Image of Melia Jardines del Teide Hote

Melia Jardines del Teide Hote

9 of 41 hotels in Costa Adeje

4 out of 5 from 15 reviews
4 stars
El Duque, Paseo Maritimo, S/N, 38670 Adeje, Spain

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
IzWiz
7 years 10 months ago
In summary a fine all inclusive hotel in a good location with stunning views with two swimming pools. We visited the hotel when it was less than half full for a few days then fully booked over a long weekend of a national holiday.

Guest were roughly 75% Spanish, 15% German/Dutch/Belgium and 10% British of which were mainly Scots. No eastern European or Russian guests.

The location of this hotel is high above the resort of Costa Adeje but less than a 10 min walk (downhill) of the beach at Playa del Duque. This was close enough to the beach for us but might not be if you want a beach front hotel.

The hotel is spread over 10 levels up the side of a hill, all levels can be reached by lift although you will need to change lifts to get down to the lower (-2) pool level. Reception and Restaurant and Panoramic Bar are on level 5.

The hotel, rooms, pools and gardens are kept in spotlessly clean condition. Bedding is changed every 2 days. Beach towels are available for a 20 euro deposit each and can be changed daily. Room safe is available for a few euros with a 10 euro key deposit.

Guest rooms are larger than average with sofa and easy chair with balcony or terrace with table and chairs.

Food ranged from good to several outstanding dishes. We found some of the freshly cooked fish and meat from the griddle were slightly over cooked where as some of the kitchen prepared dishes were cooked just right, I guess there's a fair bit of personal choice on what you like and how you like it cooked.

Good choices were always available, 5 to 8 different dishes at lunch and dinner. If you order wine with your meal you will get get a full bottle of house red/white/rose wine.

Food offerings lunchtime at the pool bar were a little disappointing, only burgers, pizza, hotdogs and salads. Good quality Ice Cream was always available.
Breakfast generally was the usual full and continental with freshly cooked eggs, omelettes and crepes to order.

Drinks all OK, local brands spirits of course and San Miguel draught beer. Bar service was good at the pool and Panoramic bar without any long waits. All soft drinks and water were self service at all bars. Unlimited bottled water was also available. all staff although busy were pleasant and polite.

Only negatives might be the larger free form lower pool has no shallow area and depths vary from 1.4 to 2.0 metres. There is a small kiddies paddling pool adjacent (no fencing) to the main pool.
Some more sun umbrellas are required at the upper pool and adult chill-out area.
The UPVC sun beds and tables could all do with a good pressure wash, although clean bed pads are provided.

Entertainment is not of interest to us, but we caught "The Beatles" and Flamenco dancing and these were OK and of usual AI quality.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Flightline

Recommended
8 years 10 months ago
We are actual Tenerife residents who needed a short break and due to heavy work schedules, we didn't have time to leave the island.

Immaculately clean, the all inclusive most certainly is and the food to a high standard.

Location is fine as courtesy buses run all day down to the beach.

Staff were fantastic and nothing too much trouble. However the entertainment is DIABOLICAL!!!

We would definitely return but how anyone can book an all inclusive with the hope of spending 2 weeks in the hotel with same food, entertainment etc beats me as more than four day I think I would have hung myself!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Self

Recommended
Lisa And Chris
9 years 8 months ago
Spent christmas and new year in the hotel. Everything spot on, food brill, staff kind and friendly, very clean. Will see you there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: booked direct

Recommended
Pauline & Brian Muirhead
9 years 9 months ago
We stayed in the Hotel Melia Jardines Del Teide in Costa Adeje in Tenerife. The hotel was very very clean. We were all inclusive and the choice of food was excellent, they cooked to order, so your omlettes, pancakes and eggs were cooked just how you liked them. The hotel staff were very friendly and if someone was pushing in at the bar or restaurant, they were quick to tell them they had to wait to be served. The hotel was up a hill, so a little treck from the centre of Costa Adeje but it was a nice walk in the morning to walk off all the food that we had eaten (we sometimes got a taxi back, approx 11 Euro!). The entertainment was a bit dodgy to say the least, there was a man playing the organ and singing at 8.30pm (every night!!!) and the entertainment started at 10.15pm. We only went to this a couple of times but it was the usuall, the Parrot show and an illutionist!!! The only dissappointing thing was that there were 2 pools in the hotel, one at the top of the hill and one down the bottom. The one down the bottom was closed and drained of water so they could carry out maintenance, I wish that when we booked they told us this, but because it was November, the pool at the top wasn't overly busy and we never had any bother the whole week getting a sun bed either. I did find the Spanish and Germans very rude so we just stayed away from them.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Flightline

Recommended
Anthony Troup
10 years 3 months ago
This is a very classy hotel with a very relaxing atmosphere. Except for people booking D.I.Y. holidays, Flyglobespan are the only British tour operator sending guests to this hotel therefore, if you are looking for a typical British booze fuelled party atmosphere, then please look elsewhere. You will find the majority of guests are either Spanish or German.

Even though the hotel only has one main restaurant the quality and choice of food is fabulous. This can also be said for the choice of drinks throughout the hotel. There are self-service soft drinks at both pool areas, a few self-service coffee machines, self-service fridges that are constantly stocked with bottled water and best of all, San Miguel beer on draught.

The hotel rooms are huge and spotlessly clean, which also goes for the rest of the hotel. Both pool areas are huge with plenty of sunloungers and no need to get up at dawn to claim your spot.

The majority of the entertainment is organised by the hotel's own entertainment team, but they still have one outside act on every night from snake shows to a Drifters tribute band.

Even though the hotel is at the back of the resort, it is only a 15 minute walk (downhill) to the main Fanabe beachfront with many shops on the way and if you find the hill too steep it's only 3.5 euros in a taxi back up.

Overall, we've had an excellent holiday and would definitely return
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: flyglobespan

Recommended
Helena Turner
11 years 1 month ago
We stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks and had a fabulous time!

The hotel is set in beautiful gardens with a waterfall running down the middle.

The hotel rooms were very spacious and included a seating area. The cleanliness in the hotel was excellent always nice clean towels, and sheets were changed regularly.

The food in the hotel was outstanding the best an all inclusive has ever been. It never got boring or repetitive because of the amount of choice there was.

There are plenty of sunbeds and in the dining room or at the bar we never had to queue. most of the guests were Spanish or German but all were very friendly.

In the hotel there was always cold bottles of water in the fridge and with a mini fridge even in your room there was no problem with keeping it cool. After being here for 2 weeks I did not want to come home and I would definitely visit this hotel again in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: orchid travel

Recommended
W Shearer
11 years 4 months ago
Had a very pleasant stay in April/May.
Food was excellent and catered for any taste.
Could not fault this hotelin any way.
Only problem return taxi did not turn up so we took a taxi from rank outside hotel only 21 euros to airport.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Globespan/SolMelia

Recommended
11 years 11 months ago
Well, what a great hotel this was! Arrived at lunchtime, the recption area was very impressive, was greeted by some very friendly reception staff. The hotel was explained to us then the porter showed us to our room. Walked along a corridor facing a wall, got a rather deep sinking feeling but opened the curtains in our room to find a large private terrace leading staight out to a pool! As the hotel is built into a mountain it has 2 pools, the main one on the ground level and the smaller one on level 5, where our room was. (reception is on level 5 too). The room itself was huge with a large bed and also a large sofa bed too. The bathroom was larger than your average too.

We were just 2 minutes from the restuartant where the food was very impressive with a large choice daily. The first lunch was fillet steak which set things off well. Staff were quick to serve drinks with your meal and were very friendly.

The main bar in the hotel is on the 5th floor in the lobby and again the staff were friendly and efficient with a wide selection of drinks and also San Miguel beer too. There was a disco downstairs where the evening entertainment takes place allthough it was geared more to the Spanish guests. After the evening show there was usually Karaoke or Bingo. The music in the main bar in the evening left a lot to be desired, pretty dreary stuff it has to be said, possibly about my only complaint really.

There were only a few British guests there when were were there, the bulk of the people coming from Spain, Holland and Germany but if I wanted to holiday with Brits then I would go to Blackpool!

As I said, the hotel is built into the hill so anyone with walking difficulties may find it tough if you fancy a walk into the bars and cafes along the beach (about 20 mins away) but other than that I would say if you want a reasonably priced all inclusive hotel just away from the bustle then go for this one, we will go back!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Globespan

Recommended
Phil Anderson
12 years ago
We were sent to this hotel as the original hotel was overbooked. This was the best thing that could have happened!

The hotel is perfect, with a wide variety of food, plenty to do poolside, a brilliant miniclub and excellent service.

Very few English people, but a wide variety of dutch, German and mainly Spanish. All very friendly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Orchid

Recommended
Karen
12 years 1 month ago
Very impressed when arrived at hotel.

Reception is very clean and reception were very helpful with our check in, explaining about the different levels of the hotel and what time breakfast, lunch and dinner was served. Also explained about hiring towels for 20 euros deposit which allowed you to get clean towels daily and once you depart you get your deposit back.

The location of the hotel was a bit out of the resort centre. About 20 minutes walk to shops, restaurants and bars etc, I would recommend taxi back but this only cost 4/5 euros.

Hotel entertainment was a bit of a let down. They have nightly entertainment but once this had finished everyone seemed to leave so when the disco started there was only every about 10/ 15 people in the room.

Food was excellent different varieties daily and all the meat and fish was cooked fresh for dinner. Breakfast was freshly cooked eggs, omeletes, pancakes etc, there was also the usual of cereals, yogurts, cold meat and cheese etc, there was such a large variety that you would not go hungry. We ate by the swimming pool in the day which was also good, hotdogs, burgers, fresh meat or fish, chips, rice dishes, pasta and salads. Also various cakes and deserts were available both for lunch and dinner.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.