inviting than the usual blue tiles, plus there are 2 spa-type pools at one end in which you can relax.

I would say that if you are looking for nightlife, adventure etc then this is not the hotel for you. It is in the middle of nowhere, and is peaceful and relaxing away from the hustle and bustle of town.

The entertainment we saw on the nights we bothered with it was OK - it kept you entertained whilst you sat back sipping the ice cold Dorada that was on tap !

We would definitely go back to this hotel - it was excellent !
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.